## Senate

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Education, Ethics and Elections**

#### **Assembly Bill 600**

Relating to: election administration, voter registration and voting requirements and procedures and granting rule-making authority.

By Committee on Campaigns and Elections, by request of Elections Board.

November 06, 2003 Referred to Committee on Education, Ethics and Elections.

PUBLIC HEARING HELD December 17, 2003

> Present: (6) Senators Ellis, S. Fitzgerald, Reynolds, Jauch,

> > Robson and Hansen.

Absent: (1) Senator Stepp.

#### Appearances For

- Kevin Kennedy, Wisconsin State Elections Board
- Rob Richard, for Representative Steve Freese

### Appearances Against

- Lynn Breedlove, Wisconsin Coalition For Advocacy, Madison, WI
- Shel Gross, Wisconsin Mental Health Association, Madison, WI 53703
- Michael Bachhuber, Wisconsin Coalition of Independent Living Centers, Madison, WI 53704

<u>Appearances</u>	tor	Informa	tion	Onl	y

<u> </u>	pearances for information only
	LuAnn Bird, League of Women Voters, Madison, WI 53703
	Beverly Speer, Wisconsin Democracy Campaign, Madison, WI
	53703
	Carolyn Castore, Wisconsin Citizen Action, 5664 W. Martin
	Drive, Milwaukee, WI 53208
Re	gistrations For
	Chris Thomas Cramer, Wisconsin Council on Developmental
	Disabilities, Madison, WI
Re	gistrations Against
	Alicia Sidman, Wisconsin Coalition for Advocacy
	Barry Ashenfelter, Wisconsin Voter Lists, Watertown, WI
	53094

#### January 20, 2004 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (7) Senators Ellis, S. Fitzgerald, Reynolds, Stepp, Jauch, Robson and Hansen.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Ellis, seconded by Senator Jauch that **SAa1871** be recommended for introduction and adoption.

Ayes: (6) Senators Ellis, S. Fitzgerald, Stepp, Jauch, Robson and Hansen.

Noes: (1) Senator Reynolds.

INTRODUCTION AND ADOPTION OF SAA1871 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 1

Moved by Senator Ellis that **Assembly Bill 600** be recommended for concurrence as amended.

Ayes: (7) Senators Ellis, S. Fitzgerald, Reynolds, Stepp, Jauch, Robson and Hansen.

Noes: (0) None.

CONCURRENCE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 0

Michael Boerger Committee Clerk