otk W N

op)

10

State of Wisconsin M‘\/
2003 — 2004 LEGISLATURE | 10 LRBs0358/#A |
ARG:kmg;jf

LIMINARY. DRAFE=N Fo DU
ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT R
TO 2003 ASSEMBLY BILL 792

AN ACT t0 amend 138.05% (2) (a) 2., 138.052 (9), 138.056 (3) (a), chapter 428
(title), 428.101 (intvb.), 428.101 (3), 428.102 (intro.), 428.102 (2), 428.103 (1)
(intro.) and 428.106; and Zo create subchapter I (title) of chapter 428 [precedes
428.101] and subchapter II of chapter 428 [précedes 428.202] of the statutes;
relating to: regulating certain consumer mortgage lenders, granting

rule-making authority, and providing a penalty.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

SECTION 1. 138.052 (2) (a) 2. of the statutes is amended to read:

138.052 (2) (a) 2. The Except as provided in s. 428.207, the parties may agree
that if a prepayment is made within 5 years of the date of the loan, then the lender

shall receive an amount not exceeding 60 days’ interest at the contract rate on the
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SECTION 1

amount by which the aggregate principal prepayments for a 12-month period
exceeds 20% of the original amount of the loan.
SECTION 2. 138.052 (9) of the statutes is amended to read:

138.052 (9) Chapters 421 to 428 427 and subch. I of ch. 428 do not apply to the

refinancing, modification, extension, renewal or assumption of a loan which had an
original principal balance in excess of $25,000 if the unpaid principal balance of the
loan has been reduced to $25,000 or less.

SECTION 3. 138.056 (3) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

138.056 (3) (a) A variable rate loan involving a mobile home transaction or
using an approved index may be prepaid at any time in whole or in part without
penalty. Other variable rate loans may be prepaid in whole or part without penalty
within 30 days after notice of an increase in the interest rate and, except as provided
In s. 428.207, with the prepayment penalty under s. 138.052 (2) (a) 2. and 3. if
prepayment is made before or after the 30—day period. This paragraph controls if
there is a conflict with s. 138.052 (2) (a).

SECTION 4. Chapter 428 (title) of the statutes is amended to read:

CHAPTER 428
FIRST'LIEN REAL ESTATE
AND OTHER MORTGAGE LOANS

SECTION 5. Subchapter I (title) of chapter 428 [precedes 428.101] of the statutes
is created to read:

CHAPTER 428
SUBCHAPTER I
FIRST LIEN REAL ESTATE LOANS

SECTION 6. 428.101 (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:
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428.101 Applicability. (intro.) This chapter subchapter applies to:

SECTION 7. 428.101 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:
428.101 (3) Loans made on or after November 1, 1981, by a creditor to a
customer and which are secured by a first lien real estate mortgage or equivalent

security interest if the amount financed is $25,000 or less and if the loan is not subject

to subch. II.

SECTION 8. 428.102 (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

428.102 Definitions. (intro.) In this chapter subchapter:

SECTION 9. 428.102 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

428.102 (2) “Creditor” means a person who regularly engages in, arranges for
or procures from 3rd persons, loans within the scope of this ehapter subchapter.

SECTION 10. 428.103 (1) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

428.103 (1) (intro.) The following limitations shall apply to all loans subject to
this ehapter subchapter:

SECTION 11. 428.106 of the statutes is amended to read:

428.106 Remedies. (1) Violations of this chapter subchapter may be enforced
by a customer subject to this section and ss. 425.308 to 425.311. |

(2) With respect to a loan subject to this chapter subchapter, if the court as a
matter of law finds that any aspect of the transaction, any conduct directed against
the customer, by the creditor, or any result of the transaction is unconscionable, the
court shall, in addition to the remedies and penalties set forth in this ehapter
subchapter, and a penalty not to exceed that specified in s. 428.103 (2), refuse to
enforce the unconscionable aspect of the transaction or so limit the application of any

unconscionable aspect or conduct to avoid any unconscionable result.
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SECTION 11

(3) Notwithstanding other provisions of this ehapter subchapter, a customer
shall not be entitled to recover the specific penalties provided in ss. 428.103 (2) (a)
and 428.104 (2) (a) if the person violating this chapter subchapter shows by a
preponderance of the evidence that the violation was not intentional and resulted
from a bona fide error notwithstanding the maintenance of procedures reasonably
adapted to avoid such error.

(4) Any action brought by a customer to enforce rights under sub. (1) shall be
commenced within one year after the date of the last violation of this chapter
subchapter, 2 years after consummation of the agreement or one year after the last
payment, whichever is later. But in no event shall an action be commenced more
than 6 years after the date of the last violation.

(5) The administrator specified in s. 426.103, solely through the department
of justice, may on behalf of any customer institute an action to enforce this chapter
subchapter and to recover the damages and penalties provided for this eha-pteic
subchapter. In such action the administrator may obtain an order réstraining by
temporary or permanent injunctions any violation of this chapter subchapter. This
subsection shall not be construed to incorporate or grant to the administrator with
respect to the enforcement of this-ehapter subchapter, any of the provisions of ch. 426.

SECTION 12. Subchapter II of chapter 428 [precedes 428.202] of the statutes is
created to read:

CHAPTER 428
SUBCHAPTER II
RESPONSIBLE HIGH COST
MORTGAGE LENDING
428.202 Definitions. In this subchapter:
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(1) “Bridge loan” means a loan with a maturity of less than 18 months which
requires only payments of interest until the time that the unpaid balance is due.

