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2001 WISCONSIN ACT 74

AN ACT to repeald40.08 (2) (a) 679., subchapter XI (title) of chapter 440 [precedes 440.98], 440.98 to 440.981,
440.982 (title) and (1) (intro.) and (a), 440.982 (1) (c) and (2) and 440.983 to 440.8&8ymber and amend
440.982 (1) (b) and 440.98& amend50.01 (2), 55.043 (4) (e), 103.10 (1) (e), 146.40 (1) (d), 146.81 (1) (hp),
146.997 (1) (d) 13., 180.1901 (1m) (ag), 252.15 (1) (ar) 1., 895.48 (1m) (intro.) and 908.03 (6m)t(areais
15.407 (7), 20.485 (5) (h), 440.08 (2) (a) 46r. and chapter 460 of the staiatiysy to: the regulation of massage
therapists and bodyworkers, creating a massage therapy and bodywork council, granting rule—making authority,
making an appropriation, and providing a penalty.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in 3. Professional associations with which massage
senate and assembly, do enact as follows: therapists or bodyworkers in this state are affiliated.
4. Practice in urban and rural areas in this state.

SecTion 1. 15.407 (7) of the statutes is created to ~ SECTION 2. 20.485 (5) (h) of the statutes is created to
read: read:

15.407(7) MASSAGETHERAPY AND BODYWORK COUN- 20.485(5) (h) Certification of massage therapists
ciL. (a) There is created a massage therapy and bodyand bodyworkersNinety percent of all moneys received
work council in the department of regulation and licens- under s. 460.05 (3) (c) and 2001 Wisconsin Act .... (this
ing, serving the department in an advisory capacity. Theact), section 23 (5) for making determinations regarding
council shall consist of 7 members, appointed for 4—yearapplications for massage therapist and bodyworker cer-
terms, who are massage therapists or bodyworkers certitificates.
fied under ch. 460 and who have engaged in the practice SecTion 3. 50.01 (2) of the statutes is amended to
of massage therapy or bodywork for at least 2 years pre+ead:
ceding appointment. 50.01(2) “Nurse’s assistant” means a person who

(b) In appointing members under par. (a), the gover- performsroutine patient care duties delegated by a regis-
nor shall ensure, to the maximum extent practicable, thatterednurse or licensed practical nurse who supervises the
the membership of the council is diverse, based on all ofperson, for the direct health care of a patient or resident.

the following factors: “Nurse’s assistant” does not mean a person who is
1. Massage or bodywork therapies practiced in this licensed, permitted, certifiedy registered under-subch.
state. Xlof ch.-440-orch. 441, 448, 449, 450, 451, 4554%9,

2. Affiliation and nonaffiliation with a professional or 4600r a person whose duties primarily involve skills
association for the practice of massage therapy or body-that are different than those taught in instructional pro-
work. grams for nurse’s assistants.

* Section 991.11, \EconsIN STaTuTES 1999-00 : Effective date of acts. “Every act and every portion of an act enacted by the legislature over
the governor’s partial veto which does not expressly prescribe the time when it takes effect shall take effect on thigsddgtaftéipublication
as designated” by the secretary of state [the date of publication may not be more than 10 working days after the dangf enactm
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SecTIoN 4. 55.043 (4) (e) of the statutes is amended
to read:

55.043(4) (e) Refer the case to the department of reg-
ulation and licensing if the misappropriation of property

or neglect or abuse involves an individual who is required

_2_

2001 Senate Bill 413

SecTiON 14. 440.98 to 440.981 of the statutes are
repealed.

SecTion 15. 440.982 (title) and (1) (intro.) and (a) of
the statutes are repealed.

