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, AN Act ..; relating to: possession of methamphetamine and providing a penalty.

State of Wisconsin
2003 - 2004 LEGISLATURE LRB-O780/P1
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- PRELIMINARY DRAFT - NOT READY FOR INTRODUCTION

B a8

(e

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau -

Current law prohibits the posse ‘}on or the attempted possession of the
control};d substance methamphetamine!” A person who violates this prohibition on
or after February 1, 2003, may be fined not more than $5,000 or imprisoned for not
more than one year in the county jail or both, unless, before committing the offense,
the person had been convicted of any crime under any federal or state law relating .
to controlled substances. In that case, the person may be fined not more than $10,000 ;
or imprisened for not more than three and 8 jhalf years (with the term of confinement
being served in a state prison, if the sentence 1mposed is for more than one year) or
both. Under this bill, the maximum term of i 1mpnsonmen for possession or
attempted possession of methamphetamme is increased to six‘years.

Because this bill creates a new crime or revises a penalty for an existing cnme,
the Joint Review Committee on Criminal Penalties may be requested to prepare a
report concerning the proposed penalty and the costs or savings that are likely to
result if the bill is enacted.

For further information see the state and local fiscal estimate, wh1ch will be
printed as an appendix to this b111

The people of the state of Wisconsm, represented in senaie and assembly, do
enact as follows:

SEcTION 1. 961.41 (3g) (b) of the statutes, as affected by 2001 Wisconsin Act

109, is amended to read:
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SECTION 1

961.41 (3g) (b) Other drugs generally. Except as providea in pars. (c);{d);(e)
and (B to (2), if the person possesses or attempts to possess a controlled substance
or contrc)ll»e:d substaﬁce analog, other than a controlled substance included in
schedule I or IT that is a narcotic drug or a controlled substance analog of a controlled
substance included in schedule I or II that is a narcotic drug, the person is guilty of

» (%4 - W (3] =t

a misdemeanor, punishable unders. 939.61.

History: 1971c 219,307; 1973 c. 12 1981 c. 90, 314; 1985 a. 328 19 &339 403; 1989 a. 31, 56 121 1991 a. 39; 138; 1993 a. 98, 118, 437, 482; 1995 a. 201; 1995
a. 448 ss. 243 to 266, 487!0490 Stats. 1995 5, 961.41; 1997 a. 220,28 32,48,57; 2001 a. 1 09

SECTION 2. 961.41 (3g) (d) of the statutes, as affected by 2001 Wisconsin Act

(o o]

109 is amended to read:

9 961.41 (3g) (d) Certain hallucinogenic and stimulant drugs. If a person
10 possesses or attempts to possess lysergic acid diethylamide, phencyclidjne,
11 amphetamine, methamphatamine,fnethcathinone, psilocin or peilocybin, or a
©12 - controlled substance analog of lysergic acid diethylamide, phencyclidine,
13 amphetamine,\{nethamphetamiﬂe; methcathinone, psilocin or psilocybin, the person
14‘ may be fined not more than $5,000 or imprisoned for not more than one year in fhe

15 county jail or both upon a first conviction and is guilty of a Class I felony for a 2nd

16 or subsequent offense. For purposes of this paragraph, an offense is considered a 2nd
17 or subsequent offense if, prior to the offender’s conviction of the offense, the offender
18 has at any time been convicted of any felony or misdemeanor under this chapter or

19  under any statute of the United States or of any state relating to controlled
20 substances, controlled substance analogs, narcotic drugs, marijuana, or depressant,
21 stimulant, or hallucinogenic drugé.

History: 1971 c. 219, 307; 1973 c. 12; 1981 c. 90, 314; 19851328 1987 a. 339, 403; 1989 a. 31, 56, 121 1991 a. 39; 138; 1993 a. 98, 118, 437 482; 1995 a. 201; 1995
8. 448 5. 243 t0 266, 487 to 490; Stats. 1995 5. 961.41; 1997 999 a. 21, 32,48572001& , 109,

22 SECTION 3. 961 41 (3g) (g) of the statutes is created to read:
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MGD........

