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SECTION 3136

*_0536/1.7* SECTION 3136. 767.265 (2h) of the statutes, as affected by 1999
Wisconsin Act .... (this act), is amended to read:

767.265 (2h) If a court—ordered assignment, including the assignment
specified under sub. (1) for the payment of any arrearages due, does not require
immediately effective withholding and a payer fails to make a required maintenance,
child support, spousal support e, family support or annual receiving and disbursing
fee payment within 10 days after its due date, within 20 days after the payment’s due
date the court, family court commissioner or county child support agency under s.
59.53 (5) shall cause the assignment to go into effect by providing notice of the
assignment in the manner provided under sub. (2r) and shall send anotice by regular
mail tothe last—known address of the payer. The notice sent to the payer shall inform
the payer that an assignment is in effect and that the payer may, within a 10-day
period, by motion request a hearing on the issue of whether the assignment should
remain in effect. The court or family court commissioner shall hold a hearing
requested under this subsection within 10 working days after the date of the request.
If at the hearing the payer establishes that the assignment is not proper because of
a mistake of fact, the court or family court commissioner may direét that the
assignment be withdrawn. Either party may, within 15 working days after the date
of a decision by a family court commissioner under this subsection, seek review of the
decision by the court with jurisdiction over the action.

#.0536/1.8* SECTION 3137. 767.265 (2m) of the statutes is created to read:

767.265 (2m) An obligation to pay unpaid fces under s. 767.29 (1) (dm)
constitutes an assignment of all commissions, earnings, salaries, wages, pension
benefits, benefits under ch. 102 or 108, lottery prizes that are payable in instalments

and other money due or to be due in the future to the department or its designee. The
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county child support agency under s. 59.53 (5) may cause the assignment to go into
effect by providing notice of the assignment in the manner provided under sub. (2r)
and sending a notice by regular mail to the last-known address of the payer. The
notice sent to the payer shall inform the payer that an assignment is in effect and
that the payer may, within a 10—day period, by motion request a hearing on the issue
of whether the assignment should remain in effect. The court or family court
commissioner shall hold a hearing requested under this subsection within 10
working days after the date of the request. If at the hearing the payer establishes
that the assignment is not proper because of a mistake of fact, the court or family
court commissioner may direct that the assignment be withdrawn. The payer or the
county child support agency may, within 15 working days after the date of a decision
by a family court commissioner under this subsection, seek review of the decision by
the court with jurisdiction over the action.

*-0536/1.9* SECTION 3138. 767.265 (2r) of the statutes, as affected by 1997
Wisconsin Act 191, section 414, is amended to read:

767.265 (2r) Upon entry of each order for child support, maintenance, family
support ex, support by a spouse or the annual receiving and disbursing fee, and upon
approval of each stipulation for child support, unless the court finds that income
withholding is likely to cause the payer irreparable harm or unless s. 767.267
applies, the court, family court commissioner or county child support agency under
s. 59.53 (5) shall provide notice of the assignment by regular mail or by facsimile
machine, as defined in s. 134.72 (1) (a), or other electronic means to the last -known
address of the person from whom the payer receives or will receive money. The notice
shall provide that the amount withheld may not exceed the maximum amount that

is subject to garnishment under 15 USC 1673 (b) (2). If the department or its
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designee, whichever is appropriate, does not receive the money from the person
notified, the court, family court commissioner or county child support agency under
s. 59.53 (5) shall provide notice of the assignment to any other person from whom the
payer receives or will receive money. Notice under this subsection may be a notice
of the court, a copy of the executed assignment or a copy of that part of the court order
directing payment.

*_0536/1.10* SEcTION 3139. 767.29 (1) (d) (intro.) and 1. of the statutes, as
created by 1997 Wisconsin Act 27, are consolidated, renumbered 767.29 (1) (d) and
amended to read:

767.29 (1) (d) For receiving and disbursing maintenance, child support or

family support payments, and for maintaining the records required under par. (c),
the department or its designee shall collect an annual fee of $25 to-be-paid-by-each
partyorderedtomake payments. The court or family court commissioner shall order

each party ordered to make payments to pay the annual fee under this paragraph at

in each year for which payments are ordered. In directing the manner of payment

of the annual fee, the court or family court commissioner shall order that the annual

foo be withheld from income and sent to the department or its designee. as provided
under s. 767.265. All fees collected under this paragraph shall be deposited in the
appropriation account under s. 20.445 (3) (ja). At the time of ordering the payment
of an annual fee under this paragraph, the court or family court commissioner shall
notify each party ordered to make payments of the requirement to pay the annual

fee and of the amount of the annual fee. If the annual fee under this seetien

paragraph is not paid when due, the department or its designee may not deduct the
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annual fee from the maintenance or child or family support payment, but may de-any

of the following: 1. Meve move the court for a remedial sanction under ch. 785.

*_0536/1.11* SECTION 3140. 767.29 (1) (d) 2. of the statutes, as created by 1997
Wisconsin Act 27, is repealed.

*_0586/1.12* SEcTION 2141. 767.29 (1) (dm) of the statutes is created to read:

767.29 (1) (dm) The department or its designee may collect any unpaid fees
under s. 814.61 (12) (b), 1997 stats., that are shown on the department’s automated
payment and collection system on December 31, 1998, and shall deposit all fees
collected under this paragraph in the appropriation account under s. 20.445 (3) (ja).
The department or its designee may collect unpaid fees under this paragraph
through income withholding unders. 767.265 (2m). If the department or its designee
determines that income withholding is inapplicable, ineffective or insufficient for the
collection of any unpaid fees under this paragraph, the department or its designee
may move the court for a remedial sanction under ch. 785. The ciepartment or its
designee may contract with or employ a collection agency or other person for the
collection of any unpaid fees under this paragraph and, notwithstanding s. 20.930,
may contract with or employ an attorney to appear in any action in state or federal
court to enforce the payment obligation. The department or its designee may not
deduct the amount of unpaid fees from any maintenance or child or family support
payment.

#_1085/4.7* SECTION 3142, 775.01 of the statutes is amended to read:

775.01 Actions against state; bond. Upon Except as provided in s. 893.83,
upon the refusal of the legislature to allow a claim against the state, the claimant
may commence an action against the state by service as provided in s. 801.11 (3) and

by filing with the clerk of court a bond, not exceeding $1,000, with 2 or more sureties,
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to be approved by the attorney general, to the effect that the claimant will indemnify
the state against all costs that may accrue in such action and pay to the clerk of court
all costs, in case the claimant fails to obtain judgment against the state.
*-0063/1.13* SECTION 3143. 778.02 of the statutes is amended to read:
778.02 Action in name of state; complaint; attachment. Every such
forfeiture action shall be in the name of the state of Wisconsin, and it is sufﬁcient to
allege in the complaint that the defendant is indebted to the plaintiff in the amount
of the forfeiture claimed, according to the provisions of the statute that imposes it,
specifying the statute and for the penalty assessment imposed by s. 165.87, the jail
assessment imposed by s. 302.46 (1), the crime laboratories and drug law
enforcement assessment imposed by s. 165.755, the enforcement assessment
imposed under s. 253.06 (4) (c) or (5) (c),_any applicable consumer information
assessment imposed by s. 100.261 and any applicable domestic abuse assessment
imposed by s. 973.055 (1). If the statute imposes a forfeiture for several offenses or
delinquencies the complaint shall specify the particular offense or delinquency for
which the action is brought, with a demand for judgment for the amount of the
forfeiture, penalty assessment, jail assessment, crime laboratories and drug law
enforcement assessment, any applicable enforcement assessment, any applicable
consumer information assessment and any applicable domestic abuse assessment.
If the defendant is a nonresident of the state, an attachment may issue.
%_1265/5.56* SECTION 3144, 778.02 of the statutes is amended to read:
778.02 Action in name of state; complaint; attachment. Every such
forfeiture action shall be in the name of the state of Wisconsin, and it is sufficient to
allege in the complaint that the defendant is indebted to the plaintiff in the amount

of the forfeiture claimed, according to the provisions of the statute that imposes it,
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specifying the statute and for the penalty assessment imposed by s. 165:87 757.05,

the jail assessment imposed by s. 302.46 (1), the crime laboratories and drug law
enforcement assessment imposed by s. 165.755, the enforcement assessment
imposed under s. 253.06 (4) (c) or (5) (c) and any applicable domestic abuse
assessment imposed by s. 973.055 (1). If the statute imposes a forfeiture for several
offenses or delinquencies the complaint shall specify the particular offense or
delinquency for which the action is brought, with a demand for judgment for the
amount of the forfeiture, penalty assessment, jail assessment, crime laboratories
and drug law enforcement assessment, any applicable enforcement assessment and
any applicable domestic abuse assessment. If the defendant isa nonresident of the
state, an attachment may issue.

*_0063/1.14* SECTION 3145. 778.03 of the statutes is amended to read:

778.03 Complaint to recover forfeited goods. In an action to recover
property forfeited by any statute it shall be sufficient to allege in the complaint that
the property has been forfeited, specifying the statute, with a demand of judgment
for the delivery of the property, or the value thereof and for payment of the penalty
assessment imposed by s. 165.87, the jail assessment imposed by s. 302.46 (1), the
crime laboratories and drug law enforcement assessment imposed by s. 165.755, the
enforcement assessment imposed under s. 258.06 (4) (c) or (5) ‘(C)a_@mpﬂi@k_b

consumer information assessment imposed by s. 100.261 and any applicable

domestic abuse assessment imposed by s. 973.055 (1).

*_1265/5.57* SECTION 3146. 778.08 of the statutes is amended to read:
778.03 Complaint to recover forfeited goods. In an action to recover
property forfeited by any statute it shall be sufficient to allege in the complaint that

the property has been forfeited, specifying the statute, with a demand of judgment
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for the delivery of the property, or the value thereof and for. payment of the penalty

assessment imposed by s. 165-87757.05, the jail assessment imposed by s. 302.46 (1),

the crime laboratories and drug law enforcement assessment imposed by s. 165.755,
the enforcement assessment imposed under s. 253.06 (4) (c) or (5) (c) and any
applicable domestic abuse assessment imposed by s. 973.055 (1).
*_0063/1.15* SECTION 3147. 778.06 of the statutes is amended to read:
778.06 Action for what sum. When a forfeiture is imposed, not exceeding a
specific sum or when it is not less than one sum or more than another, the action may
be brought for the highest sum specified and for the penalty assessment imposed by
s. 165.87, the jail assessment imposed by s. 302.46 (1), the crime laboratories and
drug law enforcement assessment imposed by s. 165.755, the enforcement
assessment imposed under s. 253.06 (4) (c) or (5) (c),_any applicable consumer
information assessment imposed by s. 100.261 and any applicable domestic abuse
assessment imposed by s. 978.055 (1); and judgment may be rendered for such sum
as the court or jury shall assess or determine to be proportionate to the offense.
*_1265/5.58"* SECTION 3148. 778.06 of the statutes is amended to read:
778.06 Action for what sum. When a forfeiture is imposed, not exceeding a
specific sum or when it is not less than one sum or more than another, the action may
be brought for the highest sum specified and for the penally assessment imposed by

s. 185.87 757.05, the jail assessment imposed by s. 302.46 (1), the crime laboratories

and drug law enforcement assessment imposed by s. 165.755, the enforcement
assessment imposed under s. 258.06 (4) (c) or (5) (¢) and any applicable domestic
abuse assessment imposed by s. 973.055 (1); and judgment may be rendered for such
sum as the court or jury shall assess or determine to be proportionate to the offense.

