Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education Reform

Assembly Bill 503

Relating to: the enrollment of the charter school established by the University of Wisconsin-Parkside.

By Representatives Ladwig, Jensen, Kerkman, McCormick, Hines, Krawczyk, F. Lasee, M. Lehman, Nass, Nischke, Owens, Seratti and Hahn; cosponsored by Senators Stepp, Kanavas, Roessler, Reynolds and A. Lasee.

September 08, 2003 Referred to Committee on Education Reform.

September 10, 2003 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

> Representatives Jensen, Vukmir, Nass, Olsen, Present: (13)McCormick, Towns, J. Wood, Nischke, A. Williams, Cullen, Sherman, Sinicki and J. Lehman.

Absent: (0)None.

Аp	pearances For			
•	Representative Bonnie Ladwig, 63rd Assembly District, Racine			
•	Senator Cathy Stepp, 21st Senate District, Sturtevant			
	Milton Thompson, 21st Century Peparatory School, Racine			
	Christine Hauck, 21st Century Peparatory School, Racine			
	Tammi Bostick, 21st Century Preparatory School, Racine			
	Laurie Novak-Simmons, 21st Century Preparatory Schools,			
	Racine			
Appearances Against				
	None.			

Appearances for Information Only

□ None.

egistrations For

Ke	gistrations For		
	Senator Tom Reynolds, 5th Senate District, West Allis		
	Senn Brown, Wisconsin Charter Schools Association, Madison		
	George Mitchell, American Education Reform Council,		
	Milwaukee		
	Susan Mitchell, Alliance for Choice in Education, Milwaukee		
	Ed Eberle, American Education Reform Foundation,		
	Milwaukee		

	Madison	n, Wisconsin Manufacturers and Commerce, rd, 21st Century Preparatory School, Racine		
	☐ Greg Anderegg, 21st Century Preparatory School, Racine ☐ Carole Johnson, 21st Century Preparatory School, Racine			
	☐ Sheri KrauseMadison☐ John Foreste☐ Michael Wal	rson, Milwaukee y, Wisconsin Association of School Boards, r, School Administrators Alliance, Madison sh, WEAC, Madison y, WEAC, Madison		
September 24, 2003	EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD			
	Present: (13)	McCormick, Towns, J. Wood, Nischke, A. Williams, Cullen, Sherman, Sinicki and J. Lehman.		
	Absent: (0)	None.		
	Moved by Representative Towns, seconded by Representa Wood that Assembly Bill 503 be recommended for passage			
	Ayes:	(8) Representatives Jensen, Vukmir, Nass, Olsen, McCormick, Towns, J. Wood and Nischke.		
	Noes:	(5) Representatives A. Williams, Cullen, Sherman, Sinicki and J. Lehman.		
	PASSAGE REC	OMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 5		
		Steve Knudson Committee Clerk		