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TTY (608) 267-9629

Date: January 15, 2003

To: Stephen R. Miller, Chief
Legislative Reference Bureau

From: Benjamin Vail
Policy and Budget Analyst % ‘3\/
ECR Team

Subject: Biennial Budget Drafting Request
Agency 395 - Department of Transportation (DOT)

Budget Office Request Title:

Vehicle registration fee increase.

Request Description:

Increase light passenger vehicle registration fee by $10, from $45 to $55.
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Wisconsin.gov
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DOA.......Benjamin Vail — BB-0363, Vehicle registration fées

FoR 2003-05 BUDGET — NoT READY FOR INTRODUCTION

CT ...; relating to: the budge@

Analysis by the Legislative geference Bureau
TRANSPORTATION

'
DRIVERS AND MOTOR VEHICLES

Under current law, with certain exceptions, DOT charges an annual vehicle
registration fee of $45 per automobile. DOT charges an annual vehicle registration
fee based on weight for a motor home, or for a motor truck, road tractor, trailer, or
combination vehicle.

Currently, the annual registration fee is $48.50 for a motor home that weighs
not more than 5,000 pounds and $55 for a motor home that weighs not more than
8,000 pounds. - The annual registration fee is $48.50 for a motor truck, road tractor,
trailer,or combination vehicle that weighs not more than than 4,500 pounds.

Under this bill, the annual registration fee for an automobile, a motor home
that weighs not more than 8,000 pounds, and a motor truck, road tractor, trailel} or
combination vehicle that weighs not more than 4,500 pounds, is $55.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

v : '
2 SECTION 1. 341.25 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:



2003 — 2004 Legislature —2- LRB-1575"

PJH........
SECTION 1
1 341.25 (1) (a) For each automobile, a fee of $45 $55, except that an automobile

2 registered in this state prior to September 1, 1947, at a fee of less than $18 shall be

3 registered at such lesser fee plus an additional fee of $2.

History: 1973 c. 67, 90, 270, 333; 1975 c. 39s 734; 1975 ¢.\26; 1977 c. 29 s5. 1422m to 1430, 1654 (7) (a); 1977 c. 288, 418; 1979 c. 34, 221; 1981 c. 20; 1983 a. 175,
243; 1985 a, 65; 1985 a. 208 5s. 7, 8, 11; 1987 a. 212, 403; 198 1 1991 a.39; 1997 a. 27; 1999a.9 80, 142

SECTION 2. 341.25'(1) () 1. of the statutes is repealed

Vv
5 SECTION 3. 341.25 (2) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:
(6) 341.25 (2) (a) Not more than 4,500 .......... $ 48.50 55,00

History: 1973 c. 67, 90, 270, 333; 1975 c. 39 5. 734; 1975 c. 136; 1977 c. 29 ss. 1422m to 1430, 1654 (7) (a); 1977 c. 288, 418; 1979 c. 34, 221; 1981 c. 20; 1983 a. 175,
243; 1985 . 65; 1985 a. 208 ss. 7 8, ll 1987 a. 212, 403; 1989 a. 31 1991 a. 39; 1997 a. 27; 1999&9 80, 142.

(END)

- fotc



DRAFTER’S NOTE ' LRB-1575/1dn

FROM THE PJH:,Z@
LEGISLATIVE REFERENCE BUREAU

Ok

Ben,

This draft increases the vehicle registration fee for automobiles that are currently
registered at $45 annually. Because your request mentioned “light passenger
vehicles,” I also increased the fees for motor homes that weigh less than 5000/ pounds
(currently registered at $48.50) and for vehicles other than agricultural vehicles that
are registered on a per—weight basis and that weigh less than 4500 pounds (also
currently registered at $48.50). I did not increase registration fees for agricultural

vehicles.

Please also note that the registration fees for certaigﬂother&éﬁcles are “tied” to the
registration fee for automobiles. Section 341.25 (1) (k) registers human service
vehicles and 341.26 (7) (b) registers certain busés at the same rate as automobiles.
Under this draft, the fee for those vehicles is increased to $55 annually.

Please let me know if this satisfies your intent.