*_0063/1.16* SECTION 3149. 778.10 of the statutes is amended to read:
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778.10 Municipal forfeitures, how recovered. All forfeitures imposed by
any ordinance or regulation of any county, town, city or village, or of any other
domestic corporation may be sued for and recovered, under this chapter, in the name
of the county, town, city, village or corporation. It is sufficient to allege in the
complaint that the defendant is indebted to the plaintiff in the amount of the
forfeiture claimed, specifying the ordinance or regulation that imposes it and of the
penalty assessment imposed by s. 165.87, the jail assessment imposed by s. 302.46
(1), the crime laboratories and drug law enforcement assessment imposed by s.
165.755,_any applicable consumer information assessment imposed by s. 100.261
and any applicable domestic abuse assessment imposed by s. 973.055 (1). If the
ordinance or regulation imposes a penalty or forfeiture for several offenses or
delinquencies the complaint shall specify the particular offenses or delinquency for
which the action is brought, with a demand for judgment for the amount of the
forfeiture, the penalty assessment imposed by s. 165.87, the jail assessment imposed
by s. 302.46 (1), the crime laboratories and drug law enforcement assessment
imposed by s. 165.755, any applicable consumer information assessment impose
s. 100.261 and any applicable domestic abuse assessment imposed by s. 973.055 (1).
All moneys collected on the judgment shall be paid to the treasurer of the county,
town, city, village or corporation, except that all jail assessments shall be paid to the
county treasurer.

.1265/5.59* SECTION 8150. 778.10 of the statutes is amended to read:

778.10 Municipal forfeitures, how recovered. All forfeiturcs imposed by
any ordinance or regulation of any county, town, city or village, or of any other
domestic corporation may be sued for and recovered, under this chapter, in the name

of the county, town, city, village or corporation. It is sufficient to allege in the
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complaint that the defendant is indebted to the plaintiff in the amount of the
forfeiture claimed, specifying the ordinance or regulation that imposes it and of the
penalty assessment imposed by s. 165-8% 757.05, the jail assessment imposed by s.
302.46 (1), the crime laboratories and drug law enforcement assessment imposed by
s. 165.755 and any applicable domestic abuse assessment imposed by s. 973.055 (1).
If the ordinance or regulation imposes a penalty or forfeiture for several offenses or
delinquencies the complaint shall specify the particular offenses or delinquency for
which the action is brought, with a demand for judgment for the amount of the
forfeiture, the penalty assessment imposed by s. 65-87 757.05, the jail assessment
imposed by s. 302.46 (1), the crime laboratories and drug law enforcement
assessment imposed by s. 165.755 and any applicable domestic abuse assessment
imposed by s.>973.055 (1). All moneys collected on the judgment shall be paid to the
treasurer of the county, town, city, village or corporation, except that all jail
assessments shall be paid to the county treasurer. |

*_0063/1.17* SrcTION 8151, 778.105 of the statutes is amended to read:

778.105 Disposition of forfeitures. Revenues from forfeitures imposed by
any court or any branch thereof for the violation of any municipal or county
ordinance shall be paid to the municipality or county. Penalty assessment payments
shall be made as provided in s. 165.87. Jail assessment payments shall be made as
provided in s. 302.46 (1). Crime laboratories and drug law enforcement assessment
payments shall be paid as provided in . 165.755. Domestic abuse assessments shall

be made as provided in s. 973.055. Consumer information assessment payments

shall be made as provided in s. 100.261.
¥_1265/5.60* SECTION 3152. 778.105 of the statutes is amended to read:
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778.105 Disposition of forfeitures. Revenues from forfeitures imposed by
any court or any branch thereof for the violation of any municipal or county
ordinance shall be paid to the municipality or county. Penalty assessment payments
shall be made as provided in s. 165.87 757.05. Jail assessment payments shall be
madc as provided in s. 302.46 (1). Crime laboratories and drug law enforcement
assessment payments shall be paid as provided in s. 165.755. Domestic abuse
assessments shall be made as provided in s. 973.055.

*_0063/1.18* SECTION 3153. 778.13 of the statutes is amended to read:

778.18 Forfeitures collected, to whom paid. All moneys collected in favor
of the state for forfeiture, except the portion to be paid to any person who sues with
the state, shall be paid by the officer who collects the forfeiture to the treasurer of the
county within which the forfeiture was incurred within 20 days after its receipt. In
case of any failure in the payment the county treasurer may collect the payment of
the officer by action, in the name of the office and upon the official bond of the officer,
with interest at the rate of 12% per year from the time when it should have been paid.
Penalty assessment payments shall be made as provided in s. 165.87. Jail
assessment payments shall be made as provided in s. 302.46 (1). Crime laboratories
and drug law enforcement assessment payments shall be paid as provided in s.
165.755. Domestic abuse assessments shall be made as provided in s. 973.055.
Enforcement assessments shall be made as provided in s. 253.06 (4) (c). Consumer
information assessment payments shall be made as provided in s. 100.261.

*.1265/5.61" SECTION 3154, 778.18 of the statutes is amended to read:

778.13 Forfeitures collected, to whom paid. All moneys collected in favor
of the state for forfeiture, except the portion to be paid to any person who sues with

the state, shall be paid by the officer who collects the forfeiture to the treasurer of the



|

© 0O =2 o vt AW N

[y
o

11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25

1999 — 2000 Legislature -1076- LRB-2079/P1

SEcTION 3154
county within which the forfeiture was incurred within 20 days after its receipt. In
case of any failure in the payment the county treasurer may collect the payment of
the officer by action, in the name of the office and upon the official bond of the officer,
with interest at the rate of 12% per year from the time when it should have been paid.
Penalty assessment payments shall be made as provided in s. 185-87 757.05. Jail
assessment payments shall be made as provided in s. 302.46 (1). Crime laboratories
and drug law enforcement assessment payments shall be paid as provided in s.
165.755. Domestic abuse assessments shall be madé as provided in s. 973.055.
Enforcement assessments shall be made as provided in s. 253.06 (4) (c).

*—0063/1.19* SEcTION 3155. 778.18 of the statutes is amended to read:

778.18 Penalty upon municipal judge. If any municipal judge, of his or her
own will, dismisses any action brought before the judge under this chapter, unless
by order of the district attorney or attorney general or the person joined as plaintifl
with the state, or renders a less judgment therein than is prescribed by law, or
releases or discharges any such judgment or part thereof without payment or
collection, the judge and the judge’s sureties shall be liable, in an action upon the
judge’s bond, for the full amount of the forfeitures imposed by law or of the forfeiture
imposed by the judge and for the penalty assessment imposed by s. 165.87, the jail
assessment imposed by s. 302.46 (1), the crime laboratories and drug law
enforcement assessment imposed by s. 165.755, any applicable consumer

information assessment imposed by s. 100.261 and any applicable domestic abuse

assessment imposed by s. 973.055 (1), or for an amount equal to the amount in which
any such judgment or any part thereof is released or discharged. If any municipal
judge gives time or delay to any person against whom any such judgment is rendered

by the judge, or takes any bond or security for its future payment, the judge and the
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judge’s sureties shall also be liable for the payment of the judgment upon the judge’s
bond.

*.1265/5.62* SECTION 3156. 778.18 of the statutes is amended to read:

7%78.18 Penalty upon municipal judge. If any municipal judge, of his or her
own will, dismisses any action brought before the judge under this chapter, unless
by order of the district attorney or attorney general or the person joined as plaintiff
with the state, or renders a less judgment therein than is prescribed by law, or
releases or discharges any such judgment or part thereof without payment or
collection, the judge and the judge’s sureties shall be liable, in an action upon the
judge’s bond, for the full amount of the forfeitures imposed by law or of the forfeiture
imposed by the judge and for the penalty assessment imposed by s. 165-84 757.05,
the jail assessment imposed by s. 302.46 (1), the crime laboratories and drug law
enforcement assessment imposed by s. 165.755 and any applicable domestic abuse
assessment imposed by s. 973.055 (1), or for an amount equal to the amount in which
any such judgment or any part thereof is released or discharged. If any municipal
judge gives time or delay to any person against whom any such judgment is rendered
by the judge, or takes any bond or security for its future payment, the judge and the
judge’s sureties shall also be liable for the payment of the judgment upon the judge’s
bond.

*_0623/P3.6* SECTION 3157. 799.01 (1) (am) of the statutes is amended to read:

799.01 (1) (am) Return of earnest money. Actions for the return of earnest

money tendered pursuant to a contract for purchase of real property, including a

condominium unit, as defined in s. 703.02 (15), a-ad—tm&e—sha#e—p%epe#t%&&deﬁﬂeé
ine. 707.02(32) that includes 1to 4 dwelling units, as defined in s. 101.61 (1), by sale,



o = W N

© W =2 o

10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24

25

1999 — 2000 Legislature -1078- LRB-2079/P1

SEcTION 3157

exchange or land contract unless the transfer is exempt from the real estate transfer
fee under s. 77.25 regardless of the amount claimed.

*-~0063/1.20* SECTION 3158. 800.02(2) (a) 8. of the statutes is amended to read:

800.02 (2) (a) 8. Notice that if the defendant makes a deposit and fails to appear
in court at the time fixed in the citation, the defendant is deemed to have tendered
a plea of no contest and submits to a forfeiture, penalty assessment, jail assessment
and crime laboratories and drug law enforcement assessment, any applicable
consumer information assessment and any applicable domestic abuse assessment
plus costs, including the fee prescribed in s. 814.65 (1), not to exceed the amount of
the deposit. The notice shall also state that the court may decide to summon the
defendant rather than accept the deposit and plea.

#.00638/1.21* SECTION 3159. 800.02 (3)(a) 5. of the statutes is amended to read:

800.02 (8) (a) 5. A plain and concise statement of the violation identifying the
event or occurrence from which the violation arose and showing that the plaintiffis
entitled to relief, the ordinance, resolution or bylaw upon which the cause of action
is based and a demand for a forfeiture, the amount of which shall not exceed the
maximum set by the statute involved, the penalty assessment, the jail assessment,
the crime laboratories and drug law enforcement assessment, any applicable
consumer information assessment, any applicable domestic abuse assessment and
such other relief that is sought by the plaintiff.

*_0063/1.22* SECTION 3160. 800.03 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

800.08 (8) The amount of the deposit shall be set by the municipal judge, but.
shall not be effective until approved by the governing body of the municipality. The
amount shall not exceed the maximum penalty for the offense, including any penalty

assessment that would be applicable under s. 165.87, any jail assessment that would
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be applicable under s. 302.46 (1), any crime laboratories and drug law enforcement
assessment that would be applicable under s. 165.755, any consumer information
assessment that would be applicable under s. 100.261 and any domestic abuse
assessment that would be applicable under s. 973.055 (1), plus court costs, including
the fee prescribed in s. 814.65 (1).

#.1265/5.63* SECTION 3161. 800.03 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

800.03 (3) The amount of the deposit shall be set by the municipal judge, but
shall not be effective until approved by the governing body of the municipality. The
amount shall not exceed the maximum penalty for the offense, including any penalty
assessment that would be applicable under s. 165.87 757.05, any jail assessment that
would be applicable under s. 302.46 (1), any crime laboratories and drug law
enforcement assessment that would be applicable under s. 165.755 and any domestic
abuse assessment that would be applicable under s. 973.055 (1), plus court costs,
including the fee prescribed in s. 814.65 (1).

