# Senate

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Transportation and Information Infrastructure**

## **Assembly Bill 255**

Relating to: liability of cities, villages, towns, and counties for damages caused by an insufficiency or want of repair of a highway.

By Representatives Albers, Gronemus, Freese, Gottlieb, Grothman, Hahn, Hines, Ladwig, LeMahieu, Loeffelholz, M. Lehman, Musser, Owens, Turner, Weber and Stone; cosponsored by Senators Schultz, Breske, Stepp, Welch and Wirch.

October 02, 2003 Referred to Committee on Transportation and Information Infrastructure.

October 29, 2003 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (4) Senators Leibham, Kanavas, Breske and M.

Meyer.

Absent: (1) Senator Kedzie\*

(\* - Excused)

## Appearances For

- State Representative Sheryl Albers
- Craig Thompson, Wisconsin Counties Association, 22 East Mifflin Street, Madison, WI

#### Appearances Against

• Keith Clifford, Wisconsin Academy of Trial Lawyers

#### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

### Registrations For

- Senator Bob Welch, Wisconsin State Senate
- State Senator Dale Schultz, Wisconsin State Senate
- Kathi Kilgore, Waukesha County Municipal Executives, 44 East Mifflin Street, Suite 101, Madison, WI 53703
- Mike Serpe, Kenosha County, 1010 5th Street, Kenosha, WI 53140
- Dave Krahn, Waukesha County, Room 170, 515 West Moreland Blvd., Waukesha, WI 53188
- Mark Wadium, Outagamie County Board of Supervisors, 410
  South Walnut Street, Appleton, WI 54911

- Patricia Bustle, Milwaukee County, 901 North 9th Street Courthouse Room 302, Milwaukee, WI 53233
- Mickey Beil, Dane County, 210 Dr. Martin Luther King Boulevard, Madison, WI 53703

## Registrations Against

• None.

# November 6, 2003

### **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD\***

(\* - Polling)

Moved by Senate Committee on Transportation and Information Infrastructure that **Assembly Bill 255** be recommended for concurrence.

Ayes: (5) Senators Leibham, Kanavas, Kedzie, Breske

and M. Meyer.

Noes: (0) None.

CONCURRENCE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Daniel Lindstedt Committee Clerk