(Im) “Business day” has the meaning that is specified under 12 CFR 226.2 (a)
(6) for purposes of 12 CFR 226.31. |

(2) “Covered loan” means a consumer credit mortgage loan transaction other
than an open—end credit plan or reverse mortgage in which all of the following apply:

(a) The customer is a natural person.

(b) The debt is incurred by the customer primarily for personal, family, or
household purposes.

(c) The loan is secured by a mortgage on, or an equivalent security interest in,
residential real property, and the residential real property is or will be occupied by
the customer as the customer’s principal dwelling.

(d) The terms of the loan provide any of the following:

1. That the loan transaction, at the time that the loan is consummated, is
considered a mortgage under 15 USC 1602 (aa) and regulations adopted thereunder,
including 12 CFR 226.32.

2. That total points and fees payable by the customer at or before the loan

closing exceed 6 percent of the total loan amount. Ror pyrpese® of thigtubdivision

[{

dor'Bond fide-servikes Jistedyin ﬂ;z,(»Fg_zgﬁA@) (Der

(3) “Customer” means an individual to whom a covered loan is offered or made.

“Customer” does not include a surety, guarantor, cosigner, or endorser.
(4) “Department” means the department of financial institutions.
(5) “Lender” means any person who originates a covered loan and to whom the

covered loan is initially payable, except that “lender” does not include an assignee
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of a covered loan or any person who, for at least 12 consecutive months, has failed
to originate any covered loans.

(5m) “Licensed lender” means a person licensed under s. 138.09.

(6) “Loan originator” has the meaning given in s. 224.71 (1r).

(6m) “Local governmental unit” has the meaning given in s. 16.97 (7).

(7) “Mortgage banker” has the meaning given in s. 224.71{(3).

(8) “Mortgage broker” has the meaning given in s. 224.71 (4).

(10) “Servicer” has the meaning given in 12 USC 2605 (i) (2).

428.203 Prohibitions on and requirements of lenders and assignees.
(1) BALLOON PAYMENTS. Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, no lender
may make a covered loan to a customer that requires, or that permits the lender to
require, a payment that is more than twice as large as the average of all earlier

scheduled payments/é@s,@e,p@, at - a
@a‘@,whl/cﬂ g;,e»lﬁ“algsﬁfzd'@ This subsection does not apply to a loan under which

&

the payment schedule is adjusted to account for seasonal or irregular income of the

[ wilk a Mﬁf’ar}‘*‘/ of [ess than ome year

- customer or to a bridge loanfthat the customer obtains for the purpose of facilitating

the acquisition or construction of a dwelling as the customer’s principal dwelling.

(2) CALL PROVISION. No lender may make a covered loan to a customer that
permits the lender or an assignee of the loan to demand payment of the outstanding
balance before the original maturity date, except that a covered loan may permit a
lender or assignee to so demand as a result of any of the following:

(a) The customer’s failure to make payments required under the loan.

(b) A provision in the loan agreement permitting the lender or assignee to make

such a demand after the sale of real property that is pledged as security for the loan.
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SECTION 12

(c) Fraud or material misrepresentation by the customer in connection with the
loan.

(d) Any act or omission by the customer that adversely affects the lender’s or
assignee’s security for the loan or any right of the lender or assignee in such security.

(8) NEGATIVE AMORTIZATION. No lender may make a covered loan to a customer
with a payment schedule that causes the principal balance to increase, except that
this subsection does not prohibit such a payment schedule as a result of a temporary
forbearance or loan restructuring consented to by the customer.

(4) INCREASED INTEREST RATE. No lender may make a covered loan to a customer
that imposes or permits the lender or an assignee of the loan to impose an increase
in the interest rate as a result of the customer’s default.

(5) ADVANCE PAYMENTS. No lender may make a covered loan to a customer that
includes a payment schedule that consolidates more than 2 scheduled payments and
pays them in advance out of the proceeds of the loan.

(6) REPAYMENT ABILITY. No lender may engage in a pattern or practice of making

covered loans to customers w5

customer’s collateral without regard to the customer’s ability to repay, including the

customer’s current or expected income, current obligations, and employment. A

£N9958s n & poatftrn o /M‘/:ﬁc& of /nqk_h.& <
lender is presumed to ha\:{e violated this subsection if the lender covered loan%

an
without verifying mﬁiocumenting the customer’s repayment ability.
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13 (7) REFINANCING OF EXISTING COVERED LOAN. No lender may make a covered loan
14 that refinances an existing covered loan that the lender made to the same customer,
15 unless the refinancing takes place at least one year after the date on which the loan
16 being refinanced was made or the refinancing is in the interest of the customer. No
17 assignee or servicer of a covered loan may make a covered loan that refinances the
18 covered loan, unless the refinancing takes place at least one year after the date on
19 which the loan being refinanced was made or the refinancing is in the interest of the
20 customer. No lender, assignee of a covered loan, or servicer may engage in a pattern
21 or practice of arranging for the refinancing of covered loans by affiliates or
\/ 22 unaffiliated creditors, modifying covered loans, or any other acts fOI: the purpose of
%»\S::s 23 ;avading this subsection. ‘This subsection does not apply to bridge loans.
24 (8) PAYMENTS TO HOME IMPROVEMENT CONTRACTORS. No lender under a covered

25 loan made to a customer may pay proceeds of the loan to a person who is under
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contract to make improvements to an existing dwelling, unless the payment is made
by an instrument that is payable to the customer or jointly to the customer and the
person who is under contracf or, with the consent of the customer, the payment is
made through a 3rd party in accordance with a written agreement signed by the
customer, the lender, and the person under contract.