*_0063/1.23* SECTION 3162. 800.04 (2) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

800.04 (2) (b) If the municipal judge determines that the defendant should not
be released under par. (a) and the defendant is charged with a traffic or boating
violation, the municipal judge shall release the defendant on a deposit in the amount
established by the uniform deposit schedule under s. 345.26 (2) (a) or under s. 28.66.
For other violations, the municipal judge shall establish a deposit in an amount not
to exceed the maximum penalty for the offense, including any penalty assessment
that would be applicable under s. 165.87, any jail assessment that would be
applicable under s. 302.46 (1), any crime laboratories and drug law enforcement

assessment that would be applicable under s. 165.755, any consumer information

assessment that would be applicable under s. 100.261 and any domestic abuse
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assessment that would be applicable under s. 973.055 (1). If the judge in a 1st class
city determines that a defendant appearing before the judge through interactive
video and audio transmission should not be released under par. (a), the judge shall
inform the defendant that he or she has the right to appear personally before a judge
for a determination, not prejudiced by the first appearance, as to whether he or she
should be released without a deposit. On failure of the defendant to make a deposit
under this paragraph, he or she may be committed to jail pending trial only if the
judge finds that there is a reasonable basis to believe the person will not appear in
court.

¥.1265/5.64* SECTION 3163. 800.04 (2) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

R00.04 (2) (b) If the municipal judge determines that the defendant should not
be released under par. (a) and the defendant is charged with a traffic or boating
violation, the municipal judge shall release the defendant on a deposit in the amount
established by the uniform deposit schedule under s. 345.26 (2) (a) or under s. 23.66.
For other violations, the municipal judge shall establish a deposit in an amount not
to exceed the maximum penalty for the offense, including any penalty assessment

that would be applicable under s. 165.87 757.05, any jail assessment that would be

applicable under s. 302.46 (1), any crime laboratories and drug law enforcement
assessment that would be applicable under s. 165.755 and any domestic abuse
assessment that would be applicable under s. 973.055 (1). If the judge in a 1st class
city determines that a defendant appearing before the judge through interactive
video and audio transmission should not be released under par. (a), the judge shall
inform the defendant that he or she has the right to appear personally before a judge
for a determination, not prejudiced by the first appearance, as to whether he or she

should be released without a deposit. On failure of the defendant to make a deposit
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under this paragraph, he or she may be committed to jail pending trial only if the
judge finds that there is a reasonable basis to believe the person will not appear in
court.

*-0063/1.24* SECTION 3164. 800.04 (2) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:

800.04 (2) (¢) If the defendant has made a deposit under par. (b) or s. 800.03
and does not appear, he or she is deemed to have tendered a plea of no contest and
submits to a forfeiture, a penalty assessment imposed by s. 165.87, a jail assessment
imposed by s. 302.46 (1), a crime laboratories and drug law enforcement assessment
imposed by s. 165.755, any applicable consumer information assessment imposed by
s. 100.261 and any applicable domestic abuse assessment imposed by s. 973.055 (1)
plus costs, including the fee prescribed in s. 814.65 (1), not exceeding the amount of
the deposit. The court may either accept the plea of no contest and enter judgment
accordingly, or reject the plea and issue a summons. lf the court finds that the
violation meets the conditions in s. 800.093 (1), the court may summon the alleged
violator into court to determine if restitution shall be ordered under s. 800.093. If
the defendant fails to appear in response to the summons, the court shall issue a
warrant under s. 968.09. If the defendant has made a deposit but does appear, the
court shall allow the defendant to withdraw the plea of no contest.

*_1265/5.65* SECTION 3165. 800.04 (2) (¢) of the statutes is amended to read:

800.04 (2) (¢) If the defendant has made a deposit under par. (b) or s. 800.03
and does not appear, he or she is deemed to have tendered a plea of no contest and
submits to a forfeiture, a penalty assessment imposed by s. 165:87 757.05, a jail
assessment imposed by s. 302.46 (1), a crime laboratories and drug law enforcement
assessment imposed by s. 165.755 and any applicable domestic abuse assessment

imposed by s. 973.055 (1) plus costs, including the fee prescribed in s. 814.65 (1), not
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exceeding the amount of the deposit. The court may either accept the plea of no
contest and enter judgment accordingly, or reject the plea and issue a summons. If
the court finds that the violation meets the conditions in s. 800.093 (1), the court may
summon the alleged violator into court to determine if restitution shall be ordered
under s. 800.008. If the defendant fails to appear in response to the summons, the
court shall issue a warrant under s. 968.09. Ifthe defendant has made a deposit but
does appear, the court shall allow the defendant to withdraw the plea of no contest.

*_0063/1.25* SECTION 3166. 800.09 (1) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to
read:

800.09 (1) JUDGMENT. (intro.) If a municipal court finds a defendant guilty it
may render judgment by ordering restitution under s. 800.093 and payment of a
forfeiture, the penalty assessment imposed by s. 165.87, the jail assessment imposed
by s. 302.46 (1), the crime laboratories and drug law enforcement assessment
imposed by s. 165.755, any applicable consumer information assessment imposed by
s. 100.261 and any applicable domestic abuse assessment imposed by s. 973.055 (1)
plus costs of prosecution, including the fee prescribed in s. 814.65 (1). The court shall
apply any payment received on a judgment that includes restitution to first satisfy
any payment of restitution ordered, then to pay the forfeiture, assessments and
costs. If the judgment is not paid, the court may proceed under par. (a), (b) or (c) or
any combination of those paragraphs, as follows:

%_1265/5.66" SECTION 3167. 800.09 (1) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to
read:

800.09 (1) JUDGMENT. (intro.) Ifa municibal court finds a defendant guilty it
may render judgment by ordering restitution under s. 800.093 and payment of a

forfeiture, the penalty assessment imposed by s. 165.:87 7 57.05, the jail assessment
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imposed by s. 802.46 (1), the crime laboratories and drug law enforcement
assessment imposed by s. 165.755 and any applicable domestic abuse assessment
imposed by s. 973.055 (1) plus costs of prosecution, including the fee prescribed in s.
814.65 (1). The court shall apply any payment received on a judgment that includes
restitution to first satisfy any payment of restitution ordered, then to pay the
forfeiture, assessments and costs. If the judgment is not paid, the court may proceed
under par. (a), (b) or (c) or any combination of those paragraphs, as follows:
%_0063/1.26* SECTION 3168. 800.09 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:
800.09 (1) (a) The court may defer payment of any judgment or provide for
instalment payments. At the time the judgment is rendered, the court shall inform
the defendant, orally and in writing, of the date by which restitution and the
payment of the forfeiture, the penalty assessment, the jail assessment, the crime
laboratories and drug law enforcement assessment, any applicable consumer

information assessment and any applicable domestic abuse assessment plus costs

must be made, and of the possible consequences of failure to do so in timely fashion,
including imprisonment, as provided in s. 800.095, or suspension of the defendant’s
motor vehicle operating privilege, as provided in par. (c), if applicable. If the
defendant is not present, the court shall ensure that the information is sent to the
defendant by mail. In 1st class cities, all of the written information required by this
paragraph shall be printed in English and Spanish and provided to each defendant.

*_1615/P2.8* SECTION 3169. 800.09 (1) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:

800.09 (1) (c) The Subject to the fee under s. 85.185, if applicable, the court may
suspend the defendant’s operating privilege, as defined in s. 340.01 (40), until
restitution is made and the forfeiture, assessments and costs are paid, if the

defendant has not done so within 60 days after the date the restitution or payments
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or both are to be made under par. (a) and has not notified the court that he or she is
unable to comply with the judgment, as provided under s. 800.095 (4) (a), except that
the suspension period may not exceed 5 years. The court shall take possession of the
suspended license and shall forward the license, along with a notice of the suspension
clearly stating that the suspension is for failure to comply with a judgment of the
court, to the department of transportation.

*_0063/1.27* SECTION 3170. 800.09 (2) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

800.09 (2) (b) If the person charged fails to appear personally or by an attorney
at the time fixed for hearing of the case, the defendant may be deemed to have
entered a plea of no contest and the money deposited, if any, or such portion thereof
as the court determines to be an adequate penalty, plus the penalty assessment, the
jail assessment, the crime laboratories and drug law enforcement assessment, any
applicable consumer information assessment and any applicable domestic abuse
assessment plus costs, including the fee prescribed in s. 814.65 (1), may be declared
forfeited by the court or may be ordered applied upon the payment of any penalty
which may be imposed, together with the penalty assessment, the jail assessmeunt,
the crime laboratories and drug law enforcement assessment, any applicable

consumer information assessment and any applicable domestic abuse assessment

plus costs. If the court finds that the violation meets the conditions in s. 800.093 (1),
the court may summon the alleged violator into court to determine if restitution shall
be ordered under s. 800.093. Any money remaining after payment of any penalties,
assessments, costs and restitution shall be refunded to the person who made the
deposit.

%.1615/P2.4* SECTION 3171. 800.095 (4) (b) 4. of the statutes is amended to

read:
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800.095 (4) (b) 4. That Subject to the fee under s. 85.135, if applicable, that the
defendant’s operating privilege, as defined in s. 340.01 (40), be suspended until the

judgment is complied with, except that the suspension period may not exceed 5 years.
*_0063/1.28* SECTION 3172. 800.10 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:
800.10 (2) All forfeitures, fees, penalty assessments, crime laboratories and
drug law enforcement assessments, consumer information assessments, domestic
abuse assessments and costs paid to a municipal court under a judgment before a
municipal judge shall be paid to the municipal treasurer within 7 days after receipt
of the money by a municipal judge or other court personnel. | At the time of the
payment, the municipal judge shall report to the municipal treasurer the title of the
action, the offense for which a forfeiture was imposed and the total amount of the
forfeiture, fees, penalty assessments, crime laboratories and drug law enforcement
assessments, consumer information assessments, domestic abuse assessments and
costs, if any. The treasurer shall disburse the fees as provided in s. 814.65 (1). All
jail assessments paid toa municipal court under a judgment before a municipal judge
shall be paid to the county treasurer within 7 days after receipt of the money by a
municipal judge or other court personnel.
*_0068/1.29* SECTION 3173. 800.12 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:
800.12 (2) A municipality may by ordinance provide that a municipal judge
may impose a forfeiture for contempt under sub. (1) in an amount not to exceed $50
or, upon nonpayment of the forfeiture, penalty assessment under s. 165.87, jail
assessment under s. 302.46 ard, crime laboratories and drug law cnforcement
assessment under s. 165.755MMWW
under s. 100.261 and any applicable domestic abuse assessment unders. 973.055(1),

a jail sentence not to exceed 7 days.
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*_1265/5.67* SECTION 3174. 800.12 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

800.12 (2) A municipality may by ordinance provide that a municipal judge
may impose a forfeiture for contempt under sub. (1) in an amount not to exceed $50
or, upon nonpayment of the forfeiture, penalty assessment under s. 165:87 757.05,
jail assessment under s. 302.46 and crime laboratories and drug law enforcement
assessment under s. 165.755 and any applicable domestic abuse assessment under
s. 973.055 (1), a jail sentence not to exceed 7 days.

#-0265/1.8* SECTION 8175. 803.03 (2) (b) of the stafutes is amended to read:

803.03 (2) (b) Options after joinder. Any party joined pursuant to par. (a) may
1. participate in the prosecution of the action, 2. agree to have his or her interest
represented by the party who caused the joinder, or 3. move for dismissal with or
without prejudice. If the party joined chooses to participate in the prosecution of the
action, the party joined shall have an equal voice with other claimants in such
prosecution. ¥ Except as provided in par. (bm), if the party joined chooses to have
his or her interest represented by the party who caused the joinder, the party joined
shall sign a written waiver of the right to participate which shall express consent to
be bound by thejudgment in the action. Such waiver shall become binding when filed
with the ~court, but a party may withdraw the waiver upon timely motion to thejudge
to whom the case has been assigned with notice to the other parties. A party who
represents the interest of another party and who obtains a judgment favorable to
such other party may be awarded rcasonable attorneys fees by the court. Ifthe party
joined moves for dismissal without prejudice as to his or her claim, the party shall
demonstrate to the court that it would be unjust to require the party to prosecute the

claim with the principal claim. In determining whether to grant the motion to
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dismiss, the court shall weigh the possible prejudice to the movant against the state’s
interest in economy of judicial effort.

