Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Energy and Utilities

Assembly Bill 555

Relating to: requirements for approval of construction of nuclear power plants.

By Representatives Huebsch, Jensen, Ziegelbauer, Owens, F. Lasee, Pettis, Musser, LeMahieu, Grothman, Bies, Montgomery, Suder, Hines, Jeskewitz, Nischke, Gottlieb, Van Roy and Honadel; cosponsored by Senators Leibham, A. Lasee, Roessler and Reynolds.

October 02, 2003 Referred to Committee on Energy and Utilities.

December 9, 2003 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (10) Representatives Jensen, Montgomery, Friske, J. Fitzgerald, Gottlieb,

Honadel, Ziegelbauer, Steinbrink, Krug, Travis.

Absent: (3) Representatives Powers, Nischke and Schooff.

Appearances For

• Rep. Mike Huebsch, 94th AD, West Salem

- John Farrow, Pewaukee
- Max Carbon, Madison
- Gerald Kulcinski, University of Wisconsin, Madison
- Forrest Ceel, Int. Brotherhood of Electrical Workers Local 2150, Waukesha
- John Kemper, Int. Brotherhood of Electrical Workers Local 2150, De Pere
- Paul Wilson, Madison
- David Jenkins, WI Electric Cooperative Assoc., Madison
- Theodore Iltis, Madison
- R.J. Pirlot, Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce, Madison
- Kenyon Kies, WI Utility Investors, Inc., Madison

Appearances Against

- Rep. Spencer Black, 77th Assembly District, Madison
- Tom Wilson, Northern Thunder, Viroqua
- Jennifer Giegerich, WI Public Interest Research Group, Madison
- Jacob Jesson, Madison
- Alfred Meyer, Physicians for Social Responsibility, Madison
- Judy Miner, WI Network for Peace and Justice, Madison
- Tom Brown, Madison
- Charlie Higley, Citizen's Utility Board, Madison
- Rev. Dave Steffenson, WI Interfaith Climate and Energy Campaign, Columbus
- Lee Brown, Madison
- Sean Caldwell, College of Menominee Nation, Gresham
- Margaret Dunn, Women for Peace Code Pink, Waunakee
- Richelle Lehmann, Middleton
- Marion Stuenkel, Madison
- Katherine Wenban, Madison
- Claire Schmidt, Clean WI, Madison

Appearances for Information Only

- April Walker, Madison
- Patrick Bohn, Madison
- Erik Dutilly, Madison

Registrations For

- Michael Corradini, University of WI Madison, Madison
- Dan Dasho, Shawano Municipal Utility, Shawano
- Todd Allen, University of WI Madison, Madison
- William Ross, Shawano Municipal Utilities, Shawano
- Beata Kalies, WI Electric Cooperative Assn., Madison

Registrations Against

- Brian Lazorik, Madison
- Ty Phelps, Madison
- Rebecca Korney, Verona
- John Mix, Verona
- Brett Hulsey, Madison
- Eric Burg, Madison
- Marc Looze, Madison
- Will Hoyes, Madison
- Derek Scheer, Madison
- Nancy Gettys, Madison
- Ann Meyer Schmidt, Brooklyn
- Don Kliese, Madison
- Jamie Annear, Madison
- Lisa Fuelleman, Mt. Horeb
- Anothy Jurek, Neenah
- Paul Houseman, Madison
- Barb Kneer, Madison
- Mike Wyatt, Madison
- Thomas Kozlousky, Madison
- Anne Chacon, Madison
- Rev. Sue Moline Larson, Lutheran Office for Public Policy in WI, Madison
- Jordan Thomas, Madison
- Isaac Penezykowski, Madison
- Chris Nehrbass, Stoughton
- Careyl Terrell, Sierra Club John Muir Chapter, Madison
- Lauren Sturges, Madison
- Scott Wilhelm, Madison
- Tom Boswell, Madison
- Dr. Eugene Farley, Verona
- Dr. Linda Farley, Physicians for Social Responsibility, Verona
- Yekaterina Bell, Madison
- Bonnie Urfer, Nukewatch, Luck
- John LaForge, Luck
- Amy Fuelleman, Madison
- Barbara Smith, Madison

- Jon Lund, Madison
- Tim Cordon, Madison
- Cassandra Dixon, Wisconsin Dells
- Bill Caldwell, Madison
- Fawn Heuck, Madison
- Kate Edwards, Madison
- David Kurkl, Highbridge
- Andrew Lehto, Madison
- Glenn Mitroff, Madison
- Ruth Kaczor, Madison

February 10, 2004 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (12) Representatives Jensen, Montgomery, Friske, J. Fitzgerald, Gottlieb, Nischke, Honadel, Ziegelbauer, Steinbrink, Schooff, Zepnick and

Travis.

Absent: (1) Representative Powers.

Moved by Representative Montgomery, seconded by Representative Ziegelbauer that **Assembly Bill 555** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (9) Representatives Jensen, Montgomery, Friske, J. Fitzgerald, Gottlieb, Nischke, Honadel, Ziegelbauer and Steinbrink.

Noes: (3) Representatives Schooff, Zepnick and Travis.

Absent: (1) Representative Powers.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 3

Brett Healy Committee Clerk