(8g) SINGLE PREMIUM CREDIT INSURANCE PRODUCTS. A lender may not finance,
directly or indirectly, through a covered loan, or finance to the same customer within
30 days of making a covered loan, any individual or group credit life, credit accident
and health, credit disability, or credit unemployment insurance product on a prepaid
single premium basis sold in conjunction with a covered loan. This prohibition does
not include contracts issued by a government agency or private mortgage insurance
company to insure the lender against loss caused by a customer’s default and does
not apply to individual or group credit life, credit accident and health, credit
disability, or credit unemployment insurance premium calculated and paid on a
monthly or other periodic basis.

(8m) REFINANCING OF SUBSIDIZED LOW-RATE LOANS. (a) In this subsection,
“subsidized low—rate loan” means a loan that carries a current interest rate at least
2 percentage points below the cﬁrrggt(;eld on treasury securities with a comparable
maturity. If the loan’s current interest rate is either a discounted introductory rate
or a rate that automatically steps up over time, the fully indexed rate or the fully
stepped—up rate, as applicable, shall be used instead of the current rate to determine
whether a loan is a subsidized low-rate loan.

(b) Alender may not knowingly replace or consolidate a zero—interest rate or
other subsidized low—rate loan made by a governmental or nonprofit lender with a

covered loan within the first 10 years of the zero—interest rate or other subsidized
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low-rate loan unless the current holder of the loan consents in writing to the
refinancing.

(9) UNREGISTERED MORTGAGE BANKERS AND BROKERS. No lender may knowingly
contract with any person for the performance of duties in violation of s. 224.72 (Im).

428.204 False statements. No lender, licensed lender, loan originator,
mortgage banker, or mortgage broker may knowingly make, propose, or solicit
fraudulent, false, or misleadjng.statements on any document relating to a covered
loan.

428.206 Recommending default. No lender, licensed lender, loan originator,
mortgage banker, or mortgage broker may recommend or encourage an individual
to default on an existing loan or other obligation before and in connection with the
making of a covered loan that refinances all or any portion of that existing loan or
obligation.

428.207 Prepayment. (1) A customer may prepay a covered loan at any time
without penalty if the payment is made in the context of a refinancing of the covered
loan and if the covered loan is held by the refinancing lender. This subsection does
not prohibit the servicer of a covered loan from imposing a prepayment penalty,
unless the servicer is also the lender and holds the loan at the time of the refinancing.

(2) Any prepayment penalty under this section is subject to all of the following
limitations:

(a) A prepayment penalty is permitted only during the 36 months immediately
following the date of consummation of a covered loan.

(b) Alender may not include a prepayment penalty in a covered loan unless the
lender offers the customer the option of choosing a loan product without a

prepayment penalty. The terms of the offer shall be in writing and initialed by the
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SECTION 12
customer. The offer shall be in a clear and conspicuous format and include the
following disclosure:

LOAN PRODUCT CHOICE DISCLOSURE

I was provided with an offer to accept a product both with and without a
prepayment penalty provision. I have chosen to accept the product with a
prepayment penalty.

(c) A prepayment penalty may not exceed 60 days’ interest at the contract rate
on the amount prepaid on fixed-rate covered loans over $25,000 if the borrower
prepays more than 20 percent of the original loan amount within 36 months
immediately following the date of consummation of the covered loan.

(d) A prepayment penalty may not be collected on fixed—rate covered loans of
$25,000 or less, on adjustable rate loans, or on those fixed—rate covered loans over
$25,000 not specified in par. (c).

428.208 Disclosure to customers. At least 3 business days before making
a covered loan to a customer, a lender shall ensure that the customer has been given
the following notice, in writing and in a clear and conspicuous format:

DISCLOSURE TO BORROWER

A. If'you obtain this loan, the lender will have a mortgage on your home. You
could lose your home and any money that you have put into it if you do not meet your
obligations under this loan. Mortgage loan rates and closing costs and fees vary
based on many factors, including your particular credit and financial circumstances,
your earnings history, your employment status, the loan—to—value ratio of the
requested loan, and the type of property that will secure your loan. The loan rate and

fees could also vary based on which lender you select.
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B. As a consumer you should shop around and compare loan rates and fees.
You should also consider consulting a qualified independent credit counselor or other
experienced financial adviser regarding the rate, fees, and provisions of this
mortgage loan before you proceed. |

C. You are not required to complete this loan agreement merely because you
have received these disclosures or have signed a loan application. If you proceed with
this mortgage loan, you should also remember thét you may face serious financial
risks if you use this loan to pay off credit card debts or other debts in connection with
this transaction and then subsequently incur significant new debt. If you continue
to accumulate debt after this loan is made and then experience financial difficulties,
you could lose your home and any equity that you have in it if you do not meet your
mortgage loan obligations.

D. Property taxes and homeowner’s insurance are your responsibility. Some
lenders may require you to escrow money for these payments. However, not all
lenders provide escrow services for these payments. You should ask your lender
about these services.

E. Your payments on existing debts contribute to your credit ratings. You
should not accept any advice to ignore your regular payments to your existing
creditors.

428.209 Exclusive state regulation authority. The state shall have sole
authority, except as provided under federal law, to regulate any matter governed by
this subchapter or by a rule promulgated under this subchapter. No local
governmental unit may attempt to regulate, directly or indirectly, any matter

governed by this subchapter or by a rule promulgated under ‘this subchapter,
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including enacting an ordinance or adopting a resolution or imposing reporting

requirements.

428.210 Administration and penalties. (1) RULES. The department may
promulgate rules for the administration of this subchapter.