*_0265/1.4* SECTION 3176. 803.03 (2) (bm) of the statutes is created to read:

803.03 (2) (bm) Joinders because of implication of medical assistance. If the
department of health and family services is joined as a party pursuant to par. (a)and
s. 49.89 (2) because of the provision of benefits under subch. IV of ch. 49, the
department of health and family services need not sign a waiver of the right to
participate in order to have its interests represented by the party that caused the
joinder. If the department of health and family services makes no selection under
par. (b), the party causing the joinder shall represent the interests of the department
of health and family services and the department of health and family services shall
be bound by the judgment in the action. Regardless of whether the department of
health and family services joins in prosecuting the claim, the portion of the proceeds
of the claim that represents benefits paid under subch. IV of ch. 49 asa result of the
oceurrence of injury, sickness or death for which the claim arose shall be paid to the
department of health and family services pursuant to s. 49.89 (5).

*.1836/2.28* SECTION 8177. 813.16 (7) of the statutes is amended to read:

813.16 (7) Tf the person seeking the appointment of a receiver under sub. (1)
is a corporation supervised by the division of savings andlean institutions, home
loan bank board, U.S. office of thrift supervision, federal deposit insurance
corporation or fesolution trust corporation, the court, unless the opposing party
objects, shall appoint an officer of such corporation as receiver to act without
compensation and to give such bond as the court requires.

*_0265/1.5* SECTION 3178. 814.03 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:
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814.03 (8) Notwithstanding subs. (1) and (2), where the department of health
and family services or a county is joined as a plaintiff pursuant to ss. 49.89 (2) and

803.03 (2) (a) because of the provision of benefits under subch. IV of ch. 49;and-where

represented—under s. 803.03 (2) (b) by the party who-caused the joinder, the

department of health and family services or the county shall not be liable for costs

to any prevailing defendant.

*_159%7/3.1* SECTION 3179. 814.04 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

814.04 (1) (a) When the amount recovered or the value of the property involved
is $1,000-erover equal to or greater than the maximum amount specified in s. 799.01
(1) (d), attorney fees shall be-$100 may not exceed $500; when it is less than $1,000
and-is-$500-or-over,-$50 the maximum amount specified in s. 799.01 (1) (d), but is
$1.000 or more, attorney fees may not exceed $300; when it is less than $500-and-is
$1.000, attorney fees may not
exceed $100. In all other cases in which there is no amount recovered or that donot

involve property, attorney fees may not exqeed $500.
¥-1597/3.2* SECTION 3180. 814.04 (1) (b) of the statutes is repealed.

*_1597/3.8* SECTION 3181. 814.04 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

814.04 (2) DISBURSEMENTS. All the necessary disbursements and fees allowed
by law; the compensation of referees; a reasonable disbursement for the service of
process or other papers in an action when the same are served by a person authorized
by law other than an officer, but the item may not exceed the authorized sheriff’s fee
for the same service; amounts actually paid out for certified and other copies of

papers and records in any public office; postage, telegraphing photocopying,

telephoning, electronic communications, facsimile transmissions and express or
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overnight delivery; depositions including copies; plats and photographs, not
exceeding $50 $100 for each item; an expert witness fee not exceeding $160 $300 for
each expert who testifies, exclusive of the standard witness feé and mileage which
shall also be taxed for each expert; and in actions relating to or affecting the title to
lands, the cost of procuring an abstract of title to the lands. Guardian ad litem fees
shall not be taxed as a cost or disbursement.

%_1597/3.4* SECTION 3182. 814.07 of the statutes is amended to read:

814.07 Costs on motion. Costs may be allowed on a motion, in the discretion
of the court or judge, not exceeding $50 $300, and may be absolute or directed to abide
the event of the action.

*_1265/5.68* SECTION 3183. 814.60 (2) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

814.60 (2) (a) Penalty assessment imposed by s. $65:87 757.05;

%-0063/1.30* SECTION 3184. 814.60 (2) (ai) of the statutes is created to read:

814.60 (2) (ai) Consumer information assessment imposed by s. 100.261.

*-1615/P2.5* SECTION 3185, 814.613 of the statutes is created to read:

814.613 Fees for driver’s license suspensions or revocations. A court
may require a person to pay a fee upon ordering the suspension or revocation of that
person’s operating privilege under s. 345.47 (1), 800.09 (1) (c), 800.095 (4) (b) 4.,
938.17 (2) (d), 938.34 (8) or 938.343 (2), if the vperating privilege was suspended or
revoked solely for failure to pay a forfeiture imposed for violating an ordinance that
isunrelated to the violator’s operation of a motor vehicle. The amount of the fee may
not exceed the amount that the Court is required to pay under s. 85.135.

%_1265/5.69* SECTION 3186. 814.63 (3) (a) of the statutes is arﬁended to read:

814.63 (3) (a) Penalty assessment imposed by s. 165.87 757.05.

#_0063/1.81* SECTION 3187. 814.63 (3) (ai) of the statutes is created to read:
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814.63 (3) (ai) Consumer information assessment imposed by s. 100.261.

*_1087/1.8* SECTION 3188. 814.635 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

814.635 (1) Except for an action for a safety belt use violation under s. 347.48
(2m), the clerk of circuit court shall charge and collect a $¥ 89 justice information
system fee from any person, including any governmental unit as defined in s. 108.02
(17), paying a fee under s. 814.61 (1) (a), (3) or (8) (am), 814.62 (1), (2) or (3) (a) or (b)
or 814.63 (1). Thejustice information system fee is in addition to the other fees listed
in this section.

*_1615/P2.6* SECTION 3189. 814.65 (6) of the statutes is created to read:

814.65 (6) FEE FOR DRIVER'S LICENSE SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION. A municipal
court may require a person to pay a fee upon ordering the suspension or revocation
of that person’s operating privilege under s. 345.47 (1), 800.09 (1) (c), 800.095 (4) (b)
4.,938.17 (2) (d), 938.34 (8) or 938.343 (2), if the operating privilege was suspended
or revoked solely for failure to pay a forfeiture imposed for violating an ordinance
that is unrelated to the violator’s operation of a motor vehicle. The amount of the fee
may not exceed the amount that the court is required to pay under s. 85.135.

*-1806/2,14* SECTION 3190. 815.18 (3) (0) of the statutes is amended to read:

815.18 (8) (o) Tuition units. Tuition units purchased under s. 16.24 14.63.

*_0030/P4.123* SECTION 3191. 859.02 (2) (a) of the statutes is amended to
read:

859.02 (2) (a) It is a claim based on tort, on a marital property agreement that
is subject to the time limitations under s. 766.58 (13) (b) or (c), on Wisconsin income,
franchise, sales, withholding, gift or death taxes, or on unemployment insurance

contributions due or benefits overpaids; a claim for funeral or administrative
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expenses;; a claim of this state under s. 46.27 (7g), 49.496 or 49.682 or rules

promulgated under s. 46.286 (7); or a claim of the United States; or
*_0030/P4.124* SECTION 3192. 859.07 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

859.07 (2) Ifthe decedent was at the time of death or at any time prior thereto
a patient or inmate of any state or county hospital or institution or any person
responsible for any obligation owing to the state or county under s. 46.03 (18), 46.10,
48.36, 301.03 (18), 301.12 or 938.36 or if the decedent or the spouse of the decedent
ever received the family care benefit under s. 46.286, medical assistance under
subch. TV of ch. 49, long-term community support services funded under s. 46.27 (7)
or aid under s. 49.68, 49.683 or 49.685, the personal representative shall send notice
in writing of the date set under s. 859.01 by registered or certified mail to the
department of health and family services or the department of corrections, as
applicable, and the county clerk of the applicable county not less than 30 days before
the date set under s. 859.01, upon such blanks and containing such information as
the applicable department or county clerk may provide. The applicable county is the
county of residence, as defined in s. 49.001 (6).

*-0030/P4.125* SECTION 3193. 867.01 (3) (a) 4. of the statutes is amended to
read:

867.01 (3) (a) 4. Whether the decedent or the decedent’s spouse received the

family care benefit under s. 46.286, medical assistance under subch. IV of ch. 49,
long-term community support services funded under s. 48.27 (7) or aid under s.
49.68, 49.683 or 49.685.

*_0030/P4.126* SECTION 3194. 867.01 (3) (d) of the statutes is amended to

read:
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867.01 (3) (d) Notice. The court may hear the matter without notice or order
notice to be given under s. 879.08. If the decedent or the decedent’s spouse received
the family care benefit under s. 46.286, medical assistance under subch. IV of ch. 49,
long—term community support sérvices funded under s. 46.27 (7) or aid under s.
49.68, 49.683 or 49.685, the petitioner shall give notice by certified mail to the
department of health and family services as soon as practicable after filing the
petition with the court.

*_0030/P4.127* SECTION 3195. 867.02 (2) (a) 6. of the statutes is amended to
read:

867.02 (2) (a) 6. Whether the decedent or the decedent’s spouse received the
family care benefit under s. 46.286, medical assistance under subch. IV of ch. 49,
long—term community support services funded under s. 46.27 (7) or aid under s.
49.68, 49.683 or 49.685.

#.0030/P4.128* SECTION 3196. 867.03 (1g) (c) of the statutes is amended to
read:

867.03 (1g) (c) Whether the decedent or the decedent’s spouse ever received the
family care benefit under s. 46.286, medical assistance under subch. IV of ch. 49,
long—term community support services funded under s. 46.27 (7) or aid under s.
49.68, 49.683 or 49.685.

#_0030/P4.129* SECTION 3197. 867.03 (1m) (a) of the statutes is amended to
read:

867.03 (1m) () Whenever an heir or person who was guardian of the dccedent
at the time of the decedent’s death intends to transfer a decedent’s property by

affidavit under sub. (1g) and the decedent or the decedent’s spouse ever received the

family care benefit under s. 46.286, medical assistance under subch. IV of ch. 49,
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long—term community support services funded under s. 46.27 (7) or aid under s.
49.68, 49.683 or 49.685, the heir or person who was guardian of the decedent at the
time of the decedent’s death shall give notice to the department of health and family
services of his or her intent. The notice shall include the information in the affidavit
under sub. (1g) and the heir or person who was guardian of the decedent at the time
of the decedent’s death shall give the notice by certified mail, return receipt
requested.

*_0030/P4.130* SECTION 3198. 867.03 (1m) (b) of the statutes is amended to
read:

867.03 (1m) (b) An heir or person who was guardian of the decedent at the time
of the decedent’s death who files an affidavit under sub. (1g) that states that the
decedent or the decedent’s spouse received the family care benefit under s. 46.286,
medical assistance under subch. IV of ch. 49, long—term community support services
funded under s. 46.27 (7) or aid under s. 49.68, 49.683 or 49.685 shall attach to the
affidavit the proof of mail delivery of the notice required under par. (a) showing a
delivery date that is not less than 10 days before the day on which the heir or person
who was guardian of the decedent at the time of the decedent’s death files the
affidavit.

