

1999 Assembly Resolution 11

ENGROSSED RESOLUTION

Relating to: designating August 16 of each year as National Airborne Day.

Whereas, the Parachute Test Platoon was authorized by the War Department on June 25, 1940, to experiment with the potential use of airborne troops; and

Whereas, the Parachute Test Platoon was composed of 48 volunteers who began training in July 1940; and

Whereas, the Parachute Test Platoon performed the first official Army parachute jump on August 16, 1940; and

Whereas, the success of the Parachute Test Platoon led to the formation of a large and successful airborne contingent serving from World War II until the present; and

Whereas, the 82nd Airborne Division was the first airborne division that was organized following the successes of the Parachute Test Platoon and the early airborne training program and has continued in active service since its creation; and

Whereas, the 82nd Airborne Division Association exists to continue and foster that special esprit de corps among fellow paratroopers, to perpetuate the memory of the 82nd Airborne Division troopers who fought and died for our nation, and to further the common bond among all members of the airborne community; and

Whereas, the 82nd Airborne Division Association, during the 52nd year of existence and at the 50th Annual Convention, adopted a resolution to perpetuate the memory of the Parachute Test Platoon's "Jump Into History" on August 16, 1940; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the assembly, That the Wisconsin assembly designates August 16 of each year as "National Airborne Day"; and, be it further

Resolved, That the President issue a proclamation calling upon the federal, state and local administrators and the people of the United States to observe the day with appropriate programs, ceremonies and activities; and, be it further

Resolved, That the assembly chief clerk shall send copies of this resolution to the President of the United States and to each member of the Congressional delegation from Wisconsin.

State Capitol Madison, Wisconsin Representative Scott R. Jensen Speaker of the Assembly

Date

Charles R. Sanders Assembly Chief Clerk