(2) INVESTIGATIONS. (a) At any time that the department has reason to believe
that a person has engaged in or is about to engage in an act that violates this
subchapter, the department may investigate. In performing an investigation under
this paragraph, the department may administer oaths or affirmations, subpoena
witnesses, compel their attendance, adduce evidence, and require the production of
any matter, including the existence, description, nature, custody, condition, and
location of any books, documents, or other tangible things, and the identity and
location of persons having knowledge of relevant facts, or any other matter
reasonably calculated to lead to the discovery of admissible evidence. The
department may access and exéunine such books, documents, or other tangible
things. In any civil action brought on behalf of the department based on evidence
obtained in such an investigation, the department may recover the costs of
performing the investigation if the départment prevails in the action.

(b) If 5 or more persons file a verified complaint with the department alleging
that a person has violated this subchapter, the department shall immediately
commence an investigation pursuant to par. (a).

(¢) If the records of a person who is subject to an investigation pursuant to par.
(a) are located outside of this state, the person at the person’s option shall either
make them available to the department at a convenient location within this state or
pay the reasonable and necessary expenses for the department to examine them at

the place where they are located. The department may designate representatives,
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including comparable officials of the state in which the records are located, to inspect
them on the department’s behalf.

(d) At the request of the department of financial institutions and upon
reasonable notice to all affected persons, the department of justice may apply to any
court of record for an order compelling compliance if a person fails to obey a subpoena
or to give testimony pursuant to par. (a).

(3) ENFORCEMENT AND PENALTIES. (a) The department may serve a notice of a
hearing that complies with s. 227.44 (1) and (2) on a person if the department
reasonably suspects that the person has violated this subchapter. The department
may receive complaints alleging violations of this suBchapter. A hearing conducted
pursuant to a notice under this paragraph shall be conducted in the manner specified
for a contested case, as defined in s. 227.01 (3), under ss. 227.44 to 227.50. Except as
provided in sub. (4), if the person fails to appear at the hearing or if upon the record
made at the hearing the department finds that a violation has been established, the
department may issue and serve on the person an order specifyihg any of the
following:

1. That the person must cease and desist from the violation or practice and
make restitution for any actual damages suffered by a customer.

2. That the person must forfeit not more than $1,000 per violation or, if the
person willfully or knowingly violated this subchapter, not less than $1,000 nor more
than $10,000 per violation.

3. That the person must pay to the department the costs of its investigation.

4. That a license, registration, or certification issued by the department to the

person is suspended or revoked or will not be renewed.
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5. That any individual who is responsible for the violation must be removed
from working in any capacity related to the violation or related to activities regulated
by the department.

6. Any additional conditions that the department considers reasonable.

(b) An order under par. (a) is effective upon service on the person and may be
appealed under s. 220.035.

(c) The department of justice, at the request of the department of financial
institutions, may bring an action to enforce an order issued under par. (a).

(4) SAFE HARBOR. It is a defense to any alleged violation of this subchapter if
the person alleged to have committed the violation establishes all of the following:

(a) That the person acted in good faith while committing the violation.

(b) That, no later than 60 days after the discovery of the violation and before
any investigation or other enforcement action by the department under this section,
the person notified the affected customer of the violation and either made
appropriate adjustments to the loan to bring the loan into compliance with this
subchapter or changed the terms of the loan in a manner beneficial to the customer
so that the loan is no longer a covered loan.

428.21i Parity for federally insured depository institutions. This
subchapter does not apply to any state chartered bank, trust company, savings and
loan association, savings bank, or creciit union, or to any subsidiary of a state
chartered bank, trust company, savihgs and loan association, savings bank, or credit
union, to the extent that federal law preempts or prohibits the application of the
provisions of this subchapter to a federally chartered bank, trust company, savings
and loan association, savings bank, or credit union of the same type.

SECTION 13. Initial applicability.
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(1) This act first applies to loans for which applications are received by a lender,

as defined in section 428.202 (5) of the statutes, as created by this act, on the effective

date of this subsection.

SECTION 14. Effective date.

(1) This act takes effect on the first day of the 10th month beginning after

publication.

(END)




f(ﬁm) SECURITY INTEREST IN HOUSEHOLD GOODS AND FURNISHINGS. No lender may

take a security interest in any personal property of the customer that is a household

‘good or ﬁJrnishjng.”G
/ 95 ® :
@ 428.20§ Property exempt from debt collection. Except to the extent that

/ )\\91\3( . )8 - the lender has a valid security interest permitted under this subchapter or has a lien

N (I "9 under ch. 779 in the property, all of the following personal property of the customer

10 is exempt from levy, execution, sale, and other similar process in satisfaction of a
11 Judgment for an obligation arising from a covered loan:
12 «5 Clothing of the customer or his or her dependents.

&Y (V)
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@/Dining table and chairs, refrigerator, heating stove, cooking stove, radio,

beds and bedding, couch and chairs, cooking utensils, and kitchenware.

@’@?(sego d goods(as defined in 12 CFR 227.13 (d), 12 CFR 535.1 (g), or 16
CFR 444.1 (i)/énsisting of ﬁJrnitﬁre, appliances, one television, linens, china,
crockery, and personal effects including wedding rings, except works of art, _H,’ A-&/
electronic entertainment equipment, antiques, and jewelry, to the extent/{
nonpossessory security interest in these household goods is prohibited under 12 CFR

227.13 (d), 12 CFR 535.2 (a) (4), or 16 CFR 444.2 () (4)7
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Gary, Aaron
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From: Smyrski, Rose

Sent: Tuesday, February 24, 2004 2:23 PM
To: Gary, Aaron

Subject: RE: sub to AB-792

I believe that is itt  YEA!