¥_0030/P4.131* SECTION 3199. 867.035 (1) (a) (intro.) of the statutes is
amended to read:

867.035 (1) (a) (intro.) Except as provided in par. (bm), the department of
health and family services may collecl from the property of a decedent, including
funds of a decedent that are held by the decedent immediately before death in a joint
account or a PO.D. account, by affidavit under this section an amount equal to the

medical assistance that is recoverable under s. 49.496 (3) (a), the long—term
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community support services under s. 46.27 that is recoverable under s. 46.27 (7g) (¢)
1., the family care benefit that is recoverable under rules promulgated under s.
46,286 (7) or the aid under s. 49.68, 49.683 or 49.685 that is recoverable under s.
49.682 (2) (a) and that was paid on behalf of the decedent or the decedent’s spouse,
if all of the following conditions are satisfied:

*_0028/6.92* SECTION 3200. 867.035 (4) of the statutes is amended to read:

867.035 (4) From the appropriation under s. 20.435 53 (4) (im), with respect
to funds collected by the department under sub. (1) related to medical assistance paid
on behalf of the decedent or the decedent’s spouse, the department of health and
family services shall pay claims under sub. (3), shall pay to the federal government
from the amount recovered under this section and not paid out as claims under sub.
(3) an amount equal to the amount of federal funds used to pay the benefits recovered
under this section and shall spend the remainder of the amount recovered under this
section for medical assistance benefits under subch. IV of ch. 49.

#.1881/1.1* SECTION 3201. 880.60 (4) of the statutes is amended to read:

880.60 (4) LIMITATION ON NUMBER OF WARDS. No person or corporate entity other

than a county having a population of 100,000 or more; or a bank or trust company

a shall be guardian of

more than 5 wards at one time, unless all the wards are members of one family. Such
A county shall act only for patients in its county hospital or mental hospital and for

residents of its county home or infirmary, and shall serve without fee. The

serve-withoutfee. Upon presentation of a petition by an attorney of the U.S.

department of veterans affairs or other interested person, alleging that a guardian

is acting in a fiduciary capacity for more than 5 wards as-herein provided and
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requesting the guardian’s discharge for that reason, the court, upon proof
substantiating the petition, shall require a final accounting forthwith from sueh the
guardian and shall discharge the guardian from guardianship in excess of 5 and
forthwith appoint a successor.

*-1085/4.8* SECTION 3202. 893.83 of the statutes is created to read:

893.83 Claims against state and local governments resulting from
computational date errors. (1) In this section:

(a) “Action” means any civil action or proceeding including any action for
declaratory or injunctive relief.

(b) “Computational date error” means:

1. The failure of a computer system to handle correctly and consistently all
dates before, during and after the year 2000; or

2. The inability of a computer system to correctly interpret, produce, calculate,
generate, utilize, manipulate, represent or account for all dates before, during and
after the year 2000.

(c) “Computer system” means any electronic or collection of devices, including
support devices, networks, and embedded chips, that contains computer programs
or electronic instructions and that performs functions including logic, arithmetic,
data processing, data storage and retrieval, communication or control.

(d) “Local governmental unit” means a political subdivision of this state, a
spccial purpose district in this state, an instrumentality or corporation of such a
political subdivision or special purpose district, a combination or subunit of any of

the foregoing or a combination of an instrumentality of the state and any of the

foregoing.
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(e) “State governmental unit” means this state, and every subunit or
instrumentality of this state, including any institution or authority, regardless of
whether moneys are appropriated to the unit.

(2) No person may bring an action against a state authority or local
governmental unit or an officer, employe or agent of a state or local governmental
unit acting within the scope of his or her employment or agency for the alleged failure
of the authority, unit, officer, employe or agent to plan for, test for, detect, disclose,
prevent, report on, reprogram, remediate or otherwise effect control over a
computational date error or to have in place alternative provisions to deal with the
effects of a computational date error or for any other act or omiésion related to a
computational date error for which there would otherwise be liability if the authority,
unit, officer, employe or agent made a good faith effort to address the alleged failure.

(8) Any provision of a contract entered into, extended, modified or renewed by
a state or local governmental unit or by a state authority on or after the effective date
of this subsection .... [revisor inserts datel, contrary to sub. (2) is void.

*_0583/2.1* SECTION 8203. 895.82 of the statutes is created to read:

895.82 Interpretation of contracts and other legal instruments:
European currency. (1) In this section:

(a) “Euro” means the currency of participating member states of the Europcan
Union who have adopted a single currency in accordance with the provisions of the
1992 Treaty on European Union.

(b) “European currency unil” means the currency basket that is the monetary
unit of account of the European Economic Community.

(2) Unless otherwise required in a contract or other legal instrument,l if a

subject or medium of payment of a contract or other legal instrument is a currency
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that has been replaced by the euro, the euro shall be a commercially reasonable
substitute for that currency. The valuation of the currency in euros shall be
determined in accordance with any applicable regulations adopted by the council of
the European Union.

(8) Unless otherwise required in a contract or other legal instrument, if a
subject or medium of payment of a contract or other legal instrument isthe European
currency unit, the euro shall be a commercially reasonable substitute for the
European currency unit. The valuation of the European currency unit in euros shall
be determined in accordance with any applicable regulations adopted by the council
of the European Union.

(4) No person may discharge or otherwise excuse performance under any
contract or other legal instrument, nor unilaterally alter the terms of, or terminate,
any contract or other legal instrument, as a result of sub. (2) or (3).

(5) This section shall apply only to a contract or other legal instrument entered
into or executed in this state or that contains provisions requiring the contract or
other legal instrument to be interpreted according to the law of this state.

#.0085/4.3* SECTION 3204. 938.02 (6) of the statutes is amended to read:

038.02 (8) “Foster home” means any facility that is operated by a person
required to be licensed by s. 48.62 (1) (a) and that provides care and maintenance for

no more than 4 juveniles unless-all of the juveniles-aresiblings or, if necessary to

ena sibling group to remain together, for no more than 6 j i if the

department of health and family services promulgates rules permitting a different

number of juveniles, for the number of juveniles permitted under those rules.
¥_0674/1.7* SECTION 8205. 938.02 (14m) of the statutes is amended to read:
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938.02 (14m) “Pupil assistance program” means a program provided by a
school board under s. 115.362-(4)-(b)-2- 115.361 to intervene in the abuse of alcohol
and other drugs by pupils.
#-0276/1.1* SECTION 3206. 938.06 (1) (a) 2. of the statutes is amended to read:
938.06 (1) (a) 2. The Subject to subd. 2m., the chief judge of the judicial
administrative district shall formulate written judicial policy governing intake and
court services for juvenile matters under this chapter and the director shall be
charged with executing the judicial policy. The chiefjudge shall direct and supervise
the work of all personnel of the court, except the work of the district attorney or
corporation counsel assigned to the court. The chief judge may delegate his or her
supervisory functions under s. 938.065 (1).
*_0276/1.2* SECTION 3207. 938.06 (1) (a) 2m. of the statutes is created to read:
938.06 (1) (2) 2m. In formulating judicial policy under subd. 2. governing
intake and court services, the chief judge may not direct the department of health
and family services to provide those services in any case in which the referral
information indicates that a juvenile should be referred to the court as delinquent,
in need of protection or services under this chapter or in violation of a civil law or
ordinance, unless that information indicates that the juvenile should also be referred
to the court as in need of protection or services under ch. 48. The chief judge shall
direct the department of health and family services and the county department to
coordinate the provision of services in cases in which the intake worker determines
under s. 48.24 (1) that prima facie jurisdiction exists under this chapter instcad of
or in addition to ch. 48 and in cases in which the intake worker determines unders.
938.24 (1) that prima facie jurisdiction exists under ch. 48 instead of or in addition

to this chapter.
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*-1615/P2.7* SECTION 3208. 938.17 (2) (d) of the statutes is amended to read:
938.17 (2) (d) If a municipal court finds that the juvenile violated a municipal
ordinance other than an ordinance enacted under s. 118.163 or an ordinance that
conforms to s. 125.07 (4) (a) or (b), 125.085 (3) (b), 125.09 (2), 961.573 (2), 961.574 (2)
or 961.575 (2), the court shall enter any of the dispositional orders permitted under
5. 938.343 that are authorized under par. (cm). Ifa juvenile fails to pay the forfeiture
imposed by the municipal court, the court may not impose a jail sentence but may
suspend any license issued under ch. 29 for not less than 30 days nor more than 5
years, or, subject to the fee under s. 85.135, if applicable may suspend the juvenile’s
operating privilege, as defined in s. 340.01 (40), for not less than 30 days nor more
than 5 years. If a court suspends a license or privilege under this section, the court
shall immediately take possession of the applicable license and forward it to the
department that issued the license, together with the notice of suspension clearly
stating that the suspension is for failure to pay a forfeiture imposed by the court. If
the forfeiture is paid during the period of suspension, the court shall immediately
notify the department, which shall thereupon return the license to the person.
#.1732/1.5* SECTION 3209. 938.24 (5) of the statutes is amended to read:
938.24 (5) The intake worker shall request that a petition be filed, enter into
a deferred prosecution agreement or close the case within 40 days or sooner of receipt
of referral information. Before entering into a deferred prosecution agreement, the
intake worker shall comply with s. 938.245 (1m), if applicable. If the case is closed
or a deferred prosecution agreement is entered iﬁto, the district attorncy, corporation
counsel or other official under s. 938.09 shall receive written notice of such action.
Ifthe case is closed, the known victims of the juvenile’s alleged act shall receive notice

as provided under sub. (5m), if applicable. In addition,-if a-deferred-prosecution
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with that-agreement: A notice of deferred prosecution of an alleged delinquency case

shall include a summary of the facts surrounding the allegation and a list of prior
intake referrals and dispositions. If a law enforcement officer has made a
recommendation concerning the juvenile, the intake worker shall forward this
recommendation to the district attorney under s. 938.09. Notwithstanding the
requirements of this section, the district attorney may initiate a delinquency petition
under s. 938.25 within 20 days after notice that the case has been closed or that a
deferred prosecution agreement has been entered into. The judge shall grant
appropriate relief as provided in s. 938.315 (3) with respect to any such petition
which is not referred or filed within the time limits specified within this subsection.
Failure to object if a petition is not referred or filed within a time limit specified in
this subsection waives that time limit.

%_.1732/1.6* SECTION 3210. 938.245 (2) (a) 9. of the statutes is repealed.

#_1782/1.7* SECTION 3211. 938.245 (2) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

938.245 (2) (b) A deferred prosecution agreementrebheﬁthan—&n—agreeaaent
under-par—a)-Y; may not include any form of out—of-home placement and may not
exceed one year.

#-1732/1.8* SECTION 3212. 938.245 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

938.245 (8) The obligations imposed under a deferred prosecution agrecement

and its effective date shall be set forth in writing. Ifthe-deferredpresecution
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enteran orderrequiring compliance with thatagreement- Thejuvenile and a parent,

guardian and legal custodian shall receive a copy of the agreement and order, as shall

any agency providing services under the agreement.
#_1%732/1.9* SEcTION 3218. 938.245 (4) of the statutes is amended to read:

038.245 (4) The intake worker shall inform the juvenile and the juvenile’s

parent, guardian and legal custodian in writing of their right to terminate ex-if the

request-the court-toterminate the deferred prosecution agreement at any time or to

object at any time to the fact or terms of the deferred prosecution agreement. If an
ohjection arises the intake worker may alter the terms of the agreement or request
the district attorney or corporation counsel to file a petition. If the deferred
prosecution agreement is terminated the intake worker may request the district
attorney or corporation counsel to file a petition.