SecTioN 16. 440.982 (1) (b) of the statutes is renum-

to hold a credential, as defined in s. 440.01 (2) (a), underbered 460.06 and amended to read:

460.06 Examinations. Promulgate rules-establish-
ing-the-education;-training-or competency-requirements
that-an-applicant for-alicense-must satisfy-in-order-to be
. . f regi . his sul The
rules-shall require-an-applicant to-complete-at-least 500
elassmomqeuﬁﬁefértud%mﬂaﬁeoms&e#mstmenon in

chs. 440 to-45460

SecTion 5. 103.10 (1) (e) of the statutes is amended
to read:

103.10(1) (e) “Health care provider” means a person
describedunder s. 146.81 (1), but does not include a per-
son described under s. 146.81 (1) (hp)

SecTION 6. 146.40 (1) (d) of the statutes is amended
to read:

146.40(1) (d) “Nurse’s assistant” means an individ-

ual who performs routine patient care duties delegated bygepartment may not grant a certificate under this chapter
a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse who superyniess unless theapplicant whose-application-is-received-after

vises the individual, for theirgct health care of a patient
or resident. “Nurse’s assistamtes not mean an individ-
ual who is licensed, permitted, certifieak, registered
undersubch.Xl-of ch.440-arh. 441, 448, 449, 450, 451,
455-0r 459, or 46Mr an individual whose duties primar-
ily involve skills that are different than those taught in
instructional and competency evaluation programs for
nurse’s assistants certified under sub. (3) or evaluated b
competency evaluation programs for nurse’s assistants_. -
approved under sub. (3m).

146.81(1) (hp) A massage therapist or bodyworker
issued-alicenseertified under-subech.-Xl-of ch.-44¢€h.
460

SecTioN 8. 146.997 (1) (d) 13. of the statutes is
amended to read:

146.997(1) (d) 13. A massage therapist or body-
worker issued alicense-of registraticertificateunder
subch.Xl-ofch.-440460Q

SectioN 9. 180.1901 (1m) (ag) of the statutes is
amended to read:

180.1901(1m) (ag) The department of regulation
and licensing under-subch.-Xl-of ch-4el) 460

SectioN 10. 252.15 (1) (ar) 1. of the statutes is
amended to read:

252.15(1) (ar) 1. A person or entity that is specified

Marech-1,-2000,—to—successfully complepassesthe

national certification examination for therapeutic mas-
sageand bodywork that is offered by the National Certifi-
cation Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork or
-a-substantially equivalean examination relating to the
practice of massage therapy or bodywork that is
approvedadministered by a national board that is accred-

Nted by the National Commission &@ir Certifying Agen-

me&eﬁhe—NaHenaL@#gamzaﬂenieLGempeteney—Assur-

equivalent examinatiompproved by the department.
The department shall promulgateles -maythat also
require arapplicant to pass an examination on state laws
and administrative rules governing massage therapy or
bodywork.

SecTioN 17.440.982 (1) (c) and (2) of the statutes are
repealed.

SecTion 18. 440.983 to 440.988 of the statutes are
repealed.

SecTion 19. 440.989 of the statutes is renumbered
460.17 and amended to read:

460.17 Local regulation. A city, village, town,or
county may not enact an ordinance that regulates the
practice of massage therapy or bodywork by a person
who is issued alicense-of registratimrtificateby the
department under this-subchaptbapter No provi-

in s. 146.81 (1), but does not include a massage therapisgion of any ordinance enacted by a city, village, town,

or bodyworker issued-a-license-of registratentificate
under-subch.-Xl-o€h.-440460

SecTion 11. 440.08 (2) (a) 46r. of the statutes is
created to read:

440.08(2) (a) 46r. Massage therapist or bodyworker:
March 1 of each odd—numbered year; $53.

SecTion 12. 440.08 (2) (a) 679. of the statutes, as
affected by 2001 Wisconsin Act 16, is repealed.