Peggy Hurley

Legislative Attorney

Phone: (608) 266-8906

E-mail: peggy.hurley@legis.state.wi.us

X



DRAFTER’S NOTE LRB-1575/1dn
FROM THE PJH:kjf:cph
LEGISLATIVE REFERENCE BUREAU

January 17, 2003

Ben,

This draft increases the vehicle registration fee for automobiles that are currently
registered at $45 annually. Because your request mentioned “light passenger
vehicles,” I also increased the fees for motor homes that weigh less than 5,000 pounds
(currently registered at $48.50) and for vehicles other than agricultural vehicles that
are registered on a per—weight basis and that weigh less than 4,500 pounds (also

currently registered at $48.50). I did not increase registration fees for agricultural
vehicles.

Please also note that the registration fees for certain other vehicles are “tied” to the
registration fee for automobiles. Section 341.25 (1) (k) registers human service
vehicles and s. 341.26 (7) (b) registers certain buses at the same rate as automobiles.
Under this draft, the fee for those vehicles is increased to $55 annually.

Please let me know if this satisfies your intent.

Peggy Hurley

Legislative Attorney

Phone: (608) 266—8906

E-mail: peggyhurley@legis.state.wi.us
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Hurley, Pejgy

From: Grinde, Kirsten

Sent: - , Monday, January 27, 2003 8:44 PM

To: ‘ Hurley, Peggy

Cc: Vail, Benjamin; Morehouse, Alice

Subject: - FW: LRB Draft: 03-1575/1 Vehicle registration fees

03-1575/1 03-1575/1dn
Peggy,

Please modify LRB 1575/1 to leave the fees at $48.50 for motor homes weighing less than 5,000 Ibs., and non-agricultural
vehicles weighing less than 4,500 Ibs.

The intent is to just adjust the registration fee for automobiles. Let me know if you have any questions.

Thanks,

Kirsten

-----Original Message-----

From: Haskett, Christian

Sent: ' Friday, January 17, 2003 5:14 PM

To: Vail, Benjamin

Cc: Grinde, Kirsten; Schaeffer, Carole; Hanaman, Cathlene; Haugen, Caroline
Subject: LRB Draft: 03-1575/1 Vehicle registration fees

Following is the PDF version of draft 03-1575/1.
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FOR 2003—05 BUDGET — NoT READY FOR INTRODUCTION

0

1 AN AcT ...; relating to: the budget.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau
TRANSPORTATION

DRIVERS AND MOTOR VEHICLES

Under current law, with certain exceptions, DOT charges an annual vehicle
reglstratlon fee of $45 per automobile. nnual vehitlexegistration-
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The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

2 SECTION 1. 341.25 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:;
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2003 — 2004 Legislature -2- LRB-1575/1
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SECTION 1

341.25 (1) (a) For each automobile, a fee of $45 $55, except that an automobile
registered in this state prior to September 1, 1947, at a fee of less than $18 shall be

registered at such lesser fee plus an additional fee of $2.

SECTION 3. 341.25 (—a*o the statute
2) (a) Not more than 4,500 ........

(END)

)b

mended to read:




DRAFTER’'S NOTE LRB-1575/dn
FROM THE PJH/kjf)ph
LEGISLATIVE REFERENCE BUREAU

Ben,

registered 'at $45 annuall ur request mentioned “light passenger

This draftjincreases the Vellafl&gstration fee for automobiles that are currently
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© 1 t egistration \fe ﬁ)r certain other vehiclesfare “tied” to the
(\“’OQ registration fee for automobiles. Section 341.25 (1) (k) registers human service
vehicles and s. 341.26 (7) (b) registers certain buses at the same rate as automobiles.
Under this draft, the fee for those vehicles is increased to $55 annually.

Please let me know if this satisfies your intent.

Peggy Hurley

Legislative Attorney

Phone: (608) 2668906

E-mail: peggy.hurley@legis.state.wi.us



DRAFTER’'S NOTE LRB-1575/2dn
FROM THE PJH kijf:pg
LEGISLATIVE REFERENCE BUREAU

January 28, 2003

Ben,

This draft is a change from 1575/1 in that it only increases the vehicle registration fee
for automobiles that are currently registered at $45 annually and for certain other
vehicles that are “tied” to the registration fee for automobiles. Section 341.25 (1) (k)
registers human service vehicles and s. 341.26 (7) (b) registers certain buses at the
same rate as automobiles. Under this draft, the fee for those vehicles is increased to
$55 annually.

Please let me know if this satisfies your intent.