¥.1732/1.10* SECTION 3214. 938.245 (5) of the statutes is amended to read:

938.245 (5) A deferred prosecution agreement under sub. (2) (a) 1. to 8., (2g)

or (2v). may be terminated upon the request of the juvenile, parent, guardian or legal

%.1732/1.11* SECTION 3215. 938.32 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:
938.32 (1) (a) At any time after the filing of a petition fora proceeding relating
to s. 938.12 or 938.13 and before the entry of judgment, the judge or juvenile court
commissioner may suspend the proceedings and place the juvenile under

supervision in the juvenile’s own home or present placement or-in-a-youth-village
program as-deseribed-ins11842. The court may establish terms and conditions
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applicable to the parent, guardian or legal custodian, and to the juvenile, including
any of the conditions specified in subs. (1d), (1g), (1m), (1t), (1v) and (1x). The order
under this section shall be known as a consent decree and must be agreed to by the
juvenile; the parent, guardian or legal custodian; and the person filing the petition
under . 938.25. Ifthe consent decree includes any conditions specified in sub. (1g),
the consent decree shall include provisions for payment of the services as specified
in s. 938.361. The consent decree shall be reduced to writing and given to the parties.

*_1782/1.12* SECTION 3216. 938.32 (2) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:

938.32 (2) (¢) Upon the motion of the court or the application of the juvenile,
parent, guardian, legal custodian, intake worker or any agency supervising the
juvenile under the consent decree, the court may, after giving notice to the parties

to the consent decree and their counsel, if any, extend the decree for up to an

additional 6 months orif the consent-decreeplaces-the juvenile-in-a-youth-village

in the absence of

objection to extension by the parties to the initial consent decree. If the parent,

guardian or legal custodian objects to the extension, the court shall schedule a

hearing and make a determination on the issue of extension. A-eonsent-deeree

%_1732/1.13* SECTION 3217. 938.34 (3) (dm) of the statutes is repealed.

#_1615/P2.8* SECTION 3218. 938.34 (8) of the statutes is amended to read:

938.34 (8) FORFEITURE. Impuse a forfeiture based upon a dctermination that
this disposition is in the best interest of the juvenile and in aid of rehabilitation. The
maximum forfeiture that the court may impose under this subsection for a violation

by a juvenile is the maximum amount of the fine that may be imposed on an adult
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for committing that violation or, if the violation is applicable only to a person under
18 years of age, $100. Any such order shall include a finding that the juvenile alone
is financially able to pay the forféiture and shall allow up to 12 months for payment.
Ifthejuvenile fails to pay the forfeiture, the court may vacate the forfeiture and order
other alternatives under this section, in accordance with the conditions specified in
this chapter; or the court may suspend any license issued under ch. 29 for not less
than 80 days nor more than 5 years, or, subject to the fee under s. 85.135, if
applicable, may suspend the juvenile’s operating privilege as defined in s. 340.01 (40)
for not less than 80 days nor more than 5 years. If the court suspends any license
under this subsection, the clerk of the court shall immediately take possession of the
suspended license and forward it to the department which issued the license,
together with a notice of suspension clearly stating that the suspension is for failure
to pay a forfeiture imposed by the court. If the forfeiture is paid during the period
of suspension, the suspension shall be reduced to the time period which has already
elapsed and the court shall immediately notify the department which shall then
return the license to the juvenile. Any recovery under this subsection shall be
reduced by the amount recovered as a forfeiture for the same act under s. 938.45 (1r)
(b).

*_1615/P2.9* SECTION 3219. 938.343 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

938.343 (2) Impose a forfeiture not to exceed the maximum forfeiture that may
be imposed on an adult for committing that violation or, if the violation is only
applicable to a person under 18 years of age, $50. Any such order shall include a
finding that the juvenile alone is financially able to pay and shall allow up to 12
months for the payment. If a juvenile fails to pay the forfeiture, the court may

suspend any license issued under ch. 29 or, subiject to the fee under s. 85.135, if
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applicable, may suspend the juvenile’s operating privilege as defined in s. 340.01
(40), for not less than 30 days nor more than 5 years. The court shall immediately
take possession of the suspended license and forward it to the department which
issued the license, together with the notice of suspension clearly stating that the
suspension is for failure to pay a forfeiture imposed by the court. If the forfeiture is
paid during the period of suspension, the court shall immediately notify the
department, which will thereupon return the license to the person. Any recovery
under this subsection shall be reduced by the amount recovered as a forfeiture for
the same act under s. 938.45 (1r) (b).

#-1070/1.1* SECTION 8220. 938.533 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

938.533 (2) CORRECTIVE SANCTIONS PROGRAM. From the appropriation under s.
20.410 (3) (hr), the department shall provide a corrective sanctions program to serve
an average daily popu.lation of 106 juveniles-in fiseal year 1997-98and 136 juveniles
in fiseal year 1998-99, or an average daily population of more than 106juveniles-in
fiseal-year 1997-98-and 136 juveniles in fiseal year1998-99 if the appropriation
under s. 20.410 (3) (hr) is supplemented under s. 13.101 or 16.515 and the positions
for the program are increased under s. 13.101 or 16.505 (2) orif funding and positions
to serve more than these that average daily pepulations population are otherwise
available, in not less than 3 counties, including Milwaukee County. The office of
juvenile offender review in the department shall evaluate and select for participation
in the program juvéniles who have been placed under the supervision of the
department under s. 938.183, 938.34 (4h) or (4m) or 988.857 (4). The department
shall place a program participant in the community, provide intensive surveillance
of that participant and provide an average of $5,000 $3,000 per year per slot to

purchase community—based treatment services for each participant. The
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department shall make the intensive surveillance required under this subsection
available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and may purchase or provide electronic
monitoring for the intensive surveillance of program participants. The department
shall provide a report center in Milwaukee County to provide on-site programming
after school and in the evening for juveniles from Milwaukee County who are placed
in the corrective sanctions program. A contact worker providing services under the
program shall have a case load of approximately 10 juveniles and, during the initial
phase of placement in the community under the program of a juvenile who is
assigned to that contact worker, shall have not less than one face—-to—face contact per
day with that juvenile. Case management services under the program shall be
provided by a corrective sanctions agent who shall have a case load of approximately
15 juveniles. The department shall promulgate rules to implement the program.

*_0086/3.2* SECTION 3221. 938.78 (4) of the statutes is created to read:

938.78 (4) (a) Except as provided under pars. (b) and (¢) or by order of the court,
no agency may make available for inspection or disclose the contents of any record
kept or information received relating to a foster parent, treatment foster parent or
family—operated group home, as defined in s. 48.627 (1), parent or a family member
of a foster parent, treatment foster parent or family—operated group home parent
without first receiving the written permission of the foster parent, treatment foster
parent or family—operated group home parent.

(b) Paragraph (a) does not apply to the confidential exchange of information
between an agency and another social welfare agency. A social welfare agency that
obtains information under this paragraph shall keep the information confidential as

required under this section and s. 48.78.
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(c) Paragraph (a) does not prohibit an agency from disclosing the name and
address of a foster parent, treatment foster parent or family—operated group home
parent under s. 938.20 (8), 938.33 (5), 938.355 (2) (b) 2., 938.357 (1), (2m) or (4) (a)
or (¢) 3. or 938.38 (4) (c) or from disclosing to the parent, guardian or legal custodian
of a juvenile the location of an alternate placement of the juvenile under s. 938.538
(3) (a) 1p.

%.1516/3.19* SECTION 3222. 944.21 (8) (b) 8. a. of the statutes is amended to
read:

944.21 (8) (b) 3. a. Is a technical college, is a school approved by the educational
approval higher educational aids board under s. 39.51 oris a school described in s.
39.51 (D A{g)erth) (1) (e) 6.. 7. or 8.; and

#_1516/3.20* SECTION 3223. 948.11 (4) (b) 3. a. of the statutes is amended to

read:

948.11 (4) (b) 3. a. Is a technical college, is a school approved by the educational

approval higher educational aids board under s. 39.51 or is 2 school described in s.
39.51 ()P (grorh) (1) () 6., 7. or 8.; and
#_0589/1.29* SECTION 3224. 949.08 (2) (g) of the statutes is repealed and

recreated to read:

949.08 (2) (g) 1s included on the statewide support lien docket under s. 49.854
(2) (b), unless the victim provides to the department a payment agreement that has
been approved by the county child support agency under s. 59.53 (5) and that is
consistent with rules promulgated under s. 49.858 (2) (a).

%_1265/5.70* SECTION 3225. 950.06 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

950.06 (2) The costs of providing services under sub. (1m) shall be paid for by

the county, but the county is eligible to receive reimbursement from the state for not
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more than 90% of the costs incurred in providing those services. The department
shall determine the level of services for which a county may be reimbursed. The
county board shall file a claim for reimbursement with the department. The
department shall reimburse counties under this subsection from the appropriation
under s. 20.455 (5) (kk) and (kp) and, on a semiannual basis, from the appropriations
under s. 20.455 (5) (c) and (g).

*_1410/1.4* SECTION 3226. 950.06 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

950.06 (2) The costs of providing services under sub. (1m) shall be paid for by
the county, but the county is eligible to receive reimbursement from the state for not
more than 90% of the costs incurred in providing those services. The department
shall determine the level of services for which a county may be reimbursed. The
county board shall file a claimk for reimbursement with the department. The
department shall reimburse counties under this subsection from the appropriation
under s. 20.455 (5) (gc), (k), (kk) and (mh) and, on a semiannual basis, from the
appropriations under s. 20.455 (5) (c) and (g).

%_.1410/1.5* SECTION 3227. 950.06 (5) of the statutes is amended to read:

950.06 (5) The department shall review and approve the implementation and
operation of programs and the annual reports under this section. The department
may suspend or terminate reimbursement under 5-20:4554(5){e)-and () sub. (2} if
the county fails to comply with its duties under this section. The department shall
promulgate rules under ch. 227 for implementing and administering county
programs approved under this section.

¥_0063/1.32* SECTION 3228. 973.05 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

973.05 (1) When a defendant is sentenced to pay‘ a fine, the court may grant

permission for the payment of the fine, of the penalty assessment imposed by s.



-t

©w 0 2 O G s~ W N

[
o

11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25

1999 — 2000 Legislature -1108- LRB-2079/P1

SECTION3228
165.87, the jail assessment imposed by s. 302.46 (1), the crime victim and witness
assistance surcharge under s. 973.045, the crime laboratories and drug law
enforcement assessment imposed by s. 165.755, any applicable deoxyribonucleic acid
analysis surcharge under s. 973.046, any applicable drug abuse program
improvement surcharge imposed by s. 961.41 (5), any applicable consumer
information assessment imposed by s. 100.261, any applicable domestic abuse
assessment imposed by s. 971.37 (1m) (c) 1. or 973.055, any applicable driver
improvement surcharge imposed by s. 346.655, any applicable enforcement
assessment imposed by s. 253.06 (4) (c), any applicable weapons assessment imposed
by s. 167.31, any applicable uninsured employer assessment imposed by s. 102.85(4),
any applicable environmental assessment imposed by s. 299.93, any applicable wild
animal protection assessment imposed by s. 29.983, any applicable natural resources
assessment imposed by s. 29.987 and any applicable natural resources restitution
payment imposed by s. 29.989 to be made within a period not to exceed 60 days. If
no such permission is embodied in the sentence, the fine, the penalty assessment, the
jail assessment, the crime victim and witness assistance surcharge, the crime
laboratories and drug law enforcement assessment, any applicable deoxyribonucleic
acid analysis surcharge, any applicable drug abuse program improvement
surcharge, any applicable consumer information assessment, any applicable
domestic abuse assessment, any applicable driver improvement surcharge, any
applicable enforcement assessment, any applicable weapons assessment, any
applicable uninsured employer assessment, any applicable environmental
assessment, any applicable wild animal protection assessment, any applicable

natural resources assessment and any applicable natural resources restitution

payment shall be payable immediately.
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*_1265/5.71* SECTION 3229. 973.05 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:
973.05 (1) When a defendant is sentenced to pay a fine, the court may grant
permission for the payment of the fine, of the penalty assessment imposed by s.

