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Adopt Alternative A2 to Paper 561, which increases the handgun purchaser record check
fee from $8 to $17. ’

cNIOST



Ay

Legislative Fiscal Bureau
One East Main, Suite 301 « Madison, WI 53703 « (608) 266-3847 « Fax: (608) 267-6873

May 21, 2001 Joint Committee on Finance Paper #561

Handgun Purchaser Record Check Fee (Justice)

[LFB 2001-03 Budget Summary: Page 438, #10]

CURRENT LAW

A person is generally prohibited from possessing a firearm if he or she: (a) has been
convicted of a felony in Wisconsin or convicted of a crime elsewhere that would be a felony if
committed in Wisconsin; (b) has been adjudicated delinquent for an act committed on or after
April 21, 1994, that if committed by an adult in Wisconsin would be a felony; (c) has been found
not guilty of a felony in Wisconsin (or an equivalent offense elsewhere) by reason of mental
disease or defect; (d) has been involuntarily committed for treatment and is currently under a
court order not to possess a firearm; (e) is currently subject to a domestic abuse or child abuse
restraining order or injunction; or (f) is subject to a harassment injunction and is currently under
a court order not to possess a firearm, based on evidence that the person may use a firearm to
cause physical harm to another or endanger public safety. A person meeting one of these criteria

who possesses a firearm is guilty of a Class E felony.

When a firearms dealer sells a handgun, he or she may not transfer possession of that
handgun until: (a) the gun purchaser has provided photographic identification to the firearms
dealer and the dealer has inspected the identification; (b) the gun purchaser has completed the
notification form that provides information on the purchaser’s name, date of birth, gender, race
and social security number to allow the Department of Justice (DOJ) to perform an accurate
record search; (c) the dealer has provided the information to DOJ and requested a firearms
restrictions record search; and (d) 48 hours have lapsed, subject to an extension under certain
circumstances, and DOJ has not notified the dealer that the transfer would be a violation of state
law. An $8 handgun purchaser record check fee is assessed on firearms dealers (who may pass
the charge on to the purchaser) for each background check. Revenues from the fee are provided
to DOJ for the cost of operating the record check program. In calendar year 2000, DOJ
processed 32,320 handgun purchaser record checks.
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Current law limits the extent to which a state agency may incur liabilities and
expenditures under program revenue appropriations to the unexpended balance of the
appropriation, plus the value of accounts receivable and inventory. In the event an agency
spends more than this amount, the agency is required to submit to the Department of
Administration (DOA) a plan to provide sufficient resources to pay for the excess expenditures.
If DOA approves the plan or a modified plan, DOA must forward the proposed plan to the Joint
Committee on Finance, for review and approval under a 14-day passive review process.

GOVERNOR

Increase the handgun purchaser record check fee from $8 to $12.

DISCUSSION POINTS

1. The handgun hotline program revenue appropriation has been building an
increasingly large deficit in successive fiscal years. The appropriation ended with a deficit of: (a)
$288,700 in 1997-98; (b) $341,800 in 1998-99; and (c) $413,400 in 1999 00. This appropriation is
projected to end with a deficit of $529,200 in 2000-01.

2. The Department of Justice has submitted plans as part of each of its last three
biennial budget requests to increase the handgun purchaser record check fee to eliminate the deficit.
The administration did not, however, propose raising the fee prior to 2001 SB 55. The fee was not
raised, in part, because of uncertainties concerning a federal law, effective November 30, 1998,
requiring long gun purchaser background checks and whether DOJ or the Federal Bureau of
Investigation should conduct these long gun checks. At this time, the FBI is conducting the long
gun checks at no cost to the requester.

3. In its 2001-03 biennial budget request, DOJ requested to increase the handgun
purchaser record check fee from $8 to $16, effective October 1, 2001. The Department estimated
that, with this increase, the deficit would be eliminated by the end of 2003-04.

