Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Transportation

Assembly Bill 575

Relating to: operator's license renewals for certain drivers and fees for certain driving skills tests.

By Representatives Wasserman, Hines, Ainsworth, Gunderson, Jeskewitz, Krug, F. Lasee, Shilling, Taylor, Towns, Zepnick and Stone; cosponsored by Senator Robson.

October 15, 2003 Referred to Committee on Transportation.

November 20, 2003 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (14) Representatives Ainsworth, Petrowski, Ott, Hahn, Friske, McCormick, Van Roy, Honadel, Steinbrink, Sherman, Vruwink, Staskunas, Hebl and Zepnick.

Absent: (3) Representatives Suder, Gottlieb and Gronemus.

Appearances For

- Representative Sheldon Wasserman, 22nd Assembly District
- Dr. Mark Freedman, WI Academy of Ophthalmology
- Terry Hottenroth, Boardman Law Firm/WI Academy of Ophthalmology
- Robert Janke, self
- Russ Weisensel, self
- Richard Langan, Alzheimer's Association
- Rob Gundermann, Alzheimer's Association

Appearances Against

- Tom Frazier, Coalition of Wisconsin Aging Groups
- Gail Sumi, AARP Wisconsin

Appearances for Information Only

• John Alley, WisDOT DMV

Registrations For

- Peter Theo, WI Optometric Association
- Alice O'Connor, Wisconsin Medical Society
- Tim Hoven, WI Academy of Family Physicians
- Senator Judy Robson, 15th Senate District

Registrations Against

• Ernie Stetenfeld, AAA Wisconsin

January 29, 2004 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (16) Representatives Ainsworth, Petrowski, Ott, Hahn, Suder, Friske, McCormick, Gottlieb,

Van Roy, Honadel, Steinbrink, Sherman, Vruwink, Staskunas, Gronemus and Hebl.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Ott, seconded by Representative Sherman that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (16) Representatives Ainsworth, Petrowski, Ott, Hahn, Suder, Friske, McCormick, Gottlieb, Van Roy, Honadel, Steinbrink, Sherman, Vruwink, Staskunas, Gronemus and Hebl.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 16, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Ott, seconded by Representative Hebl that **Assembly Bill 575** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (15) Representatives Ainsworth, Petrowski, Ott, Hahn, Friske, McCormick, Gottlieb, Van

Roy, Honadel, Steinbrink, Sherman, Vruwink, Staskunas, Gronemus and Hebl.

Noes: (1) Representative Suder.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 1

Kristina Boardman Committee Clerk