165.87 757.05, the jail assessment imposed by s. 302.46 (1), the crime victim and

witness assistance surcharge under s. 973.045, the crime laboratories and drug law
enforcement assessment imposed by s. 165.755, any applicable deoxyribonucleic acid
analysis surcharge under s. 973.046, any applicable drug abuse program
improvement surcharge imposed by s. 961.41 (5), any applicable domestic abuse
assessment imposed by s. 971.37 (1m) (c) 1. or 973.055, any applicable driver
improvement surcharge imposed by s. 346.655, any applicable enforcement
assessment imposed by s. 253.06 (4) (c), any applicable weapons assessment imposed
by s. 167.31, any applicable uninsured employer assessment imposed by s. 102.85 (4),
any applicable environmental assessment imposed by s. 299.93, any applicable wild
animal protection assessment imposed by s. 29.983, any applicable natural resources
assessment imposed by s. 29.987 and any applicable natural resources restitution
payment imposed by s. 29.989 to be made within a period not to exceed 60 days. If
no such permission is embodied in the sentence, the fine, the penalty assessment, the
jail assessment, the crime victim and witness assistance surcharge, the crime
laboratories and drug law enforcement assessment, any applicable deoxyribonucleic
acid analysis surcharge, any applicable drug abuse program improvement
surcharge, any applicablc domestic abuse assessment, any applicable driver
improvement surcharge, any applicable enforcement assessment, any applicable
weapons assessment, any applicable uninsured employer assessment, any

applicable environmental assessment, any applicable wild animal protection
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assessment, any applicable natural resources assessment and any applicable
natural resources restitution payment shall be payable immediately.

*_0063/1.33* SECTION 3230. 973.05 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

973.05 (2) When a defendant is sentenced to pay a fine and is also placed on
probation, the court may make the payment of the fine, the penalty assessment, the
jail assessment, the crime victim and witness assistance surcharge, the crime
laboratories and drug law enforcement assessment, any applicable deoxyribonucleic
acid analysis surcharge, any applicable drug abuse program improvement
surcharge, any applicable consumer information assessment, any applicable
domestic abuse assessment, any applicable uninsured employer assessment, any
applicable driver improvement surcharge, any applicable enforcement assessment
under s. 253.06 (4) (c¢), any applicable weapons assessment, any applicable
environmental assessment, any applicable wild animal protection assessment, any
applicable natural resources assessment and any applicable natural resources
restitution payments a condition of probation. When the payments are made a
condition of probation by the court, payments thereon shall be applied first to
payment of the penalty assessment until paid in full, shall then be applied to the
payment of the jail assessment until paid in full, shall then be applied to the payment
of part A of the crime victim and witness assistance surcharge until paid in full, shall
then be applied to part B of the crime victim and witness assistance surcharge until
paid in full, shall then be applied to the crime laboratories and drug law enforcement
assessment until paid in full, shall then be applied to the deoxyribonucleic acid
analysis surcharge until paid in full, shall then be applied to the drug abuse
improvement surcharge until paid in full, shall then be applied to payment of the

driver improvement surcharge until paid in full, shall then be applied to payment
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of the domestic abuse assessment until paid in full, shall then be applied to payment
of the consumer information assessment until paid in full, shall then be applied to
payment of the natural resources assessment if applicable until paid in full, shall
then be applied to payment of the natural resources restitution payment until paid
in full, shall then be applied to the payment of the environmental assessment if
applicable until paid in full, shall then be applied to the payment of the wild animal
protection assessment if applicable until paid in full, shall then be applied to
payment of the weapons assessment until paid in full, shall then be applied to
payment of the uninsured employer assessment until paid in full, shall then be
applied to payment of the enforcement assessment under s. 253.06 (4) (c), if
applicable, until paid in full and shall then be applied to payment of the fine.
*_0063/1.34* SECTION 3231. 973.07 of the statutes is amended to read:
973.07 Failure to pay fine or costs or to comply with certain
community service work. If the fine, costs, penalty assessment, jail assessme”nt,
crime victim and witness assistance surcharge, crime laboratories and drug law
enforcement assessment, applicable deoxyribonucleic acid analysis surcharge,
applicable drug abuse program improvement surcharge, applicable consumer
information assessment, applicable domestic abuse assessmenf, applicable driver
improvement surcharge, applicable enforcement assessment under s. 258.06 (4) (¢),
applicable weapons assessment, applicable uninsured employer assessment,
applicable environmental assessment, applicable wild animal protection
assessment, applicable natural resources assessment and applicable natural
resources restitution payments are not paid or community service work under s.

943.017 (3) is not completed as required by the sentence, the defendant may be

committed to the county jail until the fine, costs, penalty assessment, jail
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assessment, crime victim and witness assistance surcharge, crime laboratories and
drug law enforcement assessment, applicable deoxyribonucleic acid analysis
surcharge, applicable drug abuse program improvement surcharge, applicable
consumer information assessment, applicable domestic abuse assessment,
applicable driver improvement surcharge, applicable enforcement, assessment
under s. 253.06 (4) (c), applicable weapons aésessment, applicable uninsured
employer assessment, applicable environmental assessment, applicable wild animal
protection assessment, applicable natural resources assessment or applicable
natural resources restitution payments are paid or discharged, or the community
service work under s. 943.017 (3) is completed, for a period fixed by the court not to
exceed 6 months.

#-0440/1.1* SECTION 3232. 977.08 (5) (b) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to
read:

977.08 (5) (b) (intro.) Except as provided in pas pars. (bn) and (br), any of the
following constitutes an annual caseload standard for an assistant state public
defender in the subunit responsible for trials:

*_0440/1.2* SECTION 3283. 977.08 (5) (br) of the statutes is created to read:

977.08 (5) (br) Beginning on July 1, 2000, the state public defender may exempt
up to 10 full-time assistant state public defenders in the subunit responsible for
trials from the annual caseload standards under par. (b) based on their need to
perform other assigned duties.

¥_1268/2.1* SECTION 3234. 978.03 (8) of the statutes is amended to read:

978.03 (3) Any assistant district attorney under sub. (1), (1m) or (2) must be
an attorney admitted to practice law in this state and, except as provided in s.

978,043, may perform any duty required by law to be performed by the district
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attorney. The district attorney of the prosecutorial unit under sub. (1), (1m) or (2)
may appoint such temporary counsel as may be authorized by the department of
administration.
*.1268/2.2% SECTION 3235. 978.04 of the statutes is amended to read:
978.04 Assistants in certain prosecutorial units. The district attorney of
any prosecutorial unit having a population of less than 100,000 may appoint one or
more assistant district attorneys as necessary to carry out the duties of his or her
office and as may be requested by the department of administration authorized in
accordance with s. 16.505. Any such assistant district attorney must be an attorney
admitted to practice law in this state and, except as provided in s. 978.043, may
perform any duty required by law to be performed by the district attorney.
%_1268/2.3* SECTION 3236. 978.043 of the statutes is created to read:
978.043 Assistants for prosecution of sexually violent person
commitment cases. The district attorney of the prosecutorial unit that consists of
Brown County and the district attorney of the prosecutorial unit that consists of
Milwaukee County shall each assign one assistant district attorney in his or her
prosecutorial unit to be a sexually violent person commitment prosecutor. An
assistant district attorney assigned under this section to be a sexually violent person
commitment prosecutor may engage only in the prosecution of sexually violent
person commitment proceedings under ch. 980 and, at the request of the district
attorney of the prosecutorial unit, may file and prosecute sexually violent person
commitment proceedings under ch. 980 in any prosecutorial unit in this state.
*_1268/2.4* SECTION 3287. 978.05 (8) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
978.05 (8) (b) Hire, employ and supervise his or her staff and, subject to s.

978.043, make appropriate assignments of the staff throughout the prosecutorial
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unit. The district attorney may request the assistance of district attorneys, deputy
district attorneys or assistant district attorneys from other prosecutorial units or
assistant attorneys general who then may appear and assist in the investigation and
prosecution of any matter for which a district attorney is responsible under this
chapter in like manner as assistants in the prosecutorial unit and with the same
authority as the district attorney in the unit in which the action is brought. Nothing
in this paragraph limits the authority of counties to regulate the hiring, employment
and supervision of county employes.

*.1412/1.1* SECTION 3238. 978.13 (1) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

978.13 (1) (b) In counties having a population of 500,000 or more, the salary
and fringe benefit costs of 2 clerk positions providing clerical services to the
prosecutors in the district attorney’s office handling cases involving felony violations
under ch. 961. The state treasurer shall pay the amount authorized under this
paragraph to the county treasurer pursuant to a voucher submitted by the district
attorney to the department of administration from the appropriation under s. 20.475
(1) (i). The amount paid under this paragraph may not exceed $70;500 $75.200 in
the 1097-98 1999-2000 fiscal year and $73;000 $77,500 in the 31998-99 2000-01

fiscal year.

#_1412/1.2* SECTION 3239. 978.13 (1) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:

978.13 (1) (¢) In counties having a population of 500,000 or more, the salary and
fringe benefit costs of clerk positions in the district attorney’s office necessary for the
prosecution of violent crime cases primarily involving felony violations under s.
939.63, if a felony is committed while armed, and under ss. 940.01 to 940.03, 940.05,
940.06, 940.225, 943.23 (1g), (1m) and (1r) and 943.32 (2). The state treasurer shall

pay the amount authorized under this paragraph to the county treasurer pursuant
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to a voucher submitted by the district attorney to the secretary of administration
from the appropriation unders. 20.475 (1)(i). The amount paid under this paragraph
may not exceed $88;500 $94.400 in the -1-9-91—98 1999-2000 fiscal year and $91;600
$97.200 in the 1998-99 200001 fiscal year.

*_0284/2.7% SECTION 8240. 980.01 (1) of the statutes is renumbered 980.01
(1s).

*_(0284/2.8* SECTION 3241. 980.01 (1L) and (1m) of the statutes are created to
read:

980.01 (1L) “Daily cost of institutional care” means the daily cost of programs
and facilities for the control, care and treatment of a person placed at a secure mental
health unit or facility specified in s. 980.065.

(1m) “Daily cost of supervised release” means the daily cost of providing for all
necessary programs and facilities for the control, care and treatment of a person on
supervised release under this chapter.

#-0113/1.1* SECTION 3242. 980.03 (4) of the statutes is amended to read:

980.03 (4) Whenever the a person who is the subject of the a petition filed under
s. 980.02 or who has been committed under s. 980.06 is required to submit to an
examination under this chapter, he or she may retain experts or professional persons
to perform an examination. If the person retains a qualified expert or professional
person of his or her own choice to conduct an escamination, the examiner shall have
reasonable access to the person for the purpose of the examination, as well as to the
person’s past and present treatment records, as defined in s. 51.80(1) (b), and patient
health care records as provided under s. 146.82 (2) (c). If the person is indigent, the
court shall, upon the person’s request, appoint a qualified and available expert or

professional person to perform an examination and participate in the trial or other
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proceeding on the person’s behalf. Upon the order of the circuit court, the county
shall pay, as part of the costs of the action, the costs of a-eourt—appeinted an expert
or professional person appointed by a court under this subsection to perform an
examination and participate in the trial or other proceeding on behalf of an indigent
person. An expert or professional person appointed to assist an indigent person who
is subject to a petition may not be subject to any order by the court for the
sequestration of witnesses at any proceeding under this chapter.