From: Gary, Aaron
Sent: Tuesday, February 24, 2004 1:52 PM
To: Smyrski, Rose

Subject: sub to AB-792

Rose,

I received your voice mail message and will delete P. 8, lines 3-5. Please let me know when you know whether

there will be other changes, as the s

Aaron R. Gary

Legislative Attorney
Legislative Reference Bureau
608.261.6926 (voice)
608.264.6948 (fax)
aaron.gary @legis.state.wi.us

ooner | can get it into editing the faster it will get back to you. Thanks. Aaron




N Ot W~

10
11

12

State of Wisconsin N
2003 - 2004 LEGISLATURE | 100 LRBs0358/# 7.
ARG:kmg:rs

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT ,
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AN ACT to amend 138.052 (2) (a) 2., 138.052 (9), 188.056 (3) (a), chapter 428
(title), 428.101 (intro.), 428.101 (3), 428.102 (intro.), 428.102 (2), 428.103 (1)

~ (intro.) and 428.106; and #o create subchapter I (title) of chapter 428 [precedes
428.101] and subchapter II of chapter 428 [precedes 428.202] of the statutes;

relating to: regulating certain consumer mortgage lenders, granting

rule-making authority, and providing a penalty.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:

SECTION 1. 138.052 (2) (a) 2. of the statutes is amended to read:

138.052 (2) (a) 2. The Except as provided in s. 428.207, the parties may agree

that if a prepayment is made within 5 years of the date of the loan, then the lender
shall receive an amount not exceeding 60 days’ interest at the contract rate on the
amount by which the aggregate principal prepayments for a 12-month period

exceeds 20% of the original amount of the loan.
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SECTION 2

SECTION 2. 138.052 (9) of the statutes is amended to read:

138.052 (9) Chapters 421 to 428 427 and subch. I of ch. 428 do not apply to the

refinancing, modification, extension, renewal or assumption of a loan which had an
original principal balancé in excess of $25,000 if the unpaid principal balance of the
loan has been reduced to $25,000 or less.

SECTION 3. 138.056 (3) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

138.056 (3) (a) A variable rate loan involving a mobile home transaction or
using an approved index may be prepaid at any time in whole or in part without
penalty. Other variable rate loans may be prepaid in whole or part without penalty

within 30 days after notice of an increase in the interest rate and, except as provided

In s. 428.207, with the prepayment penalty under s. 138.052 (2) (a) 2. and 3. if

prepayment is made before or after the 30-day period. This paragraph controls if
there is a conflict with s. 138.052 (2) (a).
SECTION 4. Chapter 428 (title) of the statutes is amended to read:
CHAPTER 428
FIRST LIEN REAL ESTATE
AND OTHER MORTGAGE LOANS
SECTION 5. Subchapter I (title) of chapter 428 [precedes 428.101] of the statutes
1s created to read:
CHAPTER 428
SUBCHAPTER I
FIRST LIEN REAL ESTATE LOANS
SECTION 6. 428.101 (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:
.428.101 Applicability. (intro.) This chapter subchapter applies to:
SECTION 7. 428.101 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:
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428.101 (3) Loans made on or after November 1, 1981, by a creditor to a
customer and which are secured by a first lien real estate mortgage or equivalent

security interest if the amount financed is $25,000 or less and if the loan is not subject

to subch. II. |

SECTION 8. 428.102 (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

428.102 Definitions. (intro.) In this chapter subchapter:

SECTION 9. 428.102 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

428.102 (2) “Creditor” means a person who regularly engages in, arranges for
or procures from 3rd persons, loans within the scope of this ehapter subchapter.

SECTION 10. 428.103 (1) (intro.) of the statﬁtes is amended to read:

428.103 (1) (intro.) The following limitations shall apply to all loans subject to
this ehapter subchapter:

- SECTION 11. 428.106 of the statutes is amended to read:

428.106 Remedies. (1) Violations of this ehapter subchapter may be enforced
by a customer subject to this section and ss. 425.308 to 425.311.

(2) With respect to a loan subject to this chapter subchapter, if the court as a
matter of law finds that any aspect of the transaction, any conduct directed against
the customer, by the creditor, or any result of the transaction is unconscionable, the
court shall, in addition to the remedies and penalties set forth in this ehapter
subchapter, and a penalty not to exceed that specified in s. 428.103 (2), refuse to
enforce the unconscionable aspect of the transaction or so limit the application of any
unconscionable aspect or conduct to avoid any unconscionable result.

(8) Notwithstanding other provisions of this chapter subchapter, a customer
shall not be entitled to recover the specific penalties provided in ss. 428.103 (2) (a)

and 428.104 (2) (a) if the person violating this chapter subchapter shows by a
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SECTION 11

preponderance of the evidence that the violation was not intentional and resulted
from a bona fide error notwithstanding the maintenance of proéedures reasonably
adapted to avoid such error.

| (4) Any action brought by a customer to enforce rights under sub. (1) shall be
commenced within one year after the date of the last violation of this chapter
subchapter, 2 years after consummation of the agreement or one year after the last
payment, whichever is later. But in no event shall an action be commenced more
than 6 years after the date of the last violation.

(5) The administrator specified in s. 426.1083, solely through the department
of justice, may on behalf of any customer institute an action to enforce this chapter
subchapter and to recover the damages and penalties provided for this chapter
subchapter. In such action the administrator may obtain an order restraining by
temporary or permanent injunctions any violation of this chapter subchapter. This
subsection shall not be construed to incorporate or grant to the administrator with
respect to the enforcement of this-chapter subchapter, any of the provisions of ch. 426.

