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SECTION 2501

earned release program under this subsection during the term of confinement. The
inmate shall serve a copy of the petition on the district attorney who prosecuted him
or her, and the district attorney may file a written response. The court shall exercise
its discretion in granting or denying the inmate’s petition but must do so no later
than 90 days after the inmate files the petition. If the court determines under this -
paragraph that the inmate is eligible to participate in the earned release program,
the court shall inform the inmate of the provisions of par. (c).

*~1769/2.5* SECTION 2502. 302.113 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

302.113 (2) Except as provided in subs. (3) and (9), an inmate subject to this
section is entitled to release to extended supervision after he or she has served the
term of confinement in prison portion of the sentence imposed under s. 973.01, as
modiﬁed by the sentencing court under sub. (9g) or s. 302.045 (3m) (b) 1., 302.05 (3)
(¢) 2. a., or 973.195 (1r), if applicable.

*-1712/5.80* SECTION 2503. 303.066 of the statutes is repealed.

*~1769/2.6* SECTION 2504. 304.06 (1) (b) of the statutes, as affected by 2001
Wisconsin Act 109, is amended to read:

304.06 (1) (b) Except as provided in s. 961.49 (2), 1999 stats., sub. (1m) or s.
302.045 (3), 302.05 (3) (b), 973.01 (6), or 973.0135, the parole commission may parole

an inmate of the Wisconsin state prisons or any felon or any person serving at least
one year or more in a county house of correction or a county reforestation camp
organized under s. 303.07, when he or she has served 25% of the sentence imposed
for the offense, or 6 months, whichever is greater. Except as provided in s. 939.62
(2m) (c) or 973.014 (1) (b) or (c), (1g) or (2), the parole commission may parole an
inmate serving a life term when he or she has served 20 years, as modified by the

formula under s. 302.11 (1) and subject to extension under s. 302.11 (1q) and (2), if
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SECTION 2504
applicable. The person serﬁng the life term shall be given credit for time served prior
to sentencing under . 973.155, including good time undef s. 973.155 (4). The
secretary may grant special action parole releases under s. 304.02. The department
or the parole commission shall not provide any convicted offender or other person
sentenced to the department’s custody any parole eligibility or evaluation until the
person has been confined at least 60 days following sentencing.

*-0336/P2.3* SECTION 2505. 304.073 of the statutes is repealed.
*-0336/P2.4* SECTION 2506. 304.074 (1) of the statutes is repealed.
*-0336/P2.5* SECTION 2507. 304.074 (4) of the statutes is repealed.
*~1195/3.1* SECTION 2508. 340.01 (7m) of the statutes is amended to read:
340.01 (7m) “Commercial driver license” means a license issued to a person by
this state or another jurisdiction which is in accordance with the requirements of the

federal commercial motor vehicle safety act of 1986, 49 USC 31301 to 31317, and the

federal Motor Carrier Safety Improvement Act of 1999, P.L. 106-159. or by Canada
or Mexico, and which authorizes the licensee to operate certain commercial motor
vehicles.
*-1195/3.2* SECTION 2509. 340.01 (13m) of the statutes is amended to read:
340.01 (13m) “Disqualification” means the loss or withdrawal of a person’s
privilege to operate a commercial motor vehicle relating to certain offenses

committed by the person while driving or operating a motor vehicle or while on duty

time with respect to a commercial motor vehicle.
*-0919/3.1* SECTION 2510. 340.01 (46m) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:
340.01 (46m) (a) If the person has ene-er-ne 2 or fewer prior convictions,
suspensions, or revocations, as counted under s. 343.307 (1), an alcohol

concentration of 0-1 0.08 or more.
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*~0919/3.2* SECTION 2511. 340.01 (46m) (b) of the statutes is repealed.

*~1575/3.1* SECTION 2512. 341.25 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

341.25 (1) (a) For each automobile, a fee of $45 $55, except that an automobile
registered in this state prior to September 1, 1947, at a fee of less than $18 shall be
registered at such lesser fee plus an additional fee of $2.

*-~1767/3.62* SECTION 2513. 341.43 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

341.43 (2) Any person feeling aggrieved by a notice under this section of
additional assessment, refund or denial of refund may, within 30 days after the
receipt of the notice, petition the department for a redetermination. A person feeling
aggrieved by a redetermination may appeal to the office of the commissioner of tax
appeals eemmission in the manner provided for appeals of tax determinations under
s. 73.01 (5). If an appeal of a redetermination is not filed within the time period
provided under s. 73.01 (5), the redetermination is final and conclusive.

*-1575/3.2* SECTION 2514. 342.14 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

342.14 (1) For filing an application for the first certificate of title, $8.50 $18.50,
by the owner of the vehicle.

*-0444/2.1* SECTION 2515. 342.14 (1r) of the statutes is amended to read:

342.14 (1r) Upon filing an application under sub. (1) or (3), an environmental
impact fee of $9 $10.50, by the person filing the application. All moneys collected
under this subsection shall be credited to the environmental fund for environmental

management.

*-1575/3.3* SECTION 2516. 342.14 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

342.14 (3) For a certificate of title after a transfer, $8.50 $18.50, by the owner
of the vehicle.

*-1195/3.3* SECTION 2517. 343.02 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:
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343.02 (1) The department shall administer and enforce this chapter and may
promulgate for that purpose such rules as the secretary considers necessary. Rules
promulgated under this chapter may not conflict with and shall be at least as
stringent as standards set by the federal commercial motor vehicle safety act, 49

USC 31301 to 31317, and the federal Motor Carrier Safety Improvement Act of 1999,

P.L. 106-159, and the regulations adopted under that-aet those acts.

*~1195/3.4* SECTION 2518. 343.03 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.03 (1) (a) The department shall institute a classified driver license system
meeting all federal standards undef 49 USC 31301 to 31317 and 49 CFR 383 and any
other applicable provision of federal lew.'

*~1195/3.56* SECTION 2519. 343.03 (3) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.03 (3) (a) Regular license. The standard license legend is “regular” or a
readily recognizable abbreviation thereof. The regular license, without any express
endorsements or restrictions as provided in this chapter, authorizes the licensee to
operate only “class D” vehicles as described in s. 343.04 (1) (d), except as otherwise
provided in this subsection. The license may be endorsed to permit operation of Type

1 motorcycles or school buses that are not commercial motor vehicles. A regular

license may be subject to restricﬁons, including the attachment of a special
restrictions card as provided in s. 343.17 (4).
*-~1195/3.6* SECTION 2520. 343.03 (3) (e) of the statutes is amended to read:
343.03 (3) '(e) Occupational license. A license issued under s. 343.10
authorizing only the operation of motor vehicles other than “Class A”, “Class B” or
“Class C” vehicles shall be labeled “Occupational License”. Licenses No license niay

be issued under s. 343.10 authorizing the operation of “Class A”, “Class B” or “Class

C” vehicles shall-be-labeled “CDL—Oceupational”. An occupational license may
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authorize the operation of “Class D” or “Class M” vehicles, or both, but may not be
endorsed to permit operation of the vehicle types described in s. 343.04 (2). The
license may be subject to restrictions in addition to those provided in s. 343.10,
including the attachment of a special restrictions card as provided in s. 343.17 (4).

*-~1195/3.6m™* SECTION 6m. 343.03 (5) (title) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.03 (5) (title) INQUIRIES BEFORE ISSUANCE OR RENEWAL,

*~1195/3.7* SECTION 2521. 343.03 (5) of the statutes is renumbered 343.03 (5)
(a) and amended to read:

343.03 (5) (a) Before issuing -a- or renewing any license under this chapter, the
department shall obtain driver record information from the national driver registry
and commercial driver license information system to determine whether the
applicant holds a commercial driver license, or a license that is revoked, suspended
or canceled, or is otherwise disqualified. If the applicant is currently licensed in
another state, the department shall obtain information on the applicant’s license
status with the state of licensure before issuing a license.

*~1195/3.8* SECTION 2522. 343.03 (5) (b) of the statutes is created to read:

343.03 (5) (b) 1. Before issuing or renewing a commercial driver license, the
department shall, within the time period specified in 49 CFR 384.232, request from
any other state that has issued an operator’s license or commercial driver license to
the person within the previous 10 years the complete driving record of the person.

2. Subdivision 1. does not apply to a renewal of a person’s commercial driver
license if the department has previously issued a renewal of the commercial driver
license after the effective date of this subdivision .... [revisor inserts date], and, in

connection with the previous renewal, the department recorded on the person’s
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SECTION 2522
driving record under s. 343.23 (2) (a) the date on which the operator’s record check
under subd. 1. was performed. |

*-1195/3.9* SECTION 2523. 343.03 (6) of the statutes is renumbered 343.03 (6)
(a).

*-1195/3.10* SECTION 2524. 343.03 (6) (b) of the statutes is created to read:

343.03 (6) (b) The department shall, upon request and within 30 days of the
request, provide to the driver licensing agencies of other states the complete driving
record of any person currently or previously licensed by the department.

*~1195/3.11* SECTION 2525. 343.03 (6) (c) of the statutes is created to read:

343.03 (6) (c) 1. The department shall, upon request and within the time period
specified in s. 343.23 (2) (am) 2. and 4., provide the operating record file information
specified in s. 343.23 (2) (am) 2. and 4. to any of the following requesters:

a. The person holding the commercial driver license.

b. The U.S. secretary of transportation.

¢. Any employer or prospective employer of the person holding the commercial
driver license, after notice to such person.

d. Any driver licensing agency of another state or law enforcement agency.

e. Any governmental entity having access to the commercial driver license
information system.

f. Any authorized agent of a requester specified in subd. 1. a. to e.

2. The department shall not provide the operating record file information
specified in s. 343.23 (2) (am) 2. and 4. to any requester other than those specified

in subd. 1.

*-1195/3.12* SECTION 2526. 343.03 (7) (title) of the statutes is amended to

read:
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343.03 (7) (title) NOTIFICATION OF COMMERCIAL DRIVER LICENSE iSSUANCE AND
CERTAIN VIOLATIONS.