SECTION 3
1 961.41 (3g) (9) Methamphetamine. Ifa persou possesses or attemuts to possess
2 methamphetamme or a controlled substance analog\/of methamphetamme the
3 person is guilty of a Class H‘felony
4 _ SECTION 4. 961. 472 2) of the statutes, as affected by 2001 Wisconsin Act 109,
5 is amended to read:
6 961.472 (2) Except as provided in sub. (5), if a person pleads guilty or ts found
7 guilty of possession or attempted possession ofa controlled substance or controlled
8 substance analog under s. 961.4i (3g) (am), (v), v, (d), M‘/the court shall order the
9 person to comply with»an assessment of the person’s use of controlled substances. |

10 The court’s order shall designate a facility that is operated by or pursuant to a
11 contract with the couuty department established under s. 51.42 and that is certified
12 by the department of health and family sei'vices' to -proﬁde assessment services to
13 perform the assessment and, if appropriate, to develop a proposed treatment plan.
>14 The court shall notify the person that noncompliance with the order limits the court’s
15 ability to determine whether the treatment option under s. ‘961.47 5 is appropriate.

16 The court shall also notify the person of the fee provisions under s. 46.03 (18) (fm).

History: 1985 a. 328; 1987 a. 339; 1980 a. 121 1993 a. 118‘¢95 a. 27 5. 9126 (19); 1995 8.448! 286; Stats. 1995 5. 961.472; 1999 a. 48; 2001 a. 109.
23 SECTION 5. 961.48 (5) of the statutes is created to read

24 961.48 (5) This section does no;\ it the felony with which the person is charged
V.
5 under sub. (2m) is a felony under s. 961. 41 (3g)

26 SECTION 6. 961.55 (1) (d) 3\€f the statutes, as aﬁ'ected by 2001 Wisconsin Act
27 | 109, is amended to read:
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) n.48 57, 110; 2001 a..109.

19

13
14
| 15
16
17
18

25

SECTION 6

961.55 (1) (d) 3. A vehlcle is not subject to forfelture for a v101at10n of s. 961.41.
(3g) (b)—(e)—édé—(ehr—éﬂ to (g); and

ry: 1971 c. 219, 307; 1981 c. 267; 1985 a. 245, 328 1987 a. 339 1989 a. 121;-1993 a. 118, 482; 1995 a. 448 ss. 297 to 305; Stats. 1995 5. 961.55; 1997 a. 220; 1999

SECTION 7. 971.365 (1) (c) of the statutes, as affected by 2001 Wisconsin Act 109,
is amended to read:

971.365 (1) (c) In any case under s. 961.41 (3g) (a) 2., 1999 stats., or s. 961.41
(3g) (dm), 1999 stats., or s. 961.41 (3g) (am), (c), (d), ex (e),g‘_(g)\i/nvolving more than
one violation, all violations may be prosecutéd as a single crime if the violations were

pursuant to a single intent and design.

as.ameqded eff. 2~1-03 by 2001 Wis. A¥.109. Prior to 2-1-03 it feads:NOTE:

(d), (dm) (e) involving more than one all violations may be ted 354 single crime ti
were pursuant t4 a single/ntent and design.

/1987 a. 339; 1989 a. 121; 1993 a. 98, 113/90 1995 a. 448; 1999 a. 48; 2001 a. 109,

SECTION 8. 971.365 (2) of the statutes, as affected by 2001 Wisconsin Act 109,
is amended to read:

971.365 (2) An acquittal or conviction under sub. (1) does not bar a subsequent
prosecution for any acts in violation of 8. 961.41 (1) (em), 1999 stats., s. 961.41 (1m)
(em), 1999 stats., s. 961.41 (3g) (a) 2., 1999 stats., or s‘. 961.41 (3g) (dm), 1999 stats.,
or s. 961.41 (1) (cm), (@), (e), ), @), or (h), (1m) (cm), (), (¢), (), (g), or (h) or (3g) (am),
(c), (d), or (e),_ﬂg)%)n which no evidence was received at the trial on the original

charge.

or 80 2-1-03 it reads:NOTE:

bs prosecution for anj\acts in yi6lation of 5. 961.41 ( (cm),
p 0 dmn).g whlchnoevideneemnu ved 6t the trial on the origins

History: 19855.328 1987 a. 339; 19891121 1993&98 118, 490, 19953.448 1999 a. 48; 2001 2. 109.
" SECTION 9. Effective date.

