Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Agriculture

Assembly Bill 283

Relating to: an income and franchise tax credit for expenses related to operating a dairy farm.

By Representatives Ott, Gronemus, Ainsworth, Balow, Freese, Hahn, Hebl, Hines, Hubler, Hundertmark, Krawczyk, F. Lasee, Lassa, LeMahieu, Loeffelholz, McCormick, Musser, Olsen, Owens, Petrowski, Steinbrink, Towns, Turner, Van Roy, Vruwink, M. Williams and J. Wood; cosponsored by Senators Schultz, Decker, S. Fitzgerald, Hansen, Harsdorf, Kanavas, A. Lasee, Roessler, Stepp and Welch.

April 23, 2003 Referred to Committee on Agriculture.

May 15, 2003 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present:	(13)	Representatives Ott, M. Williams, Ainsworth,
		Petrowski, Kestell, Suder, Hines, Loeffelholz,
		Towns, Plouff, Balow, Vruwink and
		Steinbrink.
Absent:	(2)	Representatives Gronemus and Hebl.

Appearances For

- State Representative Al Ott, 3rd Assembly District
- Mike Krutza, Farm Credit Services, Wausau
- Secretary Rod Nilsestuen, DATCP, Madison
- Will Hughes, DATCP, Madison
- Bill Oemichen, WI Federation of Cooperatives, Madison
- Ed Brooks, Foremost Farms, Reedsburg
- Bob Grabarski, Alto Dairy, Arkdale
- John Umhoefer, WI Cheesemakers Association, Madison

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Brad Legreid, WI Dairy Products Association, Middleton
- Paul Zimmerman, WI Farm Bureau Federation, Madison
- Daryll Lund, Community Bankers of Wisconsin, Madison
- Ron Statz, NFO, Prairie du Sac

- State Representative Garey Bies, 1st Assembly District
- State Senator Bob Welch, 14th Senate District
- State Senator Dale Schultz, 17th Senate District
- Rev. Sue Moline Larson, Lutheran Office for Public Policy

Registrations Against

• None.

May 15, 2003 EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD

- Present: (13) Representatives Ott, M. Williams, Ainsworth, Petrowski, Kestell, Suder, Hines, Loeffelholz, Towns, Plouff, Balow, Vruwink and Steinbrink.
- Absent: (2) Representatives Gronemus and Hebl.

Moved by Representative Petrowski, seconded by Representative Suder that **Assembly Bill 283** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (13) Representatives Ott, M. Williams, Ainsworth, Petrowski, Kestell, Suder, Hines, Loeffelholz, Towns, Plouff, Balow, Vruwink and Steinbrink.
- Noes: (0) None.
- Absent: (2) Representatives Gronemus and Hebl.

(Representative Gronemus indicates that had she been present, she would have voted Aye on passage of AB 283.)

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Beata Kalies Committee Clerk