SECTION 12. Subchapter II of chapter 428 [preéedes 428.202] of the statutes is
created to read:

CHAPTER 428
SUBCHAPTER II
RESPONSIBLE HIGH COST
MORTGAGE LENDING
428.202 Definitions. In this subchapter‘:
(1) “Bridge loan” means a loan with a maturity of less than 18 months which

requires only payments of interest until the time that the unpaid balance is due.
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(Im) “Business day” has the meaning that is specified under 12 CFR 226.2 (a)
(6) for purposes of 12 CFR 226.31.

(2) “Covered loan” means a consumer credit mortgage loan transaction other
than an open—end credit plan or reverse mortgage in which all of the following apply:

(a) The customer is a natural person.

(b) The debt is incurred by the customer primarily for personal, family, or
household purposes.

(c) The loan is secured by a mortgage on, or an equivalent security interest in,
residential real property, and the residential real property is or will be occupied bj
the customer as the customer’s principal .dwelling.

(d) The terms of the loan provide any of the following:

1. That the loan transaction, at the time that the loan is consummated, is
considered a mortgage under 15 USC 1602 (aa) and regulations adopted thereunder,
including 12 CFR 226.32. _

2. That total points and fees payable by the customer at or before the loan
closing exceed 6 percent of the total loan amount.

(3) “Customer” means an individual to whom a covered loan is offered or made.
“Customer” does not include a surety, guarantor, cosigner, or endorser.

(4) “Department” means the department of financial institutions.

(5) “Lender” means any person who originates a covered loan and to whom the
covered loan is initially payable, except that “lender” does not include an assignee
of a covered loan or any person who, for at least 12 consecutive months, has failed
to originate any covered loans.

(5m) “Licensed lender” means a person licensed under s. 138.09.

(6) “Loan originator” has the meaning given in s. 224.71 (1r). -
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SECTION 12

(6m) “Local governmental unit” has the meaning given in s. 16.97 (7).

(7) “Mortgage banker” has the meaning given in s. 224.71 (3).

(8) “Mortgage broker” has the meaning given in s. 224.71 (4).

(10) “Servicer” has the meaning given in 12 USC 2605 (i) (2).

428.203 Prohibitions on and requireménts of lenders and assignees;
(1) BALLOON PAYMENTS. Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, no lender
may make a covered loan to a customer that requires, or that permits the lender to
require, a payment that is more than twice as large as the average of all earlier -

scheduled payments. This subsection does not apply to a loan under which the

‘payment schedule is adjusted to account for seasonal or irregular income of the

customer or to a bridge loan with a maturity of less than one year that the customer
obtains for the purpose of facilitating the acquisition or construction of a dwelling as
the customer’s principal dwelling.

(2) CALL PROVISION. No lender may make a covered loan to a customer that
permits the lender or an assignee of the loan to demand payment of the outstanding
balance before the original maturity date, except that a covered loan may permit a
lender or assignee to so demand as a result of any of the following:

(a) The customer’s failure to make payments required under the loan.

(b) A provision in the loan agreement permitting the lender or assignee to make
such a demand after the sale of real property that is pledged as security for the loan.

(¢) Fraud or material misrepresentation by the customer in connection with the
loan.

(d) Any act or omission by the customer that adversely affects the lender’s or

assignee’s security for the loan or émy right of the lender or assignee in such security.
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(3) NEGATIVE AMORTIZATION. No lender may make a covered loan to a customer
with a payment schedule that causes the principal balance to increase, except that
this subsection does not prohibit such a payment schedule as a result of a temp(;rary
forbearance or loan restructuring consented to by the customer.

(4) INCREASED INTEREST RATE. No lender may make a covered loan to a customer
that imposes or permits the lender or an assignee of the loan to impose an increase
in the interest rate as a result of the customer’s default.

(5) ADVANCE PAYMENTS. No lender may make a covered loan to a customer that
includes a payment schedule that consolidates more than 2 scheduled payments and
pays them in advance out of the proceeds of the loan.

(6) REPAYMENT ABILITY. No lender may engage in a pattern or practice of making
covered loans to customers based on the customer’s collateral without regard to the
customer’s ability to repay, including the customer’s current or expected income,
current obligations, and employment. A lender is presumed to have violated this
subsection if the lender engages in a pattern or practice of making covered loans
without verifying and documenting the customer’s repayment ability.

(7) REFINANCING OF EXISTING COVERED LOAN. No lender may make a covered loan
that refinances an existing covered loan that the lender made to the same customer,
unless the refinancing takes place at least one year after the date on which the loan
being refinanced was made or the refinancing is in the interest of the customer. No
assignee or servicer of a covered loan may make a covered loan that refinances the
covered loan, unless the refinancing takes place at least one year after the date on
which the loan being refinanced was made or the refinancing is in the interest of the
customer. No lender, assignee of a covered loan, or servicer may engage in a pattern

or practice of arranging for the refinancing of covered loans by affiliates or
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SECTION 12

unaffiliated creditors, modifying covered loans, or any other acts for the purpose of

evading this subsection. This subsection does not apply to bridge loans.

NI FURNISHINGS, No lend?n/l;&
of the customer that is ay ehold

(8) PAYMENTS TO HOME IMPROVEMENT CONTRACTORS. No lender under a covered

loan made to a customer may pay proceeds of the loan to a person who is under
contract to make improvements to an existing dwelling, unless the payment is made
by an instrument that is payable to the customer or jointly to the customer and the
person who is under contract or, with the consent of the customer, the payment is
made through a 3rd party in accordance with a written agreement signed by the
customer, the lender, and the person under contract.

