## Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Rural Development**

### Assembly Bill 437

Relating to: granting towns limited authority to create tax incremental financing districts.

By Representatives Loeffelholz, Ott, Musser, Petrowski, Ainsworth, Gunderson, Hundertmark, McCormick, Bies, Owens, Ward, Hines, Pettis, J. Wood, Kestell, Kerkman, M. Williams, Towns, Hahn, Powers, Lothian, Vrakas, Johnsrud, J. Fitzgerald, Seratti, Weber, Huebsch, Ladwig, Kreibich, Gronemus, Freese, Albers, Friske, Suder and Stone; cosponsored by Senators Kedzie, Schultz, Breske, Kanavas and A. Lasee.

July 21, 2003 Referred to Committee on Rural Development.

September 3, 2003

## PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present:	(7)	Representatives Loeffelholz, Ott, Kestell,
		LeMahieu, Balow, Hubler and Plouff.
Absent:	(1)	Representative Suder.

## Appearances For

- Kent Woods, Wisconsin Towns Association, Pewaukee
- Jerry Derr, Wis. Towns Assoc. , Columbus
- Robert Levorich, Wisc. Towns Assoc., Sparta

#### Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Robert Thomas, Town Ridgeway, Dodgeville
- Jolene Plautz, WI Towns Assoc, Madison
- Claire Leuvich, Town of Angelo, Sparta
- Pat Stevens, Grand Chute & WI Towns Assoc., Grand Chute
- John Manske, WI Federation of Coops, Madison
- Senator Neal Kedzie, Madison
- Paul Zimmerman, Wisconsin Farm Bureau, Madison

Registrations Against

• Ed Huck, WI Alliance of Cities, Madison

- Kathi Kilgore, Waukesha County Municipal Executives, Madison
- Mario Menduza, City of Madison, Madison
- David Krahn, Waukesha County, Waukesha
- Curt Witynski, League of WI Municipalities, Madison
- Lorraine Motise, Town of LaPointe, La Pointe

#### October 29, 2003 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present:	(8)	Representatives Loeffelholz, Suder, Ott,
		Kestell, LeMahieu, Balow, Hubler and Plouff.
Absent:	(0)	None.

Moved by Representative Loeffelholz, seconded by Representative Suder that **Assembly Amendment LRBa1026/1** be recommended for introduction.

Ayes:	(8)	Representatives Loeffelholz, Suder, Ott,
		Kestell, LeMahieu, Balow, Hubler and
		Plouff.
Noes:	(0)	None

Noes: (0) None.

# INTRODUCTION OF ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT LRBA1026/1 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Ott, seconded by Representative Hubler that **Assembly Amendment LRBa1026**/1 be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:	(8)	Representatives Loeffelholz, Suder, Ott,
		Kestell, LeMahieu, Balow, Hubler and
		Plouff.
Noes:	(0)	None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT LRBA1026/1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Loeffelholz, seconded by Representative Suder that **Assembly Amendment LRBa1191/2** be recommended for introduction.

Ayes:	(8)	Representatives Loeffelholz, Suder, Ott,
		Kestell, LeMahieu, Balow, Hubler and
		Plouff.
ЪT	$\langle 0 \rangle$	NT.

Noes: (0) None.

#### INTRODUCTION OF ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT LRBA1191/2 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Ott, seconded by Representative Balow that **Assembly Amendment LRB 1191/2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:(7)Representatives Loeffelholz, Ott, Kestell,<br/>LeMahieu, Balow, Hubler and Plouff.Noes:(1)Representative Suder.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT LRB 1191/2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 1

Moved by Representative Ott, seconded by Representative Hubler that **Assembly Bill 437** be recommended for passage as amended.

- Ayes: (8) Representatives Loeffelholz, Suder, Ott, Kestell, LeMahieu, Balow, Hubler and Plouff.
- Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 0

Virginia Mueller Committee Clerk