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2003 Wisconsin Act 49 
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Possession of Methamphetamine 
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2003 Wisconsin Act 49 amends the law relating to the possession of methamphetamine. 

Under prior law, s. 961.41 (3g) (d), Stats., provided that a first conviction for the possession of 

methamphetamine would result in a fine of not more than $5,000 or imprisonment for not more than one 

year or both (a misdemeanor) and a second or subsequent conviction for the possession of 

methamphetamine would result in a Class I felony.  A Class I felony is punishable by a fine not to 

exceed $10,000 or imprisonment, including extended supervision, not to exceed three years and six 

months or both. 

Wisconsin Act 49 creates s. 961.41 (3g) (g), Stats., to provide that a person who possesses or 

attempts to possess methamphetamine is guilty of a Class I felony.  In other words, under the Act, the 

first offense will no longer be treated as a misdemeanor. 

Effective Date:  The Act takes effect on September 3, 2003. 

Prepared by:  Ronald Sklansky, Senior Staff Attorney September 22, 2003 
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