Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Energy and Utilities

Assembly Bill 632

Relating to: construction of electric generating facilities and transmission lines, and granting rule-making authority.

By Representatives Jensen, Steinbrink, J. Fitzgerald, Nischke, Pope-Roberts, Gottlieb, J. Lehman, Nass, Zepnick, Rhoades, Taylor, Weber, Ainsworth, Hundertmark, Hines, Kreibich, McCormick, Musser, Pettis, Stone, Honadel and Albers; cosponsored by Senators Cowles, Leibham, Stepp, Kanavas, Hansen, Panzer, Erpenbach, Darling and Plale.

October 29, 2003 Referred to Committee on Energy and Utilities.

November 6, 2003 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present:	(11)	Representatives Jensen, Friske, J. Fitzgerald,
		Gottlieb, Nischke, Honadel, Ziegelbauer,
		Steinbrink, Krug, Schooff and Travis.
Absent:	(2)	Representatives Powers and Montgomery.

Moved by Representative Friske, seconded by Representative Ziegelbauer that **Assembly Amendment 1 to Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:	(11)	Representatives Jensen, Friske, J. Fitzgerald,
		Gottlieb, Nischke, Honadel, Ziegelbauer,
		Steinbrink, Krug, Schooff and Travis.
Noes:	(0)	None.

Absent: (2) Representatives Powers and Montgomery.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 TO ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 0

Moved by Representative J. Fitzgerald, seconded by Representative Steinbrink that **Assembly Substitute Amendment** 1 be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:	(11)	Representatives Jensen, Friske, J. Fitzgerald,
		Gottlieb, Nischke, Honadel, Ziegelbauer,
		Steinbrink, Krug, Schooff and Travis.
Noes:	(0)	None.

Absent: (2) Representatives Powers and Montgomery.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Gottlieb, seconded by Representative Krug that **Assembly Bill 632** be recommended for passage as amended.

- Ayes: (11) Representatives Jensen, Friske, J. Fitzgerald, Gottlieb, Nischke, Honadel, Ziegelbauer, Steinbrink, Krug, Schooff and Travis.
- Noes: (0) None.
- Absent: (2) Representatives Powers and Montgomery.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 0

November 6, 2003 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present:	(11)	Representatives Jensen, Friske, J. Fitzgerald,
		Gottlieb, Nischke, Honadel, Ziegelbauer,
		Steinbrink, Krug, Schooff and Travis.
Absent:	(2)	Representatives Powers and Montgomery.

Appearances For

- □ Executive Assistant Elizabeth Kluesner, Department of Natural Resources, Madison
- □ Executive Assistant Daniel Ebert, WI Public Service Commission, Madison
- □ Rita Hayen, American Transmission Company, Waukesha
- □ Jeff Rauh, American Transmission Company, Waukesha
- □ Alice Thompson, WI Wetlands Assoc., Milwaukee
- David Benforado, Municipal Electric Utilities of WI, Sun Prairie
- □ Bill Skewes, WI Utilities Assoc., Madison
- □ Brian Zelenak, Xcel Energy, Madison
- □ James Morrison, WI Public Service, Green Bay
- □ Joel Haubrich, WE Energies, Milwaukee
- □ Weenonah Brattset, Neighbors Standing United, Jefferson
- Executive Director George Meyer, WI Wildlife Federation, Madison
- □ R.J. Pirlot, Wisconsin Manufacturing & Commerce, Madison

Appearances Against

- Deamela McGillivray, Save Our Unique Lands, Madison
- □ President Tom Krueger, Save Our Unique Lands, Mosinee
- □ Ed Garvey, Save Our Unique Lands, Madison

- □ Bill McClenahan, Calpine, Madison
- □ Marc Looze, Clean Wisconsin, Madison
- Derek Scheer, Clean Wisconsin, Madison

Appearances for Information Only

- □ Lee Cullen, Customers First Coalition, Madison
- □ Cathy Boies, Customers First Coalition, Madison
- □ Michael Vickerman, RENEW WI, Madison
- Dane Co. Supervisor Brett Hulsey, Sierra Club, Madison
- □ Sara Ludtke, WI Public Power, Sun Prairie

Registrations For

- □ Kenric Scheevel, Dairyland Power Cooperative, La Crosse
- □ Scott Neitzel, Madison Gas and Electric, Madison
- Dehil Uekert, WI Public Service Corp., Madison
- □ Amy Boyer, WI Economic Development Assoc., Madison
- □ Matt Pagel, WI Public Service Commission, Madison
- □ Becky Abel, WI Wetlands Accoc., Madison

Registrations Against

 \Box None.

Brett Healy Committee Clerk