*~1195/3.13* SECTION 2527. 343.03 (7) of the statutes is renumbered 343.03
(7) (a).

- #-1195/3.14* SECTION 2528. 343.03 (7) (b) of the statutes is created to read:

343.03 (7) (b) Within 10 days after the disqualification of the holder of a
cominercial driver license from operating a commercial motor vehicle for at least 60
days, or after the revocation, suspension, or cancellation of a commercial driver
license for at least 60 days, the department shall notify the commercial driver license
information system and, if the license was not issued by the department, the state
that issued the license of the disqualification, revocation, suspension, or cancellation
and the violation that resulted in the disqualification, revocation, suspension, or
cancellation.

*~1195/3.15* SECTION 2529. 343.03 (7) (c) of the statutes is created to read:

343.03 (7) (c) Within 30 days after a conviction of the holder of a commercial
driver license issued by another state for violating any state or local law of this state
or any law of a federally recognized American Indian tribe or band in this state in
conformity with any state law relating to motor vehicle traffic control, other than
parking violations, or after a conviction of the holder of an operator’s license issued
by another state, other than a commercial driver license, for operating a commercial
motor vehicle without a commercial driver license, the department shall notify the
driver licensing agency of the state that issued the license of the conviction.

*-1195/3.16* SECTION 2530. 343.03 (7) (c) of the statutes, as created by 2003

Wisconsin Act .... (this act), is amended to read:
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SECTION 2530

343.03 (7) (¢) Within 30& days after a conviction of the holder of a commercial
driver license issued by another state for violating any state or local law of this state
or any law of a federally recognized American Indian tribe or band in this state in
conformity with any state law relating to motor vehicle traffic control, other than
parking violations, or after a conviction of the holder of an operator’s license issued

by another state, other than a commercial driver license, for operating a commercial

motor vehicle without a commercial driver license, the department shall notify the

driver licensing agency of the state that issued the license of the conviction.
*~1195/3.17* SECTION 2531. 343.06 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:
343.06 (2) The department shall not issue a commercial driver license,
including a renewal, occupational, or reinstated license, to any person during any
period of disqualification under s. 343.315 or 49 CFR 383.51 or the law of another
jurisdiction in substanfial conformity therewith, as the result of one or more -
disqualifying offenses committed on or after July 1, 1987, or to any person whose

operator’s license or operating privilege is revoked, suspended, or canceled. Any

person who is known to the department to be subject to disqualification as described
in s. 343.44 (1) (d) shall be disqualified by the department as provided in s. 343.315.
*~1195/3.18* SECTION 2532. 343.07 (1m) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to
read:
343.07 (1m) COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLE AND SCHOOL BUS INSTRUCTION PERMITS;

ISSUANCE, RESTRICTIONS. (intro.) Upon application therefor by a person at least 18

“ years of age who holds a valid operator’s license issued under this chapter and who,

except for lack of training in the operation of a commercial motor vehicle or school
bus, is qualified to obtain authorization for the operation of such vehicle including

having passed the applicable knowledge tests, the department may issue an
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instruction permit for commercial motor vehicle or school bus operation or a
combination instruction permit. A permit limited to commercial motor vehicle
instructional operation entitles the permittee to operate only a commercial motor
vehicle other than a school bus upon the highways. A permit limited to school bus
instructional operation entitles the permittee to operate only a school bus that is not
a commercial motor vehicle upon the highways. Beth A combination commercial

motor vehicle and school bus instruction permit entitles the permittee to operate a

school bus that is a commercial motor vehicle upon the highways. These permits are

subject to the following restrictions:
*-1195/3.19* SECTION 2533. 343.10 (1) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
343.10 (1) (b) The application shall be in a form established by the department
and shall identify the specific motor vehicle that the applicant seeks authorization
to operate, including the vehicle classification and any required endorsements. The
application shall include an explanation of why operating the motor vehicle is
essential to the person’s livelihood and identify the person’s occupation or trade. The
application shall identify the applicant’s employer, and include proof of financial
responsibility as specified in s. 343.38 (1) (c) covering the vehicle or vehicles that the
applicant requests authorization to operate. The application shall identify the hours
of operation and routes of travel being requested by the applicant in accord with the
restrictions of sub. (5). The-applicant-shall certifir whetherto-the best-of personal
*-1195/3.20* SECTION 2534. 343.10 (1) (d) of the statutes is repealed.
*-~1195/3.21* SECTION 2535; 343.10 (1) (e) of the statutes is repealed.
*-1195/3.22* SECTION 2536. 343.10 (1) (f) of the statutes is repealed.

*~1195/3.23* SECTION 2537. 343.10 (2) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:
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343.10 (2) (c) No occupational license permitting the operation of a commercial

motor vehicle may be granted to a person during a-period-of disqualification-under

*~1195/3.24* SECTION 2538. 343.10 (7) (e) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.10 (7) (e) The occupational license issued by the department shall contain
the restrictions required by sub. (5). The occupational license authorizes the licensee
to operate a motor vehicle only when that operation is an essential part of the
licensee’s occupation or trade. If the department determines that the applicént is
eligible under sub. (2), the department may impose such conditions and limitations
upon the authorization to operate commercial or noncommereial motor vehicles as
in the secretary’s judgment are necessary in the interest of public safety and welfare,
including reexamination of the person’s qualifications to operate a commercial-or
noneemmereial motor vehicle or a particular type thereof. The department may limit
such authorization to include, without limitation, the operation of particular
vehicles, particular kinds of operation and particular traffic conditions.

*-1195/3.25* SECTION 2539. 343.10 (7) (g) of the statutes is repealed.

*~1195/3.26* SECTION 2540. 343.12 (2) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to
read:

343.12 (2) (intro.) The department shall issue a school bus endorsement to a
person, authorizing operation of a school bus that is not a commercial motor vehicle,
only if such person meets all of the following requirements:

*~1195/3.27* SECTION 2541. 343.12 (2m) of the statutes is created to read:

343.12 (2m) The department shall issue a school bus endorsement to a person,

authorizing operation of a school bus that is a commercial motor vehicle, only if such
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person meets all of the requirements specified in sub. (2) and, in addition, meets all
of the following requirements:

(a) Holds a valid commercial driver license.

(b) Qualifies for the endorsement under s. 343.17 (3) (d) 3., including passing
the knowledge and driving skills tests required for obtaining such an endorsement.

(c) Passes a knowledge test in compliance with the requirements of 49 CFR
383.123 (a) (2).

(d) Passes a driving skills test in compliance with the requirements of 49 CFR
383.123 (a) (3). To the extent that the test specified under sub. (2) (h) and s. 343.16
(1) meets the requirements of 49 CFR 383.123 (a) (3), no additional driving skills test
is required.

*~1195/3.28* SECTION 2542. 343.12 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.12(3) The department may issue a school bus endorsement to a person who

1s more than 70 years of age, authorizing the operation of a school bus other than a

commercial motor vehicle, if the person meets the requirements specified in sub. (2)
(¢) to (f) and (h) before issuance of the endorsement and annually takes and passes
a physical examination prior to issuance or renewal of the endorsement to determine
that the person meets the physical standards established under sub. (2) (2).
*~1195/3.29* SECTION 2543. 343.12 (3m) of the statutes is created to read:
343.12 Bm) Notwithstanding sub. (2) (a) and (g), thé department may issue
a school bus endorsement to a person who is more than 70 years of age, authorizing
the operation of a school bus that is a commercial motor vehiéle, if the person meets
the requirements specified in sub. (2m) (a) to (d), before issuance of the endorsement

and annually takes and passes a physical examination prior to issuance or renewal
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SECTION 2543

of the endorsement to determine that the person meets the physical standards
established under sub. (2) (g).
*-1195/3.30* SECTION 2544. 343.12 (4) (a) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:
343.12 (4) (a) 1. The person is a nonresident holding a valid commercial driver
license with a “P” passenger endorsement and any additional endorsements required

by the person’s home Jurisdiction for the operation of a school bus, if the school bus

is not a commercial motor vehicle, or is a nonresident, holding a valid commercial

driver license with an “S” endorsement if the school bus is a commercial motor

vehicle, and the origin or destination of the trip is in another state.
*-1195/3.31* SECTION 2545. 343.12 (4) (a) 2. of the statutes is repealed.
*-1195/3.32* SECTION 2546. 343.12 (4) (a) 3. of the statutes is amended to read:
343.12 (4) (a) 3. The person is a resident of Iowa, Illinois, Michigan or
Minnesota and holds a valid operator’s license authorizing the operation of -a- the
type of school bus being operated. |
#-1195/3.33* SECTION 2547. 343.12 (4) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
343.12 (4) (b) The department may, by rule, establish standards for the
employment by an employer of a person under par. (a) 3. as an operator of a school

bus in this state. The rules may require the person to meet the qualifications

‘contained in sub. (2) e, (2m), (3), or (3m) and any rules of the department applicable

to residents.
*-1195/3.34* SECTION 2548. 343.17 (3) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
343.17 (3) (b) The reverse side of the license shall contain an explanation of any
rest'riction codes or endorsement abbreviations used on the front of the license, in
sufficient detail to identify the nature of the restrictions or endorsements to a law

enforcement officer of this state or another jurisdiction. Execeptfor-acommereial
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tb)-and-(e);a A part of the reverse side of each license shall be printed to serve as a

document of gift under s. 157.06 (2) (b) and (c) or a document of refusal to make an
anatomical gift under s. 157.06 (2) (i).
*-~1195/3.35* SECTION 2549. 343.175 (2) (ag) of the statutes is amended to read:
343.175 (2) (ag) The department shall print a separate document to be issued
to all persons issued a commercial driver license or—alicense—labeled
& i 2 and make provisions so
that the document may be attached to the reverse side of the license docuxﬁent along
one edge. This document shall serve as a document of gift under s. 157.06 (2) (b) and
(c) or a document of refusal to make an anatomical gift under s. 157.06 (2) (i). _
*~1195/3.36* SECTION 2550. 343.20 (1) (d) of the statutes is amended to read:
343.20 (1) (d) The department shall cancel an operator’s license that is
endorsed for the operation of school buses under s. 343.12 (3) or (3m), regardless of
the license expiration date, if the licensee fails to provide proof to the department of
an annual physical examination determining that the person meets the physical
standards established under s. 343.12 (2) (g). The licensee may elect to surrender
the license under s. 343.265 (1m).
*-1195/3.37* SECTION 2551. 343.22 (2) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
343.22 (2) (b) In lieu of applying for a duplicate license or identification card,
notify the department in writing of his or her change of address. This paragraph does
not apply to persons issued a commercial driver license or—a license labeled
*-~1195/3.38* SECTION 2552. 343.23 (2) (am) of the statutes is created to read:

~ 343.23 (2) (am) The file specified in par. (a) shall include the following:



.

