Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Agriculture

Assembly Bill 349

Relating to: the agricultural producer security program, granting rule-making authority, and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Ott, Ainsworth, Bies, Gronemus, Gunderson, Hahn, Hines, Kestell, Krawczyk, Loeffelholz, Musser, Owens, Pettis, Suder, Towns, Townsend, Ward, Freese and Petrowski; cosponsored by Senators Brown, Schultz and Lassa.

May 20, 2003 Referred to Committee on Agriculture.

June 12, 2003 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (15) Representatives Ott, M. Williams, Ainsworth,

Petrowski, Kestell, Suder, Hines, Loeffelholz, Towns, Gronemus, Plouff, Balow, Vruwink,

Hebl and Steinbrink.

Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Senator Ron Brown, State Senate
- Jim Matson, DATCP, Madison
- Eric Hanson, DATCP, Madison
- John O'Brien, Office of State Senator Dale Schultz

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Judy Kellr, WI Cheese Makers Association, Madison
- Doug Caruso, WI Farmers Union
- Ron Statz, NFO, Prairie du Sac
- Paul Zimmerman, WI Farm Bureau Federation, Madison
- Ron Kuehn, WI Pork Producers, WI Potato & Vegetable Growers, WI Cranberry Growers, WI Muck Farmers, WI Agriservice Association
- John Manske, WI Federation of Cooperatives

Registrations Against

• None.

June 12, 2003 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (15) Representatives Ott, M. Williams, Ainsworth, Petrowski, Kestell, Suder, Hines, Loeffelholz, Towns, Gronemus, Plouff, Balow, Vruwink, Hebl and Steinbrink.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Gronemus, seconded by Representative M. Williams that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for introduction.

Ayes: (15) Representatives Ott, M. Williams,
Ainsworth, Petrowski, Kestell, Suder, Hines,
Loeffelholz, Towns, Gronemus, Plouff,
Balow, Vruwink, Hebl and Steinbrink.

Noes: (0) None.

INTRODUCTION OF ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Gronemus, seconded by Representative Loeffelholz that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (15) Representatives Ott, M. Williams, Ainsworth, Petrowski, Kestell, Suder, Hines, Loeffelholz, Towns, Gronemus, Plouff, Balow, Vruwink, Hebl and Steinbrink.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Moved by Representative M. Williams, seconded by Representative Gronemus that **Assembly Bill 349** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (15) Representatives Ott, M. Williams,
Ainsworth, Petrowski, Kestell, Suder, Hines,
Loeffelholz, Towns, Gronemus, Plouff,
Balow, Vruwink, Hebl and Steinbrink.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0