SectioN 13. Subchapter XI (title) of chapter 440
[precedes 440.98] of the statutes is repealed.

or county that is in effect before February 1, 1999, and
that relates to the practice of massage therapy or body-
work, may be enforced against a person who is issued a
license-of registratiopertificateby the department

under this-subchaptehapter
SecTion 20. Chapter 460 of the statutes is created to

read:
CHAPTER 460
MASSAGE THERAPY AND BODYWORK
460.01 Definitions. In this chapter:
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(1) “Certificate holder” means a person granted a cer- holder from having sexual contact or sexual intercourse

tificate under this chapter. with a client.
(2) “Council” means the massage therapy and body-  (b) Criteria for approving a training program for pur-
work council. poses of $460.05 (1) (e) 1. Rules promulgated under this

(3) “Manual action” includes holding, positioning, paragraplshall require the training program to consist of
rocking, kneading, compressing, decompressing, glid- at least 600 classroom hours.
ing, or percussing the soft tissue of the human body or  (c) Requirements and procedures for obtaining the
applying a passive range of motion to the human body. informed consent of a client under s. 460.11 (1) and for
(4) “Massage therapy or bodywork” means the sci- making a report required under s. 460.12 (1).
ence and healing art that uses manual actions to palpate (d) A definition of “sexually oriented business” for
and manipulate the soft tissue of the human body, in orderpurposes of s. 460.11 (3).
to improve circulation, reduce tension, relieve soft tissue  (3) In addition to any other procedure under ch. 227
pain, or increase flexibility, and includes determining relating tothe promulgation of rules, when promulgating
whether massage therapy or bodywork is appropriate ora rule under this chapter, other than an emergency rule
contraindicated, or whether a referral to another healthunder s227.24, the department shall do all of the follow-
care practitioner is appropriate. “Massage therapy oring:

bodywork” does not include making a medical or chiro- (a) Submit the proposed rule to the massage therapy
practic diagnosis. and bodywork council at least 60 days before the pro-
(5) “Physician’s office” has the meaning given in s. posed rule is submitted to the legislative council staff
101.123 (1) (dg). under s. 227.15 (1).
(6) “Sexual contact” has the meaning given in s. (b) Consider any comments on a proposed rule made
939.22 (34). by the council, if the council submits the comments to the
(7) “Sexual intercourse” has the meaning given in s. department within 30 days after a public hearing on the
948.01 (7) (a). proposed rule under s. 227.18 or, if no hearing is held,

460.02 Certificate required. Except as provided in  within 30days after the proposed rule is published under
S. 460.03, no person may designate himself or herself as. 227.16 (2) (e).
a massage therapist or bodyworker, or use or assume the (c) Include, in the report submitted to the legislature
title “massage therapist and bodyworker” or “massage under s. 227.19 (2), any comments on the proposed rule
therapist” or “bodyworker” or any title that includes submitted by the council under par. (b) and the depart-
“massage therapist” or “bodyworker,” or append to the ment’s responses to those comments.
person’s name the letters “M.T.,” “C.M.T.,” “B.W.,” or (4) When promulgating emergency rules under s.
“C.B.W.,” or use any other title or designation that repre- 227.24, the department shall provide a copy of the rules
sents or may tend to represent that he or she is certifiedo the council prior to publication of the rules in the offi-
underthis chapter, unless the person is certified under thiscial state newspaper.

chapter. 460.05 Certification of massage therapists or
460.03 Applicability. A certificate under this chap- bodyworkers. (1) The department shall grant a certifi-
ter is not required for any of the following: cate as a massage therapist or bodyworker to a person

(1) A person holding a license, permit, registration, who satisfies all of the following:
or certification granted by this state or the federal govern-  (a) The person is 18 years of age or older.
ment who engages in a practice of massage therapy or (b) The person has graduated from high school or
bodywork within the scope of his or her license, permit, attained high school graduation equivalency as deter-
registration, or certification and who does not imply that mined by the department of public instruction under s.
he or she is certified under this chapter. 115.29 (4).

(2) A person who is authorized to practice massage (c) The person submits an application for the certifi-
therapy or bodywork in another state or country and is cate to the department on a form provided by the depart-
providing a consultation to or demonstration with a cer- ment.

tificate holder. (d) The person pays the fee specified in s. 440.05 (1).
460.04 Duties of department(1) The department (e) Except as provided in sub. (2), the person submits
shall assign a unique certificate number to each persorevidence satisfactory to the departrtéat he or she has
certified under this chapter. done all of the following:
(2) The department shall promulgate rules that estab- 1. Graduated from a school of massage therapy or
lish all of the following: bodywork approved by the educational approval board