© 0 =N o6 Otk W b

2003 — 2004 Legislature 1014 LRB-1922/P5
ALL:all:all

SECTION 2552
1. For a person holding a commercial driver license issued by the department,
a record of any disqualification by another state or jurisdiction of the person from
operating a commercial motor vehicle for at least 60 days or of the revocation,
suspension, or cancellation by another state or jurisdiction of the person’s
commercial driver license for at least 60 days, and the violation that resulted in the
disqualification, revocation, suspension, or cancellation, as specified in any notice
received from the state or other jurisdiction in conformity with 49 USC 31311 (a) (8).
2. For a person holding a commercial driver license issued by the department,
a record of any violation in another state of any state or local law of that state or any
law of a federally recognized American Indian tribe or band in that state in
conformity with any state law relating to motor vehicle traffic control, other than a
parking violation, as specified in any notice received from the state in conformity
with 49 USC 31311 (a) (9). The department shall record this information within 10
days after receipt of the notice. The department may not conceal, withhold, or mask
from the department’s file, or otherwise allow in any way a person to avoid the
department’s recording in the department’s file of, any information of which the
department has notice that is required to be recorded under this subdivision,
regardless of whether fhe person has obtained deferral of imposition of judgment,
been allowed to enter a diversion program, or otherwise obtained delayed or
suspended judgment or alternative sentencing from a court.
3. For a person holding an operator’s license, other than a commercial driver
license, issued by the department, a record of any violation in another state or
jurisdiction of operating a commercial motor vehicle Without a commercial driver

license, as specified in any notice received from the state or other jurisdiction in

conformity with 49 USC 31311 (a) (9).
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4. For a person holding a commercial driver license issued by any state, a record
of each violation, while operating any motor vehicle, of any state or local law of this
state or any law of a federally recognized American Indian tribe or band in this state
in conformity with any state law relating to motor vehicle traffic control, other than
a parking violation. The department shall record the information under this
subdivision within 10 days after the date of conviction.

*~1195/3.39* SECTION 2553. 343.23 (2) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.23 (2) (b) The information specified in par: pars. (a) and (am) must be filed
by the department so that the complete operator’s record is available for the use of
the secretary in determining whether operating privileges of such person shall be
suspended, revoked, canceled, or withheld in the interest of public safety. The record
of suspensidns, revocations, and convictions that would be counted under s. 343.307
(2) shall be maintained permanently. The record of convictions for disqualifying
offenses under s. 343.315 (2) (h) shall be maintained for at least 10 years. The record
of convictions for disqualifying offenses under s. 343.315 (2) (f) and (j), and all records
specified in par. (am), shall be maintained for at least 3 years. The record of

convictions for disqualifying offenses under s. 343.315 (2) (a) to (e) shall be |
maintained permanently, except that 5 years after a licensee transfers residency to
another state such record may be transferred to another state of licensure of the
licensee if that state accepts responsibility for maintaining a permanent record of
convictions for disqualifying offenses. Such reports and records may be cumulative
beyond the period for which a license is granted, but the secretary, in exercising the
power of suspension granted under s. 343.32 (2) may consider only those reports and
records entered during the 4—year period immediately preceding the exercise of such

power of suspension.
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*~1195/3.40* SECTION 2554. 343.307 (2) (d) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.307 (2) (d) Convictions under the law of another jurisdiction that is in
substantial conformity with 49 CFR 383.51 (b) {2)-()-or-(ii)-or beth Table 1. items (1)
to (4).

*-~0919/3.3* SECTION 2555. 343.31 (1) (ar) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.31 (1) (ar) Injury by the operation of a commercial motor vehicle while the
person has an alcohol concentration of 0.04 or more but less than 0.1 0.08 and which
is criminal under s. 346.63 (6).

*-~1195/3.41* SECTION 2556. 343.31 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.31(2) The department shall revoke the operating privilege of any resident
upon receiving notice of the conviction of such person in another jurisdiction for an
offense therein which, if committed in this state, would have been cause for
revocation under this section or for revocation under s. 343.30 (1q). Such offenses
shall include violation of any law of another jurisdiction that prohibits use of a motor
vehicle while intoxicated or under the influence of a controlled substance or
contfolled substance analog, or a combination thereof, or with an excess or specified
range of alcohol concentration, or under the influence of any drug to a degree that
renders the person incapable of safely driving, as those or substantially similar

terms are used in that jurisdiction’s laws. Upon receiving similar notice with respect

to a nonresident, the department shall revoke the privilege of the nonresident to

operate a motor vehicle in this state. -Such-revecation shall not-apply-to-the operation

*-1195/3.42* SECTION 2557. 343.31 (2m) of the statutes is amended to read:
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343.31 (2m) The department may suspend or revoke, respectively, the
operating privilege of any resident upon receiving notice of the conviction of that
person under a law of another jurisdiction or a federally recognized American Indian
tribe or band in this state for an offense which, if the person had committed the
offense in this state and been convicted of the offense under the laws of this state,
Would have permitted suspension or revocation of the person’s operating privilege

under s. 343.30 (1g). Upon receiving similar notice with respect to a nonresident, the

department may suspend or revoke the privilege of the nonresident to operate a

motor vehicle in this state. The-suspension-or-revocation-shall not-apply-to-the

commerecial-driver license-issued by another state. A suspension or revocation under

this subsection shall be for any period not exceeding 6 months.

*-1195/3.43* SECTION 2558. 343.315 (2) (a) (intro.) of the statutes is amended
to read:

343.315 (2) (a) (intro.) Except as prdvided in par. (b), a person shall be
disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for a one—year period upon
a first conviction of any of the following offenses, committed on or after July 1, 1987,

*~1195/3.44* SECTION 2559. 343.315 (2) (a) 7. of the statutes is created to read:

343.315 (2) (a) 7. Operating a commercial motor vehicle when the person’s
commercial driver license is revoked, suspended, or canceled based on the person’s
operation of a commercial motor vehicle or when the person is disqualified from
operating a commercial motor vehicle based on the person’s operation of a
commercial motor vehicle.

*-1195/3.45% SECTION 2560. 343.315 (2) (a) 8. of the statutes is created to read:
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343.315 (2) (a) 8. Causing a fatality through negligent or criminal operation
of a commercial motor vehicle.

*-1195/3.46* SECTION 2561. 343.315 (2) (e) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.315 (2) (e) A person is disqualified for life from operating a commercial
motor vehicle if the person uses —a—eommereial any motor vehicle on or after
July 1, 1987, in the commission of a felony involving the manufacture, distribution,
delivery or dispensing of a controlled substance or controlled substance analog, or
possession with intent to manufacture, distribute, deliver or dispense a controlled
substance or controlled substance analog. No person who is disqualified under this
paragraph is eligible for reinstatement under par. (d).

*~1195/3.47* SECTION 2562. 343.315 (2) (f) (intro.) of the statutes is amended
to read:

343.315 (2) (f) (intro.) A person is disqualified for a period of 60 days from
operating a commercial motor vehicle if convicted of 2 serious traffic violations, and
120 days if convicted of 3 serious traffic violations, arising from separate occurrences
committed within a 3—year period while driving or operating a-commereial any motor
vehicle. The 120-day period of disqualification under this paragraph shall be in
addition to any other period of disqualification imposed under this paragraph. In
this paragraph, “serious traffic violations” means any of the following offenses

committed while operating a commercial motor vehicle, or any of the following
offenses committed while operating any motor vehicle if the offense results in the

revocation, cancellation, or suspension of the person’s operator’s license or operating
privilege:
*~1195/3.48* SECTION 2563. 343.315 (2) (f) 2. of the statutes is amended to

read:
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343.315 (2) (f) 2. Violating any state or local law of this state or any law of a
federally recognized American Indian tribe or band in this state in conformity with
any state law or any law of another jurisdiction relating to motor vehicle traffic
control, arising in connection ‘With a fatal accident, other than parking, vehicle

weight or vehicle defect violations, or violations to which par. (a) 7. applies.

*-1195/3.49* SECTION 2564. 343.315 (2) (f) 6. of the statutes is created to read:

343.315 (2) (f) 6. Operating a commercial motor vehicle when the person has
not obtained a commercial driver license.

*~1195/3.50* SECTION 2565. 343.315 (2) (f) 7. of the statutes is created to read:

343.315 (2) () 7. Operating a commercial motor vehicle when the person does
not have in his or her immediate possession the person’s commercial driver license
document, including any special restrictions cards issued under s. 343.10 (7) (d) or
343.17 (4), unless the person produces in court or in the office of the law enforcement
officer that issued the citation, by the date that the person must appear in court or
pay any fine or forfeiture with respect to the citation, a commercial driver license
document issued to the person prior to the date of the citation and valid at the time
of the citation.

*-~1195/3.51* SECTION 2566. 343.315 (2) (f) 8. of the statutes is created to read:

343.315 (2) (f) 8. Operating a commercial motor vehicle without the proper
class of commercial driver license or endorsements for the specific vehicle group
being operated or for the passengers or type of cargo being transported.

