Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Agriculture

Assembly Bill 536

Relating to: pet dealers, kennels, animal shelters, dog licensing, granting rulemaking authority, making an appropriation, and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Balow, J. Wood, Lothian, Ott, Kreibich, Krawczyk, Ladwig, Richards, Underheim, Coggs, Zepnick, Taylor, Weber, Molepske, Van Akkeren, Plouff, Ainsworth, Gronemus, Pocan, Cullen, Steinbrink, Stone, Sinicki, Loeffelholz, Shilling, Boyle, M. Lehman, Van Roy and Olsen; cosponsored by Senators Roessler, Leibham, Kanavas, Risser, M. Meyer, Breske, Carpenter, Chvala, Wirch, Plale and Hansen.

September 25, 2003 Referred to Committee on Agriculture.

October 16, 2003 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (14) Representatives Ott, M. Williams, Ainsworth, Petrowski, Kestell, Suder, Hines, Loeffelholz, Gronemus, Plouff, Balow, Vruwink, Hebl and Molepske.

Absent: (1) Representative Towns.

Appearances For

- Representative Larry Balow, 68th Assembly District
- Representative Jeff Wood, 67th Assembly District
- Representive Thomas Lothian, 32nd Assembly District
- Dr. Yvonne Bellay, DATCP, Madison
- Dr. Frederick Lord, Forest Junction
- Ledy VanKavage, American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals, Maryville, IL
- □ Jill Prescott, Hartland
- 🗆 Kathryn Griffin, Wausau
- □ Eilene Ribbens Rohde, Alliance of WI Animal Rehoming Efforts & WI Puppy Mill Project, Elkhart Lake
- □ Cheri Carr, Dane County Sheriff's Department, Madison
- Douglas Weil, Clark County Sheriff's Department, Neillsville
- □ Joyce A. Kitsemble, Wisconsin Rapids
- □ Edward Kitsemble, Wisconsin Rapids
- Dr. Pete MacWilliams, WI Veterinary Medical Association, Madison
- □ Leslie Grendahl, WI Veterinary Medical Association, Madison
- □ Sally Krause, Delavan
- □ Ruth Heike, DATCP, Madison

□ Cynthia Lott, Alliance for Animals, Madison

Appearances Against

- □ Joyce Ellenbecker, Ellenbecker Kennel, Arpin
- □ Terri Tinsley, Arf's German Shepherd Rescue, Inc., Fort Atkinson

Appearances for Information Only

□ Marilyn Wilson, Clean Power Wisconsin, Madison

Registrations For

- □ Senator Ted Kanavas, 33rd Senate District
- □ Senator Carol Roessler, 18th Senate District
- □ Leslie Hamilton, Madison
- □ Paul T. O'Leary, Madison
- □ Holly Slota, Madison
- □ Joyce H. Wells, Madison
- □ Betsy Lipscomb, Cats International, Cedarburg
- □ Gina King, Alliance for Animals, Janesville
- Diane Mills-Frank, Beaver Dam Humane Society, Beaver Dam
- □ Stacy Taeuber, Madison
- □ Barry Ashenfelter, WI Humane Society, Milwaukee
- □ Joan Bachleitner, Madison
- \Box Dan Cox, Madison
- □ Kathy Meulemans, Ozaukee Humane Society, Grafton
- □ William Alexander, Madison
- □ Pamela Alexander, Madison
- □ Scott Prescott, Hartland
- □ Kelly Mosby, Breeders, Walworth
- □ Sandi Meinholz, Fine Feathered Friends Sanctuary, Madison
- □ Randy Munhy, Fine Feathered Friends Sanctuary, Madison
- □ Steve Fitzsimmons, Madison Cagebird Association, Madison
- □ Jay Blankenship, Humane Animal Welfare Society, Shorewood
- □ Megan A. Senatori, Madison
- □ Dan Stuntebeck, Middleton
- □ Renee Stodola, Dane County Humane Society, Madison
- □ Walt Griffin, Wausau

Registrations Against

- □ Michael Ellenbecker, Arpin
- □ Michele Punzel, TICA, Jefferson

January 8, 2004 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (15) Representatives Ott, M. Williams, Ainsworth, Petrowski, Kestell, Suder, Hines, Loeffelholz,

		Towns, Gronemus, Plouff, Balow, Vruwink,
		Hebl and Molepske.
Absent:	(0)	None.

Moved by Representative Hebl, seconded by Representative Balow that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:	(9)	Representatives Ott, Ainsworth, Hines,
		Loeffelholz, Plouff, Balow, Vruwink, Hebl
		and Molepske.
Noes:	(6)	Representatives M. Williams, Petrowski,
		Kestell, Suder, Towns and Gronemus.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 6

Moved by Representative Balow, seconded by Representative Gronemus that **Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:	(5) Representatives Gronemus, Plouff, Balow,
	Vruwink and Molepske.
Noes:	(10) Representatives Ott, M. Williams,
	Ainsworth, Petrowski, Kestell, Suder, Hines,
	Loeffelholz, Towns, Hebl.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 10

Moved by Representative Hebl, seconded by Representative Plouff that **Assembly Amendment LRB 1898** be recommended for introduction.

- Ayes: (15) Representatives Ott, M. Williams, Ainsworth, Petrowski, Kestell, Suder, Hines, Loeffelholz, Towns, Gronemus, Plouff, Balow, Vruwink, Hebl and Molepske.
- Noes: (0) None.

INTRODUCTION OF ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT LRB 1898 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Hines, seconded by Representative Balow that **Assembly Amendment LRB 1898** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:	(9)	Representatives Ainsworth, Hines,
		Loeffelholz, Gronemus, Plouff, Balow,
		Vruwink, Hebl and Molepske.

Noes: (6) Representatives Ott, M. Williams, Petrowski, Kestell, Suder and Towns.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT LRB 1898 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 6

Moved by Representative Vruwink, seconded by Representative Ott that **Assembly Amendment LRB 1916** be recommended for introduction.

Ayes:	(15)	Representatives Ott, M. Williams,
		Ainsworth, Petrowski, Kestell, Suder, Hines,
		Loeffelholz, Towns, Gronemus, Plouff,
		Balow, Vruwink, Hebl and Molepske.
Noes:	(0)	None.

INTRODUCTION OF ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT LRB 1916 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Vruwink, seconded by Representative Hebl that **Assembly Amendment LRB 1916** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:	(10)	Representatives Ott, Ainsworth, Hines,
		Loeffelholz, Gronemus, Plouff, Balow,
		Vruwink, Hebl, Molepske.
Noes:	(5)	Representatives M. Williams, Petrowski,
		Kestell, Suder and Towns.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT LRB 1916 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 5

Moved by Representative Suder, seconded by Representative Petrowski that **Assembly Bill 536** be recommended for indefinite postponement.

Ayes:	(9)	Representatives M. Williams, Ainsworth,
		Petrowski, Kestell, Suder, Hines, Towns,
		Gronemus and Vruwink.
Noes:	(6)	Representatives Ott, Loeffelholz, Plouff,

Balow, Hebl and Molepske.

INDEFINITE POSTPONEMENT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 6

Erin Napralla Committee Clerk