Peggy Hurley

Legislative Attorney

Phone: (608) 266-8906

E-mail: peggy.hurley@legis.state.wi.us



Hurley, Peggy —

From: Grinde, Kirsten

Sent: Thursday, January 30, 2003 10:03 PM

To: Hurley, Peggy

Subject: FW: LRB Draft: 03-1575/2 Vehicle registration fees
Peggy,

Please modify this draft to also increase the title transfer fee under s. 342.14(1) and (3) by $10. The new fee would be
$18.50.

Let me know if you have any questions.
Thanks,

Kirsten

-----Original Message-----

From: Greenslet, Patty

Sent: Tuesday, January 28, 2003 3:07 PM

To: Vail, Benjamin

Cc: Grinde, Kirsten; Schaeffer, Carole; Hanaman, Cathlene; Haugen, Caroline
Subject: LRB Draft: 03-1575/2 Vehicle registration fees

Following is the PDF version of draft 03-1575/2.

03-1575/2 03-1575/2dn
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2003-2004 DRAFTING INSERT LRB-1575/3ins
FROM THE PJH:kjf:pg
LEGISLATIVE REFERENCE BUREAU

1 Insert A:
2 ' SECTION'E.: 342.14 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:
4

3 342.14 (1) For filing an application for the first certificate of title, $8.50 $18.50,
4 by the owner of the vehicle.

History: 1975 c. 39, 297, 422; 1977 c. 29 ss. 1452, 1654 (7) (a); 1977 c. 418; 1979 c. 221; 1981 c. 20; 1983 a. 27; 1987 a. 110; 1989 a. 31, 137, 359; 1991 a. 309; 1993 a.

159; 1995 a. 27; 1997 a. 27; 1999 a. ;2001 a. 16.

5 SECTIO 342.14 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:
6 342.14 (3) For a certificate of title after a transfer, $8.50 $18.50, by the owner

7 of the vehicle.

History: 1975 c. 39, 297, 422; 1977 c. 29 ss. 1452, 1654 (7) (a); 1977 c. 418; 1979 c. 221; 1981 c. 20; 1983 a. 27; 1987 a. 110; 1989 a. 31, 137, 359; 1991 a. 309; 1993 a.

159; 1995 a. 27; 1997 a. 27; 1999 a. 9, 80; 2001 a. 16.



FROM THE PJHkjf)pg
LEGISLATIVE REFERENCE BUREAU

e

DRAFTER’S NOTE LRB—1575/fdn

Ben and Kirsten:

In addition to increasing the registration fee for automobiles, this draft increases the
application fee for a first vehicle title or for a new title after transfer of the vehicle by
$10, to $18.50. Please let me know if you have any questions.

Peggy Hurley

Legislative Attorney

Phone: (608) 266—-8906

E—mail: peggy.hurley@legis.state.wi.us



DRAFTER’S NOTE LRB-1575/3dn
FROM THE PJHkjfrs
LEGISLATIVE REFERENCE BUREAU

January 31, 2003

Ben and Kirsten:

In addition to increasing the registration fee for automobiles, this draft increases the
application fee for a first vehicle title or for a new title after transfer of the vehicle by
$10, to $18.50. Please let me know if you have any questions.

Peggy Hurley

Legislative Attorney

Phone: (608) 266-8906

E-mail: peggy.hurley@legis.state.wi.us
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DOA.......Vail - BB0363, Vehicle registration fees

FoR 2003-05 BUDGET — NoOT READY FOR INTRODUCTION

AN Act ...; relating to: the budget.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau
TRANSPORTATION

DRIVERS AND MOTOR VEHICLES

Under current law, DOT requires the owner of a vehicle who applies for a first
certificate of title or for a new certificate of title after transfer of a vehicle to pay an
application fee of $8.50. Also under current law, with certain exceptions, DOT
charges an annual vehicle registration fee of $45 per automobile.

Under this bill, the application fee for a first certificate of title or for a certificate
of title after transfer of a vehicle is $18.50, and the annual registration fee for an
automobile is $55.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

SECTION 1. 341.25 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:
341.25 (1) (a) For each automobile, a fee of $45 $55, except that an automobile
registered in this state prior to September 1, 1947, at a fee of less than $18 shall be

registered at such lesser fee plus an additional fee of $2.
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SECTION 2

SECTION 2. 342.14 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

342.14 (1) For filing an application for the first certificate of title, $8.50 $18.50,
by the owner of the vehicle.

SECTION 3. 342.14 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

342.14 (3) For a certificate of title after a transfer, $8.50 $18.50, by the owner
of the vehicle.

(END)