{4, (€), (em), (0, ® Ot

v ,
(1) This act takes effect on February 1, 2003, or on the day after publication,

whichever is la{;er.

D-O0te
"




DRAFTER’S NOTE LRB-0780/P1dn
FROM THE MGD:..:...
LEGISLATIVE REFERENCE BUREAU .

Aokt g

Kevin: Q)‘\SCD“E’\ﬁ

1. In order to penalize second or subsequent offenses in the/same way as first offenses,

I'had to address what appears to be a drafting error in 2001/Act 109. Under the current

version of s. 961.48 (as well as under Act 109’s revisions of it, which take effect on .
February 1, 2003), many second offenses are subject to higher penalt:es soin keepmg

with your instructions I needed to create an exception in that statute for possessmn of
methamphetamine. But,if that exception had only referred to possession of A
methamphetamme, it m1ght support the position that s. 961.48 applies to other simple
possession felonies — even those based on the application of a separate penalty
enhancer for repeat offenses. See,e.g., 8.961.41 (3g) (¢) (making the second offense for -
possession of cocaine a Class I felony). I believe that that result would be inconsistent A
with the intent of the Criminal Penalties Study Committee, which appears to have dxé}’
intended to provide higher penalties for second simple possession offenses vnth\lfn_tLJ
possession statute itself and to have the higher penalties there apply only to¥three

types of offenses (s. 961.41 (3g) (c), (d), and (e)). See Criminal Penalties Study
Committee Final Report at 79, http:/www.doa.state.wi.us/docs_view?2. asp‘?doc1d-42

at 98. Therefore, the new exceptlon in s. 961.48 refers to all of the simple possession
felomes

2. In many respects)l treated the possession of methamphetamine under this bill in
the same way that it had been treated by 1999 Wisconsin Act 48. For example, if a
person is convicted of possessing methamphetamine, the bill requires the court to order
an assessment of the persons use of controlled substances. See s. 961.472 (2) (which,
until February 1, 2003, includes a cross-reference to s. 961.41 (3g) (dm)"— the
methamphetamme proh1b1t10n repealed by 2001 Wlsconsm Act 109). Is that okay?

Michael Dsida
Legislative Attorney
_ Phone: (608) 266-9867




DRAFTER’S NOTE LRB-0780/P1dn
FROM THE MGD:jld:pg
LEGISLATIVE REFERENCE BUREAU :

December 16, 2002

Kevin:

1. In order to penalize second or subsequent offenses in the same way as first offenses,
I had to address what appears to be a drafting error in 2001 Wisconsin Act 109. Under
the current version of s. 961.48 (as well as under Act 109’s revisions of it, which take .
effect on February 1, 2003), many second offenses are subject to higher penalties, so

in keeping with your instructions I needed to create an exception in that statute for
possession of methamphetamine. But, if that exception had only referred to possession
of methamphetamine, it might support the position that s. 961.48 applies to other
simple possession felonies — even those based on the application of a separate penalty
enhancer for repeat offenses. See, e.g., s. 961.41 (3g) (c) (making the second offense for
possession of cocaine a Class I felony). Ibelieve that that result would be inconsistent
with the intent of the Criminal Penalties Study Committee, which appears to have
intended to provide higher penalties for second simple possession offenses within the
possession statute itself and to have the higher penalties there apply only to three
types of offenses (s. 961.41 (3g) (¢), (d), and (e)). See Criminal Penalties Study
Committee Final Report at 79, http://www.doa.state.wi.us/docs_view2.asp?docid=42

at 98. Therefore, the new exception in s. 961.48 refers to all of the simple possession
felonies. : : '

2. In many respects, I treated the possession of methamphetamine under this bill in

- - the same way that it had been treated by 1999 Wisconsin Act 48. For example, if a

person is convicted of possessing methamphetamine, the bill requires the court to order
an assessment of the person’s use of controlled substances. See s. 961.472 (2) (which,
until February 1, 2008, includes a cross—reference to s. 961.41 (8g) (dm) — the
methamphetamine prohibition repealed by 2001 Wisconsin Act 109). Is that okay?

