# **Assembly**

## **Record of Committee Proceedings**

### **Committee on Judiciary**

### **Assembly Bill 372**

Relating to: live birth or the circumstance of being born alive.

By Representatives Gundrum, Vukmir, Weber, Krawczyk, A. Williams, Towns, McCormick, Albers, Ladwig, Nischke, Jeskewitz, Hundertmark, Staskunas, Grothman, Van Roy, J. Fitzgerald, Ainsworth, Hines, Petrowski, Nass, Freese, LeMahieu, Gottlieb, Kreibich, Huebsch, Vrakas, Ott, J. Wood, Pettis, Kestell, Suder, Hahn, M. Lehman, Gunderson, Friske, Loeffelholz, Lothian, Bies and Jensen; cosponsored by Senators Lazich, Stepp, Roessler, Harsdorf, Breske, Zien, Schultz, Kedzie, S. Fitzgerald, Kanavas, Leibham, A. Lasee, Reynolds, Welch and Brown.

May 29, 2003 Referred to Committee on Judiciary.

August 21, 2003 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (6) Representatives Gundrum, Albers, Grothman, Kerkman, Staskunas and Hebl.

Absent: (2) Representatives McCormick and Cullen.

### Appearances For

- State Representative Mark Gundrum, 84th Assembly District
- State Senator Mary Lazich, 28th State Senate District
- Susan Armacost, WI Right to Life, Milwaukee
- Jill Stanek, RN, Mokena, IL
- Father Lawrence Keiffer, Madison
- Mary Klaver, WI Right to Life, Milwaukee
- Marianne Linane, National Assn. of Pro-Life Nurses, Milwaukee
- ☐ Beth LaChance, Waukesha
- ☐ Matt Sande, Pro-Life WI

#### Appearances Against

Gary Radloff, WI Dept. of Health and Family Services,
Madison
Jean Gorski, Fremont
Rev. Sue Moline Larson, Lutheran Office for Public Policy in
WI, Madison
Peggy Peterson, WI Dept. of Health and Family Services,
Madison

#### Appearances for Information Only

	None.	
Registrations For		
	Will Goodman, Stevens Point	
	Warren Emery, Middleton	
	Lyn Benavides, Columbus	
	Representative Scott Gunderson, 83rd Assembly District	
	Barb Paape, Deerfield	
	Bill Paape, Deerfield	
	Rebecca Rieth, Neenah	
	Dan Paape, Waterloo	
	Kris Paape, Waterloo	
	Nancy Meinholz, DeForest	
	Rebeca Jest, Brookfield	
	Lois Schlei, Butler	
	Mira Kazmer, Jefferson	
	Robert Kazmer, Jefferson	
	Mary Aleckson, Whitewater	
	Katie Leedle, Beaver Dam	
	Laura Kocum, Madison	
	Carrie Bohman, Madison	
	Marvin Munyon, WI Capitol Watch, Watertown	
	State Senator Ted Kanavas, 33rd State Senate District	
	State Representative Leah Vukmir, 14th Assembly District	
	Sister Joan Ann Springman, Oregon	
	Kathy Markeland, WI Catholic Conference, Madison	
	State Senator Dale Schultz, 17th State Senate District	
	State Senator Bob Welch, 14th State Senate District	
	Gene Green, Baptists for Life, Fox Lake Kathy Shafarik, Madison	
	State Senator Tom Reynolds, 5th State Senate District	
	Beverly Searl, Lomira	
	Elizabeth Cook, WI Right to Life, Poynette	
	Fred Cook, Columbia County Right to Life, Poynette	
П	Representative Glenn Grothman, 58th Assembly District	
П	Michele Connery, Cottage Grove	
	Al Christianson, Madison	
	Deborah Hendriks, Appleton	
	Sister Rosalia Bauer, Pro-Life WI, Beloit	
	Patrick L. Faulk, Racine	
	Kevin Kiconas, Madison	
	Ruth Moegenberg, West Bend	
	Glenda Davis, Brookfield	
	Liane Ripatte, Milwaukee	
	Harley Herold, Watertown	
	Delores Herold, Watertown	
	Joan Tatarsky, Eagle Forum of WI, Milwaukee	

	Registrations Against
	☐ Lisa Deften, Madison
	☐ Jennifer Papenthien, Madison
	☐ Lori Greenberg, Fitchburg
	☐ Priscilla Mather, Madison
	☐ Lauren Rauk, Madison
	☐ Brian Juchems, Madison
	☐ Christopher Ahmuty, ACLU of WI, Milwaukee
	☐ Elysse Chay, Milwaukee
	☐ Betsey Tague, Weweygua
	□ name not given, Young Women's Christian Assn. (YWCA),
	Madison
	☐ Sara Hinkel, Madison
	☐ Melissa Keyes, Madison
	☐ Jessica Spotts, Madison
	☐ Virginia Harrison, Madison
	☐ Laura Glazer, Middleton
	Colleen Butler, Madison
	Nancy Wrenn Bauch, Madison
	Gayle Ihlenfeld, Madison
	☐ Patricia Watkins, Madison
	☐ Eileen Mershait, Madison
September 11, 2003	EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD
	Present: (6) Representatives Gundrum, McCormick, Albers,
	Grothman, Kerkman and Cullen.
	Absent: (2) Representatives Staskunas and Hebl.
	Moved by Representative Albers, seconded by Representative
	Kerkman that <b>Assembly Bill 372</b> be recommended for passage.
	Ayes: (5) Representatives Gundrum, McCormick,
	Albers, Grothman and Kerkman.
	Noes: (1) Representative Cullen.
	Absent: (2) Representatives Staskunas and Hebl.
	PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 1
	TASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Nocs 1
	Jolene Churchill
	Committee Clerk