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SEcCTION 2505

(d) The department may place intensive sanctions program participants in the
treatment program described in sub. (1), but pars. (b) and (c) do not apply to those
participants.

(e) If an inmate is serving the term of confinement portion of a bifurcated
sentence imposed under s. 973.01, the sentence was imposed before the effective date
of this paragraph .... [revisor inserts date], and the inmate satisfies the criteria under
par. (a) 1., the inmate may, with the department’s approval, petition the sentencing
court to determine whether he or she is eligible or ineligible to participate in the
earned release program under this subsection during the term of confinement. The
inmate shall serve a copy of the petition on the district attorney who prosecuted him
or her, and the district attorney may file a written response. The court shall exercise
its discretion in granting or denying the inmate’s petition but must do so no later
than 90 days after the inmate files the petition. Ifthe court determines under this
paragraph that the inmate is eligible to participate in the earned release program,
the court shall inform the inmate of the provisions of par. (c).

*-1769/2.5* SECTION 2506. 302.113 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

302.113 (2) Except as provided in subs. (3) and (9), an inmate subject to this
section is entitled to release to extended supervision after he or she has served the
term of confinement in prison portion of the sentence imposed under s. 97 3.01, as
modified by the sentencing court under sub. (9g) or s. 302.045 (3m) (b) 1., 302.05 (3)
(c) 2. a., or 973.195 (1r), if applicable.

*~1712/5.80* SECTION 2507. 303.066 of the statutes is repealed.

*-1769/2.6* SECTION 2508. 304.06 (1) (b) of the statutes, as affected by 2001

Wisconsin Act 109, is amended to read:
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SECTION 2508

304.06 (1) (b) Except as provided in s. 961.49 (2), 1999 stats., sub. (1m) or s.

302.045 (3), 302.05 (3) (b), 973.01 (6), or 973.0135, the parole commission may parole
an inmate of the Wisconsin state prisons or any felon or any person serving at least
one year or more in a county house of correction or a county reforestation camp
organized under s. 303.07, when he or she has served 25% of the sentence imposed
for the offense, or 6 months, whichever is greater. Except as provided in s. 939.62
(2m) () or 973.014 (1) (b) or (c), (1g) or (2), the parole commission may parole an
inmate serving a life term when he or she has served 20 years, as modified by the
formula under s. 302.11 (1) and subject to extension under s. 302.11 (1q) and (2), if
applicable. The person serving the life term shall be given credit for time served prior
to sentencing under s. 973.155, including good time under s. 973.155 (4). The
secretary may grant special action parole releé\ses' under s. 304.02. The department
or the parole commission shall not provide any convicted offender or other person
sentenced to the department’s custody any parole eligibility or evaluation until the
person has been confined at least 60 days following sentencing.
*-0336/P2.3* SECTION 2509. 304.073 of the statutes is repealed.
*-0336/P2.4* SECTION 2510. 304.074 (1) of the statutes is repealed.
¥-0336/P2.5* SECTION 2511. 304.074 (4) of the statutes is repealed.
#~1195/3.1* SECTION 2512. 340.01 (7m) of the statutes is amended to read:
340.01 (7m) “Commercial driver license” means a license issued to a person by
this state or another jurisdiction which is in accordance with the requirements of the

fedeml—éém}meial—metem&ehiel&safetyaq_ef_}gg& 49 USC 31301 to 31317 or by

Canada or Mexico, and which authorizes the licensee to operate certain commercial

motor vehicles.

*b0272/2.1*% SECTION 2512m. 340.01 (8) (d) of the statutes is amended to read:
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SECTION 2512m

340.01 (8) (d) The vehicle is transporting hazardous materials requiring

placarding or any quantity of a material listed as a select agent or toxin under 42 CFR
73.

*-1195/3.2* SECTION 2513. 340.01 (13m) of the statutes is amended to read:
340.01 (13m) “Disqualification” means the loss or withdrawal of a person’s

privilege to operate a commercial motor vehicle relating to certain offenses

committed by the person while driving or operating a motor vehicle or while on duty
time with respect to a commercial motor vehicle.

*-~1575/3.1* SECTION 2516. 341.25 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

341.25 (1) (a) For each automobile, a fee of $45 $55, except that an automobile
registered in this state prior to September 1, 1947, at a fee of less than $18 shall be
registered at such lesser fee plus an additional fee of $2.

*-~1575/3.2* SECTION 2518. 342.14 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

342.14 (1) For filing an application for the first certificate of title, $8.50 $18.50,
by the owner of the vehicle.

#-0444/2.1* SECTION 2519. 342.14 (1r) of the statutes is amended to read:

342.14 (1r) Upon filing an application under sub. (1) or (3), an environmental
impact fee of $9, by the person filing the application. All moneys collected under this
subsection shall be credited to the environmental fund for environmental
management. This subsection does not apply after December 31, 2003 2005.

*-~1575/3.3* SECTION 2520. 342.14 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

342.14 (3) For a certificate of title after a transfer, $8.50 $18.50, by the owner

of the vehicle.

*b0196/1.3* SECTION 2521m. 343.025 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:
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SECTION 2521m

343.025 (2) Beginning in 1991, the department shall annually submit a report
to the chief clerk of each house of the legislature for distribution to the legislature
under s. 13.172 (2) concerning the numbers of individuals, by counties in this state,
to whom the department distributed explanatory materials under ss. 343.14(8),
343.20 (2m) and 343.50 (4).

*b0272/2.2* SECTION 2521w. 343.03 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.03 (1) (a) The department shall institute a classified driver license system
meeting all federal standards under 49 USC 31301 to 31317 and 49 CFR 383 and 384.

#~1195/3.4* SECTION 2522. 343.03 (1) (a) of the statutes, as affected by 2003
Wisconsin Act .... (this act), is amended to read:

343.03 (1) (a) The department shall institute a classified driver license system

meeting all federal standards under 49 USC 30304 (e) and 31301 to 31317 and 49

CFR 383 and 384.

*~1195/3.5* SECTION 2523. 343.03 (3) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.03 (3) (a) Regular license. The standard license legend is “regular” or a
readily recognizable abbreviation thereof. The regular license, without any express
endorsements or restrictions as provided in this chapter, authorizes the licensee to
operate only “class D” vehicles as described in s. 343.04 (1) (d), except as otherwise
provided in this subsection. The license may be endorsed to permit operation of Type
1 motorcycles or school buses that are not commercial motor vehicles. A regular
license may be subject to restrictions, including the attachment of a special
restrictions card as provided in s. 343.17 (4).

*-~1195/3.6* SECTION 2524. 343.03 (3) (e) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.03 (3) (e) Occupational license. A license issued under s. 343.10

authorizing only the operation of motor vehicles other than “Class A”, “Class B” or



10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24

25

2003 — 2004 Legislature — 955 — ALLLREE%IXE

SECTION 2524

“Class C” vehicles shall be labeled “Occupational License”. Licenses-issued unders.

be-labeled “CDL-Oceupational”. An occupational license may authorize the operation
of “Class D” or “Class M” vehicles, or both, but may not be-endorsed to permit

operation of the vehicle types described in s. 343.04 (2). The license may be subject
to restrictions in addition to those provided in s. 843.10, including the attachment
of a special restrictions card as provided in s. 343.17 (4).

*-~1195/3.6m* SECTION 2524r. 343.03 (5) (title) of the statutes is amended to
read:

343.03 (5) (title) INQUIRIES BEFORE ISSUANCE or renewal.

*~1195/3.7* SECTION 2525. 343.03 (5) of the statutes is renumbered 343.03 (5)
(a) and amended to read:

343.03 (5) (a) Before issuing -a- or renewing any license under this chapter, the
department shall obtain driver record information from the national driver registry
and commercial driver license information system to determine whether the
applicant holds a commercial driver license, or a license that is revoked, suspended
or canceled, or is otherwise disqualified. If the applicant is currently licensed in
another state, the department shall obtain information on the applicant’s license
status with the state of licensure before issuing a license.

*-1195/3.8* SECTION 2526. 343.03 (5) (b) of the statutes is created to read:

343.03 (5) (b) 1. Before issuing or renewing a commercial driver license, the
department shall, within the time period specified in 49 CFR 384.232, request from
any other jurisdiction that has issued an operator’s license or commercial driver

license to the person within the previous 10 years the driving record of the person

as required under 49 CFR 384.206 (a) (2) (ii).
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SECTION 2526

2. Subdivision 1. does not apply to a renewal of a person’s commercial driver
license if the department has previously issued or renewed a commercial driver
license after the effective date of this subdivision .... [revisor inserts date], and, in
connection with the previous issuance or renewal, the department recorded on the
person’s driving record under s. 343.23 (2) (a) the date on which the Qperator’s record
check under subd. 1. was performed.

*~1195/3.9* SECTION 2527. 343.03 (6) of the statutes is renumbered 343.03 (6)
(a).

*-1195/3.10* SECTION 2528. 343.03 (6) (b) of the statutes is created to read:

343.03 (6) (b) The department shall, upon request and within 30 days of the
request, provide to the driver licensing agencies of other jurisdictions the driving
record of any person currently or previously licensed by the department, as required
under 49 CFR 384.206 (a) (2) (iii).

*~1195/3.11* SECTION 2529. 343.03 (6) (c) of the statutes is created to read:

343.03 (6) (c) The department shall, upon request and within the time period
specified in s. 343.23 (2) (am) 1. b. and c., provide the operating record file
information specified in s. 343.23 (2) (am) 1. b. and c. to any of the following
requesters:

1. The person holding the commercial driver license.

2. The U.S. secretary of transportation.

3. Any employer or prospective employer of the person holding the commercial
driver license, after notice to such person.

