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Revise application process for assessor
licensure

Wisconsin Department of Revenue
Division of State and Local Finance

~ October 31, 1997

TITLE: Revision of sec. 73.09(4)(c), Wis. Stats.

DESCRIPTION OF CURRENT LAW AND PROBLEM: -
Under Wisconsin law, assessment personnel are required to be certified. The problem is that
the law is excessively strict about recertification via continuing education requiring a notarized
application to be submitted 60 days before the expiration date of the current certificate.

This law was originally passed in 1974. Since then, technology has enabled improved record
keeping. The department currently keeps automated certification records making assessor
recertification easier and faster. We feel that the 60-day requirement is an unnecessary
burden to assessor and recommend deletion.

Furthermore, because we maintaln records for one year after expiration and monitor
attendance using notarized course rosters or grade reports from program sponsors, we no
longer believe notarization of the application is necessary.

Finally, the current law can not be administered fairly to all individuals due to passage of 1991
Wisconsin Act 39, which moved the filing deadline from March 31 in the year of expiration to 60
days prior to expiration. The change failed to consider the legal requirement for attendance at
4 of 5 annual assessor conferences (traditionally held each November). For example, it is
impossible for individuals whose assessor certification expires on December 1 to comply with
the deadline. These individuals only have 4 opportunities to attend the conferences as
opposed to other individuals who have 5 chances as specified in sec. 73.09(4)(b).

RECOMMENDATION FOR ACTION: Revise sec. 73.09(4)(c)

FISCAL/ADMINISTRATIVE IMPACT:
There is no appreciable negative impact on the department, since it only changes the points in
time at which the department processes recertification applications and continuing education

course attendance.

DRAFTING INSTRUCTIONS:
1) Delete the words “notarized” and “at least 60 days” from the initial sentence of sec.
73.09(4)(c).
2) Add language to sec. 73.09(4)(c) such as The department may for good cause accept
applications up to one year after expiration of the current certificate, provided the applicant
has complied with the requirements specified in par. (b).

EFFECTIVE DATE OR INITIAL APPLICABILITY: January 1, 1998

CONTACT PERSON: Gregory J. Landretti, Director
Office of Assessment Practices 266-8202

PREPARED BY: Reed S. Johnson
Property Assessment Specialist-Chief Training Officer 266-7180
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AN AcT ... relating to: revising the recertification procedures for assessorse

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau
TAXATION

OTHER TAXATION

Under current law, the department of revenue (DOR) establishes by rule the
continuing education requirements and other recertification procedures and
requirements for assessors and assessment personnel. Persons may be recertified
by passing an examination or by attendance for 4 of the previous 5 years at annual
assessor conferences called by DOR and by meeting other continuing education
requirements determined by DOR. Currently, recertification is contingent upon
submission of a notarized application for renewal at least 60 days before the
expiration date of the current certificate.

This bill removes the requirement that the recertification application be
notarized and that it be submitted at least 60 days before the expiration date of the
current certificate. Also under the bill DOR may, for good cause, accept an
application for renewal up to one year after the expiration of the current certificate
if the applicant Whe current continuing education and other
recertification requirements. W con 4} M

[

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:
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1 SECTION 1. 73.09 (4) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:

2 73.09 (4) (c) Recertification is contingent upon submission of a-netarized an
3 application for renewal;-at

4 certificate; attesting to the completion of the requirements specified in par. (b).
5 Persons applying for renewal on the basis of attendance at the meetings called by the
6 department under s. 73.06 (1) and by meeting continuing education requirements
7 shall submit a $20 recertification fee with their applications. The department may,
8 upon good causev, accept an application for renewal up to one year after the expiration

v v
9 of the current certificate if the applicant haqfé complied with the requirements

10 specified in par. (b).

@ History: 1979 c. 221; 1981 c. 20 5. 1039; 1983 a. 27 ss. 1264v, 2200 (15); 1985 a. 120; 1991 a. 39, 31¢; 1997 a. 237.