Michael Dsida
Legislative Attorney
Phone: (608) 266-9867




" Dsida, Michael

From: : Moore, Kevin

Sent: Thursday, December 19, 2002 10:48 AM
To: Dsida, Michael

Subject: _ FW: Hereitis...

Michael,

It;Ieae are some comments from the DA up in our district. Please let me know if there is any clarification that needs to
e done...

Thanks,

Kevin Moore

Office of Rep. Kitty Rhoades
Toll Free: 1-888-529-0030
Fax: 1-608-282-3630

-—-—Original Message——--

From: Johnson, Eric G. . :

Sent; Thursday, December 19, 2002 9:00 AM .
To: Moore, Kevin .

Subject: RE: Here it Is...

Prior to the change it was a 2 year félony. | think a 6 year felony may be too high and harder to sell to other legisiators.
Two years is enough and keeps it at the felony status. Thanks.

Eric




* Dsida, Michael

From: Dsida, Michael

Sent: Monday, December 09, 2002 10:00 AM
To: Moore, Kevin

Subject: RE: Meth Bill

Just to clarify, the bili would not rewrite the criminal code or chapter 961 or any significant part of it.

1. The exception which paragraph 1 of the drafter's note describes is one that is already required for methamphetamine,
based on your request to have the second offense treated the same way as the first (although I'm not sure what you mean
when you write, "Second and subsequent charges can be separate”). What | am proposing is simply drafting that
exception to ensure-that a person convicted of possession of cocaine, LSD, PCP, marijuana, and certain other drugsona .
third offense is not subject to two separate penalty enhancers. 1believe that this is consistent with the intent of the
Criminal Penalties Study Committee. If, however, you want to permit those possession offenses to be subject to both the

2nd offense enhancer in s. 961.41 (3g) (c), (d), or () and the 2nd offense enhancer in s. 961.48, | can change the
exception | have drafted so that it only covers methamphetamine.

2. The cross-references that | included would permit the court to order an drug assessment of a person convicted of
possession of methamphetamine and permit multiple offenses to be prosecuted as a single crime. These cross-

references are the same as those that were included in 1999 Wisconsin Act 48. If you want to eliminate either of them,
just let me know.

Mike Dsida .

Legislative Reference Bureau
608/266-9867-
“michael.dsida@state.legis.wi.us

-——-Original Message—

From: Moore, Kevin

Sent: » Thursday, December 05, 2002 5:17 PM
To: Dsida, Michael

Subject: Meth Bill i

Michael,

1 was wondering if you might have a minute tomorrow, Fﬁday, to talk about your drafting notes. It is ﬁot our intent

to completely re-write criminal code. We just want to get first possession of meth to be a felony. Second and
subsequent charges can be separate.

Please let me know of a good time to call you on Friday so we can discuss this issue further.

Thanks for your time!

Kevin Moore

Office of Rep. Kitty Rhoades
Toll Free: 1-888 529-0030
Fax: 1-608-282-3630




-

Dsida, Michael

To: ' Moore, Kevin
Subject: Methamphetamine bill
Note what | added below (in bold), for the sake of completeness.

-—-Original Message— .
From: Dsida, Michael

Sent: Friday, December 20, 2002 10:23 AM
To: Moore, Kevin
Subjoct: RE: Here it is...

Effective 2/1/03, the maximum term of confinement to which a court will be able to sentence sdmeone foraClass H felbny
will be 3 years. For a Class | felony, the maximum term of confinement will be 1.5 years:

For offenses committed before 2/1/03, the maximum term of confinement to which a court can sentence someone for
possession of methamphetamine is 1.5 years for a first offense and 3 years for a second offense.” (Under s. 973.01

(2) (b) 10., the term of confinement for an unclassified felony (which is what possession of methamphetamine is) may not
exceed 75% of the maximum sentence length.)

* Under s. 961.48 (2), the penalty for a pérson convicted of a second bossession offensé is twice the penalty for a
first offense.

