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Department of Transportation

1999-2001 Biennial Budget Request
STATUTORY MODIFICATIONS

DIN NUMBER: 5507

TOPIC: Increasing Class D Driver Skills Test Fee

DESCRIPTION OF CHANGE:
A change in statutory authority is requested to allow the Department of Transportation to increase the Class D driver

skills test fee from $10.00 to $15.00.

Amend Wisconsin Statutes 343.21 (2) to increase the skills test fee from $10.00 to $15.00. The effective date
should be October 1, 1999.

JUSTIFICATION: .
The current Class D skills test fee is $10.00 and has not been increased since 1991. Recent cost-per-product

estimates for all skills tests administered by the department show these tests cost the department approximately
$24.50 in staff and resources. The fee increase is proposed to recoup a portion of the department’s costs.

Program 5: Motor vehicles service and enforcement 140
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DOA....... Etzler — fee for Class D driver skills test
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1 AN ACT .., relating to: the budget.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau
/ TRANSPORTATION

DRIVERS AND o'rorylﬁncms
Current law generally required the applicant for a driver’s licensc to
successfully complete a driving skills test of the applicant’s ability to exercise
ordinary and reasonable control of a representative vehicle. A driving skills tést is a
also required for an endorsement authorizing the operation of] @m@m
vehicleg"Squipped with air brakes, the transportation of passengers infcommercial
motor vehicl«a{ﬁrf the operation of(sgﬁoo busak. The gﬁe for a driving skills test is $20
Mtest( in(éommercial motor vehicled other than[sc ool busc?/and $10 for \dxiving
, 3 in all'Gther vehicleS. This bill raises the fee for a driving skills te%finﬁch_ool
bus@n%@ommercial motor vehiclet from $10 to $15. G
1ests » e

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

2 SECTION 1. 343.21 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:
3 343.21 (2) (a) In addition to the fees set under sub. (1), any applicant WhZe
e

application for a permit, license, upgrade or endorsement, taken together with
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applicant’s currently valid license, if any, requires the department to administer a
driving skills test of the applicant’s ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable

control in the operation of a motor vehicle shall pay to the department an

O

examination fee of $20 for an examination in a commercial motor vehicle other than

a school bus and $10 $15 for an examination in any other vehicle. Payment of the

(91

examination fee entitles the applicant to not more than 3 tests of the applicant’s
ability to exercise reasonable control in the operation of a motor vehicle. If the

applicant does not qualify for issuance of a license, upgraded license or endorsement

© oo I O

in 8 such tests, then a 2nd examination fee in the same amount shall be paid, which

10 payment entitles the applicant to not more than 3 additional tests.

11 (b) The operator shall pay to the department an examination fee of $10 $15 for
12 conducting the special examination requested under s. 121.555 (2) (cm), except that
13 if the examination is in a commercial motor vehicle other than a school bus the fee
14 is $20. Payment of the examination fee entitles the person to not more than 3 tests
15 of the person’s ability to safely operate the vehicle proposed to be used under s.
16 121.555 (1) (a). If the applicant does not pass the examination for safe operation of
17 the vehicle in 3 such tests, then a 2nd examination fee in the same amount shall be
18 paid, which payment entitles the person to not more than 3 additional tests.

History: 1973 c. 90,309; 1975 ¢. 5; 1977 ¢. 29 5. 1459, 1654 (7) (a); 1977 c. 273; 1979 ¢. 221, 306; 1981 c. 20, 71; 1983 a. 243; 1985 a. 29, 65; 1987 a. 3, 358; 1989 a. 105;
1991 a. 39; 1993 a. 16; 1995 a. 113; 1997 a. 27. Ve . e .
19 SEcCTION 9350. Initial applicability; transportation.
/
6@ (1) DRIVING SKILLS TEST FEE. The treatment of section: 343.2],(6)/_ of
A
21 the statutes first applies to applications for an operator’s license or endorsement

22 submitted to the department of transportation on October 1, 1999.

23 (END)
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AN ACT ..; relating to: the budget.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau
TRANSPORTATION

DRIVERS AND MOTOR VEHICLES

Current law generally requires the applicant for a driver’s license to
successfully complete a driving skills test of the applicant’s ability to exercise
ordinary and reasonable control of a representative vehicle. A driving skills test is
also required for an endorsement authorizing the operation of a commercial motor
vehicle equipped with air brakes, the transportation of passengers in a commercial
motor vehicle or the operation of a school bus. The fee for a driving skills test is $20
for a test in a commercial motor vehicle other than a school bus, and $10 for a test
in all other vehicles. This bill raises the fee for a driving skills test in a school bus
and a noncommercial motor vehicle from $10 to $15.

For further information see the state fiscal estimate, which will be printed as
an appendix to this bill.

