1999 ASSEMBLY RESOLUTION 22

November 18, 1999 – Introduced by Representatives Montgomery, Musser, Ainsworth, Duff, Foti, Gard, Gunderson, Gundrum, Handrick, Hoven, Huebsch, Hundertmark, Jensen, Jeskewitz, Kaufert, Kedzie, Kelso, Ladwig, Leibham, Nass, Olsen, Ott, Owens, Petrowski, Pettis, Rhoades, Seratti, Skindrud, Spillner, Stone, Suder, Sykora, Underheim, Vrakas, Ward, Wieckert, Turner, Freese and Urban. Referred to Committee on Rules.

1	Relating to: memorializing the President of the United States to award the
2	Presidential Medal of Freedom to the 41st President of the United States,
3	George Herbert Walker Bush.
4	Whereas, the Presidential Medal of Freedom is the highest civilian honor that
5	the nation bestows; and
6	Whereas, the Presidential Medal of Freedom is the highest civilian decoration
7	given in the name of the President of the United States, and therefore on behalf of
8	the entire United States; and
9	Whereas, on his 18th birthday, George Herbert Walker Bush enlisted in the
10	U.S. Navy as a seaman 2nd class and after flight training was commissioned as an
11	ensign in 1943 and became a torpedo bomber pilot; and
12	Whereas, at age 19, he was the youngest pilot then serving in the U.S. Navy;
13	and
14	Whereas, in 1943 and 1944, he took part in 58 combat missions over the Pacific

Ocean; and

15

1	Whereas, in 1944, his plane was hit by Japanese anti-aircraft fire over Chichi
2	Jima, killing two crewmen and causing him to parachute into the water; and
3	Whereas, in 1945, George Herbert Walker Bush was discharged from the U.S.
4	Navy with the rank of Lieutenant, junior grade, having received the Distinguished
5	Flying Cross and three Air Medals; and
6	Whereas, George Herbert Walker Bush served as the Commander-in-Chief of
7	the United States of America from 1989 to 1993; and
8	Whereas, George Herbert Walker Bush is the only living former U.S. President
9	who has not been awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom; now, therefore, be it
10	Resolved by the assembly, That the assembly of the state of Wisconsin
11	memorializes the President of the United States to award President George Herbert
12	Walker Bush the Presidential Medal of Freedom; and, be it further
13	Resolved, That the assembly clerk shall transmit copies of this resolution to
14	the President of the United States, to the president and secretary of the U.S. senate,
15	to the speaker and clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives and to each member
16	of the congressional delegation from this state.
17	(END)