4. Any driver licensing agency of another jurisdiction or law enforcement

agency.
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SECTION 2529

5. Any governmental entity having access to the commercial driver license
information system.

6. Any authorized agent of a requester specified in subds. 1. to 5.

*-1195/3.12* SECTION 2530. 343.03 (7) (title) of the statutes is amended to
read:

343.03 (7) (title) NOTIFICATION OF COMMERCIAL DRIVER LICENSE ISSUANCE AND

CERTAIN VIOLATIONS.

*~1195/3.13* SECTION 2531. 343.03 (7) of the statutes is renumbered 343.03
(7) (a).

*~1195/3.14* SECTION 2532. 343.03 (7) (b) of the statutes is created to read:

343.03 (7) (b) Within 10 days after the disqualification of the holder of a
commercial driver license from operating a commercial motor vehicle for at least 60
days, or after the revocation, suspension, or cancellation of a commercial driver
license for at least 60 days, the department shall notify the commercial driver license
information system and, if the license was not issued by the department, the
jurisdiction that issued the license of the disqualification, revocation, suspension, or
cancellation and the violation that resulted in the disqualification, revocation,
suspension, or cancellation.

#-~1195/3.15* SECTION 2533. 343.03 (7) (¢) of the statutes is created to read:

343.03 (7) (c) Within 30 days after a conviction of the holder of a commercial
driver license issued by another jurisdiction for violating any state law or local
ordinance of this state or any law of a federally recognized American Indian tribe or
band in this state in conformity with any state law relating to motor vehicle traffic
control, other than parking violations, or after a conviction of the holder of an

operator’s license issued by another jurisdiction, other than a commercial driver
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SECTION 2533

license, for operating a commercial motor vehicle without a commercial driver
license, the department shall notify the driver licensing agency of the jurisdiction
that issued the license of the conviction.

*~1195/3.16* SECTION 2534. 343.03 (7) (c) of the statutes, as created by 2003
Wisconsin Act .... (this act), is amended to read:

343.03 (7) (c) Within 30 10 days after a conviction of the holder of a commercial
driver license issued by another jurisdiction for violating any state law or local
ordinance of this state or any law of a federally recognized American Indian tribe or
band in this state in conformity with any state law relating to motor vehicle traffic
control, other than parking violations, or after a conviction of the holder of an
operator’s license issued by another jurisdiction, other than a commercial driver
license, for operating a commercial motor vehicle without a commercial driver
license, the department shall notify the driver licensing agency of the jurisdiction
that issued the license of the conviction.

*b0272/2.5% SECTION 2534g. 343.04 (1) (c) 2. of the statutes is amended to read:

343.04 (1) (c) 2. The vehicle is transporting hazardous materials requiring

placarding or any quantity of a material listed as a select agent or toxin under 42 CFR

73.
*b0272/2.5% SECTION 2534i. 343.04 (2) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:
343.04 (2) (a) Hazardous materials transporter. Hazardous materials

transporter vehicles are vehicles transporting hazardous materials requiring

placarding or any quantity of a material listed as a select agent or toxin under 42 CFR
73.

*b0272/2.5*% SECTION 2534k. 343.055 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:
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SECTION 2534k

343.055 (3) VEHICLES TRANSPORTING HAZARDOUS MATERIALS, CARRYING PASSENGERS
OR TOWING DOUBLE OR TRIPLE TRAILERS NOT WAIVED. Nothing in this section authorizes
the operation of a combination vehicle with double or triple trailers, a vehicle
transporting hazardous materials requiring placarding except as provided in sub. (1)

(¢), a vehicle transporting any quantity of a material listed as a select agent or toxin
under 42 CFR 73, or a vehicle carrying or designed to transport the driver and 15 or

more persons, by a person who does not hold a valid operator’s license properly
endorsed to permit such operation.
*~1195/3.17* SECTION 2535. 343.06 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:
343.06 (2) The department shall not issue a commercial driver license,
including a renewal;-eceupational; or reinstated license, to any person during any
period of disqualification under s. 343.3 15 or 49 CFR 383.51 or the law of another
jurisdiction in substantial conformity therewith, as the result of one or more

disqualifying offenses committed on or after July 1, 1987, or to any person whose

operating privilege is revoked, suspended, or canceled. Any person who is known to

the department to be subject to disqualification as described in s. 343.44 (1) (d) shall
be disqualified by the department as provided in s. 343.315.
*b0272/2.6* SECTION 2536g. 343.07 (1m) (d) of the statutes is created to read:
343.07 (1m) (d) No person holding an instruction permit issued under this
subsection may operate a vehicle transporting hazardous materials requiring
placarding or any quantity of a material listed as a select agent or toxin under 42 CFR
73.
*-1195/3.19* SECTION 2537. 343.10 (1) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
343.10 (1) (b) The application shall be in a form established by the department

and shall identify the specific motor vehicle that the applicant seeks authorization
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SECTION 2537

to operate, including the vehicle classification and any required endorsements. The
application shall include an explanation of why operating the motor vehicle is
essential to the person’s livelihood and identify the person’s occupation or trade. The
application shall identify the applicant’s employer, and include proof of financial
responsibility as specified in s. 343.38 (1) (c) covering the vehicle or vehicles that the
applicant requests authorization to operate. The application shall identify the hours

of operation and routes of travel being requested by the applicant in accord with the

restrictions of sub. (5). The-applicant-shall-certify whether, to-the best-of personal
*-1195/3.20* SECTION 2538. 343.10 (1) (d) of the statutes is repealed.
*-1195/3.21* SECTION 2539. 343.10 (1) (e) of the statutes is repealed.
*-1195/3.22* SECTION 2540. 343.10 (1) (f) of the statutes is repealed.
*-1195/3.23* SECTION 2541. 343.10 (2) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.10 (2) (c) No occupational license permitting the operation of a commercial

motor vehicle may be granted to a person during-a period-of disqualificationunder

*-1195/3.24* SECTION 2542. 343.10 (7) (e) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.10 (7) (e) The occupational license issued by the department shall contain
the restrictions required by sub. (5). The occupational license authorizes the licensee
to operate a motor vehicle only when that operation is an essential part of the
licensee’s occupation or trade. If the department determines that the applicant is
eligible under sub. (2), the department may impose such conditions and limitations
upon the authorization to operate commerecial 6r noncommereial motor vehicles as
in the secretary’s judgment are necessary in the interest of public safety and welfare,

including reexamination of the person’s qualifications to operate a eommereial-or
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SECTION 2542

nencommereial motor vehicle or a particular type thereof. The department may limit

such authorization to include, without limitation, the operation of particular

vehicles, particular kinds of operation and particular traffic conditions.
*~1195/3.25% SECTION 2543. 343.10 (7) (g) of the statutes is repealed.
#-~1195/3.26* SECTION 2544. 343.12 (2) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to

read:

343.12 (2) (intro.) The Except as provided in sub. (2m), the department shall

issue a school bus endorsement to a person only if such person meets all of the
following requirements:

*~1195/3.27* SECTION 2545. 343.12 (2m) of the statutes is created to read:

343.12 (2m) The department shall issue a school bus endorsement to a person,
authorizing operation of a school bus that is a commercial motor vehicle, only if such
person meets all of the requirements specified in sub. (2) and, in addition, meets all
of the following requirements:

(a) Has been or is at the same time issued a valid commercial driver license.

(b) Qualifies for the endorsement under s. 343.17 (3) (d) 3., including passing
the knowledge and driving skills tests required for obtaining such an endorsement.

(c) Passes a knowledge test in compliance with the requirements of 49 CFR
383.123 (a) (2).

(d) Passes a driving skills test in compliance with the requirements of 49 CFR
383.123 (a) (3). If the test specified under sub. (2) (h) and s. 343.16 (1) meets the
requirements of 49 CFR 383.123 (a) (3), no additional driving skills test is required
under this paragraph.

*-1195/3.28* SECTION 2546. 343.12 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:
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SECTION 2546

343.12 (3) The Notwithstanding sub. (2) (a) and (g), the department may issue

a school bus endorsement under sub. (2) to a person who is more than 70 years of age

if the person meets the requirements specified in sub. (2) (¢) to (f) and (h) before
issuance of the endorsement and annually takes and passes a physical examination
prior to issuance or renewal of the endorsement to determine that the person meets

the physical standards established under sub. (2) (g). Notwithstanding sub. (2) (a)

and (g), the department may issue a school bus endorsement under sub. (2m) to a

person who is more than 70 years of age if the person meets the requirements
specified in subs. (2) (¢) to (f) and (h) and (2m) (a) to (d) before issuance of the

endorsement and annually takes and passes a physical examination prior to

issuance or renewal of the endorsement to determine that the person meets the

physical standards established under sub. (2) (2).

*b0062/1.50* SECTION 2547t. 343.12 (4) (a) (intro.) and 1. of the statutes are
consolidated, renumbered 343.12 (4) (a) and amended to read:

343.12 (4) (a) Notwithstanding sub. (1), a person may operate a school bus in

this state if one-ormore-of the following requirements are met:1—The the person
1s a nonresident holding a valid commercial driver license with -a-—~P” passenger an

“S” endorsement and the school bus is a commercial motor vehicle or. if the school bus

is not a commercial motor vehicle, the person is a resident of Iowa, Illinois, Michigan,
or Minnesota holding a valid operator’s license and any additional endorsements

required by the person’s home jurisdiction for the operation of a school bus and-the

. . lestinati F il C ] .
*~1195/3.31* SECTION 2549. 343.12 (4) (a) 2. of the statutes is repealed.