' The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

SEcTION 1. 343.21 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:
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343.21 (2) (a) In addition to the fees set under sub. (1), any applicant whose
application for a permit, license, upgrade or endorsement, taken together with the
applicant’s currently valid license, if any, requires the department to administer a
driving skills test of the applicant’s ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable
control in the operation of a motor vehicle shall pay to the department an
examination fee of $20 for an examination in a commercial motor vehicle other than
a school bus and $10 $15 for an examination in any other vehicle. Payment of the
examination fee entitles the applicant to not more than 3 tests of the applicant’s
ability to exercise reasonable control in the operation of a motor vehicle. If the
applicant does not qualify for issuance of a license, upgraded license or endorsement
in 8 such tests, then a 2nd examination fee in the same amount shall be paid, which
payment entitles the applicant to not more than 3 additional tests.

(b) The operator shall pay to the department an examination fee of $10 $15 for
conducting the special examination requested under s. 121.555 (2) (cm), except that
if the examination is in a commercial motor vehicle other than a school bus the fee
is $20. Payment of the examination fee entitles the person to not more than 3 tests
of the person’s ability to safely operate the vehicle proposed to be used under s.
121.555 (1) (a). If the applicant does not pass the examination for safe operation of
the vehicle in 3 such tests, then a 2nd examination fee in the same amount shall be
paid, which payment entitles thé person to not more than 3 additional tests.

SecTION 9350. Initial applicability; transportation.

(1) DRIVING SKILLS TEST FEE. The treatment of section 848.21 (2) of the statutes
first applies to applications for an operator’s license or endorsement submitted to the
department of transportation on October 1, 1999.

(END)



Nilsen, Paul

From: Etzler, John [John.Etzler@doa.state.wl.us]

Sent: Monday, November 23, 1998 4:58 PM

To: Nilsen, Paul

Subject: FW: LRB 0444/P1-(Fee for Class D driver skills test)

> -----Original Message-----

> From: Gorenstein, Elisabeth

> Sent: Monday, November 23, 1998 3:01 PM

>To: Etzler, John

>Cc: Beaupre, Sandy; Smith, Thomas; Buckmaster, Carol; Clark, Julie
> Subject: LRB 0444/P1 (Fee for Class D driver skills test)

>
> John -- please forward this to LRB. Thanks.

>
> This draft is fine.

>

>

> Lis Gorenstein

> Qifice of Policy and Budget (Rm. 132-B)

> (608) 266-0179 :

> Email: elisabeth.gorenstein @dot.state.wi.us
>



NOTE TO DRAFTING FILE for LRB-0444:

Per the drafter, this draft has been redrafted
to a “/1” as no problems remain in the draft
that require resolution before introduction of
the budget bill. There are no changes
between the “/PX” and the “/1.”
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FOR 1999-01 BUDGET — NOT READY FOR INTRODUCTION

AN ACT ..; relating to: the budget.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau
TRANSPORTATION

DRIVERS AND MOTOR VEHICLES

Current law generally requires the applicant for a driver’s license to
successfully complete a driving skills test of the applicant’s ability to exercise
ordinary and reasonable control of a representative vehicle. A driving skills test is
also required for an endorsement authorizing the operation of a commercial motor
vehicle equipped with air brakes, the transportation of passengers in a commercial
motor vehicle or the operation of a school bus. The fee for a driving skills test is $20
for a test in a commercial motor vehicle other than a school bus, and $10 for a test
in all other vehicles. This bill raises the fee for a driving skills test in a school bus
and a noncommercial motor vehicle from $10 to $15.

For further information see the state fiscal estimate, which will be printed as
an appendix to this bill.

The peaple of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

SECTION 1. 343.21 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:
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SECTION 1

343.21 (2) (a) In addition to the fees set under sub. (1), any applicant whose
application for a permit, license, upgrade or endorsement, taken together with the
applicant’s currently valid license, if any, requires the department to administer a
driving skills test of the applicant’s ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable
contfol in the operation of a motor vehicle shall pay to the department an
examination fee of $20 for an examination in a commercial motor vehicle other than
a school bus and $10 $15 for an examination in any other vehicle. Payment of the
examination fee entitles the applicant to not more than 3 tests of the applicant’s
ability to exercise reasonable control in the operation of a motor vehicle. If the
applicant does not qualify for issuance of a license, upgraded license or endorsement
in 3 such tests, then a 2nd examination fee in the same amount shall be paid, which
payment entitles the applicant to not more than 3 additional tests.

(b) The operator shall pay to the department an examination fee of $10 $15 for
conducting the special examination requested under s. 121.555 (2) (cm), except that
if the examination is in a commercial motor vehicle other than a school bus the fee
is $20. Payment of the examination fee entitles the person to not more than 3 tests
of the person’s ability to safely operate the vehicle proposed to be used under s.
121.555 (1) (a). If the applicant does not pass the examination for safe operation of
the vehicle in 3 such tests, then a 2nd examination fee in the same amount shall be
paid, which payment entitles the person to not more than 3 additional tests.

SEcCTION 9350. Initial applicability; transportation.

(1) DRIVING SKILLS TEST FEE. The treatment of section 343.21 (2) of the statutcs
first applies to applications for an operator’s license or endorsement submitted to the
department of transportation on October 1, 1999.

(END)