*_0284/2.9% SECTION 3243. 980.06 (2) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

980.06 (2) (a) The court shall enter an initial commitment order under this
section pursuant to a hearing held as soon as practicable after the judgment that the
person who is the subject of a petition under s. 980.02 is a sexually violent person is
entered. Ifthe court lacks sufficient information to make the determination required
by par. (b) immediately after trial, it may adjourn the hearing and order the
department to conduet submit a written report as to whether the criterion under par.
(b) for institutional care ismet. For pgxpoéeg of preparing the report the department

shall conduct a predisposition investigation using the procedure in s. 972.15or a

supplementary mental examination,-orbothto-assist-the-court—inframing-the

shall be-condueted in accordance with s. 971.17 (2) (b) to (f), or both, and may conduct
any other investigation or inquiry that it considers appropriate to make the

delerminations required in the report. The report shall be based on the resu

redisposition _investigation, supplementary mental examination an ther

investigation or inquiry conducted by the department.
%_0284/2.10* SECTION 3244. 980.06 (2) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
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980.06 (2) (b) An order for commitment under this section shall specify either

institutional care or supervised release. Except as provided in par. (bt), the court

shall order institutional care if it finds that it is substantially probable that the
erson will engage in acts of sexual violence unless the person resides in a facilit

with a level of security comparable to that of a secure mental health unit or facility

specified in s. 980.065.
(bm) In determining under par. (b) whether commitment shall be for

institutional care or for supervised release, the court may consider, without
limitation because of enumeration, the nature and circumstances of the behavior
that was the basis of the allegation in the petition under s. 980.02 (2) (a), the person’s
mental history and present mental condition, where the person will live, how the
person will support himself or herself, and what arrangements are available to
ensure that the person has access to and will participate in necessary treatment,
including pharmacological treatment using an antiandrogen or the chemical
equivalent of an antiandrogen if the person is a serious child sex offender. In deciding
whether to order supervised release of person who is a serious child sex offender, the
court may not consider, as a factor in making its decision, that the person is a proper
subject for pharmacologlcal treatment using an antiandrogen or the chemical
equivalent of an antiandrogen or that the person is willing to participate in

pharmacological treatment using an antiandrogen or the chemical equivalent of an

antiandrogen. The-department shall arrango for control care and-treatment-ofthe

a¥a aman O hana ava

%-0284/2.11* SECTION 3245. 980.06 (2) (bt) of the statutes is created to read:
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980.06 (2) (bt) If a court determines under par. (b) that it is substantially
probable that the person will engage in acts of sexual violence unless he or she
resides in a facility with a level of security comparable to that of a secure mental
health unit or facility specified in s. 980.065, but the person establishes that it is
likely that the daily cost of supervised release under a plan providing for the person
to reside in a secure facility would not exceed the daily cost of institutional care for
the person, then the court may withhold final determination of the commitment
order and order the department to prepare a supervised release plan under par. (c).
After preparation of a supervised release plan ordered under this paragraph, the
proceedings shall continue as provided under pars. (cm), (cr), (cs) and (ct), as
appropriate.

*_0284/2.12* SECTION 3246. 980.06 (2) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:

980.06 (2) (¢) Ifthe court finds under par. (b) that the person is appropriate for
supervised release or orders preparation of a supervised release plan under par. (bt),
the court shall notify the department. The department and the county department
under s. 51.42 in the county of residence of the person, as determined under s.
980.105, shall prepare a plan that identifies the treatment and services, if any, that

the person will receive in the community. If the county department of the person’s
county of residence declines to prepare a plan, the department may arrange for

another count repare the plan if that count ees to prepare the plan and if
the person will be living in that county, If the department is unable to arrange for

other county to prepare lan, the court shall desi a county department to

prepare the plan, order the county department to prepare the plan and place the

person on _supervised release in that county. except that the court may not so

designate the county de ment in any county where there is a facility in which
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persons committed to institutional care under this chapter are placed, unless that
county is also the person’s county of residence.

(cg) The plan prepared under par. (c) shall address the person’s need, if any, for
supervision, counseling, medication, community support services, residential
services, vocational services, and alcohol or other drug abuse treatment. If the
person is a serious child sex offender, the plan shall address the person’s need for

pharmacological treatment using an antiandrogen or the chemical equivalent of an

antiandrogen.

> = o - —a5s i Z b o et b ot e

the troatment-and-servicesidentified in theplan. The plan shall specify who will be

responsible for providing the treatment and services identified in the plan. If the

plan was ordered to be prepared under par. (bt), the plan shall include information

concerning the daily cost of supervised release under the plan a d the daily cost of

institutional care for the person.

(cm) 2. The plan prepared under par. (c) shall be presented to the court fer-its
approval within 21 days after the court finding finds that the person is appropriate
for supervised release under par. (b) or orders preparation of the plan under par. (bt),
unless the department, county department and person to be released request

additional time to develop the plan. Ifthe county department of the persor’s-county
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residenee. The court shall hold a hearing on the plan within 30 days after the plan

is presented to the court, unless the de ment, county de rson to

be released agree to a later hearing date. At least 10 days before the hearing under
this subdivision. the court shall give written notice of the hearing to the person to be
released, the district attorney or department of justice, whichever is applicable, the
department. the county department that prepared the plan, the chief executive
officer of the co unty in which the person would reside under the plan and the chief
executive officer of the city, village or town in which the person would reside under
he plan. The person, the district attorney or the attorney gener hichever is

applicable, and any chief executive officer who receives notice of the hearing, or the
chief executive officer’s designee, may present evidence at the hgaﬁng. The county
department that ared the plan and the department may, and upon request of th
court shall, present evidence at the hearing.

*_0284/2.18* SECTION $247. 980.06 (2) (cm) 1. of the statutes is created to read:

980.06 (2) (cm) 1. In this paragraph, “chief executive officer” means a mayor,
city manager, village president, town chairperson, county executive or chairperson
of the county board of supervisors.

*_0284/2.14* SECTION 3248. 980.06 (2) (cr), (cs, (ct), (cu) and (cv) of the statutes
are created to read:

980.06 (2) (cr) Based on the provisions of the plan and on the evidence
presented at the hearing under par. (cm) 2., the court shall determine whether the

plan provides adequate treatment and services to the person and adequate
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protection to the community. If the court finds that the plan does not provide
adequate treatment and services to the person or adequate protection to the
community, the court shall issue a written decision and order disapproving the plan
and shall proceed under par. (cs). If the court finds that the plan provides either
adequate treatment and services to the person or adequate protection to the
community, the court shall, except as provided in par. (ct), issue a written decision
and order approving the plan and placing the person on supervised release in the
county that prepared the plan.

(cs) If the court disapproves a supervised release plan under par. (cr), it shall
order the department and the county department that prepared the plan to revise
the plan and present it to the court by a date specified by the court. The court shall
hold a hearing on the revised plan and make a determination as to whether to
approve or disapprove the plan as provided under pars. (cm) 2. and (cr).

(ct) If a supervised release plan that satisfies the criteria under par. (cr) was
ordered to be prepared under par. (bt), the court may approve the plan and order the
person placed on supervised release under par. (cr) only if, based on the provisions
of the plan and on the evidence presented at the hearing under par. (cm) 2., the court
determines that the daily cost of supervised release would not exceed the daily cost
of institutional care. If the daily cost of supervised release would exceed the daily
cost of institutional care, the court shall disapprove the supervised release plan and
order the person to be placed in institutional care. The court may not order a

supervised released plan disapproved under this paragraph to be revised under par.

(cs).
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(cu) If the court approves a supervised release plan under par. (cr), the court
shall send a copy of its decision and order approving the plan to the chief executive
officers who received notice of the hearing on the plan under par. (cm) 2.

(cv) The county department that prepared the plan and the department shall
implement a plan approved by the court under par. (cr). In implementing the plan,
the department may contract with a county department, under s. 51.42 (3) (aw) 1.
d., with another public agency or with a private agency to provide the treatment and
services identified in the plan. The department may request the court to make such
orders as are necessary to ensure implementation of the plan.

*_0284/2.15* SECTION 3249. 980.06 (2) (d) of the statutes is amended to read:

980.08 (2) (d) An order for supervised release places the person in the custody
and control of the department. me
treatment of the person in the least restrictive manner consistent with the
requirements of the person and in accordance with the plan for supervised release

approved by the court under par. (cr) or s. 980.08 (5) (d), whichever is applicable. A

person on supervised release is subject to the conditions set by the court and to the
rules of the department. Before a person is placed on supervised release by the court
under this section, the court shall so notify the municipal police department and
county sheriff for the municipality and county in which the person will be residing.
The notification requirement under this paragraph does not apply if a municipal
police department or county sheriff submits to the court a written statement waiving
the right to be notified. If the department alleges that a released person has violated
any condition or rule, or that the safety of others requires that supervised release be
revoked, he or she may be taken into custody under the rules of the department. The

department shall submit a statement showing probable cause of the detention and
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a petition to revoke the order for supervised release to the committing court and the
regional office of the state public defender responsible for handling cases in the
county where the committing court is located within 48 hours after the detention.
The court shall hear the petition within 30 days, unless the hearing or time deadline
is waived by the detained person. Pending the revocation hearing, the department
may detain the person in a jail or in a hospital, center or facility specified by s. 51.15
(2). The state has the burden of proving by clear and convincing evidence that any
rule or condition of release has been violated, or that the safety of others requires that
supervised release be revoked. If the court determines after hearing that any rule
or condition of release has been violated, or that the safety of others requires that
supervised release be revoked, it may revoke the order for supervised release and
order that the released person be placed in an appropriate institution until the
person is discharged from the commitment under s. 980.09 or until again placed on
supervised release under s. 980.08.

*_0284/2.16* SECTION 3250. 980.065 (1m) of the statutes is amended to read:

980.065 (Im) The department may sghall place a person committed to
institutional care under s. 980.06 (2) (b) or (ct) at a-mental-health-unit-or facility;
ineluding a the secure mental health unit-or facility at established under s. 46.055,

the Wisconsin resource center established under s. 46.056 or a secure mental health
unit or facility provided by the department of corrections under sub. (2).
*_0284/2.17* SECTION 8251. 980.065 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:
980.065 (2) The department may contract with the department of corrections
for the provision of a secure mental health unit or facility for persons committed to
institutional care under s. 980.06 (2) (b) or (ct). The department shall operate a

secure mental health unit or facility provided by the department of corrections under
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this subsection and shall promulgate rules governing the custody and discipline of
persons placed by the department in the secure mental health unit or facility
provided by the department of corrections under this subsection.

#-0113/1.2* SECTION 3252. 980.07 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

980.07 (1) If a person has been committed under s. 980.06 and has not been
discharged under s. 980.09, the department shall conduct an examination of his or
her mental condition within 6 months after an initial commitment under s. 980.06
and again thereafter at least once each 12 months for the purpose of determining
whether the person has made sufficient progress to be entitled to transfer to a less
restrictive facility, to supervised release or to discharge. At the time of a

reexamination under this section, the person who has been committed may retain

or-if he or she-is-indigent-and se-reguests; seek to have the court may appoint a

an examiner as
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provided under s. 980.03 (4).
#_0284/2.18* SECTION 3253. 980.07 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

980.07 (1) If a person has been committed under s. 980.06 and has not been
discharged under s. 980.09, the department shall conduct an examination of his or
her mental condition within 6 months after an initial commitment under s. 980.06
and again thereafter at least once each 12 months for the purpose of determining
whether the person has made sufficient progress to-be-entitled-to-transfer to-aless
restrictive facility-to for the court to consider whether the person should be placed
on supervised release or to-discharge discharged. At the time of a reexamination
under this section, the person who has been committed may retain or, if he or she is

indigent and so requests, the court may appoint a qualified expert or a professional

person to examine him or her.



