## **Assembly**

## **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Agriculture**

#### **Assembly Bill 165**

Relating to: continuing education for veterinarians and veterinary technicians and granting rule-making authority.

By Representatives Hines, Ott, Bies, Plouff, Gronemus, Wasserman, Van Roy, J. Lehman, Owens, Gunderson, Seratti, Shilling, Vrakas, Kreibich, Freese, Ainsworth, Gielow, Berceau, Loeffelholz, Schooff and Jeskewitz; cosponsored by Senators Schultz, Kedzie, Stepp, Risser, Hansen, M. Meyer and Roessler.

March 18, 2003 Referred to Committee on Agriculture.

### April 3, 2003 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (11) Representatives Ott, M. Williams, Petrowski, Kestell, Suder, Hines, Loeffelholz and Towns;

Lassa; Representatives Balow and Vruwink.

Absent: (4) Representatives Ainsworth, Gronemus, Plouff

and Hebl.

#### Appearances For

Madison

- J.A. Hines, State Representative, Oxford
- Dr. Margaret Terhar, Wisconsin Veterinary Medical Association, Abrams
- Teri Raffel, Wisconsin Veterinary Technician Association, Madison
- Rachel Rothschild, UW School of Veterinary Medicine, Madison

Ap	pearances Against
	None.
Ap	pearances for Information Only
	None.
Re	gistrations For
	Leslie Grendahl, Wisconsin Veterinary Medical Association,
	Madison
	Tom Lyon, DATCP, Madison
	Keeley Moll, DATCP, Madison

☐ Rob Poenhnelt, Wisconsin Veterinary Medical Association,

	<ul> <li>□ Fred Risser, State Senator, Madison</li> <li>□ Carol Roessler, State Senator</li> <li>Registrations Against</li> <li>□ None.</li> </ul>
May 15, 2003	EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD
	Present: (13) Representatives Ott, M. Williams, Ainsworth, Petrowski, Kestell, Suder, Hines, Loeffelholz, Towns, Plouff, Balow, Vruwink and Steinbrink.
	Absent: (2) Representatives Gronemus and Hebl.
	Moved by Representative Hines, seconded by Representative Ainsworth that <b>Assembly Bill 165</b> be recommended for passage.
	Ayes: (13) Representatives Ott, M. Williams, Ainsworth, Petrowski, Kestell, Suder, Hines, Loeffelholz, Towns, Plouff, Balow, Vruwink and Steinbrink.
	Noes: (0) None.
	Absent: (2) Representatives Gronemus and Hebl.
	PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0
	Beata Kalies
	Committee Clerk