

2001 Assembly Joint Resolution 100

## **ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION**

Relating to: the Wisconsin School for the Deaf Sesquicentennial.

Whereas, in 1852, Ebenezer Chesebro and John A. Mills of Delavan, Wisconsin, submitted a petition to the Wisconsin legislature requesting the establishment of a school for the deaf; and

Whereas, Franklin K. Phoenix, also of Delavan, offered to donate to the state all of the land necessary for the school; and

Whereas, Governor Leonard J. Farwell signed the law appropriating funds for a school building, staff, and general operating expenses on April 19, 1852; and

Whereas, the Wisconsin School for the Deaf has been in continuous operation since its founding, and has operated since 1939 as a bureau of the Wisconsin department of public instruction; and

Whereas, the Wisconsin School for the Deaf serves as a resource on deaf education for all Wisconsin school districts; and

Whereas, the Wisconsin School for the Deaf will celebrate 150 years of serving the educational needs of deaf and hard–of–hearing students throughout the state of Wisconsin on April 19, 2002; and

Whereas, the Wisconsin School for the Deaf is recognized as an integral part of Wisconsin's educational community in providing quality academic, adaptive education, vocational, and social skills development services to its students; now, therefore, be it

**Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That** the members of the Wisconsin legislature commend and congratulate the administration, faculty, and students of the Wisconsin School for the Deaf on its sesquicentennial celebration and are grateful for its contributions to the people of the state of Wisconsin; and, be it further

*Resolved, That* the assembly chief clerk shall provide copies of this joint resolution to the president of the Wisconsin School for the Deaf.

Senator Fred A. Risser President of the Senate Representative Scott R. Jensen Speaker of the Assembly