Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Insurance

Assembly Bill 685

Relating to: the definition of a group health benefit plan.

By Representatives Gielow, Van Roy, Ainsworth, Albers, Bies, Hahn, Hines, Honadel, Gottlieb, Gunderson, Jeskewitz, Kestell, Krawczyk, Ladwig, M. Lehman, Montgomery, Musser, Nischke, Olsen, Ott, Petrowski, Pettis, Seratti, Stone, Townsend, Underheim, Vrakas and Vukmir; cosponsored by Senators Kanavas, Darling, A. Lasee, Reynolds, Roessler, Schultz and Welch.

December 01, 2003 Referred to Committee on Insurance.

January 15, 2004

PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present:	(14)	Representatives Ladwig, Underheim, F. Lasee,
		McCormick, Weber, Gielow, Van Roy,
		Honadel, Cullen, Shilling, Huber, Plouff, J.
		Lehman and Berceau.
Absent:	(1)	Representative Wieckert.

Appearances For

- Representative Curt Gielow, State Assembly, 316 North, State Capitol, Madison, WI 53708
- Josh Watson, Golden Rule Insurance Company, Indianapolis, IN
- □ J.P. Wieske, Council for Affordable Health Insurance, Green Bay, WI
- □ Dan Schwartzer, Wisconsin Association of Health Underwriters, Madison, WI

Appearances Against

 \Box None.

Appearances for Information Only

- □ Eileen Mallow, Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
- □ Kelly Rosati, Wisconsin Association of Health Plans

Registrations For

- □ Senator Alberta Darling, Wisconsin State Senate
- R.J. Pirlot, Wisconsin Manufacturers and Commerce, Madison, WI
- □ Ron Kuehn, Professional Insurance Agents, Madison, WI

- Ron Kuehn, National Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors, Madison, WI
- □ Dan Schwartzer, Wisconsin Association of Provider Networks, Madison, WI
- □ Lee Fanshaw, American Family Insurance, Madison, WI
- □ Ron Kuehn, Independent Insurance Agents, Madison, WI
- □ Chad Zuleger, American Medical Security, Green Bay, WI

Registrations Against

□ Joanne Ricca, Wisconsin State AFL-CIO, Milwaukee, WI

February 18, 2004 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

 Present: (15) Representatives Ladwig, Wieckert, Underheim, F. Lasee, McCormick, Weber, Gielow, Van Roy, Honadel, Cullen, Shilling, Huber, Plouff, J. Lehman and Berceau.
Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative F. Lasee, seconded by Representative Weber that **Assembly Bill 685** be recommended for passage.

Ayes:	(11)	Representatives Ladwig, Wieckert,
		Underheim, F. Lasee, McCormick, Weber,
		Gielow, Van Roy, Honadel, Shilling and
		Plouff.
Noes:	(4)	Representatives Cullen, Huber, J. Lehman
	. /	and Berceau.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 4

Janine Hale Committee Clerk