*b0062/1.51* SECTION 2550d. 343.12 (4) (a) 3. of the statutes is repealed.

*-1195/3.33* SECTION 2551. 343.12 (4) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
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SECTION 2551

343.12 (4) (b) The department may, by rule, establish standards for the
employment by an employer of a person under par. (a) 3: as an operator of a school
bus in this state. The rules may require the person to meet the qualifications
contained in sub. (2) e, (2m), or (3) and any rules of the department applicable to
residents.

*b0272/2.7*% SECTION 2551c. 343.125 of the statutes is created to read:

343.125 Endorsements for transporting certain hazardous materials.

(1) In this section, ““H” endorsement” means an endorsement specified in s.
343.17 (3) (d) 1m.

(2) The department may not issue or renew an “H” endorsement to a
commercial driver license unless all of the following apply:

(a) The applicant has submitted to the department documentary proof, in one
or more of the following forms, that the applicant is a U.S. citizen or that the
applicant’s permanent presence in the United States is authorized under federal law:

1. 'A U.S. passport.

2. A birth certificate bearing an official seal or other mark of authentication and
issued by a state, county, or municipality within the United States or by a territory
or possession of the United States.

3. A certification of birth abroad issued by the federal department of state.

4. A certificate of naturalization.

5. A certificate of U.S. citizenship.

6. A permanent resident card or alien registration receipt card.

7. Any other proof specified in 49 CFR 383.71 (a) (9).
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SECTION 2551¢

(b) If the applicant submits proof described under par. (a) 6. or 7., the applicant
submits his or her bureau of citizenship and immigration services alien registration
number.

(c) The applicant has passed any knowledge test required by the department.

(d) The department of transportation has received notice from the federal
transportation security administration of the federal department of homeland
security that the applicant does not pose a security threat warranting denial of an
“H” endorsement or that the applicant has received a waiver under 49 CFR 1572.143.

(3) (a) Except as provided in par. (b), an “H” endorsement shall expire 4 years
after the licensee’s next birthday after the date of issuance or renewal.

(b) 1. The initial period for which an “H” endorsement is valid is “.” from the
date on which the “H” endorsement is issued until the earlier of the following dates:

a. The date on which the licensee’s commercial driver license expires. This
subd. 1. a. does not apply if the licensee renews his or her commercial driver license
at the same time that the “H” endorsement is issued.

b. The date 4 years before the date on which the licensee’s commercial driver
license expires.

2. Notwithstanding subd. 1., if “.” as determined under subd. 1. is less than 12
months, the initial period for which an “H” endorsement is valid is “.” from the date
on which the “H” endorsement is issued until the later of the dates specified in subd.
l.a.orb.

(4) Within 15 days after receiving notice from the federal transportation
security administration of the federal department of homeland security, the

department of transportation shall do all of the following:
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SECTION 2551¢

(a) Update the department’s records to reflect the notice received, the issuance,
denial, or cancellation of an “H” endorsement, and, if applicable, the expiration date
of the “H” endorsement.

(b) Notify the commercial driver license information system of the notice
received and the department’s action.

(c) Issue the “H” endorsement, if the department received notice described in
sub. (2) (d) and the applicant is otherwise eligible for issuance of the “H”
endorsement.

(d) Cancel or deny the “H” endorsement, if the notice is of a final administrative
determination that the applicant or licensee poses a security threat warranting
denial of an “H” endorsement.

(5) Notwithstanding s. 227.42, there is no right to a hearing on any cancellation
or denial of an “H” endorsement under this section.

(6) Notwithstanding sub. (3) and s. 343.20 (1) (a), the department may require
any person who holds a valid “H” endorsement on November 1, 2003, to apply for
renewal of that endorsement, if that endorsement expires after November 1, 2008.
The department shall provide the notice required under s. 343.20 (2) (b). The
department may cancel the “H” endorsement of any person who fails to renew within
“.” specified by the department under this subsection. This subsection does not apply
to “H” endorsements that are issued or renewed after November 1, 2003.

*b0272/2.7* SECTION 2551e. 343.14 (2g) of the statutes is created to read:

343.14 (2g) (a) Notwithstanding ss. 111.321, 111.322, and 111.335 and any
other provision of law, in addition to the information required under sub. (2), the

application form for an “H” endorsement specified in s. 343.17 (3) (d) 1m. shall
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SECTION 2551e

include all of the information and statements required under 49 CFR 1572.5 (e),
including all of the following:

1. The list of disqualifying felony criminal offenses specified in 49 CFR
1572.103 (b).

2. A statement that the individual signing the application meets all of the
following requirements:

a. The individual has not been convicted, or found not guilty by reason of
insanity, of any disqualifying felony criminal offense described in subd. 1. in any
Jurisdiction during the 7—year period preceding the date of the application.

b. The individual has not been released from incarceration in any jurisdiction
for committing any disqualifying felony criminal offense described in subd. 1. within
the 5—year period preceding the date of the application.

¢. The individual is not wanted or under indictment for any disqualifying felony -
criminal offense described in subd. 1.

d. The individual is a U.S. citizen who has not renounced that citizenship, or
is lawfully admitted for permanent residence to the United States. If the applicant
is lawfully admitted for permanent residence to the United States, the applicant
shall provide the applicant’s alien registration number issued by the federal
department of homeland security.

3. A statement that the individual signing the application has been informed
that s. 343.245 (2) (a) 1. and federal regulations under 49 CFR 1572.5 impose an
ongoing obligation to disclose to the department within 24 hours if the individual is
convicted, or found not guilty by reason of insanity, of any disqualifying felony

criminal offense described in subd. 1., or adjudicated as a mental defective or
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committed to a mental institution, while he or she holds an “H” endorsement
specified in s. 343.17 (3) (d) 1m.

4. Notwithstanding sub. (2) (br) and the provisions of any memorandum of
understanding entered into under s. 49.857 (2), the applicant’s social security
number.

(b) Upon receiving a completed application form for an “H” endorsement
specified in s. 343.17 (3) (d) 1m., the department of transportation shall immediately
forward the application to the federal transportation security administration of the
federal department of homeland security. The department of transportation shall
also inform the applicant that the applicant has a right to obtain a copy of the
applicant’s criminal history record by submitting a written request for that record
to the federal transportation security administration.

*b0196/1.4* SECTION 2551h. 343.14 (8) of the statutes is repealed.

*b0272/2.7* SECTION 2551j. 343.16 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.16 (1) (a) General. The department shall examine every applicant for an
operator’s license, including applicants for license renewal as provided in sub. (3),
and every applicant for authorization to operate a vehicle class or type for which the
applicant does not hold currently valid authorization, other than an instruction
permit. Except as provided in sub. (2) (cm) and (e), the examinations of applicants
for licenses authorizing operation of “Class A”, “Class B”, “Class C”, “Class D” or
“Class M” vehicles shall include both a knowledge test and an actual demonstration
in the form of a driving skills test of the applicant’s ability to exercise ordinary and
reasonable control in the operation of a representative vehicle. The department shall
not administer a driving skills test to a person applying for authorization to operate

“Class M” vehicles who has failed 2 previous such skills tests unless the person has
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successfully completed a rider course approved by the department. The department
may, by rule, exempt certain persons from the rider course requirement of this
paragraph. The driving skills of applicants for endorsements authorizing the
operation of commercial motor vehicles equipped with air brakes, the transportation
of passengers in commercial motor vehicles or the operation of school buses, as
provided in s. 343.04 (2) (b), (d) or (e), shall also be tested by an actual demonstration
of driving skills. The department may endorse an applicant’s commercial driver
license for transporting hazardous materials requiring placarding or any quantity

of a material listed as a select agent or toxin under 42 CFR 73, subiect to s. 343.125,

or for the operation of tank vehicles or vehicles towing double or triple trailers, as
described in s. 343.04 (2) (a), (c) or (), based on successful completion of a knowledge
test. In administering the knowledge test, the department shall attempt to
accommodate any special needs of the applicant. Except as may be required by the
department for an “H” or “S” endorsement, the knowledge test is not intended to be
a test for literacy or English language proficiency. This paragraph does not prohibit
the department from requiring an applicant to correctly read and understand
highway signs.

*~1195/3.34* SECTION 2552. 343.17 (3) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.17 (3) (b) The reverse side of the license shall contain an explanation of any
restriction codes or endorsement abbreviations used on the front of the license, in
sufficient detail to identify the nature of the restrictions or endorsements to a law

enforcement officer of this state or another jurisdiction. Except for a commercial

driver license

th)-and(e), a part of the reverse side of each license shall be printed to serve as a
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document of gift under s. 157.06 (2) (b) and (c) or a document of refusal to make an

anatomical gift under s. 157.06 (2) (1).

*b0272/2.8* SECTION 2552g. 343.17 (3) (d) 1m. of the statutes is amended to

read:

343.17 (3) (d) 1m. “H” endorsement, which authorizes the driver to operate

vehicles transporting hazardous materials requiring placarding or any quantity of

a material listed as a select agent or toxin under 42 CFR 73.

*b0272/2.8* SECTION 2552i. 343.17 (3) (d) 6. of the statutes is amended to read:
343.17 (3) (d) 6. “X” endorsement, which is an optional endorsement that may
be used to indicate that the licensee holds both “H” and “N” endorsements. The

department may not issue or renew an endorsement under this subdivision after the

effective date of this subdivision .... [revisor inserts date].

