1999 ASSEMBLY RESOLUTION 41

2	Vietnam veterans who were awarded the Medal of Honor.
3	Whereas, the Medal of Honor is the highest recognition given by this nation to
4	members of the U.S. armed forces; and
5	Whereas, of the 165,400 Wisconsin men and women who served their nation
6	during the Vietnam War, only 6 were recognized with this honor; and
7	Whereas, this year marks the 25th anniversary of the end of the Vietnam War;
8	and
9	Whereas, Gary Wetzel was awarded the Medal of Honor for his actions in 1968
10	when, according to his citation, he "distinguished himself by conspicuous gallantry
11	and intrepidity at the risk of his life"; and
12	Whereas, Harold Fritz was awarded the Medal of Honor for his actions in 1969
13	when, according to his citation, he "armed only with a pistol and bayonet, led a small
14	group of his men in a fierce and daring charge which routed the attackers and

inflicted heavy casualties"; and

Relating to: commemorating the achievements and contributions of Wisconsin's 6

1

15

Whereas, Kenneth Stumpf was awarded the Medal of Honor for his actions in
1967 when he brought 3 wounded men to safety while under fire and then destroyed
an enemy bunker; and

Whereas, Robert Modrzejewski was awarded the Medal of Honor for his actions in 1966 when he helped capture a large cache of enemy supplies and then defended the position against a much larger enemy force; and

Whereas, Lance Sijan was awarded the Medal of Honor for his actions in 1967 when he was shot down over enemy territory, evaded capture for many weeks, refused to provide information to his captors once he was captured despite torture and other deprivations, and died in captivity in 1968; and

Whereas, Leslie Bellrichard was awarded the Medal of Honor for his actions in 1967 when he threw himself on a live grenade in his foxhole during intense fighting with the enemy, thus sacrificing his life to save the lives of his fellow soldiers; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the assembly, That the members of the Wisconsin assembly salute Wisconsin's 6 Vietnam War Medal of Honor awardees for their bravery and service to their nation; and, be it further

Resolved, That the assembly chief clerk shall transmit a copy of this resolution to Gary Wetzel, Harold Fritz, Kenneth Stumpf, Robert Modrzejewski and the families of Lance Sijan and Leslie Bellrichard.

21 (END)