Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice

Assembly Bill 327

Relating to: prohibiting certain computer postings that invite harassment or obscene, lewd, or profane communication and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Friske, Schneider, Bies, Van Roy, Musser, Hines, Loeffelholz, Ladwig, Hahn, McCormick, Krawczyk, Stone, Albers and Owens; cosponsored by Senators Roessler and Kanavas.

May 13, 2003	Referred to	Committee on	Criminal Justice.

July 16, 2003 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present:	(12)	Representatives Suder, Friske, Owens, F.
		Lasee, Jeskewitz, Gundrum, Petrowski,
		Vukmir, Staskunas, Pocan, Taylor and
		Schneider.
Absent:	(2)	Representatives Colon and Turner.

Appearances For

• Representative Don Friske, 35th Assembly District

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

 \Box None.

Registrations For

- □ Jeff Wiswell, WI Sheriff's & Deputy Sheriff's Assoc, Tenney Plaza, #802, Madison, WI 53703
- □ Senator Carol Roessler, 18th Senate District
- Patti Seger, WI Coalition Against Domestic Violence, 307 S Paterson, Madison, WI 53703

Registrations Against

 \Box None.

September 17, 2003 EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD

Present:	(12)	Representatives Suder, Friske, Owens, F.
		Lasee, Gundrum, Petrowski, Vukmir, Colon,
		Pocan, Taylor, Turner and Schneider.
Absent:	(2)	Representatives Jeskewitz and Staskunas.

Moved by Representative Schneider, seconded by Representative Friske that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:	(11)	Representatives Suder, Friske, Owens, F.
		Lasee, Gundrum, Petrowski, Vukmir, Pocan,
		Taylor, Turner and Schneider.
Noes:	(1)	Representative Colon.
Absent:	(2)	Representatives Jeskewitz and Staskunas.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 1

Moved by Representative Schneider, seconded by Representative Vukmir that **Assembly Bill 327** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes:	(9)	Representatives Suder, Friske, Owens, F.
-		Lasee, Gundrum, Petrowski, Vukmir, Turner
		and Schneider.
NT	(2)	

- Noes: (3) Representatives Colon, Pocan and Taylor.
- Absent: (2) Representatives Jeskewitz and Staskunas.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 3

Anne Emerson Committee Clerk