(a) Standards that govern the professional conduct ofunder s45.54 or completed a training program approved
certificate holders in practicing massage therapy or by the department under the rules promulgated under s.
bodywork. The standards shall prohibit a certificate 460.04 (2) (b).
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2. Completed at least 6 classroom hours in the laws  (d) That the person’s education, training, and experi-
of this state and rules of the department relating to theence in the practice of massage therapy or bodywork is
practice of massage therapy or bodywork in a course ofsubstantially equivalent to the education required under

instruction approved by the department. sub. (1) (e).
(f) The person passes the examinations under s. (e) That the person has not been convicted of any of
460.06. the following:

(9) The person submits evidence satisfactory to the 1. An offense under s. 940.22, 940.225, 944.15,
departmenthat he or she has infeft malpractice liabil- ~ 944.17, 944.30, 944.31, 944.32, 944.33, 944.34, 948.02,

ity insurance coverage in an amount that is not less thang4g.025, 948.08, 948.09, 948.095, or 948.10.
$1,000,000 per occurrence and $1,000,000 for all occur- 2. An offense under federal law or a law of any other

rences in one year. _ state that is comparable to an offense under subd. 1.
(h) The person has not been convicted of any of the  460.07 Display of certificate; expiration and
following: renewal. (1) Each person who is certified under this

1. An offense under s. 940.22, 940.225, 944.15, chapter shall conspicuously display the certificate in the
944.17, 944.30, 944.31, 944.32, 944.33, 944.34, 948.02 5|5ce ofbusiness where he or she practices massage ther-

948.025, 948.08, 948.09, 948.095, or 948.10. apy or bodywork so that the certificate can easily be seen
2. An offense under federal law or a law of any other 54 read.

state that is comparable to an offense under subd. 1. 2y The renewal dates for certificates granted under
(2) The department may waive a requirement Speci- g chapter are specified under s. 440.08 (2) (a).

fied in sub. (1) (e) if a person establishes, to the satisfac-Renewal applications shall be submitted to the depart-
tion of the dpartment, that he or she has education, train- ment on a form provided by the department and shall
ing, or other experience that is substantially equivalent 0, clude all of the following:

the requirement. e
. . (&) The renewal fee specified in s. 440.08 (2) (a).
(3) After the first day of the 25th month beginning (b) If applicable, proof of completion of continuing

after the effective date of this subsection .... [revisor education under s. 460.10
inserts date], the department shall grant a certificate as a . S
massageher]apist or Eodyworker to e? person if the educa- (9) Ewdenge satisfactory to the d‘?pa_r.tm‘?”t that the
tional approval board notifies the department that the applicant _has in effect malpractlce liability insurance
educationabpproval board has determined all of the fol- coverage in aamount that is not less than $1,000,0QO per
lowing: occurrence and $1,000,000 for all occurrences in one
a) That the person submitted an application to the Y2 . - L
() P ubmi ppicat 460.09 Reciprocal certificate. Upon application

educational approval board on a form provided by the e o
educational approval board that describes the person’s"’md payment of the fee specified in s. 440.05 (2), the

education, training, and experience in the practice Ofdepsrtmen_ﬁc_shall grant a maisar?el dthera_pl_slt or b.(;.d Y-
massagéherapy or bodywork and includes evidence sat- workercertificate to a person who holds a similar certifi-

isfactory to the educational approval board of all of the cate in another state or territory of the United States or
following: another country if the department determines that the

1. That the person is 18 years of age or older. requireme_:nts for receiving the certific_ate in t_he other

2. That the person graduated from high school or State, territory, or country are substantially equivalent to
attained high school graduation equivalency as deter-the requirements under s. 460.05.
mined by the department of public instruction under s. ~ 460.10 Continuing education. The department may
115.29 (4). promulgate rules establishing requirements and proce-

3. That, during the 2—year period after the effective dures for a certificate holder to complete continuing
date of this subdivision .... [revisor inserts date], the per- €ducation programs or courses of study to qualify for
son was actively engaged in the practice of massage thertenewal of his or her certificate. The department may
apy or bodywork. waive all or part of any requirement established in rules

4. That the person has in effect malpractice liability Promulgated under this section if it determines that pro-
insurance coverage in an amount that is not less tharlonged iliness, disability, or other exceptional circum-
$1,000,000 per occurrence and $1,000,000 for all occur-stancehave prevented a certificate holder from complet-
rences in one year. ing the requirement.