*-1195/3.35% SECTION 2553. 343.175 (2) (ag) of the statutes is amended to read:
343.175 (2) (ag) The department shall print a separate document to be issued
to all persons issued a commercial driver license or—a license—labeled
- i > and make provisions so
that the document may be attached to the reverse side of the license document along
one edge. This document shall serve as a document of gift under s. 157.06 (2) (b) and
(c) or a document of refusal to make an anatomical gift under s. 157.06 (2) ().
*b0272/2.9* SECTION 2553m. 343.20 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:
343.20 (1) (a) Except as otherwise expressly provided in this chapter,
reinstated licenses, probationary licenses issued under s. 343.085 and original

licenses other than instruction permits shall expire 2 years from the date of the

applicant’s next birthday. All Subject to s. 343.125 (3), all other licenses and license

endorsements shall expire 8 years after the date of issuance. The department may
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institute any system of initial license issuance which it deems advisable for the
purpose of gaining a uniform rate of renewals. In order to put such a system into
operation, the department may issue licenses which are valid for any period less than
the ordinary effective period of such license. If the department issues a license that
is valid for less than the ordinary effective period as authorized by this paragraph,
the fees due under s. 343.21 (1) (a), (b) and (d) shall be prorated accordingly.

*b0272/2.10* SECTION 2554g. 343.20 (2) of the statutes is renumbered 343.20
(2) (a) and amended to read:

343.20 (2) (a) The department shall mail to the last-known address of a
licensee at least 30 days prior to the expiration of the license a notice of the date upon
which saeh the license must be renewed.

(¢) Failure to receive notice to renew sueh a license or endorsement shall not

be a defense to a charge of operating a motor vehicle without a valid operator’s license
or endorsement.

*b0272/2.10* SECTION 2554h. 343.20 (2) (b) of the statutes is created to read:

343.20 (2) (b) Notwithstanding par. (a), at least 180 days prior to the expiration .
of an “H” endorsement specified in s. 343.17 (3) (d) 1m., the department of
transportation shall mail a notice to the last—known address of the licensee that the
licensee is required to pass a security threat assessment screening by the federal
transportation security administration of the federal department of homeland
security as part of the application to renew the endorsement. The notice shall inform
the licensee that the licensee may commence the federal security threat assessment
screening at any time, but no later than 90 days before expiration of the

endorsement.

*b0196/1.5* SECTION 2554k. 343.20 (2m) of the statutes is amended to read:
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343.20 (2m) The department shall include with the notice that it mails under
sub. (2) information regarding the requirements of s. 347.48 (4); and information, as
developed by all organ procurement organizations in cooperation‘ with the

department, that promotes anatomical donations and which relates to the

anatomical donation opportunity available under s. 343.175;-and, for licensees-aged

*~1195/3.37* SECTION 2555. 343.22 (2) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
343.22 (2) (b) In lieu of applying for a duplicate license or identification card,
notify the department in writing of his or her change of address. This paragraph does
not apply to persons issued a commercial driver license or—a-license—labeled

3 he »

*b0062/1.55* SECTION 2555g. 343.23 (1) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to
read:

343.23 (1) (intro.) The department shall maintain a record of every application
for license, permit, or endorsement received by it and of every suspension, revocation

and, cancellation, and disqualification by the department and shall maintain

suitable indexes containing:
*b0062/1.55% SECTION 2555m. 343.23 (1) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:
343.23 (1) (c) The name of every person whose license or operating privilege has

been suspended, revoked, or canceled, or who is disqualified, by the department and

note thereon the reason for such action.

*b0272/2.11* SECTION 2555%. 343.23 (2) (a) (intro.) of the statutes is amended

to read:
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343.23 (2) (a) (intro.) The department shall maintain a file for each licensee or
other person containing the application for license, permit or endorsement, a record

of reports or abstract of convictions, any notice received from the federal

transportation security administration concerning the person’s eligibility for an “H”

endorsement specified in s. 343.17 (3) (d) 1m., the status of the person’s authorization

to operate different vehicle groups, a record of any out—of-service orders issued
under s. 343.305 (7) (b) or (9) (am) and a record of any reportable accident in which
the person has been involved, including specification of any type of license and
endorsements issued under this chapter under which the person was operating at
the time of the accident and an indication whether or not the accident occurred in the
course of any of the following:

*~1195/3.38* SECTION 2556. 343.23 (2) (am) of the statutes is created to read:

343.23 (2) (am) 1. The file specified in par. (a) shall include the following:

a. For a person holding a commercial driver license issued by the department,
a record of any disqualification by another jurisdiction of the person from operating
a commercial motor vehicle for at least 60 days or of the revocation, suspension, or
cancellation by another jurisdiction of the person’s commercial driver license for at
least 60 days, and the violation that resulted in the disqualification, revocation,
suspension, or cancellation, as specified in any notice received from the other
jurisdiction.

b. For a person holding a commercial driver license issued by the department,
a record of any violation in another jurisdiction of any law of that jurisdiction,
including any local law of that jurisdiction, or of any law of a federally recognized
American Indian tribe or band in that jurisdiction, in conformity with any law of this

state relating to motor vehicle traffic control, other than a parking violation, as
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specified in any notice received from that jurisdiction. The department shall record
this information within 10 days after receipt of the notice.

c. For a person holding a commercial driver license issued by this state or
another jurisdiction, a record of each violation, while operating any motor vehicle,
of any state law or local ordinance of this state or any law of a federally recognized
American Indian tribe or band in this state in conformity with any law of this state
relating to motor vehicle traffic control, other than a parking violation. The
department shall record the information under this subdivision within 10 days after
the date of conviction.

2. In maintaining the department’s file specified in subd. 1. and par. (a), the
department may not conceal, withhold, or mask from the department’s file, or
otherwise allow in any way a person to avoid the department’s recording in the
department’s file of, any information required to be recorded in the department’s file
under 49 CFR 384.225 and 384.226, regardless of whether the person has obtained
deferral of imposition of judgment, been allowed to enter a diversion program, or
otherwise obtained delayed or suspended judgment or alternative sentencing from
a court.

*-1195/3.39* SECTION 2557. 343.23 (2) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.23 (2) (b) The information specified in paz- pars. (a) and (am) must be filed
by the department so that the complete operator’s record is available for the use of
the secretary in determining whether operating privileges of such person shall be
suspended, revoked, canceled, or withheld, or the person disqualified, in the interest
of public safety. The record of suspensions, revocations, and convictions that would
be counted under s. 343.307 (2) shall be maintained permanently. The record of

convictions for disqualifying offenses under s. 343.315 (2) (h) shall be maintained for
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at least 10 years. The record of convictions for disqualifying offenses under s.

343.315 (2) (f) and (j), and all records specified in par. (am), shall be maintained for

at least 3 years. The record of convictions for disqualifying offenses under s. 343.315
(2) (2) to (e) shall be maintained permanently, except that 5 years after a licensee
transfers residency to another state such record may be transferred to another state
of licensure of the licensee if that state accepts responsibility for maintaining a
permanent record of convictions for disqualifying offenses. Such reports and records
may be cumulative beyond the period for which a license is granted, but the secretary,
in exercising the power of suspension granted under s. 8343.32 (2) may consider only
those reports and records entered during the 4-year period immediately preceding
the exercise of such power of suspension.

*b0272/2.12* SECTION 2557g. 343.245 (2) (a) 1. of the statutes is amended to
read:

343.245 (2) (a) 1. ‘To state’ A person, after applying for or receiving a
commercial driver license issued by this state, who is convicted of violating in a motor
vehicle any law of this state or local ordinance adopted in conformity therewith or
a law enacted by a federally recognized American Indian tribe or band in this state
which is in conformity with any law of this state, or the law of another jurisdiction,
relating to motor vehicle traffic control, other than parking violations, shall notify
the department of the conviction in the manner specified by the department within

30 days after the date of conviction. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a

person who holds an “H” endorsement specified in s. 343.17 (3) (d) 1m. shall notify

the department within 24 hours if the person is convicted, or found not guilty by
reason of insanity, of any disqualifying felony criminal offense described in s. 343.14
(2g) (a) 1., or adjudicated as a mental defective or committed to a mental institution.
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*b0272/2.12* SECTION 2557i. 343.265 (1r) of the statutes is created to read:

343.265 (Ir) Notwithstanding sub. (1), the department shall accept the
voluntary surrender of an “H” endorsement specified in s. 343.17 (3) (d) 1m. Upon
accepting the surrender, the department shall immediately cancel the endorsement
if the licensee is not eligible for the endorsement. Following cancellation under this
subsection, the department shall take the actions required in s. 343.125 (4) (a) and
(b). Upon accepting the surrender from a person to whom the department would not
be prohibited from issuing an “H” endorsement, the department may remove that
endorsement from the licensee’s commercial driver license as a temporary surrender.
The department may not issue an “H” endorsement to any person whose “H”
endorsement is removed as a temporary surrender under this subsection unless the
person applies for initial issuance of an “H” endorsement.