SEcTION 9443. Effective dates; revenue,
12 (1) RECERTIFICATION PROCEDURES FOR ASSESSORS. The treatment of section 73.09
[Vl

' v
13 (4) (c)/of the statutes takes effect on January 1, 1999.

14 (END)
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AN AcT ...; relating to: revising the recertification procedures for assessors.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau
TAXATION

OTHER TAXATION

Under current law, the department of revenue (DOR) establishes by rule the
continuing education requirements and other recertification procedures and
requirements for assessors and assessment personnel. Persons may be recertified
by passing an examination or by attendance for 4 of the previous 5 years at annual
assessor conferences called by DOR and by meeting other continuing education
requirements determined by DOR. Currently, recertification is contingent upon
submission of a notarized application for renewal at least 60 days before the
expiration date of the current certificate.

This bill removes the requirement that the recertification application be
notarized and that it be submitted at least 60 days before the expiration date of the
current certificate. Also under the bill DOR may, for good cause, accept an
application for renewal up to one year after the expiration of the current certificate
if the applicant has complied with the current continuing education and other
recertification requirements.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:
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SEcTION 1. 73.09 (4) (¢) of the statutes is amended to read:

73.09 (4) (¢) Recertification is contingent upon submission of a-netarized an

application for renewal;at
certificate; attesting to the completion of the requirements specified in par. (b).
Persons applying for renewal on the basis of attendance at the meetings called by the
department under s. 78.06 (1) and by meeting continuing education requirements
shall submit a $20 recertification fee with their applications. The department may,
upon good cause, accept an application for renewal up to one year after the expiration
of the current certificate if t. licant has complied with the requiremen
specified in par. (b).

SEcTION 9443, Effective dates; revenue.

(1) RECERTIFICATION PROCEDURES FOR ASSESSORS. The treatment of section 73.09
(4) (c) of the statutes takes effect on January 1, 1999.

(END)



NOTE TO DRAFTING FILE for LRB-0775:

Per the drafter, this draft has been redrafted
to a “/1” as no problems remain in the draft
that require resolution before introduction of
the budget bill. There are no changes
between the “/PX” and the “/1.”
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AN AcT ...; relating to: revising the recertification procedures for assessors.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau
TAXATION

OTHER TAXATION

Under current law, the department of revenue (DOR) establishes by rule the
continuing education requirements and other recertification procedures and
requirements for assessors and assessment personnel. Persons may be recertified
by passing an examination or by attendance for 4 of the previous 5 years at annual
assessor conferences called by DOR and by meeting other continuing education
requirements determined by DOR. Currently, recertification is contingent upon
submission of a notarized application for renewal at least 60 days before the
expiration date of the current certificate.

This bill removes the requirement that the recertification application be
notarized and that it be submitted at least 60 days before the expiration date of the
current certificate. Also under the bill DOR may, for good cause, accept an
application for renewal up to one year after the expiration of the current certificate
if the applicant has complied with the current continuing education and other
recertification requirements.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:
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SECTION 1

SECTION 1. 73.09 (4) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:

73.09 (4) (c) Recertification is contingent upon submission of a-netarized an
application for renewal;-at-least-80-days-before-the-expiration-date-of the-current
certificate; attesting to the completion of the requirements specified in par. (b).
Persons applying for renewal on the basis of attendance at the meetings called by the
department under s. 73.06 (1) and by meeting continuing education requirements

shall submit a $20 recertification fee with their applications. The department may,

upon good cause, accept an application for renewal up to one year after the expiration
of the current certificate if the applicant has complied with the requirements
specified in par. (b).

SECTION 9443. Effective dates; revenue.
(1) RECERTIFICATION PROCEDURES FOR ASSESSORS. The treatment of section 73.09
(4) (c) of the statutes takes effect retroactively to January 1, 1999.

(END)