—--Qriginal Message--——
From: Moore, Kevin
Sent: Friday, December 20, 2002 10:14 AM
To: ' Dsida, Michael
Subject: . RE: Hereltis...
ichael,

Just as a remider, if we were to go with the 6 year, how much of that would be time behind bars (maximuni...)
Thanks,

. Kevin Moore

Office of Rep. Kitty Rhoades
Toll Free: 1-888-529-0030
Fax: 1-608-282-3630

—--Original Message-—--

From: Dsida, Michael
Sent: Thursday, December 19, 2002 4:45 PM
To: Moore, Kevin :

Subject: RE: Here it is...

The next lowest class of felony is Class 1, for which the maximum sentence is 3.5 years.

There is nothing that precludes you from proposing that this offense be an unclassified felony with a maximum
sentence of 2 years, but there would be a very good chance that the Joint Review Committee on Criminal Penalties
would recommend classifying the offense, see s. 13.525 (b), given that there are only a couple of crimes that are
(unintentionally) unclassified.

-——-Original Message--——

From: Moore, Kevin
Sent: Thursday, December 19, 2002 10:48 AM
To: Dsida, Michael

Subject: FW: Here it is...




N . .'Mjchael,

Here are some comments from the DA up in our district. Please let me know if there is any clarification that
needs to be done...

Thanks,

Kevin Moore

Office of Rep. Kitty Rhoades
Toll Free: 1-888-529-0030
Fax: 1-608-282-3630

-----Original Message-—--

From: Johnson, EricG.
Sent: Thursday, December 19, 2002 9:00 AM
To: Moore, Kevin .

Subject:  RE: Hereitis...

Prior to the change it was a 2 year folony. 1 think a 6 year felony may be too high and harder to scll to othcer legislators. -
~ Two years is enough and keeps it at the felony status. Thanks.

‘Eric




“ Dsida, Michael

From: ' Schneider, Christian

Sent: ‘Monday, December 30, 2002 11:53 AM
To: Dsida, Michael

Cc: _ . Moore, Kevin

Subject: RE: More meth questions

Mike,

Thanks for the reply. Rather than have first possession be a Class H felony, we'd like to change that to a class | felony,
which | believe inoreases it to 8.5 years in prison. We came to the conclusion that € years was probably a bit too stiff.

| don't know if this bill is being drafted as a Senate or Assembily bill, but Rep. Rhoades' office has agreed to this chénge

You can contact Kevin if you need verlflcatlon If it is being drafted solely as an Assembly bill, we'd like a Senate version
as well.

--—-QOriginal Message——

From: Dsida, Michael
Sent; Mounday, Decemnber 30, 2002 11:48 AM
To: Schneider, Christian

Subject: RE: More meth questions

See replies below.

-—Original Message-—

From: Schneider, Christian

Sent: Friday, December 27, 2002 3: S7 PM
To: Dsida, Michael

Subject: More meth questions

Mike,

We're just about ready to go ahead with our methamphetamine draft, but a couple of our DAs have questions. Can
you give me a brief overview once again of what the historical penalty for first possessmn of meth is? | know what we
are proposing and | know what it wili be Feb. 1 of 2003, but what is it now? The maximum sentence length is 2 years
and the. maximum fine is $5,000 for a first offense.

What was it before Truth in Sentencing? The original truth in sentencing bill (1997 Wisconsin Act 283) did not affect
the penalty for first offenses. (That bill dealt almost exclusively with felony sentences.) The truth in sentencing
provisions in 2001 Wisconsin Act 109 are the source of the changes that will take effect on 2/1/03.

Tha_nks.