(8g) SINGLE PREMIUM CREDIT INSURANCE PRODUCTS. A lender may not finance,
directly or indirectly, through a covered loan, or finance to the same customer within
30 days of making a covered loan, any individual or group credit life, credit accident
and health, credit disability, or credit unemployment insurance product on a prepaid
single premium basis sold in conjunction with a covered loan. This prohibition does
not include contracts issued by a government agency or private mortgage insurance
company to insure the lender against loss caused by a customer’s default and does
not apply to individual or group credit life, credit accident and health, credit
disability, or credit unemployment insurance premium calculated and paid on a
monthly or other periodic basis.

(8m) REFINANCING OF SUBSIDIZED LOW-RATE LOANS. (a) In this subsection,
“subsidized low—rate loan” means a loan that carries a current interest rate at least

2 percentage points below the then current yield on treasury securities with a
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comparable maturity. If the loan’s current interest rate is either a discounted
introductory rate or a rate that automatically steps up over time, the fully indexed
rate or the fully stepped—up rate, as applicable, shall be used instead of the current
rate to determine whether a loan is a subsidized low—-rate loan.

(b) Alender may not knowingly replace or consolidate a zero—interest rate or
other subsidized low-rate loan made by a governmental or nonprofit lender with a
covered ‘loan within the first 10 years of the zero—interest rate or other subsidized
low-rate loan unless the current holder of the loan consents in writing to the
refinancing.

(9) UNREGISTERED MORTGAGE BANKERS AND BROKERS. No lender may knowingly
contract with any person for the performance of duties in violation of s. 224.72 (1m).

428.204 False statements. No lender, licensed lender, loan originator,
mortgage banker, or mortgage broker may knowingly make, propose, or solicit
fraudulent, false, or misleading statements on any document relating to a covered
loan.

428.206 Recommending default. No lender, licensed lender, loan originator,
mortgage banker, or mortgage broker may recommend or encourage an individual
to default on an existing loan or other obligation before and in connection with the
making of a covered loan that refinances all or any portion of that existing loan or
obligation.

428.207 Prepayment. (1) A customer may prepay a covered loan at any time
without penalty if the payn;ent is made in the context of a refinancing of the covered
loan and if the covered loan is held by the refinancing lender. This subsection does
not prohibit the servicer of a covered loan from imposing a prepéyment penalty,

unless the servicer is also the lender and holds the loan at the time of the refinancing.
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SECTION 12

(2) Any prepayment penalty under this section is subject to all of the following
limitations:

(a) A prepayment penalty is permitted only during the 36 months immediately
following the date of consummation of a covered loan.

(b) Alender may not include a prepayment penalty in a covered loan unless the
lender offers the customer the option of choosing a loan product without a
prepayment penalty. The terms of the offer shall be in writing and initialed by the
customer. The offer shall be in a clear and conspicuous format and include the
following disclosure:

LOAN PRODUCT CHOICE DISCLOSURE

I was provided with an offer to accept a product both with and without a
prepayment penalty provision. I have chosen to accept the product with a
prepayment penalty.

(c) A prepayment penalty may not exceed 60 days’ interest at the contract rate
on the amount prepaid on fixed-rate covered loans over $25,000 if the borrower
prepays more than 20 percent of the original loan amount within 36 months
immediately following the date of consummation of the covered loan.

(d) A prepayment penalty may not be collected on fixed-rate covered loans of
$25,000 or less, on adjustable rate loans, or on those fixed-rate covered loans over
$25,000 not specified in par. (c).

428.208 Disclosure to customers. At least 3 business days before making
a covered loan to a customer, a lender shall ensure that the customer has been given
the following notice, in writing and in a clear and conspicuous format:

DISCLOSURE TO BORROWER
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A. If you obtain this loan, the lender will have a mortgage on your home. You
could lose your home and any money that you have put into it if you do not meet your
obligations under this loan. Mortgage loan rates and closing costs and fees vary
based on many factors, including your particular credit and financial circumstances,
your earnings history, your employment status, the loan—to—value ratio of the
requested loan, and the type of property that will secure your loan. The loan rate and
fees could also vary based on which .lender you select.

B. As a consumer you should shop around and compare loan rates and fees.
You should also consider consulting a qualified independent credit counselor or other
experienced financial adviser regarding the rate, fees, and provisions of this
mortgage loan before you proceed.

C. You are not required to complete this loan agreement merely because you
have received these disclosures or have signed a loan application. Ifyou proceed with
this mortgage loan, you should also remember that you may face serious financial
risks if you use this loan to pay off credit card debts or other debts in connection with
this transaction and then subsequently incur significant new debt. If you continue
to accumulate debt after this loan is made and then experience financial difficulties,
you could lose your home and any equity that you have in it if you do not meet your
mortgage loan obligations.

D. Property taxes and homeowner’s insurance are your responsibility. Some
lenders may require you to escrow money for these payments. However, not all

lenders provide escrow services for these payments. You should ask your lender.

about these services.
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SECTION 12

E. Your payments on existing debts contribute to your credit ratings. You
should not accept any advice to ignore your regular payments to your existing
creditors.

428.209 Exclusive state regulation authority. The state shall have sole
authority, except as provided under federal law, to regulate any matter governed by
this subchapter or by a rule promulgated under this subchapter. No local
governmental unit may attempt to regulate, directly or indirectly, any matter
governed by this subchapter or by a rule promulgated. under this subchapter,
iﬁcluding enacting an ordinance or adopting a resolution or imposing reporting
requirements.

