

1999 Assembly Joint Resolution 8

## **ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION**

Relating to: commending the Wisconsin Badgers for their 1999 Rose Bowl victory.

Whereas, on January 1, 1999, the University of Wisconsin–Madison football team repeated its 1994 triumph as "Rose Bowl Champions" and became the first University of Wisconsin–Madison football team to finish the season with an 11–1 record; and

Whereas, the Badgers were ranked number 5 in the final *USA Today/ESPN* coaches poll and number 6 in the *Associated Press* poll; and

Whereas, 56 members of the Badgers are Wisconsin natives and many other states are represented on the roster; and

Whereas, Athletic Director Pat Richter, Head Coach Barry Alvarez and the entire football coaching staff led the team to its great success; and

Whereas, the University of Wisconsin Marching Band and Professor Michael Leckrone proved to a nationwide audience that we have "Something Special from Wisconsin" — the best marching band in the country; and

Whereas, the citizens of Wisconsin and Badger alumni everywhere proudly share in the national recognition that the team has brought our great university and our great state; now, therefore, be it

**Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That** the Wisconsin legislature commends the student athletes, coaches and staff of the University of Wisconsin–Madison football team and the University of Wisconsin Marching Band for the excitement and joy that they brought to this state, proving once again that Wisconsin is truly a champion state; and, be it further

**Resolved, That** the assembly chief clerk shall provide copies of this joint resolution to Team Cocaptains Bob Adamov, Cecil Martin, Chris McIntosh and Donnell Thompson; Head Coach Barry Alvarez; Athletic Director Pat Richter; Athletic Board Chairman James Hoyt; Professor Michael Leckrone; University of Wisconsin–Madison Chancellor David Ward; University of Wisconsin System President Katharine Lyall; and the Wisconsin Alumni Association.

Senator Fred A. Risser	Representative Scott R. Jensen
President of the Senate	Speaker of the Assembly
Date	Charles R. Sanders Assembly Chief Clerk