Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Energy and Utilities

Assembly Bill 515

Relating to: retained earnings of telecommunications cooperatives.

By Representatives Freese, Gard, Gronemus, Hines, Hubler, Johnsrud, Kreibich, Loeffelholz, Lothian, Musser, Nass, Ott, Schneider and Van Roy; cosponsored by Senators Schultz, Brown, Erpenbach, Harsdorf, Kanavas, Lassa, Risser and Zien.

September 11, 2003 Referred to Committee on Energy and Utilities.

PUBLIC HEARING HELD November 25, 2003

Present: (9) Representatives Jensen, Montgomery, J. Fitzgerald, Gottlieb, Nischke, Honadel, Steinbrink, Krug and Travis.

Absent: (4) Representatives Powers, Friske, Ziegelbauer and Schooff.

Appearances For

- Rep. Steve Freese, 51st AD, Dodgeville
- Warren Day, WI Telephone Cooperative, Oregon
- Matt Macdonald, Kiesling Associates LLP, Madison
- Terry Whipple, Juneau Co. Economic Development Corp., Tomah
- Jim Costello, Lemonweir Valley Telephone Co., Camp Douglas
- Jake Spry, S&S Cycle, Viola
- Melisa Duffy, WI Federation of Coops, Fond du Lac
- Bill Averbeck, WI Federation of Coops, Fond du Lac
- ☐ Rod Olson, Vernon Telephone Cooperative, Westby
- ☐ Geoffrey Banta, Viroqua
- ☐ David Jenkins, WI Electric Cooperative Assoc., Madison
- ☐ Bill Esbeck, WI State Telecommunications Association (WISTA), Madison
- Ruthann Nelson, WI Federation of Coops, Madison

Appearances Against	
]	David Walsh, WI Cable Communications Assoc., Madison
	Tom Moore, WI Cable Communication Assoc, Madison
	Rep. Mike Huebsch, 94th AD, West Salem
	Lorenzo Cruz, CenturyTel, Madison

Appearances for Information Only None.
Registrations For Kurt Hauge, Vernon Telephone Coop, Viroqua Randy Siler, West Wisconsin Telcom Coop, Downsville Bryan Amundson, Marquette Adams Telephone Coop, Oxford Robin Buck, West Wisconsin Telcom Coop, Downsville David Lull, Richland Grant Tel Coop, Blue River Christy Berger, Nelson Telephone Coop, Durand Jeff Wiswell, WI Sheriffs & Deputy Sheriffs Assoc, Madison Michael Theis, Theis Comm Consulting, Madison Registrations Against Kate Blavat, SBC, Madison Michelle Kussow, WI Grocers Assn., Madison Bill Smith, National Federation of Independent Business, Madison
Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1.
Brett Healy Committee Clerk