

1999 Senate Joint Resolution 31

ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

Relating to: commending and congratulating Ron Dayne on his Heisman Trophy win and outstanding 1999 season.

Whereas, the Heisman Trophy is the top individual honor in college football, recognizing the accomplishments of one outstanding player each year; and

Whereas, Heisman Trophy winners are now an elite group of 65, who have risen to the top of their game, many going on to successful careers in the National Football League; and

Whereas, in 1999, Ron Dayne of the University of Wisconsin–Madison returned this prestigious award to Wisconsin, where 1954 Heisman Trophy Winner Alan "The Horse" Ameche played with distinction; and

Whereas, during the 1999 season, Ron Dayne broke the all–time rushing record with a 216–yard performance against Iowa, bringing him to a total of 6,397 yards rushing and almost 1,200 carries in his career as a Badger; and

Whereas, in addition to the Heisman Trophy, in 1999 Ron Dayne was awarded the Maxwell Award, for college football's top all—around player; the Doak Walker Award, given to college football's top running back; the Chicago Tribune Silver Football Award, given to the most valuable player in the Big Ten; the Walter Camp Player of the Year; and the Associated Press Player of the Year; and was designated UW co—MVP for 1999; First team All—Big Ten; Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year; and First team All—American; and

Whereas, in the midst of the outstanding year that Ron Dayne had achieving these individual awards, the most important thing was winning as a team, and leading the University of Wisconsin–Madison to a #1 ranking in the Big Ten and a 2nd consecutive Rose Bowl bid; and

Whereas, Ron Dayne has remained humble throughout this monumental season, often focusing on the people most important to him, those that made him the person and the player he is today — his daughter, Jada Dayne; his uncle and mentor, Rob Reid; his coach, Barry Alvarez; and the entire University of Wisconsin–Madison Football Team; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the Wisconsin legislature commends and congratulates Ron Dayne on his Heisman Trophy win and outstanding 1999 season and thanks him for making 1999 a memorable year for all Badger fans. On, Wisconsin!; and, be it further

Resolved, That the senate chief clerk shall provide copies of this joint resolution to Ron Dayne.

Representative Scott R. Jensen Speaker of the Assembly	Senator Fred A. Risser President of the Senate
Date	Donald J. Schneider Senate Chief Clerk