Christian Schneider

Policy Advisor

Office of State Senator Sheila Hatsdorf
(608)266-7745
christian.schneider@legis.state.wi.us
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For further information see the stafe and local fiscal estimate, which will be
printed as an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

SECTION 1. 961.41 (3g) (b) of the statutes, as affected by 2001 Wisconsin Act
109, is amended to read: v

961.41 (3g) (b) Other. drués generally. Except as provided in pars. (c);{d)(e)
aﬂd—@tﬂg}, if the person possesses or atteinpts to possess a controlled substance
or controlled substance analog, other than a controlled subsfance- included in
schedule I or II that is a narcotic drug or a controlled substance analog of a controlled
substance included inbsc'heduble I or II that is a narcotic drug, the person is guilty of
a misdemeanor, punishable under s. 939.61. |

SECTION 2. 961.41 (3g) (d) of the statutes, as affected by 2001 Wisconsin Act
109, is amended to read:

961.41 (38g) (d) Certain hallucinogenic and stimulant drugs. If a person
possesses or attempts to possess lysergic acid diethylamide, phencyclidine,
amphetamine, methamphetamme; methcathinone, psilocin or psﬂocybin, or a’
controlled substance analog of | lysergic acid diethylamide, phencydidine,
amphetamine, methamphetamine; methcathinone, psilocin or psilocybin, the person
may be fined not more than $5,000 of imprisoned for not more than one year in the
county jail or both upon a first conviction and is guilty of a Class I felony for a 2nd
or subsequent offense. For purposes of this paragraph, an offense is c_onsidéred a 2nd
or subsequent offense if, prior to the oﬁ'enaer’s conviction of the offense, the offender
has at any time been convicted of any felony or misdemeanor under this chapter or

under any statute of the United States or of any state relating to controlled
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substances, controlled substahce analogs, narcotic drugs, marijuana, or depressant,
stimulant, or hallucinogenic drugs.
SECTION 3. 961.41 (3g) (g) of the statutes is created to read:
961.41 (3g) (g) Methamphetamine. If a person possesses or attempts to possess
methamphetamine or a controlled substance ahalog of methamphetamine, the

- —
person is guilty of a Class &@;—y.

SECTION 4. 961.472 (2) of the statutes, as affected by 2001 Wisconsin Act 109,
is amended to read: | '

961.472 (2) Except as provided in sub. (5), if a person pléads gullty or is found
guilty of possession or attempted possession of a controlled substance or controlled
substance analog under s. 961.41 (3g) (am), (c), e, (d), m the court shall order the
person to comply with an assessment of the péfson’s use of controlled substances.
The court’s order shall designate a facility tilat is operated by or.pursué.nt to a>
contract with the county department established under s. 51.42 aﬁd that is certified
by the department of health and family services to provide assessment serviées to
perform the assessment and, if appropriate, to develop a proposed treatment plan.
The court shall notify the person that noncompliance with the order limits the court’s
abiiity to determine Whethe-r. the treatment option under s. 961.475 is appropriate.
The court shall also notify the person of the fee provisions under s. 46.03 (18) (fm).

SECTION 5. 961.48 (5) of the statutes is created to read:

961.48 (5) This section does not apply if thé felory with-wliek the person is
withh (), @), (s),(3) '

SECTION 6. 961.55 (1) (d) 3. of the statutes, as affected by 2001 Wisconsin Act

109, is amended to read:
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961.55 (i) (d) 3. A vehicle is not subject to forfeiture for a violation of s. 961.41
(3g) (b)Le)s{d)s(e)-orL(H to (g); and |
| SECTION 7. 971.365 (1) (c) of the statutes, as affected by 2001 Wisconsin Act 109,
is amended to read:
971.365 (1) (¢) In any case under s. 961.41 (3g) (a) 2., 1999 stats ors. 961.41
(3g) (dm), 1999 stats., or s. 961.41 (3g) (am), (c), (d), ox (), or (g) mvolvmg more than
one v101at10n, all violations may be prosecuted as a single crime if the violations were
pursuant.to a single inteat and design. |
SECTION 8. 971.365 (2) of the statutes, as affected by 2001 Wisconsin Act 109,
is an:;énded to read: _ 4
971.365 (2) An acquittal or conviction under sub. (1) does not bar a subsequent
prosecution for any.actsvin viélation of 5. 961.41 (1) (em), 1999 stats., s. 961.41 (1m)
(em), 1999 stats., s. 961.41 (3g) (a) 2., 1999 stats., or s. 961.41 (3g) (dm), 1999 stats.,
or 5. 961.41 (1) (em), (@), (¢), (), (@), or (h), (1m) (cm), (@), (¢), (), (), or (h) or (3g) (am),
(c), (d), ex (e), or (g) on which ﬁo evidence was received at the trial on the original
pharge. »
SEcTION 9. Effective date.