*b0272/2.12* SECTION 2557k. 343.28 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.28 (1) Whenever a person is convicted of a moving traffic violation under
chs. 341 to 349 or under a local ordinance enacted under ch. 349, the clerk of the court
in which the conviction occurred, or the justice, judge or magistrate of a court not
having a clerk, shall, as provided in s. 345.48, forward to the department the record
of such conviction. The record of conviction forwarded to the department shall state
whether the offender was involved in an accident at the time of the offense, whether
the offender was operating a commercial motor vehicle at the time of the offense and,
if so, whether the offender was transporting hazardous materials requiring
placarding or any quantity of a material listed as a select agent or toxin under 42 CFR
73, or was operating a vehicle designed to carry, or actually carrying, 16 or more

passengers, including the driver. Whenever a person is convicted of exceeding a
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posted speed limit, the record of conviction forwarded to the department shall
include the number of miles per hour in excess of the posted speed limit.
*b0272/2.12* SECTION 2557m. 343.28 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:
343.28 (2) Whenever a person is convicted of any offense for which s. 343.31
makes mandatory the revocation by the secretary of such person’s operating
privilege, the court in which the conviction occurred shall require the surrender to
it of any license then held by such person. The clerk of the court, or the justice, judge
or magistrate if the court has no clerk, shall, as provided in s. 345.48, forward to the
department the record of conviction and any surrendered licenses. The record of
conviction forwarded to the department shall state whether the offender was
involved in an accident at the time of the offense, whether the offender was operating
a commercial motor vehicle at the time of the offense and, if so, whether the offender

was transporting hazardous materials requiring placarding or any quantity of a

material listed as a select agent or toxin under 42 CFR 73, or was operating a vehicle

designed to carry, or actually carrying, 16 or more passengers, including the driver.
*~1195/3.40* SECTION 2558. 343.307 (2) (d) of the statutes is amended to read:
343.307 (2) (d) Convictions under the law of another jurisdiction that is in
substantial conformity with 49 CFR 383.51 (b) {2)-(i)-ox-(ii)-or both Table 1, items (1)
to (4).
*-~1195/3.43* SECTION 2562. 343.315 (2) (a) (intro.) of the statutes is amended
to read:
343.315 (2) (a) (intro.) Except as provided in par. (b), a person shall be
disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for a one—year period upon

a first conviction of any of the following offenses, committed on or after J uly 1, 1987,
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while driving or operating a commercial motor vehicle or committed on or after
September 30, 2005, while driving or operating any motor vehicle:

*~1195/3.44* SECTION 2563. 343.315 (2) (a) 7. of the statutes is created to read:

343.315 (2) (a) 7. Operating a commercial motor vehicle when the person’s
commercial driver license is revoked, suspended, or canceled based on the person’s
operation of a commercial motor vehicle or when the person is disqualified from
operating a commercial motor vehicle.

*-~1195/3.45* SECTION 2564. 343.315 (2) (a) 8. of the statutes is created to read:

343.315 (2) (a) 8. Causing a fatality through negligent or criminal operation
of a commercial motor vehicle.

*b0272/2.13* SECTION 2564m. 343.315 (2) (b) of the statutes is amended to
read:

343.315 (2) (b) If any of the violations listed in par. (a) occurred in the course
of transporting hazardous materials requiring placarding or any quantity of a

material listed as a select agent or toxin under 42 CFR 73 on or after July 1, 1987,

the person shall be disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for a
3—year period.
#-1195/3.46* SECTION 2565. 343.315 (2) (e) of the statutes is amended to read:
343.315 (2) (e) A person is disqualified for life from operating a commercial
motor vehicle if the person uses a commercial motor vehicle on or after July 1, 1987,

or uses any motor vehicle on or after September 30, 2005, in the commission of a

felony involving the manufacture, distribution, delivery or dispensing of a controlled
substance or controlled substance analog, or possession with intent to manufacture,

distribute, deliver or dispense a controlled substance or controlled substance analog.
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No person who is disqualified under this paragraph is eligible for reinstatement
under par. (d).

*-1195/3.47* SECTION 2566. 343.315 (2) (f) (intro.) of the statutes is amended
to read:

343.315 (2) (f) (intro.) A person is disqualified for a period of 60 days from
operating a commercial motor vehicle if convicted of 2 serious traffic violations, and
120 days if convicted of 3 serious traffic violations, arising from separate occurrences

committed within a 3—year period while driving or operating a commercial motor

vehicle or while driving or operating any motor vehicle if the person holds a

commercial driver license. The 120-day period of disqualification under this
paragraph shall be in addition to any other period of disqualification imposed under

this paragraph. In this paragraph, “serious traffic violations” means any of the

following offenses committed while operating a commercial motor vehicle, or any of

the following offenses committed while operating any motor vehicle if the offense

results in the revocation, cancellation, or suspension of the person’s operator’s

license or operating privilege:

*-1195/3.48* SECTION 2567. 343.315 (2) (f) 2. of the statutes is amended to
read:

343.315 (2) (f) 2. Violating any state or local law of this state or any law of a
federally recognized American Indian tribe or band in this state in conformity with
any state law or any law of another jurisdiction relating to motor vehicle traffic
control, arising in connection with a fatal accident, other than parking, vehicle

weight or vehicle defect violations, or violations described in par. (a) 8.

*~1195/3.49* SECTION 2568. 343.315 (2) () 6. of the statutes is created to read:
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343.315 (2) (f) 6. Operating a commercial motor vehicle when the person has
not obtained a commercial driver license.

*-~1195/3.50* SECTION 2569. 343.315 (2) (f) 7. of the statutes is created to read:

343.315 (2) (H) 7. Operating a commercial motor vehicle when the person does
not have in his or her immediate possession the person’s commercial driver license
document, including any special restrictions cards issued under s. 343.10 (7) (d) or
343.17 (4), unless the person produces in court or in the office of the law enforcement
officer that issued the citation, by the date that the person must appear in court or
pay any fine or forfeiture with respect to the citation, a commercial driver license
document issued to the person prior to the date of the citation and valid at the time
bof the citation.

*~1195/3.51* SECTION 2570. 343.315 (2) (P 8. of the statutes is created to read:

343.315 (2) (f) 8. Operating a commercial motor vehicle without the proper
class of commercial driver license or endorsements for the specific vehicle group
being operated or for the passengers or type of cargo being transported.

*b0062/1.78% SECTION 2570g. 343.315 (2) (h) of the statutes is amended to
read:

343.315 (2) (h) Except as provided in par. (i), a person is disqualified for a period
of 90 days from operating a commercial motor vehicle if convicted of an
out—of-service violation, or one year if convicted of 2 out—of-service violations, or 3
years if convicted of 3 or more out-of-service violations, arising from separate
occurrences committed within a 10—year period while driving or operating a
commercial motor vehicle. A disqualification under this paragraph shall be in

addition to any penalty imposed under s. 343.44. In this paragraph, “out—of-service
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violation” means violating s. 343.44 (1) (c) by operating a commercial motor vehicle

while the operator or vehicle is ordered out—of—service under state or federal law.

*b0272/2.14*% SECTION 2570m. 343.315 (2) (i) of the statutes is amended to

read:

343.315 (2) (i) If the violation listed in par. (h) occurred in the course of

transporting hazardous materials requiring placarding or any quantity of a material

listed as a select agent or toxin under 42 CR 73, or while operating a vehicle designed

to carry, or actually carrying, 16 or more passengers, including the driver, the person
shall be disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for 180 days upon
a first conviction, or for a 3—year period for a 2nd or subsequent conviction, arising
from separate occurrences committed within a 10—year period while driving or
operating a commercial motor vehicle. A disqualification under this paragraph shall
be in addition to any penalty imposed under s. 343.44.
*~1195/3.52* SECTION 2571. 343.315 (2) (k) of the statutes is created to read:
343.315 (2) (k) A person disqualified by federal authorities under 49 USC
31310 (f) and 49 CFR 383.52 on the basis that the person’s continued operation of a
commercial motor vehicle would create an imminent hazard, as defined in 49 USC
5102 and 49 CFR 383.5, is disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle
for the period of disqualification determined by the federal authority upon receipt by
the department of the notice of disqualification provided for in 49 CFR 383.52 (d).
*b0062/1.79* SECTION 2571y. 343.44 (1) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:
343.44 (1) (c) Operating while ordered out-of-service. No person may operate
a commercial motor vehicle while the person or the commercial motor vehicle is
ordered out—of—service under state or federal law.

*-1195/3.53* SECTION 2572. 343.44 (1) (d) of the statutes is amended to read:
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343.44 (1) (d) Operating while disqualified. No person may operate a
commercial motor vehicle while disqualified under s. 343.315 or 49 CFR 383.51,
under the law of another jurisdiction or Mexico that provides for disqualification of
commercial drivers in a manner similar to 49 CFR 383.51, or under a determination

by the federal highway motor carrier safety administration under the federal rules

of practice for motor carrier safety contained in 49 CFR 386 that the person is no
longer qualified to operate a vehicle under 49 CFR 391.

*~1195/3.54* SECTION 2573. 343.44 (2) (b) (intro.) of the statutes is amended
to read:

343.44 (2) (b) (intro.) Except as provided in par. (am), any person who violates
sub. (1) (b);£e) or (d) shall be fined not more than $2,500 or imprisoned for not more
than one year in the county jail or both. In imposing a sentence under this
paragraph, or a local ordinance in conformity with this paragraph, the court shall
review the record and consider the following:

*-1195/3.55* SECTION 2574. 343.44 (2) (bm) of the statutes is created to read:

343.44 (2) (bm) Any person who violates sub. (1) (c) shall be fined not less than
$1,100 nor more than $2,750 or imprisoned for not more than one year in the county
Jail or both. In imposing a sentence under this paragraph, the court shall review the
record and consider the factors specified in par. (b) 1. to 5.

*b0196/1.6* SECTION 2574h. 343.50 (4) of the statutes is amended to read:

343.50 (4) ApPLICATION. The application for an identification card shall include
any information required under ss. 85.103 (2) and 343.14 (2) (a), (b), (bm), (br), and

(em), and such further information as the department may reasonably require to

enable it to determine whether the applicant is entitled by law to an identification
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The department shall, as part of the application process, take a photograph of the
applicant to comply with sub. (3). No application may be processed without the
photograph being taken. Misrepresentations in violation of s. 343.14 (5) are
punishable as provided in s. 343.14 (9).