(b) That the person included with the application 460.11 Practice requirements. (1)A certificate
under par. (a) an attestation that the person only recentlyholdermay not practice massage therapy or bodywork on
became aware of the requirements of this chapter. a client unless the certificate holder first obtains the

(c) That the person paid the fee specified in s. 440.05informedconsent of the client and has informed the client
(1) (a) to the educational approval board. that he or she may withdraw the consent at any time.
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(2) A certificate holder shall keep confidential any (b) A certificate holder shall submit a written report
information that &lient in confidence gives to the certifi- to the department if he or she is convicted of a felony or
cate holder and any other information that the certificate misdemeanor, or is found to have committed a violation,
holder obtains about a client in the course of practicing in this state or elsewhere, and if the circumstances of the
massag¢herapy or bodywork that a reasonable person in felony, misdemeanor, or violation substantially relate to
the client’s position would want kept confidential, unless the practice of massage therapy or bodywork. The report
the information is otherwise required by law to be dis- shall identify the date, place, and nature of the conviction
closed or the client specifically authorizes the disclosure or finding and shall be submitted within 30 days after the
of the information. entry ofthe judgment of conviction or the judgment find-

(3) A certificate holder may not, whether for com- ing that he or she committed the violation. If the report
pensation or not, practice massage therapy or bodyworkis submitted by mail, the report is considered to be sub-
for a sexually oriented business, as defined by the departmitted on the date that it is mailed.
ment by rule. 460.13 Advertising. A certificate holder may not

460.12 Duty to make reports. (1)A certificate advertise that he or she practices massage therapy or
holdershall submit a report to the department if he or she bodywork unless the advertisement includes his or her
has reasonable cause to believe that another certificateertificate number and a statement that the certificate
holder has committed a crime relating to prostitution holder is a “ertified massage therapist and bodyworker”
under ss. 944.30 to 944.34 or has had sexual contact oor “certified massage therapist” or “certified body-
sexual intercourse with a client. If the report relates to worker.”
sexual contact or sexual intercourse with a client, the  460.14 Disciplinary proceedings and actions. (1)
report may not identify the client unless the client has Subject to the rules promulgated under s. 440.03 (1), the
provided written consent for disclosure of this informa- department may make investigations and conduct hear-
tion. ings to determine whether a violation of this chapter or

(2) The department may use a report made under subany rule promulgated under this chapter has occurred.
(1) as the basis for an investigation under s. 460.14 (1). (2) Subject to the rules promulgated under s. 440.03
If, after an investigation, the department has reasonablg(1), the department may reprimand a certificate holder or
cause to believe that a certificate holder has committed adeny, limit, suspend, or revoke a certificate under this
crime,the department shall report the belief to the district chapter if it finds that the applicant or certificate holder
attorneyfor the county in which the crime, in the opinion has done any of the following:
of the department, occurred. (@) Made a material misstatement in an application

(3) If, after an investigation, the department deter- for a certificate or for renewal of a certificate.
mines that a report submitted under sub. (1) is without  (b) Subject to ss. 111.321, 111.322, and 111.335,
merit, the department shall remove the report from the beenconvicted of an offense the circumstances of which
record of the certificate holder who is the subject of the substantially relate to the practice of massage therapy or
report. bodywork.

(4) All reports and records made from reports under  (¢) Advertised in a manner that is false, deceptive, or
sub. (1) and maintained by the department, district attor- misleading.
neys, anather persons, officials, and institutions shall be (d) Advertised, practiced, or attempted to practice
confidential and are exempt from disclosure under s. under another’s name.