(1) This act takes effect on February 1, 2003, or on the day after publication,

whichever is later.

(END)
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DRAFTER’'S NOTE LRB-0780/1dn
FROM THE MGD:.A.:...
LEGISLATIVE REFERENCE BUREAU 4

dode __Q

Kevin:

I looked again at the issue that I raiscd in the first point of my drafter’s note of
December 16, and I realized that I probably should have addressed it in a ay that
would have only covered the drugs described in s. 961.41 (3g) (c), (d), and (e)” In other
words, I should not have affected second offenses involving possession of Schedule Ior
II narcotic drugs or the date rape drugs covered by s. 961.41 (3g) (f).¥This version of
the bill maintains the penalty provided under current law for those second offenses.

Michael Dsida - -
Legislative Attorney
Phone: (608) 2669867




DRAFTER'S NOTE LRB-0780/1dn
FROM THE MGD:jld:pg
LEGISLATIVE REFERENCE BUREAU :

January 2, 2003

Kevin:

I lovked again at the issue that I raised in the first point of my drafter’s note of’
December 16, and I realized that I probably should have addressed it in a way that
would have only covered the drugs described in s. 961.41 (3g) (c), (d), and (e). In other

words, I should not have affected second offenses involving possession of Schedule I or
II narcotic drugs or the date rape drugs covered by s. 961.41 (3g) (f). This version of
the bill maintains the penalty provided under current law for those second offenses.

Michael Dsida ‘
Legislative Attorney
Phone: (608) 266-9867
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thanks.

Mike Dsida

Dsida, Michael
Thursday, January 09, 2003 4:27 PM

- LRB.Legal

please jacket -0780 for rep. rhoades.

Legislative Reference Bureau

608/266-9867

michael.dsida @state.legis.wi.us
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2003 BILL

AN ACT to amend 961.41 (3g) (b), 961.41 (3g) (), 961.472 (2), 961.55 (1) (d) 3., _
971.365 (1) (c) and 971.365 (2); and to create 961.41 (3g) (g) and 961.48 (5) of

_ the statutes; relating to: possession of methamphetamine and providing a

penalty.

- Analysis by the Legislative Reference Burcaw

* Current law prohibits the possession or the attempted possession of the
controlled substance methamphetamme A person who violates this prohibition on
or after February 1, 2003, is guilty of a misdemeanor and may be fined not more than
$5,000 or 1mpr1soned for not more than one year in the county jail or both, unless,
before committing the offense, the person had been convicted of any crime under any
federal or state law relating to controlled substances. In that case, the person is
guilty of a Class I felony, for which he or she may be fined not more than $10,000 or

_imprisoned for not more than three and one-half years (with the term of confinement

being served in a state prison, if the sentence imposed is for more than one year) or
both. Under this bill, a person who possesses or attempts to possess
methamphetamine on or after February 1, 2003, is guilty of a Class I felony,
regardless of whether the person has any prior controlled substance offenses.
Because this bill creates a new crime or revises a penalty for an existing crime,
the Joint Review Committee on Criminal Penalties may be requested to prepare a

report concerning the proposed penalty and the costs or savmgs that are l1ke1y to
result if the bill is enacted.
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" For further information seeithe‘state and local fiscal estimate, which will be
printed as an appendix to this bill.