#-0529/4.225*% SECTION 2575. 344.185 (2) (e) 2. of the statutes is amended to
read:

344.185 (2) (e) 2. All other proceeds of the sale remaining after the payments
under subd. 1. shall be retained by the secretary of transportation and applied as
security for payment of judgments and assignments as provided under s. 344.20 (2).
Any amounts not used to pay judgments or assignments shall be transmitted to the
state-treasurer secretary of administration for deposit in the school fund..

*-0529/4.226* SECTION 2579. 345.08 of the statutes is amended to read:

345.08 Suit to recover protested tax or fee. No suit shall be maintained
in any court to restrain or delay the collection or payment of the taxes levied or the
fees imposed or enacted in chs. 341 to 349.The aggrieved taxpayer shall pay the tax
or fee as and when due and, if paid under protest, may at any time within 90 days
from the date of such payment sue the state in an action at law to recover the tax or
fee so paid. Ifit is finally determined that such tax or fee or any part thereof was
wrongfully collected for any reason, the department secretary of administration
shall issue-a-warrant-on-the state-treasurer for pay from the transportation fund the

amount of such tax or fee so adjudged to have been wrongfully collected and the state

. A separate suit need not
be filed for each separate payment made by any taxpayer, but a recovery may be had

in one suit for as many payments as were made within the 90—day period preceding
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SECTION 2579

the commencement of the action. Such suits shall be commenced as provided in s.

775.01.

*b0272/2.15*% SECTION 2579m. 345.11 (2m) (b) of the statutes is amended to

read:

345.11 (2m) (b) Whether the vehicle was transporting hazardous materials

requiring placarding or any quantity of a material listed as a select agent or toxin

under 42 CFR 73.

#-0529/4.227* SECTION 2580. 346.177 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

346.177 (3) If any deposit is made for an offense to which this section applies,
the person making the deposit shall also deposit a sufficient amount to include the
railroad crossing improvement assessment under this section. If the deposit is
forfeited, the amount of the railroad crossing improvement assessment shall be
transmitted to the state-treasurer secretary of administration under sub. (4). If the
deposit is returned, the amount of the railroad crossing improvement assessment ‘
shall also be returned.

*-0529/4.228* SECTION 2581. 346.177 (4) of the statutes is amended to read:

346.177 (4) The clerk of the circuit court shall collect and transmit to the county
treasurer the railroad crossing improvement assessment as required under s. 59.40
(2) (m). The county treasurer shall then pay the state—treasurer secretary of
administration as provided in s. 59.25 (3) (f) 2. The state-treasurer secretary of
administration shall deposit all amounts received under this subsection in the
transportation fund to be appropriated under s. 20.395 (2) (gj).

*~0529/4.229* SECTION 2583. 346.495 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

346.495 (3) If any deposit is made for an offense to which this section applies,

the person making the deposit shall also deposit a sufficient amount to include the
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SECTION 2583

railroad crossing improvement assessment under this section. If the deposit is
forfeited, the amount of the railroad crossing improvement assessment shall be
transmitted to the state-treasurer secretary of administration under sub. (4). If the
deposit is returned, the amount of the railroad crossing improvement assessment
shall also be returned.

*~0529/4.230* SECTION 2584. 346.495 (4) of the statutes is amended to read:

346.495 (4) The clerk of the circuit court shall collect and transmit to the county
treasurer the railroad crossing improvement assessment as required under s. 59.40
(2) (m). The county treasurer shall then pay the statetreasurer secretary of
administration as provided in s. 59.25 (3) (f) 2. The state-treasurer secretary of
administration shall deposit all amounts received under this subsection in the
transportation fund to be appropriated under s. 20.395 (2) (gj).

*-0529/4.231* SECTION 2588. 346.65 (4r) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:

346.65 (4r) (c) If any deposit is made for an offense to which this subsection
applies, the person making the deposit shall also deposit a sufficient amount to
include the railroad crossing improvement assessment under this subsection. If the
deposit is forfeited, the amount of the railroad crossing improvement assessment
shall be transmitted to the state-treasurer secretary of administration under par. (d).
If the deposit is returned, the amount of the railroad crossing improvement
assessment shall also be returned.

*~-0529/4.232* SECTION 2589. 346.65 (4r) (d) of the statutes is amended to read:

346.65 (4r) (d) The clerk of the circuit court shall collect and transmit to the
county treasurer the railroad crossing improvement assessment as required under
s. 59.40 (2) (m). The county treasurer shall then pay the state-treasurer secretary

of administration as provided in s. 59.25 (3) (f) 2. The state-treasurer secretary of
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SECTION 2589

administration shall deposit all amounts received under this paragraph in the
transportation fund to be appropriated under s. 20.395 (2) (gj).

*~0529/4.233* SECTION 2590. 346.655 (2) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

346.655 (2) (a) Except as provided in par. (b), the clerk of court shall collect and
transmit the amount under sub. (1) to the county treasurer as provided in s. 59.40
(2) (m). The county treasurer shall then make payment of 38.5% of the amount to
the state-treasurer secretary of administration as provided in s. 59.25 (3) (f) 2.

*-0529/4.234* SECTION 2591. 346.655 (2) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

346.655 (2) (b) Ifthe forfeiture is imposed by a municipal court, the court shall
transmit the amount to the treasurer of the county, city, town, or village, and that
treasurer shall make payment of 38.5% of the amount to the state-treasurer
secretary of administration as provided in s. 66.0114 (1) (bm). The treasurer of the
city, town, or village shall transmit the remaining 61.5% of the amount to the
treasurer of the county.

*-0529/4.235% SECTION 2592. 346.655 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

346.655 (3) All moneys collected from the driver improvement surcharge that
are transmitted to the county treasurer under sub. (2) (a) or (b), except the amounts
that the county treasurer is required to transmit to the state-treasurer secretary of
administration under sub. (2) (a) or (b), shall be retained by the county treasurer and
disbursed to the county department under s. 51.42 for services under s. 51.42 for
drivers referred through assessment.

*~1190/1.1* SECTION 2594. 348.25 (8) (a) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:

348.25 (8) (a) 1. For a vehicle or combination of vehicles which exceeds length

limitations, $15, except that if the application for a permit for a vehicle described in
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SECTION 2594

this subdivision is submitted to the department after December 31, 1999, and before
July 1, 2003 2005, the fee is $17.

*~1190/1.2* SECTION 2595. 348.25 (8) (a) 2. of the statutes is amended to read:

348.25 (8) (a) 2. For a vehicle or combination of vehicles which exceeds either
width limitations or height limitations, $20, except that if the application for a
permit for a vehicle described in this subdivision is submitted to the department
after December 31, 1999, and before July 1, 2003 2005, the fee is $22.

*~1190/1.3* SECTION 2596. 348.25 (8) (a) 2m. of the statutes is amended to
read:

348.25 (8) (a) 2m. For a vehicle or combination of vehicles which exceeds both
width and height limitations, $25, except that if the application for a permit for a
vehicle described in this subdivision is submitted to the department after
December 31, 1999, and before July 1, 2003 2005, the fee is $28.

*-1190/1.4* SECTION 2597. 348.25 (8) (b) 1. of the statutes is amended to read:

348.25 (8) (b) 1. For a vehicle or combination of vehicles which exceeds length
limitations, $60, except that if the application for a permit for a vehicle described in
this subdivision is submitted to the department after December 31, 1999, and before
July 1, 2003 2005, the fee is $66.

*-~1190/1.5* SECTION 2598. 348.25 (8) (b) 2. of the statutes is amended to read:

348.25 (8) (b) 2. For a vehicle or combination of vehicles which exceeds width
limitations or height limitations or both, $90, except that if the application for a
permit for a vehicle described in this subdivision is submitted to the department
after December 31, 1999, and before July 1, 2003 2005, the fee is $99.

*-1190/1.6* SECTION 2599. 348.25 (8) (b) 3. a. of the statutes is amended to

read:



10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25

2003 — 2004 Legislature — 987 - ALLLREJSJ%%,%

SECTION 2599

348.25 (8) (b) 3. a. Ifthe gross weight is 90,000 pounds or less, $200, except that
if the application for a permit for a vehicle described in this subd. 8. a. is submitted
to the department after December 31, 1999, and before July 1, 2003 2005, the fee is
$220.

*~1190/1.7* SECTION 2600. 348.25 (8) (b) 3. b. of the statutes is amended to
read:

348.25 (8) (b) 3. b. If the gross weight is more than 90,000 pounds but not more
than 100,000 pounds, $350, except that if the application for a permit for a vehicle
described in this subd. 8. b. is submitted to the department after December 31, 1999,
and before July 1, 2003 2005, the fee is $385.

*-1190/1.8* SECTION 2601. 348.25 (8) (b) 3. c. of the statutes is amended to
read:

348.25 (8) (b) 3. c. Ifthe gross weight is greater than 100,000 pounds, $350 plus
$100 for each 10,000—pound increment or fraction thereof by which the gross weight
exceeds 100,000 pounds, except that if the application for a permit for a vehicle
described in this subd. 3. c. is submitted to the department after December 31, 1999,
and before July 1, 2003 2005, the fee is $385 plus $110 for each 10,000—pound
increment or fraction thereof by which the gross weight exceeds 100,000 pounds.

*-1190/1.9* SECTION 2602. 348.25 (8) (bm) 1. of the statutes is amended to
read:

348.25 (8) (bm) 1. Unless a different fee is specifically provided, the fee for a
consecutive month permit is one—twelfth of the fee under par. (b) for an annual
permit times the number of months for which the permit is desired, plus $15 for each
permit issued. This subdivision does not apply to applications for permits submitted

after December 31, 1999, and before July 1, 2003 2005.
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*-1190/1.10* SECTION 2603. 348.25 (8) (bm) 2. of the statutes is amended to
read:

348.25 (8) (bm) 2. Unless a different fee is specifically provided, the fee for a
consecutive month permit is one—twelfth of the fee under par. (b) for an annual
permit times the number of months for which the permit is desired, plus $16.50 for
each permit issued, rounded to the nearest whole dollar. This subdivision does not
apply to applications submitted before January 1, 2000, or submitted after
June 30, 2003 2005.