4. The adjusted base for this appropriation is $381,200 PR and 8.0 PR positions.
Funding under the bill would be $369,400 PR annually. If the current $8 record check fee was
maintained, the handgun hotline program revenue appropriation would be pI'OJCCted to end the
2001-03 biennium with a deficit of $785,000 PR.

5. The Governor recommends increasing the handgun purchaser record check fee
from $8 to $12 to begin to reduce the deficit in the handgun hotline appropriation. Under the
Governor’s recommendation, it is estimated that the appropriation would end the 2001-03 biennium
with a deficit of $544,900 and would end the 2003-05 biennium with a deficit of $536,700. This
assumes that the projected number of handgun hotline transactions in 2000-01 would remain
constant through the next two biennia, and also assumes that the 2002-03 expenditure and reserve
costs would remain constant through the 2003-05 biennium.
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6. Applying the same assumptions, if the fee was’increased to $16, the appropriation

would end the 2001-03 biennium with a projected deficit of $304,800 and would end the 2003-05
biennium with a projected deficit of $22,200. Finally, if the fee was increased to $17, the

appropriation would end the 2001-03 biennium with a projected deficit of $244,800 and would end
the 2003-05 biennium with a projected positive balance of $106,400. .

ALTERNATIVES TO BASE
1. Approve the Governor’s recommendation to increase the handgun purchaser record
check fee from $8 to $12.
Alternative 1 PR
2001-03 REVENUE (Change to Base) $240,100
[Change to Bill $0]

2. Increase the handgun purchaser record check fee from $8 to $16.

Alternative 2 PR
2001-03 REVENUE (Change to Base) $480,200
[Change to Bill $240,100]
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3. Increase the handgun purchaser record check fee from $8 to $17. N\
Alternative 3 PR }
2001-03 REVENUE (Change to Base) $540,200 ' /
[Change to Bill $300,100]
_,r"'/
v,'f’
4, Maintain current law.
Alternative 4 PR
2001-03 REVENUE (Change to Base) $0
[Change to Bill - $240,100]

Prepared by: Paul Onsager
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State of Wisconsin
2001 - 2002 LEGISLATURE LRBb1051/1
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SDC....... Keckhaver — CN1059, Handgun purchaser record check fee
FoRr 2001-038 BUDGET — NoT READY FOR INTRODUCTION

CAUCUS SENATE AMENDMENT
TO SENATE SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1,
TO 2001 SENATE BILL 55

vl Ll nendmond
ub®

At the locations indicated, amend thﬁée/as follows:

1. Page 972, line 7: after that line insert:

- “SECTION 2882c:)< 175.35 (2i) of the statutes is amended to read:

175.35 (2i) The department shall charge a firearms dealer an—$8‘£;$ﬂ fee for
each firearms restrictions record search that the firearms dealer requests under sub.
(2) (c). The firearms dealer may collect the fee from the transferee. The department
may refuse to conduct firearms restrictions record searches for any firearms dealer

who fails to pay any fee under this subsection within 30 days after billing by the
department.”.

History: 1975 c. 167; 1991 a, 11; 1993 a. 16, 195, 196; 1995 a. 71, 77, 159, 306.
(END)
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SDC.......Keckhaver — CN1059, Handgun purchaser record check fee
FoR 2001-03 BUDGET — NoT READY FoR INTRODUCTION

CAUCUS SENATE AMENDMENT
TO SENATE SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1,
TO 2001 SENATE BILL 55

At the locations indicated, amend the substitute amendment as follows:

1. Page 972, line 7: after that line insert:

“SECTION 2882¢. 175.35 (2i) of the statutes is amended to read:

175.35 (2i) The department shall charge a firearms dealér an$8 a $17 fee for -
each firearms restrictions record search that the firearms dealer requests under sub.
(2) (¢). The firearms dealer may collect the fee from the transferee. The department
may refuse to conduct firearms restrictions record searches for any firearms dealer

who fails to pay any fee under this subsection within 30 days after billing by the

department.”.

(END)