The peoplé of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows: : :

SECTION 1. 961.41 (3g) (b) of the statutes, as affected by 2001 Wisconsin Act
109, is amended to read: |

961.41 (3g) (b) Other drugs generally. Except as provided in pars. (c);4{d);<e)
and-(® to (g), il the PETSUN possesses or att'empts to possess a controlled substance
or controlled substance analog, other than a controlled substance included in
schedule I or II that is a narcotic drug or a controlled substance analog of a controlled
substance included in schedule I or II that is a narcotic drug, the person is guilty of
a misdemeanor, punishable under s. 939.61. | | _

SECTION 2. 961.41 (3g) (d) of the statutes, as affected by 2001 Wisconsin Act
109, is amended to read: | |

961.41 (8g) (d) Certain hallucinogenic and stimulant drugs. If a person
possesses or attempts to possess lysergic acid diethylamide, phencyclidine,
amphetamine, meth&mphetamme; methcathinone, psilocin or psilocybin, or a
controlled substance analog of lysergic acid diethylamide, pimncyclidine,
amphetamine, methamphetamine, methcathinone, psilocin or psilocybin, the person
may be fined not more than $5,000 or imprisoned for not more than one year in the
county jail or both upon a first conviction and is guilty of a Class I felony fof a 2nd
or subsequent offense. For purposes of this paragraph, an offense is considered a 2nd
or subsequent offense if, prior to the offender’s conviction of the offense, the offender
has at any time been convicted of any felony or misdemeanor under this ‘chapter or

under any statute of the United States or of any state relating to controlled
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substances controlled substance analogs, narcotic drugs manJuana or depressant
stimulant, or hallucinogenic drugs.

SECTION 3. 961.41 (3g) (g) of the statutes is created to read:

961.41 (3g) (g) Methamphetamme If a person possesses or attempts to possess
methamphetamme or a controlled substance analog .of methampheta.mme the
person is guilty of a Class I felony.

.SECTION 4. 961.472 (2) of the statutes, as affected by 2001 Wisconsin Act  109,

. is amended to read:

961.472 (2) Except as provided in sub. (5), if a person pleads guilty or is found
guilty of poss.ession or attempted possession of a controlled substance or controlled
substance analog under s. 961.41 (3g) (am), (<), o5, (d), or (g), the court shall order the
person to compiy with an assessment of the person’s use of controlled substances.
The court’s order shall designate a facility that is operated by or pursuant to a
contract with the county department established under s. 51.42 and that is certified
by the department of health and family services to provide assessment services to
perform Athe assessment and, if apbropriate, to develop a proposed treatment plan.
The court shall notify tlre person that noncompliance with the order limits the court’s
ability to determine whether the treatment option under s. 961.475 is appropriate
The court shall also notlfy the person of the fee provisions under s. 46.03 (18) (fm).

SECTION 5. 961 48 (5) of the statutes is created to read:

. 961.48 (5) Thls section does not apply if the person is presently charged with
a felony under s. 961.41 (3g) (), (d), (e), or (g). A
SECTION 6. 961.55 (1) (d) 3. of the statutes, as affected by 2001 Wisconsin Act

109, is amended to read:
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96155 (1) (d) 3. A vehicle is not subject to forfeiture for a violation of s. 961.41
(3g) (b)H{e){d);(e)-ox(H to (g); and
SECTiON 7. 971.365 (1) (c) of the statutes, as affected by 2001 Wisconsin Act 109,

" is amended to read:

971.365 (1) (¢) In any case under s. 961.41 (3g) (a) 2., 1999 stats., or s. 961.41
(3g) (dm), 1999 stats., or s. 961.41 (3g) (am), (c), (d), or (e),,g_r_(g) involving more than |
one violation, all violations may be prosecuted as a single crime if the violations were
pursuant to Q single intent and design. ‘

SECTION 8. 971.365 (2) of the statutes, as affected by 2001 Wisconsin Act 109, -
is amended to readg - | _ |

971.365 (2) An acquittal or conviction under sub. (1) does not bar a subséquent
prosecutioﬁ for any acts in violation of s. 961.41 (1) (em), 1999 stats., s. 961.41 (1m)
(em), 1999 stats., s. 961.41 (3g) (a) 2., 1999 stats., or . 961.41 (3g) (dm), 1999 stats.,
or s. 961.41 (1) (cm), (), (e), (®), (g), or (h), (1m) (cm), (), (e), (), (g), or (b) or (3g) (am),

(o), (d), or (e),or (g) on which no evidence was received at the tﬁal on the original

charge.
SECTION 9. Effective date.

(1) This act takes effect on Febi'uafy 1, 2003, or on the day after publication,

whichever is later.

(END)