*-1229/2.3* SECTION 2604. 348.25 (8) (e) of the statutes is amended to read:

348.25 (8) (e) The officer or agency authorized to issue a permit under s. 348.26
or 348.27 may require any applicant for a permit under s. 348.26 or 348.27 to pay the
cost of any special investigation undertaken to determine whether a permit should

be approved or denied and to pay an additional fee of-$5 established by the

department by rule per permit if a department telephone call-in procedure or

Internet procedure is used. The fee shall approximate the cost to the department for

providing this service to persons so requesting.
*-0529/4.236* SECTION 2605. 349.04 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

349.04 (3) If any deposit is made for an offense to which this section applies,
the person making the deposit shall also deposit a sufficient amount to include the
truck driver education assessment under this section. If the deposit is forfeited, the
amount of the truck driver education assessment shall be transmitted to the state
treasurer secretary of administration under sub. (4). If the deposit is returned, the
amount of the truck driver education assessment shall also be returned.

*~0529/4.237* SECTION 2606. 349.04 (4) of the statutes is amended to read:
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349.04 (4) The clerk of the circuit court shall collect and transmit to the county
treasurer the truck driver education assessment as required under s. 59.40 (2) (m).
The county treasurer shall then pay the state treasurer secretary of administration
as provided in s. 59.25 (3) (f) 2. The statetreasurer secretary of administration shall
deposit all amounts received under this subsection in the general fund to be credited
to the appropriation account under s. 20.292 (1) (hm).

*-0529/4.238* SECTION 2607. 350.115 (1) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:

350.115(1) (¢) If any\deposit 1s made for an offense to which this section applies,
the person making the deposit shall also deposit a sufficient amount to include the
snowmobile registration restitution payment prescribed in this section. If the
deposit is forfeited, the amount of the snowmobile registration restitution payment
shall be transmitted to the state-treasurer secretary of administration under par. (d).
If the deposit is returned, the snowmobile registration restitution payment shall also
be returned.

#~0529/4.239* SECTION 2608. 350.115 (1) (d) of the statutes is amended to read:

350.115 (1) (d) The clerk of the court shall collect and transmit to the county
treasurer the snowmobile registration restitution payment and other amounts
required under s. 59.40 (2) (m). The county treasurer shall then make payment to
the state-treasurer secretary of administration as provided in s. 59.25 (3) (f) 2.

*b0322/2.3* SECTION 2608m. 350.12 (4) (b) (intro.) of the statutes is amended
to read:

350.12 (4) (b) Trail aids and related costs. (intro.) The moneys appropriated
under s. 20.370 (1) (mq) and (5) (cb), (ck), (cr), (cs), and (cw) shall be used for
development and maintenance, the cooperative snowmobile sign program, major

reconstruction or rehabilitation to improve bridges on existing approved trails, trail
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SECTION 2608m

rehabilitation, signing of snowmobile routes, and state snowmobile trails and areas
and distributed as follows:

#~0529/4.240* SECTION 2616. 351.07 (1g) of the statutes is amended to read:

351.07 (1g) No person may file a petition for an occupational license under sub.
(1) unless he or she first pays a fee of $40 to the clerk of the circuit court. The clerk
of the circuit court shall give the person a receipt and forward the fee to the county
treasurer. That treasurer shall pay 50% of the fee to the state-treasurer secretary
of administration under s. 59.25 (3) (m) and retain the balance for the use of the
county.

*-1431/2.42* SECTION 2618. 552.23 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

552.23 (1) If the target company is an insurance company subject to regulation
by the commissioner of insurance, a banking corporation subjeet-to-regulation by the
division-of banking;a-, savings bank, or savings and loan association subject to
regulation by the division of savings-institutions banking, or a company subject to
regulation by the public service commission, the department of transportation, or the
office of the commissioner of railroads, the division of securities shall promptly
furnish a copy of the registration statement filed under this chapter to the regulatory
agency having supervision of the target company. Any hearing under this chapter
involving any such target company shall be held jointly with the regulatory agency
having supervision, and any determination following the hearing shall be made
Jointly with that regulatory agency.

*b0105/3.7* SECTION 2618t. 560.031 of the statutes is repealed.

*~1634/7.63* SECTION 2619. 560.045 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:
560.045 (1)
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SECTION 2619

rehabilitation-grant-program: To the extent allowed under federal law or regulation,

the department shall give priority in the awarding of grants under the housing

programs to grants for projects related to the redevelopment of brownfields, as

defined in s. 560.60 (1v).

*b0101/2.2* SECTION 2624d. 560.25 (2) (intro.) of the statutes, as affected by

2001 Wisconsin Act 16, is amended to read:
560.25 (2) GRANTS. (intro.) Subject to sub. (4), the department may make a

grant from the appropriation under s—20.143 (1) (ko) s. 20.143 (1) (f) to a

technology—based nonprofit organization to provide support for a manufacturing
extension center if all of the following apply:
*~1877/2.7* SECTION 2628. 560.62 (2m) of the statutes is repealed.
*b0385/1.1* SECTION 2628c. 560.795 (3) (a) 4. and 5. of the statutes are
consolidated, renumbered 560.795 (3) (a) 4. and amended to read:

560.795 (3) (a) 4. Any person that is conducting or that intends to conduct

economic activity in a development opportunity zone under sub. (1) (e) and-that in

or (f)

and that, in conjunction with the local governing body of the city in which the

development opportunity zone is located, submits a project plan as described in par.
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(b) to the department shall be entitled to claim tax benefits while the area is
designated as a development opportunity zone.

*b0105/3.8* SECTION 2628fd. 560.80 (4) of the statutes is amended to read:

560.80 (4) “Eligible development project costs” means costs that, in accordance
with sound business and financial practices, are appropriately incurred in
connection with a development project or-a-reeyeling development projeet, but does
not include entertainment expenses or expenses incurred more than 6 months before
the board approves a grant or loan under s. 560.83 ox-560.-835.

*b0105/3.8* SECTION 2628ff. 560.80 (5) of the statutes is amended to read:

560.80 (5) “Eligible recipient” means a person who is eligible to receive a grant
under s. 560.82 (5) (a) or 560.837 or a grant or loan under s. 560.83 (5) (a) or (b) ex
560-835.

*b0105/3.8* SECTION 2628fh. 560.80 (11) of the statutes is amended to read:

560.80 (11) “Project” means a development project, areeyeling development

projeet; an early planning project, a finance project, an education and training
project or a revolving fund project.
*b0105/3.8* SECTION 2628fj. 560.80 (12) of the statutes is repealed.
*b0105/3.8* SECTION 2628fL. 560.81 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:
560.81 (2) The boai'd awards a grant or loan to the eligible recipient or local
development corporation under ss. 560.83 (1) and 560.84 or to the eligible recipient
under 85—560.835-and s. 560.84.
*b0105/3.8* SECTION 2628fn. 560.81 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:
560.81 (3) The board awards a grant or loan to the local development
corporation under s. 560.83 (2) er-560.835.
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SECTION 2628fp

*b0105/3.8* SECTION 2628fp. 560.82 (2) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to
read:

560.82 (2) (intro.) The department may not award a grant under sub. (1) ers-
560-835-(6) unless the eligible recipient submits an application, in a form required
by the department, that contains or describes all of the following:

*b0105/3.8* SECTION 2628fr. 560.82 (3) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to
read:

560.82 (3) (intro.) An eligible recipient who receives a grant under sub. (1) or

s. 560.835 (6), 2001 stats., may only use the proceeds of the grant for the following

purposes:
*b0105/3.8* SECTION 2628ft. 560.82 (4) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
560.82 (4) (b) Award, to any one eligible recipient or for any one early planning
project, grants under sub. (1) or-s-560.835(6) that total more than $15,000.
*b0105/3.8* SECTION 2628fv. 560.82 (5) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:
560.82 (5) (a) The department may only award grants under sub. (1) ers.
560-835-(6) to individuals who are minority group members and residents of this
state.
*b0105/3.8* SECTION 2628gd. 560.835 of the statutes is repealed.
*b0105/3.8* SECTION 2628gf. 560.84 (1) (b) 1. of the statutes is amended to
read:
560.84 (1) (b) 1. If an early planning project under s. 560.82 6r-560.835(6), that
the project will increase employment in this state.

*b0105/3.8* SECTION 2628gh. 560.84 (1) (b) 2. of the statutes is amended to

read:
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560.84 (1) (b) 2. If a development project orreeyeling development projeet, that

the project will retain or increase employment in this state.

*b0105/3.8* SECTION 2628gj. 560.84 (1) (e) 1. of the statutes is amended to

read:
560.84 (1) (e) 1. For grants funding early planning projects under s. 560.82 or

560-835-6), not less than 25% of the cost of the project. Up to 50% of the contribution

under this subdivision may be in the form of the in-kind services of a qualified 3rd

party or qualified 3rd parties. The department shall determine what services may
be used as in—kind contributions and whether a 3rd party is qualified, for purposes
of this subdivision.

*b0105/3.8* SECTION 2628gL. 560.84 (1) (e) 2. of the statutes is amended to
read:

560.84 (1) (e) 2. For grants and loans funding development projects orreeyeling
developmentprejeets, a cash contribution of not less than 25% of the cost of the
project.