*~1195/3.52* SECTION 2567. 343.315 (2) (k) of the statutes is created to read:

343.315 (2) (k) A person disqualified by federal authorities under 49 USC
31310 (f) and 49 CFR 383.52 on the basis that the person’s continued operation ofa

commercial motor vehicle would create an imminent hazard, as defined in 49 USC
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5102 and 49 CFR 383.5, is disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle
for the period of disqualification determined by the federal authority upon receipt by
the department of the notice of disqualification provided for in 49 CFR 383.52 (d).

*-1195/3.53* SECTION 2568. 343.44 (1) (d) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.44 (1) (d) Operating while disqualified. No person may operate a
commercial motor vehicle while disqualified under s. 343.315 or 49 CFR ’383.51,
under the law of another jurisdiction or Mexico that provides for disqualification of
commercial drivers in a manner similar to 49 CFR 383.51, or under a determination
by the federal highway motor carrier safety administration under the federal rules
of practice for motor carrier safety contained in 49 CFR 386 that the person is no
longer quaﬂiﬁed to operate a vehicle under 49 CFR 391.

*-1195/3.54* SECTION 2569. 343.44 (2) (b) (intro.) of the statutes is amended
to read:

343.44 (2) (b) (intro.) Except as provided in par. (am), any persoﬁ who violates
sub. (1) (b);4e) or (d) shall be fined not more than $2,500 or imprisoned for not more
than one year in the county jail or both. In imposing a sentence under this
paragraph, or a local ordinance in conformity with this paragraph, the court shall
review the record and consider the following:

*-1195/3.55* SECTION 2570. 343.44 (2) (bm) of the statutes is created to read:

343.44 (2) (bm) Any person who violates sub. (1) (¢) shall be fined not less than

$1,100 nor more than $2,750 or imprisoned for not more than one year in the county

" jail or both. In imposing a sentence under this paragraph, the court shall review the

record and consider the factors specified in par. (b) 1. to 5.

*~0529/4.225% SECTION 2571. 344.185 (2) (e) 2. of the statutes is amended to

read:
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344.185 (2) (e) 2. All other proceeds of the sale remaining after the payments
under subd. 1. shall be retained by the secretary of transportation and applied as
security for payment of judgments and assignments as provided under s. 344.20 (2).
Any amounts not used to pay judgments or assignments shall be transmitted to the
state-treasurer secretary of administration for deposit in the school fund.

*~1111/4.94* SECTION 2572. 344.576 (3) (a) 5. of the statutes is amended to
read:

344.576 (3) (a) 5. The address and telephone number of the department of
agrieulbure; trade-and consumer protection justice.

*-~1111/4.95% SECTION 2573. 344.576 (8) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:

344.576 (3) (c) The department of agriealture; trade-and consumer protection
justice shall promulgate rules specifying the form of the notice required under par.
(a), including the size of the paper and the type size and any highlighting of the
information described in par. (a). The rule may specify additional information that
must be included in the notice and the precise language that must be used.

*~1111/4.96* SECTION 2574. 344.579 (2) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to
read: .

344.579 (2) ENFORCEMENT. (intro.) The department of agriculture, trade-and |
consumer-proteetion justice shall investigate violations of ss. 344.574, 344.576 ),
(2) and (3) (a) and (b), 344.577 and 344.578. The department of agriculture, trade

and-consumer proteetion justice may on behalf of the state:
*-~0529/4.226* SECTION 2575. 345.08 of the statutes is amended to read:

345.08 Suit to recover protested tax or fee. No suit shall be maintained
in any court to restrain or delay the collection or payment of the taxes levied or the

fees imposed or enacted in chs. 341 to 349.The aggrieved taxpayer shall pay the tax
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SECTION 2575

or fee as and when due and, if paid under protest, may at any time Within‘90 days
from the date of such payment sue the state in an action at law to recover the tax or
fee so paid. Ifit is finally determined that such tax or fee or any part thereof was
wrongfully collected for any reason, the department secretary of administration
shall issue-a-warrant-onthe state treasurerfor pay from the transportation fund the

amount of such tax or fee so adjudged to have been wrongfully collected and-the state

. A separate suit need not
be filed for each separate payment made by any taxpayer, but a recovery may be had
in one suit for as many payments as were made within the 90-day period preceding
the commencement of the action. Such suits shall be commenced as provided in s.
775.01.

*-~0529/4.227* SECTION 2576. 346.177 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

346.177 (3) If any deposit is made for an offense to which this section applies,
the person making the deposit shall also deposit a sufficient amount to include the
railroad crossing improvement assessment under this section. If the deposit is
forfeited, the amount of the railroad crossing improvement assessment shall be
transmitted to the state-treasurer secretary of administration under sub. (4). If the
deposit is returned, the amount of the railroad crossing improvement assessment
shall also be returned.

*~0529/4.228* SECTION 257 7. 346.177 (4) of the statutes is amended to read:

346.177 (4) The clerk of the circuit court shall collect and transmit to the county
treasurer the railroad crossing improvement assessment as required under s. 59.40
(2) (m). The county treasurer shall then pay the state-treasurer secretary of

administration as provided in s. 59.25 (3) (f) 2. The state-treasurer secretary of
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administration shall deposit all amounts received under this subsection in the
transportation fund to be appropriated under s. 20.395 (2) (gj).
*~1187/4.203* SECTION 2578. 346.45 (3) (d) of the statutes is amended to read:
346.45 (3) (d) A railroad grade crossing which is marked with a sign in
accordance with s. 195.285 (3). Such signs shall be erected by the maintaining
authority only upon order of the office-of thecommissioner of railroads-as-setforth

in department or the division of hearings and appeals in accordance with s. 195.285.
*-0529/4.229* SECTION 2579. 346.495 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

346.495 (3) If any deposit is made for an offense to which this section applies,
the person making the deposit shall also deposit a sufficient amount to include the
railroad crossing improvement assessment under this section. If the deposit is
forfeited, the amount of the railroad crossing improvement assessment shall be
transmitted to the state-treasurer secretary of administration under sub. (4). If the
deposit is returned, the amount of the railroad crossing improvement assessment
shall also be returned.

*~0529/4.230* SECTION 2580. 346.495 (4) of the statutes is amended to read:

346.495 (4) The clerk of the circuit court shall collect and transmit to the county
treasurer the railroad crossing improvement assessment as required under s. 59.40
(2) (m). The county treasurer shall then pay the statetreasurer secretary of
administration as provided in s. 59.25 (3) (f) 2. The state-treasurer seéretagy of
administration shall deposit all amounts received under this subsection in the
transportation fund to be appropriated under s. 20.395 (2) (gj).

*-~0919/3.4* SECTION 2581. 346.63 (2m) of the statutes is amended to read:

346.63 (2m) If a person has not attained the legal drinking age, as defined in

s. 125.02 (8m), the person may not drive or operate a motor vehicle while he or she
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SECTION 2581
has an alcohol concentration of more than 0.0 but not more than 0.1 0.08. One
penalty for violation of this subsection is suspension of a person’s operating privilege
under s. 343.30.(1p). The person is eligible for an occupational license under s. 343.10
at any time. If a person arrested for a violation of this subsection refuses to take a
test under s. 343.305, the refusal is a separate violation and the person is subject to
revocation of the person’s operating privilege under s. 343.305 (10) (em).

*~0919/3.5* SECTION 2582. 346.63 (5) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

346.63 (5) (a) No person may drive or operate a commercial motor vehicle while
the person has an alcohol concentration of 0.04 or more but less than 0-1 0.08.

*~0919/3.6* SECTION 2583. 346.63 (6) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

346.63 (6) (a) No pérson may cause injury to another person by the operation
of a commercial motor vehicle while the person has an alcohol concentration of 0.04
or more but less than 0-1 0.08.

*~0529/4.231* SECTION 2584. 346.65 (4r) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:

346.65 (4r) (c) If any deposit is made for an offense to which this subsection
applies, the person making the deposit shall also deposit a sufficient amount to
include the railroad crossing improvement assessment under this subsection. If the

deposit is forfeited, the amount of the railroad crossing improvement assessment

- shall be transmitted to the state-treasurer secretary of administration under par. (d).

If the deposit is returned, the amount of the railroad crossing improvement

assessment shall also be returned.
*~0529/4.232* SECTION 2585. 346.65 (4r) (d) of the statutes is amended to read:
346.65 (4r) (d) The clerk of tl‘ire circuit court shall collect and transmit to the
county treasurer the railroad crossing improvement assessment as required under

s. 59.40 (2) (m). The county treasurer shall then pay the state-treasurer secretary
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of administration as providéd in s. 59.25 (3) (f) 2. The state-treasurer secretary of
administration shall deposit all amounts received under this paragraph in the
transportation fund to be appropriated under s. 20.395 (2) (gj).

*~0529/4.233* SECTION 2586. 346.655 (2) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

346.655 (2) (a) Except as provided in par. (b), the clerk of court shall collect and
transmit the amount under sub. (1) to the county treasurer as provided in s. 59.40
(2) (m). The county treasurer shall then make payment of 38.5% of the amount to
the state-treasurer secretary of administration as provided in s. 59.25 (3) (f) 2.

*-0529/4.234* SECTION 2587. 346.655 (2) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

346.655 (2) (b) If the forfeiture is imposed by a municipal court, the court shall
transmit the amount to the treasurer of the county, city, town, or village, and that
treasurer shall make payment of 38.5% of the amount to the state—treasurer
secretary of administration as provided in s. 66.0114 (1) (bm). The treasurer of the
city, town, or village shall transmit the remaining 61.5% of the amount to the
treasurer of the county.

