Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Labor

Assembly Bill 318

Relating to: authorizing the circuit court to order a person who engages in discrimination in employment to pay compensatory and punitive damages and an assessment, directing the secretary of workforce development to appoint a committee to study wage disparities between men and women and between minority group members and nonminority group members, and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Sinicki, Plouff, Loeffelholz, Colon, Pocan, Morris, Boyle, Vruwink, Wasserman, Pope-Roberts, Miller, Zepnick, Krug, Young, Balow, Berceau, Black, Richards, Hebl, Van Akkeren, Steinbrink, Gronemus, Coggs, J. Lehman, Sherman, Turner, Shilling, Plale and Kreuser; cosponsored by Senators Hansen, Carpenter, Schultz, Robson, Risser, Decker, Moore, Chvala and Erpenbach.

May 08, 2003 Referred to Committee on Labor. July 23, 2003 PUBLIC HEARING HELD Present: (9) Representatives Nass, Vrakas, Grothman, Wieckert, Hundertmark, J. Fitzgerald, Sinicki, W Wood and Van Akkeren Absent: None. (0)Appearances For ☐ John Wagnitz, Office of Sen. Hansen ☐ Marcy Tobias, Beloit ☐ Amy Scarr, Individual Rights & Responsibilities Section, WI State Bar ☐ Tommy Schroeder, Greenfield ☐ Bridget Moen, Cedarburg ☐ Lin Clousing, Thiensville ☐ Carey Flanagan, New Berlin ☐ Larraine McDamara-McGow, Milwaukee ☐ Jeralyn Wendelberger, ACLU of Wisconsin, Milwaukee ☐ Paul Sicula, WI Academy of Trial Lawyers ☐ Steve Porter, State Bar of WI, Madison ☐ Monica Murphy, WI Coalition for Advocacy, Milwaukee Appearances Against ☐ Stephen DiTullio, Madison

☐ John Metcalf, WI Manufacturers and Commerce, Madison

	<u>Appearances for Information Only</u> ☐ None.
	Registrations For ☐ Attorney General Peg Lautenschlager, Department of Justice ☐ Phil Neuenfeldt, Wisconsin AFL-CIO, Milwaukee ☐ Frank Humphrey, NAACP of Wisconsin
	 Registrations Against □ Bill Smith, National Federation of Independent Business, Madison □ Michelle Kussow, WI Grocers Assn., Madison □ Kathi Kilgore, WI Innkeepers Assn., Madison □ Michael Vaughan, WI Chiefs of Police Association, Madison
March 11, 2004	Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1.
	Mike Mikalsen
	Committee Clerk