2001 ASSEMBLY JOINT RESOLUTION 98

February 27, 2002 – Introduced by Representatives Johnsrud, Gronemus, Rhoades, Pettis, Albers, Boyle, Ott, Miller, Gunderson, Plouff, Hines, Petrowski, Hahn, Jeskewitz, Townsend, Krawczyk and Urban, cosponsored by Senators M. Meyer, Harsdorf, Moen, Schultz, Burke, Cowles, Plache, Roessler and Darling. Referred to Committee on Rules.

Relating to: recognizing and thanking all who served as members of the 1 2 Minnesota-Wisconsin Boundary Area Commission for their hard work and 3 dedication. Whereas, the Minnesota-Wisconsin Boundary Area Commission was created 4 in 1965 and continued until 2001; and 5 6 Whereas, the commission served to protect the public's interest in the lands, 7 river valleys, and waters that form the boundary between our states; and 8 Whereas, protecting these scenic and historic treasures has been a challenging 9 and honorable objective in spite of the many challenges; and 10 Whereas, the commission nurtured economic development as well as 11 preserving the environment; and 12 Whereas, education about the resources of the valley and management options 13 has been an accomplishment that will benefit the Mississippi Valley area for many

14

years to come; and

| 1 | Whereas, the people of western Wisconsin have all benefited from the generous |
|----|---|
| 2 | efforts of these volunteers; and |
| 3 | Whereas, the people who undertook these efforts donated countless hours of |
| 4 | precious time; and |
| 5 | Whereas, the generous people who donated these hours have never been |
| 6 | properly acknowledged for their efforts; now, therefore, be it |
| 7 | Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the members of the |
| 8 | Wisconsin legislature hereby recognize and thank all who served as members of the |
| 9 | Minnesota-Wisconsin Boundary Area Commission for their hard work and |
| 10 | dedication. |
| 11 | (END) |