*-0529/4.235* SECTION 2588. 346.655 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

346.655 (3) All moneys collected from the driver improvement surcharge that
are transmitted to the county treasurer under sub. (2) (a) or (b), except the amounts
that the county treasurer is required to transmit to the state-treasurer secretary of
administration under sub. (2) (a) or (b), shall be retained by the county treasurer and
disbursed to the county department under s. 51.42 for services under s. 51.42 for
drivers referred through assessment.

*-1229/2.2*% SECTION 2589. 348.25 (8) (a) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to

read:
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348.25 (8) (a) (intro.) Except as provided under par. (dm), the department shall
charge the following fees for each permit issued under s. 348.26 or 348.27:

*~1190/1.1* SECTION 2590. 348.25 (8) (a) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:

348.25 (8) (a) 1. For a vehicle or combination of vehicles which exceeds length
limitations, $15, except that if the application for a permit for a vehicle described in
this subdivision is submitted to the department after December 31, 1999, and before
July 1, 2003 2005, the fee ié $17.

*~1190/1.2* SECTION 2591. 348.25 (8) (a) 2. of the statutes is amended to read:

348.25 (8) (a) 2. For a vehicle or combination of vehicles which exceeds either
width limitations or height limitations, $20, except that if the application for a
permit for a vehicle described in this subdivision is submitted to the department -
after December 31, 1999, and before July 1, 2003 2005, the fee is $22.

*~1190/1.3* SECTION 2592. 348.25 (8) (a) 2m. of the statutes is amended to
read:

348.25 (8) (a) 2m. For a vehicle or combination of vehicles which exceeds both
width and height limitations, $25, except that if the application for a permit for a
vehicle described in this subdivision is submitted to the department after
December 31, 1999, and before July 1, 2003 2005, the fee is $28.

*-~1190/1.4* SECTION 2593. 348.25 (8) (b) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:

348.25 (8) (b) 1. For a vehicle or combination of vehicles which exceeds length

limitations, $60, except that if the application for a permit for a vehicle described in

this subdivision is submitted to the department after December 31, 1999, and before

July 1, 2003 2005, the fee is $66.

*~1190/1.5* SECTION 2594. 348.25 (8) (b) 2. of the statutes is amended to read:
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348.25 (8) (b) 2. For a vehicle or combination of vehicles which exceeds width
limitations or height limitations or both, $90, except that if the application for a
permit for a vehicle described in this subdivision is submitted to the department
after December 31, 1999, and before July 1, 2003 2005, the fee is $99.

*~1190/1.6* SECTION 2595. 348.25 (8) (b) 3. a. of the statutes is amended to
read:

348.25 (8) (b) 3. a. If the gross weight is 90,000 pounds or less, $200, except that
if the application for a permit for a vehicle described in this subd. 3. a. is submitted
to the department after December 31, 1999, and before J uly 1, 2003 2005, the fee is
$220.

*~1190/1.7* SECTION 2596. 348.25 (8) (b) 3. b. of the statutes is amended to
read:

348.25 (8) (b) 3. b. If the gross weight is more than 90,000 pounds but not more
than 100,000 pounds, $350, except that if the application for a permit for a vehicle
described in this subd. 3. b. is submitted to the department after December 31, 1999,
and before July 1, 2003 2005, the fee is $385.

*-1190/1.8* SECTION 2597. 348.25 (8) (b) 3. c. c;f the statutes is amended to
read:

348.25 (8) (b) 3. c. If the gross weight is greater than 100,000 pounds, $350 plus
$100 for each 10,000—pound increment or fraction thereof by which the gross Weight
exceeds 100,000 pounds, except that if the application for a permit for a vehicle
described in this subd. 3. c. is submitted to the department after December 31, 1999,
and before July 1, 2003 2005, the fee is $385 plus $110 for each 10,000—pound

increment or fraction thereof by which the gross weight exceeds 100,000 pounds.
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*-~1190/1.9* SECTION 2598. 348.25 (8) (bm) 1. of the statutes is amended to
read:

348.25 (8) (bm) 1. Unless a different fee is specifically provided, the fee for a
consecutive month permit is one—twelfth of the fee under par. (b) for an annual
permit times the number of months for which the permit is desired, plus $15 for each
permit issued. This subdivision does not apply to applications for permits submitted
after December 31, 1999, and before July 1, 2003 2005.

*~1190/1.10* SECTION 2599. 348.25 (8) (bm) 2. of the statutes is amended to
read:

348.25 (8) (bm) 2. Unless a different fee is specifically provided, the fee for a
consecutive month permit is one-twelfth of the fee under par. (b) for an annual
permit times the number of months for which the permit is désired, plus $16.50 for
each permit issued, roﬁnded to the nearest whole dollar. This subdivision does not
apply to applications submitted before January 1, 2000, or submitted after
June 30, 2003 2005.

*-1229/2.3* SECTION 2600. 348.25 (8) (e) of the statutes is amended to read:

348.25 (8) (e) The officer or agency authorized to issue a permit under s. 348.26
or 348.27 may require any applicant for a permit under s. 348.26 or 348.27 to pay the
cost of any special investigation undertaken to determine whether a permit should
be approved or denied and to pay an additional fee of $5 per permit if a department

telephone call-in procedure is used. If the department permits the payment of the

fee under par. (a) by telephone or Internet with use of a credit card. the department

shall charge a fee to be established by rule for each transaction. The fee shall

approximate the cost to the department for providing this service to persons so
requesting.
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%_0529/4.236* SECTION 2601. 349.04 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

349.04 (3) If any deposit is made for an offense to which this section applies,
the person making the deposit shall also deposit a sufficient amount to include the
truck driver education assessment under this section. If the deposit is forfeited, the
amount of the truck driver education assessment shall be transmitted to the state
treasurer secretary of administration under sub. (4). If the deposit is returned, the
amount of the truck driver education assessment shall also be returned.

*—0529/4;237 * SECTION 2602. 349.04 (4) of the statutes is amended to read:

349.04 (4) The clerk of the circuit court shall collect and transmit to the county
treasurer the truck driver education assessment as required under s. 59.40 (2) (m).
The county treasurer shall then pay the statetreasurer secretary of administration
as provided in s. 59.25 (3) (f) 2. The state-treasurer secretary of administration shall
deposit all amounts received under this subsection in the general fund to be credited
to the appropriation account under s. 20.292 (1) (hm).

*~0529/4.238* SECTION 2603. 350.115 (1) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:

350.115 (1) (c) If any deposit is made for an offense to which this section applies,
the person making the deposit shall also deposit a sufficient amount to include the
snowmobile registration restitution payment prescribed in this section. If the
deposit is forfeited, the amount of the snowmobile registration restitution payment
shall be transmitted to the-state-treasurer secretary of administration under par. (d).
If the deposit is returned, the snowmobile registration restitution payment shall also
be returned.

*~0529/4.239* SECTION 2604. 350.115 (1) (d) of the statutes is amended to read:

350.115 (1) (d) The clerk of the court shall collect and transmit to the county

treasurer the snowmobile registration restitution payment and other amounts
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required under s. 59.40 (2) (m). The county treasurer shall then make payment to
the statetreasurer secretary of administration as provided in s. 59.25 (3) (f) 2.

*~1187/4.204* SECTION 2605. 350.137 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

350.137 (1) The department, after having consulted with each rail authority,
as defined in s. 350.138 (1) (b), in this state, that has furnished the department with
the information required under s. 350.138 (2m), an established snowmobile
association that represents snowmobile clubs, as defined in s. 350.138 (1) (e), in this
state, and the office-of the-commissioner-of railroads department of transportation,
shall promulgate rules to establish uniform maintenance standards and uniform
design and construction standards for snowmobile rail crossings under ss. 350.138
and 350.139.

*~1187/4.205* SECTION 2606. 350.138 (4) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:

350.138 (4) (c) The department shall give notice of any hearing scheduled
under par. (b) to the applicant, to the applicable rail authority, and to the office-of-the
commissioner-of railreads department of transportation. The hearing shall be a
contested case hearing under ch. 227. The department’s department of natural
resources’ order issuing or denying a permit is a final order subject to judicial review
under ch. 227.

*—1187/4.206* SECTION 2607. 350.138 (9) of the statutes is amended to read:

350.138 (9) INSPECTION AUTHORIZED. The department or the office—of-the
commissioner-of railroads department of fransportation may inspect the site of a
proposed snowmobile rail crossing or the site of a snowmobile rail crossing for which
a permit has been issued to determine whether there are grounds to refuse to issue
a permit under sub. (4) or to revoke a permit under sub. (8).

*~1187/4.207* SECTION 2608. 350.139 (5) of the statutes is amended to read:
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350.139 (5) INSPECTION AUTHORIZED. The department or the office—of the
commissioner-of railreads department of transportation may inspect an established

snowmobile rail crossing to determine whether the snowmobile organization
maintaining the crossing is in compliance with the requirements imposed under sub.
(4).

*-~1187/4.208* SECTION 2609. 350.1395 (2) (b) 2. of the statutes is amended to
read:

350.1395 (2) (b) 2. The department shall hold a hearing on a petition filed under
subd. 1. after giving notice of the hearing to the rail authority, the snowmobile

organization, and the office—of the commissioner—of railroads department of

transportation. The hearing shall be a contested case hearing under ch. 227. The

department’s department of natural resources’ order shall be a final order subject to

judicial review under ch. 227.

*~1187/4.209* SECTION 2610. 350.1395 (2) (b) 3. (intro.) of the statutes is
amended to read:

350.1395 (2) (b) 3. (intro.) The department shall grant é rail authority’s petition
under subd. 2. to closé or remove a snowmobile rail crossing if, after a hearing under
subd. 2., and after giving substantial weight to the office-of the commissioner-of
railroads’ department of transportation’s testimony or report given under s. 195.03
(30) (b), the department of natural resources finds that any of the following applies:

*-~1187/4.210* SECTION 2611. 350.1395 (4) (b) of the statutes is amended to
read:

350.1395 (4) (b) The department may not promulgate a rule under this
subsection without first consulting with each rail authority in this state that has

furnished the department with the information required under s. 350.138 (2m), an
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g‘l established snowmobile association that represents snowmobile clubs, as defined in
s. 350.138 (1) (e), in this state, and the office—of the commissioner—of railroads

2
3 department of transportation.
4 *-0529/4.240* SECTION 2612. 351.07 (1g) of the statutes is amended to read:

9]

351.07 (1g) No person may file a petition for an occupational license under sub.
6 (1) unless he or she first pays a fee of $40 to the clerk of the circuit court. The clerk
7 of the circuit court shall give the person a receipt and forward the fee to the county
8 treasurer. That treasurer shall pay 50% of the fee to the state-treasurer secretary
9

of administration under s. 59.25 (3) (m) and retain the balance for the use of the

10 county.