428.2095 Property exempt from debt coﬂection. Except to the extent that
the lender has a valid security interest permitted under this subchapter or has a lien
under ch. 779 in the pi'operty, all of the following personal property of the customer
is exempt from levy, execution, sale, and other similar process in satisfaction of a
judgment for an obligation arising from a covered loan:

| (1) Clothing of the customer or his or her dependents.

(2) Dining table and chairs, refrigerator, heating stove, cooking stove, radio,
beds and bedding, couch and chairs, cooking utensils, and kitchenware.

(3) Household goods, as defined in 12 CFR 227.13 (d), 12 CFR 535.1 (g), or 16
CFR 444.1 (i), consisting of furniture, appliances, one television, linens, china,
crockery, and personal effects including wedding rings, except works of art,
electronic entertainment equipment, antiques, and jewelry, to the extent that a
nonpossessory security interest in these household goods is prohibited under 12 CFR

227.13 (d), 12 CFR 535.2 (a) (4), or 16 CFR 444.2 (a) (4).
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428.210 Administration and penalties. (1) RuLES. The department may
promulgate rules for the administration of this subchapter. The rules shall include
guidelines for determining a customer’s ability to repay a covered loan based upon
the customer’s debt—to—-income ratio.

(2) INVESTIGATIONS. (a) At any time that the department has reason to believe
that a person has engaged in or is about to erigage in an act that violates this
subchapter, the department may investigate. In performing an investigation under
this paragraph, the department may administer oaths or affirmations, subpoena
witnesses, compel their attendance, adduce evidence, and require the production of
any matter, including the existence, description, nature, custody, condition, and
location of any books, documents, or other tangible things, and the identity and
location of persons having knowledge of relevant facts, or any other matter
reasonably calculated to lead to the discovery of admissible evidence. The
department may access and examine such books, documeﬁts, or other tangible
things. In any civil action brought on behalf of the department based on evidence
obtained in such an investigation, the department may recover the costs of
performing the investigation if the department prevails in the action.

(b) If 5 or more persons file a verified complaint with the department alleging
that a person has violated this subchapter, the department shall immediately
commence an investigation pursuant to par. (a). |

(c) If the records of a person who is subject to an investigation pursuant to par.
(a) are located outside of this state, the person at the person’s option shall either
make them available to the department at a convenient location within this state or
pay the reasonable and necessary expenses for the department to examine them at

the place where they are located. The department may designate representatives,
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including 'comparable officials of the state in which the records are located, to inspect
them on the department’s behalf.

(d) At the fequest of the department of financial institutions and upon
reasonable notice to all affected pérsons, the department of justice may apply to any
court of record for an order compelling compliance if a person fails to obey a subpoena
or to give testimony pursuant to par. (a).

(3) ENFORCEMENT AND PENALTIES. (a) The department may serve a notice of a
hearing that complies with s. 227.44 (1) and (2) on a person if the department
reasonably suspects that the person has violated this subchapter. The department
may receive complaints alleging violations of this subchapter. A hearing conducted
pursuant to a notice under this paragraph shall be conducted in the manner specified
for a contested case, as defined in s. 227.01 (3), under ss. 227.44 to 227.50. Except as
provided in sub. (4), if the person fails to appear at the hearing or if upon the record
made at the hearing the department finds that a violation has been established, the
department may issue and serve on the person an order specifying any of the
following:

1. That the person must cease and desist from the violation or practice and
make restitution for any actual damages suffered by a customer.

2. That the person must forfeit not more than $1,000 per violation or, if the
person willfully or knowingly violated this subchapter, not less than $1,000 nor more
than $10,000 per violation. |

3. That the person must pay to the department the costs of its investigation.

4. That a license, registration, or certification issued by the department to the

person is suspended or revoked or will not be renewed.
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5. That any individual who is responsible for the violation must be removed
from working in any capacity related to the violation or related to activities regulated
by the department.

6. Any additionai conditions that the department considers reasonable.

(b) An order under par. (a) is effective upon service on the person and may be
appealed under s. 220.035.

(c) The department of justice, at the request of the department of financial
institutions, may bring an action to enforce an order iésued under par. (a).

(4) SAFE HARBOR. It is a defense to any alleged violation of this subchapter if
the person alleged to have committed the violation establishes all of the following:

(a) That the person acted in good faith while committing the violation.

(b) That, no later than 60 days after the discovery of the violation and before
any investigation or other enforcement action by the department under this section,
the person notified the affected customer of the violation and either made
appropriate adjustments to the loan to bring the loan into compliance with this
subchapter or changed the terms of the loan in a manner beneficial to the customer
so that the loan is no longer a covered loan.

428.211 Parity for federally insured depository institutions. This
subchapter does not apply to any state chartered bank, trust company, savings and
loan association, savings bank, or credit union, or to any subsidiary of a state
chartered bank, trust company, savings and loan association, savings bank, or credit
union, to the extent that federal law preempts or prohibits the application of the
provisions of this subchapter to a federally chartered bank, i:rust company, savings
and loan association, savings bank_,' or credit union of the same type.

SECTION 13. Initial applicability.
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(1) This act first applies to loans for which applications are received by a lender,

as defined in section 428.202 (5) of the statutes, as created by this act, on the effective

date of this subsection.
SECTION 14. Effective date.

(1) This act takes effect on the first day of the 10th month beginning after

publication.

(END)




