2001 ASSEMBLY BILL 310

April 12, 2001 – Introduced by Representatives Sykora, Balow, Albers, Boyle, Kreuser, Powers, Ryba, Schooff, Sherman, Steinbrink and Wood, cosponsored by Senators Wirch, Burke, Huelsman, Jauch, Schultz and Zien. Referred to Committee on Judiciary.

- 1 AN ACT *to amend* 753.06 (2) (a), 753.06 (5) (b), 753.06 (5) (c), 753.06 (6) (am),
- 2 753.06 (6) (e), 753.06 (10) (d) and 753.06 (10) (e) of the statutes; **relating to:**
- 3 increasing the number of circuit court branches.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau

This bill adds one circuit court branch in each of the following counties:

Chippewa Green Kenosha Clark Juneau Rock

Douglas

The circuit court judges for those branches are elected for six–year terms. The terms of the new branches for the circuit courts, except in Green County, commence on August 1, 2003. The term for the new branch of the circuit court in Green County commences on August 1, 2004.

The bill also provides a court reporter for each judge.

For further information see the *state and local* fiscal estimate, which will be printed as an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. 753.06 (2) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

ASSEMBLY BILL 310

1	753.06 (2) (a) Kenosha County. The circuit has 7 branches. Commencing
2	August 1, 2003, the circuit has 8 branches.
3	Section 2. 753.06 (5) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
4	753.06 (5) (b) Green County. The circuit has one branch. Commencing August
5	1, 2004, the circuit has 2 branches.
6	SECTION 3. 753.06 (5) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:
7	753.06 (5) (c) Rock County. The circuit has 7 branches. Commencing August
8	1, 2003, the circuit has 8 branches.
9	SECTION 4. 753.06 (6) (am) of the statutes is amended to read:
10	753.06 (6) (am) Clark County. The circuit has one branch. Commencing
11	August 1, 2003, the circuit has 2 branches.
12	Section 5. 753.06 (6) (e) of the statutes is amended to read:
13	753.06 (6) (e) Juneau County. The circuit has one branch. <u>Commencing August</u>
14	1, 2003, the circuit has 2 branches.
15	Section 6. 753.06 (10) (d) of the statutes is amended to read:
16	753.06 (10) (d) Chippewa County. The circuit has 2 branches. Commencing
17	August 1, 2003, the circuit has 3 branches.
18	SECTION 7. 753.06 (10) (e) of the statutes is amended to read:
19	753.06 (10) (e) Douglas County. The circuit has 2 branches. <u>Commencing</u>
20	August 1, 2003, the circuit has 3 branches.
21	Section 8. Nonstatutory provisions; circuit courts.
22	(1) CIRCUIT COURT BRANCHES, 2003. The initial election for circuit judge for branch
23	3 of the circuit court for Chippewa County, for branch 2 of the circuit court for Clark
24	County, for branch 2 of the circuit court for Douglas County, for branch 2 of the circuit
25	court for Juneau County, for branch 8 of the circuit court for Kenosha County, and

ASSEMBLY BILL 310

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

- for branch 8 of the circuit court for Rock County shall be at the spring election of 2003 for terms commencing August 1, 2003, and ending July 31, 2009.
 - (2) CIRCUIT COURT BRANCH, 2004. The initial election for circuit judge for branch 2 of the circuit court for Green County shall be at the spring election of 2004 for the term commencing August 1, 2004.
 - (3) CIRCUIT JUDGE POSITIONS. The authorized FTE positions for the circuit courts are increased by 6.0 GPR circuit judge positions on August 1, 2003, and by 1.0 GPR circuit judge position on August 1, 2004, to be funded from the appropriation under section 20.625 (1) (a) of the statutes, to provide additional circuit court judges for the circuit court branches created by this act.
 - (4) Court reporter positions. The authorized FTE positions for the circuit courts are increased by 6.0 GPR court reporter positions on August 1, 2003, and by 1.0 GPR court reporter position on August 1, 2004, to be funded from the appropriation under section 20.625 (1) (a) of the statutes, to provide one court reporter for each of the circuit court branches created in this act.

16 (END)