

2001 Assembly Joint Resolution 87

ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

Relating to: commemorating the United States Military Academy at West Point on its bicentennial anniversary.

Whereas, the United States Military Academy at West Point was established by an 1802 Act of Congress and is celebrating its 200th anniversary on March 16, 2002; and

Whereas, the United States Military Academy at West Point was the first national education institution in the country and the mission of the United States Military Academy at West Point continues to be to educate, train, and inspire a corps of cadets; and

Whereas, the United States Military Academy at West Point has graduated thousands of Americans as commissioned officers who have led the U.S. Army in winning in war and preserving peace; and

Whereas, the United States Military Academy at West Point trains cadets committed to the values reflective of the academy's motto — Duty, Honor, Country — to serve a selfless lifetime to the nation; and

Whereas, Wisconsin citizens have successfully graduated throughout the noble history of the academy and are committed to military duty and graciously render their service to the American people; and

Whereas, West Point continues to ensure that all programs and policies support the needs of the U.S. Army and nation today and for our security in the future; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the members of the Wisconsin legislature commemorate the 200th Anniversary of the United States Military Academy at West Point, express their congratulations, and commend the academy for its contributions; and, be it further

Resolved, That the assembly chief clerk shall provide a copy of this joint resolution to Jay O'Brien, member of the House of Delegates, Commonwealth of Virginia, so that he may present the joint resolution to the United States Military Academy at West Point on March 16, 2002.

Senator Fred A. Risser President of the Senate Representative Scott R. Jensen Speaker of the Assembly

Date

John A. Scocos Assembly Chief Clerk