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State of Wisconsin g
1999 - 2000 LEGISLATURE LRB~0503K/

DOA.......Jablonsky — Authorize commissioner to exempt classes of insurance

policies by rule from the requirement of prior filing and approval

For 1999-01 BUDGET — NoT READY FOR INTRODUCTION
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AN AcCT %}%, relating to: exempting classes of insurance policy forms from prior

filing and approval.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau C(>C:;>
INSURANCE

Under current law, policy forms for all types of insurance not exempted from the
requirement by statute must be filed with the office of the commissioner of insurance
and approved prior to use. The bill allows the commissioner of insurance to exempt
by rule from the requirement for prior filing and approval other classes of insurance
policy forms.

For further information see the state fiscal estimate, which will be printed as
an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows: :

SECTION 1. 631.20 (1) of the statutes is renumbered 631.20 (1) (a) and amended

to read:
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631.20 (1) (a) No form subject to s. 631.01 (1), except as exempted under s.
631.01 (2) to (5) or by rule under par. (b), may be used unless it has been filed with
and approved by the commissioner and unless the insurer certifies that the form
complies with chs. 600 to 655 and rules promulgated under chs. 600 to 655. t is
dcemed approved if it is not disapproved within 30 days after filing, or within a
30—day extension of that period ordered by the commissioner prior to the expiration

of the first 30 days.

History: 1975 c. 375, 421; 1979 c. 218; 1987 a. 247.

SECTION 2. 631.20 (1) (b) of the statutes is created to read:

631.20 (1) (b) Subject to s. 655.24 (1), the commissioner may by rule exempt
certain classes of policy forms from prior filing and approval.

SECTION 3. 631.20 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

631.20 (3) SUBSEQUENT DISAPPROVAL. Whenever the commissioner finds, after
a hearing, that a form approved or deemed to be approved under sub. (1) (a) would
be disapproved under sub. (2) if newly filed, the commissioner may order that on or
before a date not less than 30 nor more than 90 days after the order the use of the

form shall be discontinued or appropriate changes shall be made.

History: 1975 c. 375, 421, 1979 c. 218; 1987 a. 247.

SECTION 4. 63 1.270 (6) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

631.20 (8) (a) The penalties under s. 601.64 (3) to (5) may not be imposed
against an insurer for using a form that does not comply with a statute or rule if the
statute or rule was in effect on thé date the form was approved or deemed to be

approved under sub. (1) (a).

History: 1975 c. 375, 421; 1979 c. 218; 1987 a. 247.

SECTION 5. 631.20 (6) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
631.20 (6) (b) Use of a form that does not comply with a statute or rule which

takes effect after the date the form was approved or deemed to be approved under
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sub. (1) (a) is a violation of the statute or rule, and the penalties under s. 601.64 may

N

be imposed against the insurer using the form.

History: 1975 c. 375, 421; 1979 c. 218; 1987 a. 247,

SECTION 6. 631.36 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

631.36 (1) (a) General. Except as otherwise provided in this section or in other

N

statutes or by rule under par. (c), this section applies to all contracts of insurance

Ot

6 based on forms which are subject to filing and approval under s. 631.20 (1) (a).

History: 1975 c. 375, 421; 1977 c. 444 5. 11; 1979 c. 102; 1979 c. 110 5. 60 (11); 1981 c. 83; 1985 a. 335; 1989 a. 187, 332, 359; 1991 a. 315; 1995 a. 259; 1997 a. 27.
SECTION 7. 655.24 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

655.24 (1) No insurer may enter into or issue any policy of health care liability

Qo

9 insurance until its policy form has been submitted to and approved by the

10 commissioner under s. 631.20 (1) (a). The filing of a policy form by any insurer with

11 the commissioner for approval shall constitute, on the part of the insurer, a
12 conclusive and unqualified acceptance of all provisions of this chapter, and an
13 agreement by it to be bound hereby as to any policy issued by it to any health care

14 provider.

History: 1975 c. 37; 1977 c. 131; 1985 a. 340; 1989 a. 187; 1991 . 214,
15 (END)



DRAFTER’S NOTE LRB_0503/6‘ i
FROM THE PJK...:;W‘:(
LEGISLATIVE REFERENCE BUREAU C&

Notice that under this bill, as drafted, any policy exempted by rule would also be
exempt from the application of s. 631.36. Is this okay?

Pamela J. Kahler
Senior Legislative Attorney
266—-2682



DRAFTER’S NOTE LRB-0503/P1dn
FROM THE PJK:kmg:ijs
LEGISLATIVE REFERENCE BUREAU

October 8, 1998

Notice that under this bill, as drafted, any policy exempted by rule would also be
exempt from the application of s. 631.36. Is this okay?

Pamela J. Kahler
Senior Legislative Attorney
266-2682
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DOA.......Jablonsky — Authorize commissioner to exempt classes of insurance
policies by rule from the requirement of prior filing and approval

For 1999-01 BUDGET — NoT READY FOR INTRODUCTION

AN Act ...; relating to: exempting classes of insurance policy forms from prior

filing and approval.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau

INSURANCE

Under current law, policy forms for all types of insurance not exempted from the
requirement by statute must be filed with the office of the commissioner of insurance
(OCI) and approved prior to use. The bill allows the commissioner of insurance to
exempt by rule from the requirement for prior filing and approval other classes of
insurance policy forms.

For further information see the state fiscal estimate, which will be printed as
an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

SECTION 1. 631.20 (1) of the statutes is renumbered 631.20 (1) (a) and amended

to read:
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631.20 (1) (a) No form subject to s. 631.01 (1), except as exempted under s.
631.01 (2) to (5) or by rule under par. (b), may be used unless it has been filed with
and approved by the commissioner and unless the insurer certifies that the form
complies with chs. 600 to 655 and rules promulgated under chs. 600 to 655. It is
deemed approved if it is not disapproved within 80 days after filing, or within a
30-day extension of that period ordered by the commissioner prior to the expiration
of the first 30 days.

SECTION 2. 631.20 (1) (b) of the statutes is created to read:

631.20 (1) (b) Subject to s. 655.24 (1), the commissioner may by rule exempt
certain classes of policy forms from prior filing and approval.

SECTION 3. 631.20 (8) of the statutes is amended to read:

631.20 (3) SUBSEQUENT DISAFPROVAL. Whenever the commissioner finds, after
a hearing, that a form approved or deemed to be approved under sub. (1) (a) would
be disapproved under sub. (2) if newly filed, the commissioner may order that on or
before a date not less than 30 nor more than 90 days after the order the usc of the
form shall be discontinued or appropriate changes shall be made.

SECTION 4. 631.20 (6) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

631.20 (6) (a) The penalties under s. 601.64 (3) to (5) may not be imposed
against an insurer for using a form that does not comply with a statute or rule if the
statute or rule was in effect on the date the form was approved or deemed to be
approved under sub. (1) (a).

SECTION 5. 631.20 (6) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

631.20 (6) (b) Use of a form that does not comply with a statute or rule which

takes effect after the date the form was approved or deemed to be approved under
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sub. (1) (a) is a violation of the statute or rule, and the penalties under s. 601.64 may
be imposed against the insurer using the form.

SECTION 6. 631.36 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

631.36 (1) (a) General. Except as otherwise provided in this section or in other
statutes or by rule under par. (c), this section applies to all contracts of insurance
based on forms which are subject to filing and approval under s. 631.20 (1) (a).

SECTION 7. 655.24 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

655.24 (1) No insurer may enter into or issue any policy of health care liability
insurance until its policy form has been submitted to and approved by the
commissioner under s. 631.20 (1) (a). The filing of a policy form by any insurer with
the commissioner for approval shall constitute, on the part of the insurer, a
conclusive and unqualified acceptance of all provisions of this chapter, and an
agreement by it to be bound hereby as to any policy issued by it to any health care
provider.

(END)



NOTE TO DRAFTING FILE for LRB-0503:

Per the drafter, this draft has been redrafted
to a “/1” as no problems remain in the draft
that require resolution before introduction of
the budget bill. There are no changes
between the “/PX” and the “/1.”
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DOA.......Jablonsky — Authorize commissioner to exempt classes of insurance
policies by rule from the requirement of prior filing and approval

FOR 1999-01 BUDGET — NoT READY FOR INTRODUCTION

AN ACT ..; relating to: exempting classes of insurance policy forms from prior

filing and approval.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau

INSURANCE

Under current law, policy forms for all types of insurance not exempted from the
requirement by statute must be filed with the office of the commissioner of insurance
(OCI) and approved prior to use. The bill allows the commissioner of insurance to
exempt by rule from the requirement for prior filing and approval other classes of
insurance policy forms.

For further information see the state fiscal estimate, which will be printed as
an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

SECTION 1. 631.20 (1) of the statutes is renumbered 631.20 (1) (a) and amended

to read:
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SECTION 1

631.20 (1) (a) No form subject to s. 631.01 (1), except as exempted under s.

631.01 (2) to (5) or by rule under par. (b), may be used unless it has been filed with

and approved by the commissioner and unless the insurer certifies that the form
complies with chs. 600 to 655 and rules promulgated under chs. 600 to 655. It is
deemed approved if it is not disapproved within 30 days after filing, or within a
30—day extension of that period ordered by the commissioner prior to the expiration
of the first 30 days.

SECTION 2. 631.20 (1) (b) of the statutes is created to read:

631.20 (1) (b) Subject to s. 655.24 (1), the commissioner may by rule exempt
certain classes of policy forms from prior filing and approval.

SECTION 3. 631.20 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

631.20 (3) SUBSEQUENT DISAPPROVAL. Whenever the commissioner finds, after
a hearing, that a form approved or deemed to be approved under sub. (1) (a) would
be disapproved under sub. (2) if newly filed, the commissioner may order that on or
before a date not less than 30 nor more than 90 days after the order the use of the
form shall be discontinued or appropriate changes shall be made.

SECTION 4. 631.20 (6) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

631.20 (B) (a) The penalties under s. 601.64 (3) to (5) may not be imposed
against an insurer for using a form that does not comply with a statute or rule if the
statute or rule was in effect on the date the form was approved or deemed to be
approved under sub. (1) (a).

SECTION 5. 631.20 (6) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

631.20 (6) (b) Use of a form that does not comply with a statute or rule which

takes effect after the date the form was approved or deemed to be approved under
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SECTION 5

sub. (1) (a) is a violation of the statute or rule, and the penalties under s. 601.64 may
be imposed against the insurer using the form.

SECTION 6. 631.36 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

631.36 (1) (a) General. Except as otherwise provided in this section or in other
statutes or by rule under par. (¢), this section applies to all contracts of insurance
based on forms which are subject to filing and approval under s. 631.20 (1) (a).

SECTION 7. 655.24 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

655.24 (1) No insurer may enter into or issue any policy of health care liability
insurance until its policy form has been submitted to and approved by the
commissioner under s. 631.20 (1) (a). The filing of a policy form by any insurer with
the commissioner for approval shall constitute, on the part of the insurer, a
conclusive and unqualified acceptance of all provisions of this chapter, and an
agreement by it to be bound hereby as to any policy issued by it to any health care
provider.

(END)