19.35 (1). Information regarding the identity of a client (e) Subjectto ss. 11321, 111.322, and 111.34, prac-
with whom a certificate holder is suspected of having ticed massage therapytwsdywork while his or her abil-
sexualcontact or sexual intercourse shall not be disclosedity to practice was impaired by alcohol or other drugs.
by persons who have received or have access to a report (f) Intentionally made a false statement in a report
or record unless disclosure is consented to in writing by submitted under s. 460.12 (1).

the client. The report of information under sub. (1) and (9) Engaged in unprofessional conduct in violation
the disclosure of a report or record under this subsectionof the standards established in rules promulgated under
doesnot violate any person’s responsibility for maintain- s. 460.04 (2) (a).

ing the confidentiality of patient health care records, as  (h) Engaged in conduct while practicing massage
defined in s. 146.81 (4) and as required under s. 146.82therapy or bodywork that jeopardizes the health, safety,
Reportsand records may be disclosed only to the depart- or welfare of a client or that evidences a lack of knowl-
ment, and the appropriate staff of a district attorney or aedge of, mability to apply, or the negligent application of,
law enforcement agency within this state for purposes of principles or skills of massage therapy or bodywork.

investigation or prosecution. () Violated this chapter or any rule promulgated
(5) (@) In this subsection, “violation” means a viola- under this chapter.
tion of any state or local law that is punishable by a forfei- (2m) Subject to the rules promulgated under s.

ture. 440.03 (1), the department shall revoke a certificate
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under this chapter if the certificate holder is convicted of (2) INITIAL APPOINTMENTS.

any of the following: (a) Notwithstanding section 15.407 (7) (a) of the stat-
(@) An offense under s. 940.22, 940.225, 944.15, utes, agreated by this act, the initial membershaf mas-

944.17, 944.30, 944.31, 944.32, 944.33, 944.34, 948.02 sagetherapy and bodywork council shall be appointed by

948.025, 948.08, 948.09, 948.095, or 948.10. the first day of the 3rd month beginning after tHeaive
(b) An offenseunder federal law or a law of any other date of this paragraph for the following terms:
state that is comparable to an offense under par. (a). 1. Two members, for terms expiring on July 1, 2003.

(3) The department may restore a certificate that has 2. Two members, for terms expiring on July 1, 2004.
beensuspended or revoked on such terms and conditions 3. Two members, for terms expiring on July 1, 2005.
as the department may deem appropriate. 4. One member, for a term expiring on July 1, 2006.

(4) Before taking any action under this section, the (b) Notwithstanding section 15.407 (7) (a) of the stat-
department shall consult with the council and consider utes, as created by this act, for the purpose of being
any recommendations of the council. appointed and serving as members of the massage ther-

460.15 Penalties.(1) Except as provided in sub. (2), apy and bodywork council, the members need not be cer-
any person who violates this chapter or any rule promul- tified under chapter 460 of the statutes, as created by this
gated under this chapter shall forfeit not more than act, until the first day of the 15th month beginning after
$1,000 for each violation. the effective date of this paragraph.

(2) A person who violates s. 460.02 shall forfeit not (3) BMERGENCYRULES. The department may use the
morethan $500 for each violation. Each day of continued proceduraunder section 227.24 of the statutes to promul-
violation of s. 460.02 constitutes a separate violation. gate rules required under section 460.04 (2) of the stat-

SecTioN 21. 895.48 (1m) (intro.) of the statutes is utes, as created by this act. Notwithstanding section
amended to read: 227.24 (1) (a), (2) (b), and (3) of the statutes, the depart-

895.48(1m) (intro.) Any physician or athletic trainer ment is not required to provide evidence that promulgat-
licensed under ch. 448, chiropractor licensed under ch.ing a rule under this subsection as an emergency rule is
446, dentist licensed under ch. 447, emergency medicahecessary for the preservation of public peace, health,
technicianlicensed under s. 146.50, first responder certi- safety, owelfare and is not required to provide a finding
fied under s. 146.50 (8), physician assistant licensedof emergency for a rule promulgated under this subsec-
underch. 448, registered nurse licensed under ch.a¥41, tion.