*b0105/3.8* SECTION 2628gn. 560.84 (1) (f) of the statutes is amended to read:

560.84 (1) (f) That the project meets all criteria set forth in s. 560.82, 560.83,
560835 or 560.837, whichever is appropriate.

*b0105/3.8* SECTION 2628gp. 560.84 (1) (j) of the statutes is amended to read:

560.84 (1) (j) If a development project; reeyeling development-projeet, finance
project, or education and training project, that funds from the grant or loan will not
be used to refinance existing debt.

*b0105/3.8* SECTION 2628gr. 560.84 (2) (a) 1. of the statutes is amended to

read:
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560.84 (2) (a) 1. If an early planning project under s. 560.82 or-560.835-(6), the
extent to which the project will increase employment in this state.

*b0105/3.8% SECTION 2628gt. 560.84 (2) (a) 2. of the statutes is amended to
read:

560.84 (2) (a) 2. If a development project or-reeyeling development-prejeet, the
extent to which the project will retain or increase employment in this state.

*b0105/3.8* SECTION 2628gv. 560.84 (2) (c) (intro.) of the statutes is amended

to read:

560.84 (2) (c) (intro.) If a development project-orreeyeling-development projeet,
whether the project will be located in any or all of the following: |

*b0105/3.8* SECTION 2628gx. 560.84 (2) (f) of the statutes is amended to read:

560.84 (2) (f) If a development project or-reeyeling development projeet, the
financial soundness of the minority business involved in the project and the
commitment of the eligible recipient to repay the loan or grant.

*b0105/3.8* SECTION 2628hd. 560.85 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

560.85 (2) The board shall develop a policy governing the repayment of grants
and loans made under s. 560.83 6x-560.835. The board or department shall deposit
moneys received in repayment of grants and loans under s. 560.83 in the
appropriation under s. 20.143 (1) (im).

*b0105/3.8* SECTION 2628hf. 560.85 (3) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

560.85 (3) (a) Develop procedures to evaluate applications and monitor project

performance for grants awarded for early planning projects under s. 560.82 or s.

560.835 (6), 2001 stats.

*b0105/3.8* SECTION 2628hh. 560.85 (3) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
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560.85 (3) (b) Develop procedures, with the approval of the board, to evaluate
applications, monitor project performance and audit grants and loans awarded for

development projects under s. 560.83, reeyeling—development projects under s.

560.835, 2001 stats., and finance projects and education and training projects under
S. 56‘0.837 .

*b0318/1.3* SECTION 2628m. 560.87 (6) of the statutes is repealed.

*~0529/4.241* SECTION 2629. 562.02 (1) (g) of the statutes is amended to read:

562.02 (1) (g) At least once every 3 months, file a written report on the operation
of racing in this state with the governor, the attorney general, the state-treasurer
secretary of administration, the secretary of state, the legislative audit bureau, the
president of the senate, and the speaker of the assembly. The report shall include
information on racetrack operations, race attendance, and private, state, and local
revenues derived from racing in this state.

*b0334/1.1* SECTION 2629d. 562.057 (4m) (b) of the statutes is repealed.

*b0334/1.1* SECTION 2629e. 562.057 (4m) (bm) of the statutes is created to
read:

562.057 (4m) (bm) Wagering on simulcast races will be conducted at the
racetrack only as an adjunct to, and not in a manner that will supplant, wagering on
live on—track racing at that racetrack, and wagering on simulecast races will not be
the primary source of wagering revenue at that racetrack.

*b0246/3.2* SECTION 2630g. 565.25 (1m) of the statutes is renumbered 565.25
(1m) (a) and amended to read:

565.25 (1m) (a) Subject to approval by the secretary of revenue, the
administrator may determine whether lottery functions shall be performed by

department of revenue employees or by one or more persons under contract with the
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department of administration, except that ne a contract may provide for the entire

management of the lottery or for the entire operation of the lottery, other than

s

services described in par. (c), by any a private person only if the joint committee on

finance approves the contract, subject to par. (b), under s. 13.10. The department of

administration may contract for management consultation services to assist in the
management or operation of the lottery.

(c) The department of administration may not contract for financial auditing
or security monitoring services, except that, if the department of administration
delegates under s. 16.71 (1) fo the department of revenue the authority to make a
major procurement, the department of revenue may contract with the department
of administration for warehouse and building protection services relating to the state
lottery.

(d) If the department of administration delegates under s. 16.71 (1) to the
department of revenue the authority to make a major procurement, the department
of revenue shall assume the powers and duties of the department of administration
and the administrator shall assume the powers and duties of the secretary of
administration under this section and ss. 16.70 to 16.7 7, except under ss. 16.72 (4)
(a), 16.76 (1) and 16.77 (1).

*b0246/3.2* SECTION 2630h. 565.25 (1m) (b) of the statutes is created to read:

565.25 (1m) (b) The joint committee on finance may not approve a contract
providing for the entire management of the lottery or for the entire operation of the
lottery by any private person unless the departments of administration and revenue
first jointly submit to the joint committee on finance a lottery privatization plan
describing all of the following:

1. What functions the private person would perform under the contract.
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2. What management authority the private person would have with respect to
lottery advertising, prize payout levels, and any lottery function that the state would
perform if the contract were approved.

3. How the private person would interact with other lottery vendors.

4. Whether the contract would require some form of profit sharing and, if so,
a description of the profit-sharing mechanism.

5. A transition plan to ensure the successful conversion of the lottery to new
management, including a schedule for phasing out state positions and a rationale for
the number and classification of state positions that would be needed after the
conversion. |

*~1704/1.4* SECTION 2631. 565.25 (2) (a) 4. of the statutes is repealed and
recreated to read:

565.25 (2) (a) 4. The administrator shall develop specifications for major
procurements. If security is a factor in the materials, supplies, equipment, property,
or services to be purchased in any major procurement, then invitations for bids or
competitive sealed proposals shéll include specifications related to security. The
administrator shall submit specifications for major procurement to the secretary of
revenue for review and approval before the department of administration releases
the specifications in invitations for bids or competitive sealed proposals. The
department of administration shall require separate bids or separate competitive
sealed proposals for management consultation services if the services are provided

under contract as provided in sub. (1m) (a).
*-0529/4.242% SECTION 2632. 565.37 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:
565.37 (3) DEPARTMENT REPORT. The department shall submit quarterly reports

on the operation of the lottery to the chief clerk of each house of the legislature, for
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distribution to the legislature under s. 13.172 (2) and to the governor, attorney

general, state-treasurer secretary of administration, secretary of state, and state

auditor.
*b0314/1.1* SECTION 2633m. 569.06 of the statutes is amended to read:
569.06 Indian gaming receipts. Indian gaming receipts shall be credited to
the appropriation accounts under ss. 20.455 (2) (gc) and 20.505 (8) (h) and-(hm) as

specified under ss. 20.455 (2) (gc) and 20.505 (8) (h) and-thm). Indian gaming receipts

shall be credited to the appropriation account under s. 20.505 (8) (hm) in the amount

necessary to make the transfers specified under s. 20.505 (8) (hm). Indian gaming

receipts not otherwise credited to appropriation accounts under this section shall be

paid into the general fund.

*~0529/4.243* SECTION 2635. 601.13 (1) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to
read:

601.13 (1) RECEIPT OF DEPOSITS. (intro.) Subject to the approval of the
commissioner, the state-treasurer secretary of administration shall accept deposits
or control of acceptable book—entry accounts from insurers and other licensees of the
office as follows:

*-0529/4.244* SECTION 2636. 601.13 (3) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to
read:

601.13 (3) SECURITIES ELIGIBLE. (intro.) All deposits may consist of any of the
securities authorized in this subsection. Each security must be approved by the
commissioner, must be subject to disposition by the state treasurer secretary of
administration, and must not be available to any other person except as expressly
provided by law. The authorized securities are:

*-0529/4.245% SECTION 2637. 601.13 (5) of the statutes is amended to read:



10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24

25

LRBs0107/1
2003 — 2004 Legislature —1000— ALL:ALL:ALL

SECTION 2637

601.13 (5) RECEIPT, INSPECTION, AND RECORD. The state-treasurer secretary of
administration shall deliver to the depositor a receipt for all securities deposited or
held under the control of the state-treasurer secretary of administration and shall
permit the depositor to inspect its physically held securities at any reasonable time.
On application of the depositor the-treasurer secretary of administration shall certify
when required by any law of the United States or of any other state or foreign country
or by the order of any court of competent jurisdiction that the deposit was made. The
treasurer secretary of administration and the commissioner shall each keep a
permanent record of securities deposited or held under the control of the state
treasurer secretary of administration and of any substitutions or withdrawals and
shall compare records at least annually.

*-0529/4.246* SECTION 2638. 601.13 (6) of the statutes is amended to read:

601.13 (6) TRANSFER OF SECURITIES. No transfer of a deposited security, whether
voluntary or by operation of law, is valid unless approved in writing by the
commissioner and countersigned by the treasurer secretary of administration.

*~0529/4.247* SECTION 2639. 601.13 (8) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to
read:

601.13 (8) INTEREST AND SUBSTITUTIONS. (intro.) Subject to s. 14.58(13) 16.401
(11), a depositor shall, while solvent and complying with the laws of this state, be
entitled:

*-0529/4.248* SECTION 2640. 601.13 (11) of the statutes is amended to read:

601.13 (11) ADVANCE DEPOSIT OF FEES. With the approval of the commissioner,
any person required to pay fees or assessments to the state through the
commissioner may make a deposit with the treasurer secretary of administration

from which the fees or assessments shall be paid on order of the commissioner not



