## Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Transportation**

#### **Assembly Bill 419**

Relating to: towing and storage charges associated with nonmoving traffic violations.

By Representatives Ladwig, Gielow, Gottlieb, Hines, Krug, Owens, Petrowski, Staskunas, Townsend and Turner; cosponsored by Senators Darling and Stepp.

June 24, 2003 Referred to Committee on Transportation.

#### August 14, 2003 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present:	(14)	Representatives Ainsworth, Petrowski, Ott,
		Hahn, Friske, Gottlieb, Van Roy, Steinbrink,
		Sherman, Vruwink, Staskunas, Gronemus,
		Hebl and Zepnick.
Absent:	(2)	Representatives Suder and McCormick.

#### Appearances For

- Representative Bonnie Ladwig, Author
- Dorinda Floyd, City of Milwaukee
- David Lawrence, City of Milwaukee
- Tom Howells, Wisconsin Motor Carriers Association
- Don Rolling, Don's Towing Service
- Jeff Roskopf, Roskopf's Towing
- Mark Block, Ray's Towing Inc.

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• Carson Frazier, Wisconsin Department of Transportation

#### **Registrations For**

- □ Senator Alberta Darling, 8th Senate District
- □ Rick Leonard, Floyd's Towing

#### **Registrations Against**

 $\Box$  None.

### September 11, 2003 EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD

Present:	(15)	Representatives Ainsworth, Petrowski, Ott,
		Hahn, Suder, Friske, McCormick, Gottlieb,
		Van Roy, Honadel, Steinbrink, Sherman,
		Vruwink, Gronemus and Zepnick.
Absent:	(2)	Representatives Staskunas and Hebl.

Moved by Representative Petrowski, seconded by Representative Ott that **Assembly Substitute Amendment LRBs0140/3** be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes: (13) Representatives Ainsworth, Petrowski, Ott, Hahn, Friske, McCormick, Gottlieb, Van Roy, Steinbrink, Sherman, Vruwink, Gronemus and Zepnick.
- Noes: (1) Representative Suder.
- Absent: (3) Representatives Honadel, Staskunas and Hebl.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT LRBS0140/3 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 1

Moved by Representative Ott, seconded by Representative Petrowski that **Assembly Bill 419** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes:	(13)	Representatives Ainsworth, Petrowski, Ott,
		Hahn, Friske, McCormick, Gottlieb, Van
		Roy, Steinbrink, Sherman, Vruwink,
		Gronemus and Zepnick.
Noes:	(3)	Representatives Suder, Staskunas and Hebl.

Absent: (1) Representative Honadel.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 3

Kristina Boardman Committee Clerk