11 #-1249/1.1* SECTION 2613. 445.125 (1) (a) 2. of the statutes, as affected by 2001
o 12 Wisconsin Act 16, is amended to read:
L«lS ’ 445.125 (1) (a) 2. Notwithstanding s. 701.12 (1), such agreements may be made

14 irrevocable as to the first $3,;000 $1,500 of the funds paid under the agreement by

15 each depositor.
16 *~1431/2.42% SECTION 2614. 552.23 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:
17 552.23 (1) Ifthe target company is an insurance company subject to regulation

18 by the commissioner of insurance, a banking corporation subject-to-regulation by the
19 division—of-bankinga-, savings bank, or savings and loan association subject to

20 regulation by the division of savings-institutions banking, or a company subject to
@ regulation by the public service commission;the department of transportation/erthe

kR officeof the-commissionerof-railreads, the division of securities shall promptl
YLD 5 promptly
23 furnish a copy of the registration statement filed under this chapter to the regulatory
24 agency having supervision of the target company. Any hearing under this chapter

A

95 involving any such target company shall be held jointly with the regulatory agency

r\fh’i ke
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having supervision, and any determination following the hearing shall be made

Jjointly with that regulatory agency.

*-1187/4.211* SECTION 2615. 552.23 (1) of the statutes, as affected by 200
Wisconsin Act .... (this act), is amended to read:

55223 (1) If the target company is an insurance company subjecf to regulation
by the commigsioner of insurance, a banking corporation, sgvings bank, or savings
and Joan associativbn subject to regulation by the divigi6n of banking, or a company
subject to regulation by the public service eSmmission; or the department of
transportation, er-the—officocof thecorimissioner—of railreads, the division of
securities shall promptly furnish g 28py of the registration statement filed under this
chapter to the regulatory agency having\gupervision of the target company. Any
hearing under this chépter involving any such“arget company shall be held jointly

with the regulatory agency having supervision, and anydetermination following the

hearing§hall be made jointly with that regulatory agency.

t//,/ﬁxw_w ,.A.__,MA_r

N

+++NOTE: This is reconciled s. 552.23 (1). This SECTION has been affected by drafts
with the following LRB numbers: LRB-1187 and LRB-1431.

*-1634/7.63* SECTION 2616. 560.045 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:
560.045 (1)

rehabilitation grant-program- To the extent allowed under federal law or regulation,

the department shall give priority in the awarding of grants under the housing

programs to grants for projects related to the redevelopment of brownfields, as

defined in s. 560.60 (1v).
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*-1546/2.15* SECTION 2617. 560.13 of the statutes is repealed.

*-1546/2.16* SECTION 2618. 560.138 (1) (ac) of the statutes is amended to read:

560.138 (1) (ac) “Brownfields” has the meaning given in s. 560.13(1)(a) 560.60
Av).

*-1546/2.17* SECTION 2619. 560.139 (1) (c) of the statutes is repealed.

*-1376/1.2* SECTION 2620. 560.18 of the statutes is repealed.

*-1877/2.5* SECTION 2621. 560.25 of the statutes, as affected by 2001
Wisconsin Act 16, is repealed.

¥~1546/2.18* SECTION 2622. 560.41 (1) of the statutes is repealed.

*-1546/2.19* SECTION 2623. 560.44 of the statutes is repealed.

*-~1877/2.6* SECTION 2624. 560.605 (1) (i) of the statutes is amended to read:

560.605 (1) (i) The eligible recipient has not received a grant under s. 560.25,
2001 stats. |

*~18717/2.7* SECTION 2625. 560.62 (2m) of the statutes is repealed.

*-0529/4.241* SECTION 2626. 562.02 (1) (g) of the statutes is amended to read:

562.02 (1) (g) At least once every 3 months, file a written report on the operation
of racing in this state with the governor, the attorney general, the state-treasurer
secretary of administration, the secretary of state, the legislative audit bureau, the
president of the senate, and the speaker of the assembly. The report shall include
information on racetrack operations, race attendance, and private, state, and local
revenues derived from racing in this state.

*-~1704/1.3* SECTION 2627. 565.25 (1m) of the statutes is amended to read:

565.25 (Im) SCOPE OF AUTHORITY. Subject to approval by the secretary of

revenue, the administrator may determine whether lottery functions shall be

performed by-department-of revenue-empleyees-or by one or more persons under
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contract with the department of administration,Aexcept that no-contract-may provide

or-security monitoring services,-exeept-that,-if for financial auditing services and

procurement functions relating to the state lottery. If the department of

administration delegates under s. 16.71 (1) to the department of revenue the
authority to make a major procurement, the department of revenue may contract
with the department of administration for warehouse and building protection

services relating to the state lottery. If the department of administration delegates

under s. 16.71 (1) to the department of revenue the authority to make a major

procurement, the department of revenue shall assume the powers and duties of the
department of administration and the administrator shall assume the powers and
duties of the secretary of administration under this section and ss. 16.70 to 16.77,
except under ss. 16.72 (4) (a), 16.76 (1) and 16.77 (1).

- *-1704/1.4* SECTION 2628. 565.25 (2) (a) 4. of the statutes is repealed and
recreated to read:

565.25 (2) (a) 4. The administrator shall develop specifications for major
procurements. If security is a factor in the materials, supplies, equipment, property,
or services to be purchased in any major procurement, then invitations for bids or
competitive sealed proposals shall include specifications related to security. The
administrator shall submit specifications for major procurement to the secretary of
revenue for review and approval before the department releases the specifications

in invitations for bids or competitive sealed proposals. The department shall require
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separate bids or separate competitive sealed proposals for management consultation
services if the services are provided under contract as provided in sub. (1m).

*~0529/4.242* SECTION 2629. 565.37 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

565.37 (3) DEPARTMENT REPORT. The department shall submit quarterly reports
on the operation of the lottery to the chief clerk of each house of the legislature, for
distribution to the legislature under s. 13.172 (2) and to the governor, attorney

general, state-treasurer secretary of administration, secretary of state, and state
auditor.
*~1825/2.2* SECTION 2630. 569.06 of the statutes is renumbered 569.06 (1) and

amended to read:

569.06 (1) GENERAL ALLOCATION. Except as provided in sub. (2), Indian gaming

receipts received in any fiscal Veaf, up to $24,352,500, shall be credited to the

appropriation accounts under ss. 20.455 (2) (ge) and 20.505 (8) (h) and (hm) as

specified under ss. 20.455 (2) (gc) and 20.505 (8) (h) and (hm). Except as provided

under sub. (2), Indian gaming receipts received in any fiscal year in excess of the

amount specified in this subsection shall be paid into the general fund.
*~1825/2.3* SECTION 2631. 569.06 (2) of the statutes is created to read:

569.06 (2) LIMITATIONS ON PAYMENTS TO GENERAL FUND. (a) Fiscal year 2003-04.
Not more than $112,000,000 may be paid into the general fund under sub. (1) during
the 2003-04 fiscal year. Indian gaming receipts in excess of this amount that would
otherwise be required to be paid into the general fund under sub. (1) shall be credited
to the appropriation accounts under ss. 20.455 (2) (gc) and 20.505 (8) (h) and (hmj
as specified under ss. 20.455 (2) (ge) and 20.505 (8) (h) and (hm).

(b) Fiscal year 2004-05 and thereafter. Not more than $125,000,000 may be

paid into the general fund under sub. (1) during the 2004-05 fiscal year and any fiscal
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year thereafter. Indian gaming receipts in excess of this amount that would
otherwise be required to be paid into the general fund under sub. (1) shall be credited
to the appropriation accounts under ss. 20.455 (2) (gc) and 20.505 (8) (h) and (hm)
as specified under ss. 20.455 (2) (gc) and 20.505 (8) (h) and (hm).

*~0529/4.243* SECTION 2632. 601.13 (1) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to
read:

601.13 (1) RECEIPT OF DEPOSITS. (intro.) Subject to the approval of the
commissioner, the state-treasurer secretary of administration shall accept deposits
or control of acceptable book—entry accounts from insurers and other licensees of the
office as follows:

*~0529/4.244* SECTION 2633. 601.13 (3) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to

_read:

601.13 (3) SECURITIES ELIGIBLE. (intro.) All deposits may consist of any of the
securities authorized in this subsection. Each security must be approved by the
commissioner, must be subject to disposition by the statetreasurer secretary of
administration, and must not be available to any other person except as expressly
provided by law. The authorized securities are:

¥-~0529/4.245* SECTION 2634. 601.13 (5) of the statutes is amended to read:

601.13 (5) RECEIPT, INSPECTION, AND RECORD. The state-treasurer secretary of
administration shall deliver to the depositor a receipt for all securities deposited or
held under the control of the state-treasurer secretary of administration and shall
permit the depositor to inspect its physically held securities at any reasonable time.
On application of the depositor the treasurer secretary of administration shall certify
when required by any law of the United States or of any other state or foreign country

or by the order of any court of competent jurisdiction that the deposit was made. The
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treasurer secretary of administration and the commissioner shall each keep a
permanent record of securities deposited or held under the control of the state
treasurer secretary of administration and of any substitutions or withdrawals and
shall compare records at least annually.

*-0529/4.246* SECTION 2635. 601.13 (6) of the statutes is amended to read:

601.13 (6) TRANSFER OF SECURITIES. No transfer of a deposited security, whether
voluntary or by operation of law, is valid unless approved in writing by the
commissioner and countersigned by the treasurer secretary of administration.

- *-0529/4.247* SECTION 2636. 601.13 (8) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to

read:

601.13 (8) INTEREST AND SUBSTITUTIONS. (intro.) Subject to s. 14.58-(13) 16.401
(11), a depositor shall, while solvent and complying with the laws of this state, be
entitled:

*-~0529/4.248% SECTION 2637. 601.13 (11) of the statutes is amended to read:

601.13 (11) ADVANCE DEPOSIT OF FEES. With the approval of the commissioner,
any person required to pay fees or assessments to the state through the
commissioner may make a deposit with the treasurer secretary of administration
from which the fees or assessments shall be paid on order of the commissioner not
less than twice each year. Upon request by the depositor, any balance remaining
shall be returned on the certificate of the commissioner that all fees and assessments
have been paid to date.

*~0153/P1.1* SECTION 2638. 601.17 of the statutes is repealed.

*-1876/1.5* SECTION 2639. 601.34 of the statutes is repealed.

*~0529/4.249* SECTION 2640. 601.45 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:
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601.45 (3) DEPOSIT. The commissioner may require any examinee, before or
from time to time during an examination, to deposit with the state-treasurer
secretary of administration such deposits as the commissioner deems necessary to
pay the costs of the examination. Any deposit and any payment made under subs.
(1) and (2) shall be credited to the appropriation under s. 20.145 (1) (g) in the
percentage specified in that paragraph.

*-~0529/4.250* SECTION 2641. 601.62 (4) of the statutes is amended to read:

601.62 (4) FEES IN INVESTIGATIONS AND HEARINGS. The fees for stenographic
services in investigations, examinations, and hearings may not exceed the sum
provided for like services in the circuit court. The fees of officers, witnesses,
interpreters, and stenographers on behalf of the commissioner or the state shall be
paid by the state—treasurerupon-the-warrant—of the-department secretary of
administration, authorized by the certificate of the commissioner, and shall be
charged to the appropriation under s. 20.145 (1) (g).

*~0529/4.251* SECTION 2642. 604.04 (4) of the statutes is amended to read:

604.04 (4) PAYMENT PROCEDURE. Any charges against a fund under sub. (3) shall
be certified by the commissioner, audited by the department of administration under
s. 16.53, and paid by the treasurer secretary of administration out of the appropriate
fund in accordance with procedures of the department of administration.

*-0529/4.252* SECTION 2643. 604.05 of the statutes is amended to read:

604.05 Investments. Assets of all funds under chs. 605 to 607 shall be
invested by the state investment board under s. 25.17. Each January 1 the state
treasurer secretary of administration shall credit each fund with earnings on the
invested assets in each fund for the preceding 12 months. If any fund is indebted to

the general fund of the state, the fund shall be charged, at the end of each calendar
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year, with interest on the indebtedness at the average rate earned by the state upon
its deposits in public depositories kduring the period of indebtedness and that sum
shall be credited to the general fund.
*~0529/4.253* SECTION 2644. 604.06 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:
604.06 (1) CustopY. The state-treasurer secretary of administration has sole
custody of all assets of funds under chs. 605 to 607.
*~0529/4.254* SECTION 2645. 604.07 of the statutes is amended to read:
604.07 Bonds. The commissioner as manager of the funds and the treasurer
secretary of administration shall file surety bonds, specifically conditioned on the
performance of their duties under chs. 605 to 607, in amounts required by, and with
sureties approved by, the governor.
*-0529/4.255% SECTION 2646. 605.30 of the statutes is amended to read:
605.30 Inadequacy of fund. If the property fund does not have sufficient
assets to pay claims that are due, the department secretary of administration shall
issue—a—waﬂantas—a— transfer from the general fund to the property fund an amount

sufficient to pay the losses and the state treasurer shall pay the warrant losses. The

property fund shall thereafter repay the general fund this amount and the

department secretary of administration shall issue-wazrrantsfor-sueh transfer the

amount as soon as there are assets in the property fund.
*-0529/4.256* SECTION 2647. 611.76 (4) (e) of the statutes is amended to read:
611.76 (4) (e) That no policyholder, other than a policyholder of a mutual life
insurance company, may receive a distribution of shares valued in excess of the
amount to which he or she is entitled under s. 645.72 (4). Any excess over that
amount shall be distributed in shares to the state treasury for the benefit of the

common school fund. After 5 years the shares may be sold by the treasurer secretary
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of administration at his or her discretion and the proceeds credited to the common
school fund; and

*-0029/2.5* SECTION 2648. 632.746 (7m) of the statutes is created to read:

632.746 (7m) (a) In this subsection, “terms of the group health benefit plan”
does not include any requirements under the group health benefit plan related to
enrollment periods or waiting periods.

(b) An insurer offering a group health benefit plan shall permit, as provided in
par. (c), an employee who is not enrolled but who is eligible for coverage under the
terms of the group health benefit plan, or a participant’s or employee’s dependent
who is not enrolled but who is eligible for coverage under the terms of the group
health benefit plan, to enroll for coverage under the terms of the plan if all of the
following abply:

1. The employee or dependent is eligible for benefits under the Medical
Assistance program under s. 49.472 or for coverage under the Badger Care health
care program under s. 49.665.

2. The department of health and family services will purchase coverage under
the group health benefit plan on behalf of the employee or dependent because the
department of health and family services has determined that paying the portion of
the premium for which the employee is responsible will not be more costly than
providing the medical assistance or the coverage under the Badger Care health care
program, whichever is applicable.

(c) An insurer permitting an employee or dependent to enroll under this
subsection shall provide for an enrollment period of not less than 30 days, beginning

on the date on which the department of health and family services makes the

determination under par. (b) 2.
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*-1755/3.8* SECTION 2649. 655.26 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:
655.26 (2) By the 15th day of each month, the board of governors shall report
the information specified in sub. (1) to the medical examining board for each claim

paid by the fund or from the appropriation under s. 20.145 (2) (a) during the previous

- month for damages arising out of the rendering of health care services by a health

care provider or an employee of a health care provider.

*-1755/3.9* SECTION 2650. 655.27 (3) (am) of the statutes is amended to read:

655.27 (3) (am) Assessments for peer review council. The fund, a mandatory
health care liability risk—sharing plan established under s. 619.04, and a private
health care liability insurer shall be assessed, as appropriate, fees sufficient to cover
the costs of the patients compensation fund peer review council, including costs of
administration, for reviewing claims paid by the fund; or from the appropriation
under s. 20.145 (2) (a), by the plan, and by the insurer, respectively, under s. 655.275

(5). The fees shall be set by the commissioner by rule, after approval by the board
of governors, and shall be collected by the commissioner for deposit in the fund. The
costs of the patients compensation fund peer review council shall be funded from the
appropriation under s. 20.145 (2) (um).
*~1755/3.10* SECTION 2651. 655.27 (4) (a) of the statutes is amended to réad:
655.27 (4) (a) Moneys shall be withdrawn from the fund, or paid from the

appropriation under s. 20.145 (2) (a), by the commissioner only upon vouchers

approved and authorized by the board of governors.
*-~1755/3.11* SECTION 2652. 655.27 (5) (e) of the statutes is amended to read:
655.27 (5) (e) Claims filed against the fund shall be paid in the order received
within 90 days after filing unless appealed by the fund. If the amounts in the fund

are not sufficient to pay all of the claims, claims received after the funds are
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exhausted shall be-im

were-received paid from the appropriation under s. 20.145 (2) (a).

*~1755/3.13* SECTION 2653. 655.275 (5) (a) (intro.) of the statutes is amended
to read:

655.275 (5) (a) (intro.) The council shall review, within one year of the date of
first payment on the claim, each claim that is paid by the fund; or from the

appropriation under s. 20.145 (2) (a), by a mandatory health care liability

risk—sharing plan established under s. 619.04, by a private health care liability
insurer, or by a self-insurer for damages arising out of the rendering of medical care
by a health care provider or an employee of the health care provider and shall make
recommehdations to all of the following:

*-1755/3.14* SECTION 2654. Subchapter VIII of chapter 655 [precedes 655.75]
of the statutes is created to read:

CHAPTER 655
SUBCHAPTER VIII
HEALTH CARE PROVIDER AVAILABILITY
AND COST CONTROL FUND

655.75 Health care provider availability and cost control fund. (1)
There is created a health care provider availability and cost control fund for the
purposes of ensuring the availability of health care providers in the state and
controlling the cost of health care services to state taxpayers, workers, and
employers. The fund may be used for all of the following purposes:

(a) To assist in the education and training of health care providers.

(b) To ensure that health care providers who serve recipients under the Medical

Assistance program or other health care programs established by the state receive
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levels of payment sufficient to retain their participation in the programs and to
reduce the risk of shifting costs to private sector employers.

(¢c) To defray the cost of other heélth—related programs that the secretary of
health and family services determines are effective in ensuring the availability of
health care providers in the state and controlling the cost of health care services to
state taxpayers, workers, and employers.

(2) The health care provider availability and cost control fund shall be
administered by the commissioner.

(3) The health care provider availability and cost control fund shall be funded
with the transfer of moneys from the patients compensation fund under 2003
Wisconsin Act .... (this act), section 9228 (1).

*-~1634/7.64* SECTION 2655. 704.05 (5) (a) 2. of the statutes is amended to read:

704.05 (5) (a) 2. Give the tenant notice, personally or by ordinary mail
addressed to the tenant’s last-known address, of the landlord’s intent to dispose of
the personal property by sale or other appropriate means if the property is not
repossessed by the tenant. If the tenant fails to repossess the property within 30 days
after the date of personal service or the date of the mailing of the notice, the landlord
may dispose of the property by private or public sale or any other appropriate means.
The landlord may deduct from the proceeds of sale any costs of sale and any storage
charges if the landlord has first stored the personalty under subd. 1. If the proceeds
minus the costs of sale and minus any storage charges are not claimed within 60 days
after the date of the sale of the personalty, the landlord is not accountable to the
tenant for any of the proceeds of the sale or the value of the property. The landlord

shall send the proceeds of the sale minus the costs of the sale and minus any storage
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charges to the department of administration for deposit in the appropriation under
s. 20.505-(7) 20.143 (2) (h).
*~1111/4.97* SECTION 2656. 704.90 (9) of the statutes is amended to read:
704.90 (9) RuULES. The department of agriculture,—trade—and consumer

protection justice may promulgate rules necessary to carry out the purposes of this

section.

*-1111/4.98* SECTION 2657. 704.90 (11) (title) of the statutes is amended to
read:

704.90 (11) (title) DUTIES OF THE DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULFURE, TRADE AND
CONSUMER-PROTECTION JUSTICE.

*-~1111/4.99* SECTION 2658. 704.90 (11) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

704.90 (11) (a) ’Except as provided in par. (c), the department of agriculture,
trade-and-consumer protection justice shall investigate alleged violations of this
section and rules promulgated under sub. (9). To facilitate its investigations, the
department may subpoena persons and records and may enforce compliance with the
subpoenas as provided in s. 885.12.

*~1111/4.100* SECTION 2659. 707.49 (4) of the statutes is amended to read:

707.49 (4) SURETY BOND AND OTHER OPTIONS. Instead of placing deposits in an
escrow account, a developer may obtain a surety bond issued by a company
authorized to do business in this state, an irrevocable letter of credit or a similar
arrangement, in an amount which at all times is not less than the amount of the
deposits otherwise subject to the escrow requirements of this section. The bond,

letter of credit or similar arrangement shall be filed with the department of

agriculture;, trade—and consumer proteetion justice and made payable to the
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department of agriealture;trade-and consumer protection justice for the benefit of

aggrieved parties.
*~1111/4.101* SECTION 2660. 707.57 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

707.57 (2) DEPARTMENT OF A

JUSTICE AUTHORITY. (a) The department of agriculture,—trade-and consumer
protection justice, or any district attorney upon informing the department of

agriculture; trade-and consumer-protection justice, may commence an action in

circuit court in the name of the state to restrain by temporary or permanent

injunction any violation of this chapter. Before entry of final judgment, the court may
make such orders or judgments as may be necessary to restore to any person any
pecuniary loss suffered because of the acts or practices involved in the action if proof
of these acts or practices is submitted to the satisfaction of the court.

(b) The department of agriculture; trade-and consumer protection justice may
conduct hearings, administer oaths, issue subpoenas and take testimony to aid in its
investigation of violations of this chapter.

*~1111/4.102* SECTION 2661. 707.57 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

707.57 (3) PENALTY. Any person who violates this chapter shall be required to
forfeit not more than $5,000 for each offense. Forfeitures under this subsection shall

be enforced by action on behalf of the state by the department of agriculture, trade

and-consumer-protection justice or by the district attorney of the county where the

violation occurs.
*-0529/4.257* SECTION 2662. 753.061 (5) of the statutes is amended to read:
753.061 (5) The state shall reimburse the county for the costs of operating one
of the 2 circuit court branches designated under sub. (2m) that begin to primarily

handle violent crime cases on September 1, 1991, including the one-time cost of
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courtroom construction. The costs reimbursable under this subsection shall be paid
by the state-treasurer secretary of administration to the county treasurer pursuant
to a voucher submitted by the clerk of circuit court to the director of state coﬁrts and
shall be paid from the appropriation under s. 20.625 (1) (as). The amount
reimbursable under this subsection may not exceed $383,100 in the 1991-92 fiscal
year and $0 in the 1992-93 fiscal year.

*-0529/4.258* SECTION 2663. 753.07 (2) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

7 53..07 (2) (a) The persons shall continue to receive salaries directly payable
from the state in the same amount as they were receiving on July 31, 1978, and sﬁch
salaries are subject to s. 40.05. The balance of the salaries authorized under ss.
230.12 and 751.02 for the judges and reporters shall be paid by the state-treasurer
secretary of administration to the county treasurer pursuant to a voucher submitted
by the clerk of circuit court to the director of state courts. The county treasurer shall
pay the amounts directly to the judges and reporters and the amounts paid are
subject to the retirement system established under chapter 201, laws of 1937.

*~0529/4.259* SECTION 2664. 753.07 (3) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

753.07 (3) (a) The salaries authorized under ss. 230.12 and 751.02 for the
Judges and reporters shall be paid by the state-treasurer secretary of administration
to the county treasurer pursuant to a voucher submitted by the clerk of circuit court
to the director of state courts. The county treasurer shall pay the amounts directly
to the judges and reporters and the amounts paid shall be subject to the retirement
system established under chapter 201, laws of 1937.

*-0529/4.260* SECTION 2665. 753.07 (4) of the statutes is amended to read:

753.07 (4) COURT PERSONNEL; OPTIONS. As state employees, county court judges,

county court reporters, and assistant county court reporters, as specified in sub. (1),
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who are denominated or become circuit court judges and reporters on August 1, 1978,
and persons serving as circuit court judges and circuit court reporters for Milwaukee
County on July 31, 1978, shall have the option of remaining as participants under
county life and health insurance programs to the extent of their participation in such

programs on February 1, 1978. The state-treasurer Secretal'y of administration shall

>semiannually pay to the county treasurer, pursuant to a voucher submitted by the

clerk of circuit court to the director of state courts, an amount equal to the state
contribution for life and health insurance for other comparable state employees. The
county shall pay the cost of any premiumns for life and health insurance exceeding the
sum of the state contribution and the employee contribution as required under the
county programs.

*-0529/4.261* SECTION 2666. 757.05 (1) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

757.05 (1) (b) If a fine or forfeiture is imposed by a court of record, after a
determination by the court of the amount due, the clerk of the court shall collect and
transmit the amount to the county treasurer as provided in s. 59.40 (2) (m). The
county treasurer shall then make payment to the statetreasurer secretary of
administration as provided in s. 59.25 (3) (f) 2.

k*-O529/4.262* SECTION 2667. 757.05 (1) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:

757.05 (1) (¢) If a fine or forfeiture is imposed by a municipal court, after a
determination by the court of the amount due, the court shall collect and transmit
the amount to the treasurer of the county, city, town, or village, and that treasurer
shall make payment to the state-treasurer secretary of administration as provided

in 8. 66.0114 (1) (bm).

*~0529/4.263* SECTION 2668. 757.05 (1) (d) of the statutes is amended to read:
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757.05 (1) (d) If any deposit of bail is made for a noncriminal offense to which
this subsection applies, the person making the deposit shall also deposit a sufficient
amount to include the assessment prescribed in this subsection for forfeited bail. If
bail is forfeited, the amount of the assessment shall be transmitted monthly to the
state-treasurer secretary of administration under this subsection. If bail is returned,
the assessment shall also be returned.

*~1289/7.117* SECTION 2669. 758.19 (7) of the statutes is amended to read:

758.19 (7) The director of state courts shall adopt, revise biennially and submit
to the cochairpersons of the joint committee on information policy and technology, the
governor and the departmentof electronic government secretary of administration, |
no later than September 15 of each even-numbered year, a strategic plan for the
utilization of information technology to carry out the functions of the courts and
judicial branch agencies, as defined in s. 16.70 (5). The plan shall address the
business needs of the courts and judicial branch agencies and shall identify all
resources relating to information technology which the courts and judicial branch
agencies desire to acquire, contingent upon ﬁlndjﬁg availability, the priority for such
acquisitions and the justification for such acquisitions. The plan shall also identify
aﬁy changes in the functioning of the coui'ts and judicial branch agencies under the
plan.

*-~0016/1.1* SECTION 2670. 767.027 (1) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to
read:

v7 67.027 (1) (intro.) In any action under s. 767.02 (1) (i) to enforce or modify a
judgment or order with respect to child support, due process requirements related

to notice and service of process are satisfied to the extent that the court finds all of

the following:
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*-~1256/5.78% SECTION 2671. 767.045 (1) (c) 1. of the statutes is amended to
read: '

767.045 (1) (c) 1. Aid is provided undér s. 46.261, 48.57 (3m) or (3n), 49.19, or
49.45 on behalf of the child, or wages or a stipend are paid to or benefits are pfovided
to the child’s custodial parent under ss. 49.141 to 49.161, but the state and its
delegate under s. 49.22 (7) are barred by a statute of limitations from commencing
an action under s. 767.45 on behalf of the child.

*~0015/2.1* SECTION 2672. 767.075 (1) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:

767.075 (1) (c) Whenever aid under s. 46.261, 48.57 (3m) or (3n), 49.19, or 49.45
is provided on behalf of a dependent child or benefits are provided to the child’s
custodial parent under s. 49.79 or under ss. 49.141 to 49.161.

#-1256/5.79* SECTION 2673. 767.075 (1) (c) of the statutes, as affected by 2003
Wisconsin Act .... (this act), is amended to read:

767.075 (1) (c) Whenever aid under s. 46.261, 48.57 (3m) or (3n), 49.19, or 49.45

is provided on behalf of a dependent child or wages or a stipend are paid to or benefits

are provided to the child’s custodial parent under s. 49.79 or under ss. 49.141 to

49.161.

»+NOTE: This is reconciled s. 767.075 (1) (¢c). This SECTION has been affected by
drafts with the following LRB numbers: LRB-0015 and LRB-1256.

*~1256/5.80* SECTION 2674. 767.075 (1) (cm) of the statutes is amended to
read:

767.075 (1) (cm) Whenever aid under s. 46.261, 48.57 (3m) or (3n), 49.19, or
49.45 has, in the past, been provided on behalf of a dependent child, or wages or a

stipend have, in the past, been paid to or benefits have, in the past, been provided