a massage therapist or bodyworker issued-a-license of (4x) TRANSITIONAL PROVISIONS;REGISTRANTS. Not-
registrationcertificateunder-subeh.-Xl-o€h. -440460 withstandingsection 460.05 (1) of the statutes, as created
who renders voluntary health care to a participant in anby this act, the department shall issue a certificate as a
athletic event or contest sponsored by a nonprofit corpo-massage therapist or bodyworker to a person who holds
ration, aglefined in s. 46.93 (1m) (c), a private school, as a valid license of registration as a massage therapist or
defined in s. 115.001 (3r), a public agency, as defined inbodyworker issued by the department under section
S. 46.93 (1m) (e), or a school, as defined in s. 609.655 (1)440.983,1999 stats., or 1997 Wisconsin Act 156, section
(c), is immune from civil liability for his or her acts or 16 (1) (a), and who applies to renew such a license of reg-
omissions in rendering that care if all of the following istration that expires on March 1, 2003, under section

conditions exist: 440.08 (2) (a) 679., 1999 stats., if the person satisfies the
SecTioN 22. 908.03 (6m) (a) of the statutes is requirements under section 440.985, 1999 stats.
amended to read: (5) TRANSITIONAL PROVISIONS; NONREGISTRANTS.

908.03 (6m) (a) Definition. In this subsection,  Notwithstanding section 460.05 (1) of the statutes, as
“health care provider” means a massage therapist orcreated byhis act, the department shall issue a certificate
bodyworker issued a-license-of registratiartificate as a massage therapist or bodyworker to a person if the
under-subeh.Xl-oth.-440460 a chiropractor licensed educational approval board notifies the department that
under ch. 446, a dentist licensed under ch. 447, a physithe educational approval board has determined all of the
cianassistant licensed under ch. 4d8a health care pro-  following:

vider as defined in s. 655.001 (8). (a) That the person submitted, no later than the first
SecTioN 23.Nonstatutory provisions. day of the 25th month beginning after the effective date
(1) DeriniTions. In this EcTiON: of this paragraph, an application to the educational
(a) “Department” means the department of regula- approval board on a form provided by the educational
tion and licensing. approval board that describes the person’s education,

(b) “Massage therapy or bodywork” has the meaning training, and experience in the practice of massage ther-
given in section 460.01 (4) of the statutes, as created byapy or bodywork and provides evidence satisfactory to
this act. the educational approval board of all of the following:
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1. That the person is 18 years of age or older. 1. An offense under section 940.22, 940.225, 944.15,

2. That the person graduated from high school or 944.17, 944.30, 944.31, 944.32, 944.33, 944.34, 948.02,
attained high school graduation equivalency as deter-948.025, 948.08, 948.09, 948.095, or 948.10 of the stat-
mined by the department of public instruction under sec- utes.
tion 115.29 (4) of the statutes. 2. An offense under federal law or a law of any other

3. That, on the effective date of this subdivision, the state that is comparable to an offense under subd. 1.
person was actively engaged in the practice of massage SecTtion 24.Initial applicability.
therapy or bodywork. (1) The treatment of section 146.81 (1) (hp) of the

4. That the person has in effect malpractice liability statutes first applies to the use of billing forms specified
insurance coverage in an amount that is not less tharin section 632.725 (2) (a) of the statutes on the effective
$1,000,000 per occurrence and $1,000,000 for all occur-date of this subsection.
rences in one year. (2) The creation of chapter 460 of the statutes first

(b) That the person paid the fee specified in section applies to crimes relating to prostitution that are com-
440.05 (1) (a) of the statutes to the educational approvalmitted on and sexual contact or sexual intercourse that
board. occurs on the effective date of this subsection.

(c) That the person’s education, training, and experi- (3) The treatment of section 895.48 (1m) (intro.) of
ence in the practice of massage therapy or bodywork arehe statutes first applies to care rendered on the effective
substantially equivalent to the education required underdate of this subsection.
section 460.05 (1) (e) of the statutes, as created by this SecTion 25m.Effective date.
act. (1x) This act takes effect on March 1, 2003.

(d) That the person has not been convicted of any of
the following:




