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Increase sales and use tax late filing fee

Wisconsin Department of Revenue

| IS&E Division

August 13, 1998

TITLE: Increase Sales and Use Tax Late Filing Fee

DESCRIPTION OF CURRENT LAW AND PROBLEM:

Section 77.60(2)(intro.) provides that delinquent sales and use tax returns are subject to a2 $10
late filing fee unless the return was not timely filed because of the death of the person required
to file or unless the return was not timely filed because of a reasonable cause and not because

of neglect.

This late filing fee is too small to deter persons from filing delinquent sales and use tax returns.
We have received the following numbers of late-filed sales and use tax returns over the years:

1994-95 84,516 ‘
1995-96 75,431 ‘
1996-97 91,985
1997-98 84,503

A higher late filing fee is more reflective of our costs in issuing an estimated assessment to
encourage filing of the actual return (printing, postage, computer time, mailroom labor and return
envelopes). The late filing fee should cover these costs; the general taxpaying public should not

have to subsidize late filers.

Also, the sales tax is a trust fund tax. Section 77.60(11), Wis. Stats., provides that “whenever a
person collects tax moneys imposed under s. 77.52, 77.53 or 77.71 from a consumer, user or

purchaser, the person receives those tax moneys as trust funds and state property.” Many
states require the retailer to transmit these trust fund taxes to the state sooner than what

Wisconsin does. For example, lllinois requires weekly payments.

Section 71.83(3), Wis. Stats., as amended by 1997 Act 237, provides a $30 late filing fee for a

late employer withholding and deposit report. The same section provides for a $30 late filing fee ;
for a late corporation franchise/income tax return and a $30 late filing fee for a late individual ~ 2
income tax retumn filed 60 or more days late ($5 for less than 60 days). i

RECOMMENDATION: .

Increase the sales and use tax late filing fee from $10 to $30. A $30 late filing fee is reasonable
for retailers who don't transmit state property on time.
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DOA.......Holden — Increase sales and use tax late filing fee

FOR 1999-01 BUDGET — NOT READY FOR INTRODUCTION

efating to: increasing\the sales and use tax late filing fee.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau
TAXATION

OTHER TAXATION

Under current law, delinquent sales and use tax returns are subject to a $10 late
filing fee unless the return was not timely filed because of the death of the person
required to file or because of reasonable cause, but not because of neglect. This bill
changes the late filing fee to $30 for returns that are filed for periods beginning after
August 31, 1999. ,

This increased late filing fee is equal to the late filing fee for a late employer
withholding and deposit report, a late corporation franchise and income tax return
and a late individual income tax return that is at least 60 days late.

For further information see the state fiscal estimate, which will be printed as
an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

SECTION 1. 77.60 (2) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:
77.60 (2) (intro.) Delinquent sales and use tax returns shall be subject to a $10

$30 late filing fee unless the return was not timely filed because of the death of the
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1 person required to file or unless the return was not timely filed because of a
2 reasonable cause and not because of neglect. The fee shall not apply if the
3 department has failed to issue a seller’s permit or a use tax registration within 30
4 days of the receipt of an application for a seller’s permit or use tax registration
5 accompanied by the fee established under s. 73.03 (50), if the person does not hold
6 a valid certificate under s. 73.03 (50), and the security required under s. 77.61 (2).
7 Delinquent sales and use taxes shall bear interest at the rate of 1.5% per month until
8 paid. The taxes imposed by this subchapter shall become delinquent if not paid:

History: 1975 c. 39, 186; 1979 c. 110's. 60 (13); 1979 c. 221, 230; 1981 c. 20; 1983 a. 27; 1985 a. 29; 1987 a. 399; 1991 a. 39, 269, 316; 1993 a. 16, 112, 408, 437; 1995
a. 27, 428; 1997 a. 237, 314. e . e
9 SECTION 9343. Initial applicability; revenue.

v
10 (1) SALES AND USE TAX LATE FILING FEE. The treatment of section 77.60 (2) (intro.)
11 of the statutes first applies to returns that are filed for periods beginning after

12 August 31, 1999.

13 (END)



ORRESPONDENCE/MEMORANDUM
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STATE OF WISCONSIN

January 4, 1999

Kerry Holden
State Budget Office, DOA
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DEPARTIAENT OF ADMINIST RATION

STATE BUDGET OFFICE

LRB Draft 0622/P1 — Increase sales and use tax late filing fee

The Department of Revenue requests the following changes to the language of the statdte:

The phrase in the first sentence should be changed to read: “...the return was not timely
cause and not due to neglect...”

2) (The phyédse in the second sentence should be changed to read: “...and the security
required dnder s. 77.61(2) has not been placed with the department.”

3) The initial applicability date should be changed to coincide with the quarter ending

September 30, 1999 rather than August 31, 1999.

| have attached a copy of the proposal with the requested changes. If you have any questions

please contact me at 6-8920. Thank you.

cc Marc Weinberger
Diane Hardt
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DOA...... Holden — Increase sales and use tax late filing fee | -
'FOR 1999-01 BUDGET — NOT READY FOR INTRODUCTION |

AN AcT ..; relating to: increasing the sales and use tax late filing fee.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau
TAXATION
" OTHER TAXATION

Under current law, delinquent sales and use tax returns are subject toa $10late

filing fee unless the return was not timely filed because of the death of the person

required to file or because of reasonable cause, but not because of neglect. This bill

- changes the late filing fee to $30 for returns that are filed for periods begmmng after
August 31, 1999.

' This increased late filing fee is equal to the late filing fee for a late employer
withholding and deposit report, a late corporation franchise and income tax return
and a late individual income tax return that is at least 60 days late. :

For further information see the state fiscal estimate, which will be pnnted as
an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

SECTION 1. 77.60 (2) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

77.60 (2) (intro.) Delinquent sales and use tax returns shall be subject to a $18

$30 late filing fee unless the return was not timely filed because of the death of the
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department has failed to issue a seller’s permit or a use tax registration within 30

days of the receipt of an application for a seller’s permit or use tax registration

accompanied by the fee established under s. 73.03 (50), if the person does not hold

a valid certificate under s. 73.03 (50), and the security required under s. 77 81 (2)has

NoeT been phnecd whTh The depinrmenT,
Delinquent sales and use taxes shall bear interest at the rate of 1.5% per month until

paid. The taxes imposed by t‘ms subchapter shall become delinquent if not paid:
‘SECTION 9343, Initial applicability; revenue. |
(1) SALES AND I‘JSE' TAX LATE FILING FEE. The treatment of section 77.60 (2) (intrd )
of the statutes first applies to returns that are filed for penods beginning after
g;‘Em&ER iggg. | .

(END)
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DOA.......Holden - Increase sales and use tax late filing fee - OLN\
FOR 1999-01 BUDGET — NOT READY FOR INTRODUCTION

~relating to: increasing the sales and use tax late filing fee.
' b &V’bo Analysis" by the Legislative Reference Bureau
o™ TAXATION
OTHER TAXATION.

UnYercurrent law, delinquent sales and use tax returns are subject toa $10late
filing fee\unless the return was not timely filed because of the death of the person
required tb file or because of reasonable cause, but not because of neglect. This bill
late filing fee to $30 for returns that are filed for periods begjpnin%_%fg'e‘r\. G oo
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This Increased late filing fee is equal to the late filing fee for a late employer
withholding and deposit report, a late corporation franchise and income tax return
and a late individual income tax return that is at least 60 days late.

For further information see the state fiscal estimate, which will be printed as

an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

2 SEcTION 1. 77.60 (2) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:
3 77.60 (2) (intro.) Delinquent sales and use tax returns shall be subject to a $10

4 $30 late filing fee unless the return was not timely filed because of the death of the
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Cause and not Jeeeause—%eglect The fee shall not apply if the

department has failed to issue a seller’s permit or a use tax registration within 30 -
days .of the receipt of an application for a seller’s permit or use tux registration
accompanied by the fee established under s. 73.03 (50), if the person does not hold . -
a valid certificate under s. 73.03 (50), and the security required under s. 77.61 (2)
Delinquent sales énd use taxes shall bear interest at the rate of 1.5% per month un:il -

paid. The taxes imposed by this subchapter shall become delinquent if not paid:

i

SEcTION 9343. Initial applicability; revenue.:
(1) SALES AND USE TAX LATE FILING FEEf The treatment of section 77.60 (2) (intro.) -~ j’f Ee

of the statutes first applies to returns that are filed for perlods begmmng after. /
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DOA.......Holden — Increase sales and use tax late filing fee

FOR 1999-01 BUDGET — NoOT READY FOR INTRODUCTION

AN AcT ...; relating to: increasing the sales and use tax late filing fee.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau
TAXATION

OTHER TAXATION

Under current law, delinquent sales and use tax returns are subject toa $101ate
filing fee unless the return was not timely filed because of the death of the person
required to file or because of reasonable cause, but not because of neglect. This bill
changes the late filing fee to $30 for returns that are filed for periods beginning after
September 30, 1999, and changes the “reasonable cause” exception to a “good cause”
exception.

This increased late filing fee is equal to the late filing fee for a late employer
withholding and deposit report, a late corporation franchise and income tax return
and a late individual income tax return that is at least 60 days late.

For further information see the state fiscal estimate, which will be printed as
an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

SEcCTION 1. 77.60 (2) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:
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SECTION 1

77.60 (2) (intro.) Delinquent sales and use tax returns shall be subject to a $10

$30 late filing fee unless the return was not timely filed because of the death of the
person required to file or unless the return was not timely filed because—ofa
reasonable due to good cause and not beeause-of due to neglect. The fee shall not

apply if the department has failed to issue a seller’s permit or a use tax registration
within 30 days of the receipt of an application for a seller’s permit or use tax
registration accompanied by the fee established unders. 78.08 (50), if the person does
not hold a valid certificate under s. 73.03 (50), and the security required under s.
77.61 (2) has not been placed with the department. Delinquent sales and use taxes
shall bear interest at the rate of 1.5% per month until paid. The taxes imposed by
this subchapter shall become delinquent if not paid:

SEcTION 9343. Initial applicability; revenue.

(1) SALES AND USE TAX LATE FILING FEE. The treatment of section 77.60 (2) (intro.)
of the statutes first applies to returns that are filed for periods beginning after
September 30, 1999.

(END)



NOTE TO DRAFTING FILE for LRB-0622:

Per the drafter, this draft has been redrafted
to a “/1” as no problems remain in the draft
that require resolution before introduction of
the budget bill. There are no changes
between the “/PX” and the “/1.”
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DOA.......Holden — Increase sales and use tax late filing fee

FOR 1999-01 BUDGET — NOT READY FOR INTRODUCTION

AN AcT ...; relating to: increasing the sales and use tax late filing fee.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau
TAXATION

OTHER TAXATION

Under current law, delinquent sales and use tax returns are subject toa $101ate
filing fee unless the return was not timely filed because of the death of the person
required to file or because of reasonable cause, but not because of neglect. This bill
changes the late filing fee to $30 for returns that are filed for periods beginning after
September 30, 1999, and changes the “reasonable cause” exception to a “good cause”
exception.

This increased late filing fee is equal to the late filing fee for a late employer
withholding and deposit report, a late corporation franchise and income tax return
and a late individual income tax return that is at least 60 days late.

For further information see the state fiscal estimate, which will be printed as
an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

SEcTION 1. 77.60 (2) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:
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SECTION 1

77.60 (2) (intro.) Delinquent sales and use tax returns shall be subject to a $10

$30 late filing fee unless the return was not timely filed because of the death of the
person required to file or unless the return was not timely filed because—of-a
reasonable due to good cause and not beeause-of due to neglect. The fee shall not

apply if the department has failed to issue a seller’s permit or a use tax registration
within 30 days of the receipt of an application for a seller’s permit or use tax
registration accompanied by the fee established under s. 73.03 (50), if the person does
not hold a valid certificate under s. 73.03 (50), and the security required under s.
77.61 (2) has not been placed with the department. Delinquent sales and use taxes
shall bear interest at the rate of 1.5% per month until paid. The taxes imposed by
this subchapter shall become delinquent if not paid:

SECTION 9343. Initial applicability; revenue.

(1) SALES AND USE TAX LATE FILING FEE. The treatment of section 77.60 (2) (intro.)
of the statutes first applies to returns that are filed for periods beginning after
September 30, 1999.

(END)



