Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Agriculture

Assembly Bill 699

Relating to: payments to ethanol producers and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Freese, J. Wood, Gronemus, Ward, Ott, Ainsworth, Petrowski, Suder, Hines, Loeffelholz, Towns, Balow, Vruwink, Gunderson, Hahn, Pettis, Albers, Owens, McCormick, Musser and Bies; cosponsored by Senators Harsdorf, Welch, Roessler, A. Lasee, Schultz, Zien and Hansen.

December 05, 2003 Referred to Committee on Agriculture.

December 11, 2003 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present:	(12)	Representatives Ott, M. Williams, Ainsworth,
		Petrowski, Kestell, Hines, Loeffelholz, Towns,
		Plouff, Balow, Hebl and Molepske.
Absent:	(3)	Representatives Suder, Gronemus and
		Vruwink.

Appearances For

- State Representative Steve Freese, 51st Assembly District
- Bob Sather, WI Ethanol Producers Association, Chippewa Falls
- Alexander Samardzich, Ace Ethanol, Bruce
- Jerry Franz, United Wisconsin Grain Producers, Poynette
- Chet Gerlach, WI Ethanol Producers Association, Madison
- Bob Oleson, WI Corn Growers Association, Palmyra

Appearances Against

 Christa Westerberg, Garvey & Stoddard, Attorneys at Law, Madison

Appearances for Information Only

□ Ralph Groschen, Minnesota Department of Agriculture, St. Paul, MN

Registrations For

- □ State Senator Sheila Harsdorf, 10th Senate District
- □ State Representative Gene Hahn, 47th Assembly District, Madison
- □ State Senator Bob Welch, 14th Senate District
- □ John Malchine, Badger State Ethanol, Wind Lake

- Deaul Zimmerman, WI Farm Bureau Federation, Madison
- □ John Manske, WI Federation of Cooperatives, Madison

Registrations Against

□ Ed Garvey, Madison

January 8, 2004 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

 Present: (15) Representatives Ott, M. Williams, Ainsworth, Petrowski, Kestell, Suder, Hines, Loeffelholz, Towns, Gronemus, Plouff, Balow, Vruwink, Hebl and Molepske.
Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Ott, seconded by Representative M. Williams that **Assembly Amendment LRB 1901** be recommended for introduction.

 Ayes: (15) Representatives Ott, M. Williams, Ainsworth, Petrowski, Kestell, Suder, Hines, Loeffelholz, Towns, Gronemus, Plouff, Balow, Vruwink, Hebl and Molepske.
Noes: (0) None.

INTRODUCTION OF ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT LRB 1901 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Gronemus, seconded by Representative Petrowski that **Assembly Amendment LRB 1901** be recommended for adoption.

 Ayes: (15) Representatives Ott, M. Williams, Ainsworth, Petrowski, Kestell, Suder, Hines, Loeffelholz, Towns, Gronemus, Plouff, Balow, Vruwink, Hebl and Molepske.
Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT LRB 1901 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Plouff, seconded by Representative Balow that **Assembly Amendment LRB 1902** be recommended for introduction.

Ayes: (1) Representative Plouff.

Noes: (14) Representatives Ott, M. Williams, Ainsworth, Petrowski, Kestell, Suder, Hines, Loeffelholz, Towns, Gronemus, Balow, Vruwink, Hebl and Molepske.

INTRODUCTION OF ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT LRB 1902 NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 1, Noes 14

Moved by Representative Plouff, seconded by Representative Balow that **Assembly Amendment LRB 1903** be recommended for introduction.

Ayes:	(1) Representative Plouff.
Noes:	(14) Representatives Ott, M. Williams,
	Ainsworth, Petrowski, Kestell, Suder, Hines,
	Loeffelholz, Towns, Gronemus, Balow,
	Vruwink, Hebl and Molepske.

INTRODUCTION OF ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT LRB 1903 NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 1, Noes 14

Moved by Representative Ainsworth, seconded by Representative Balow that **Assembly Bill 699** be recommended for passage.

Ayes:(14) Representatives Ott, M. Williams,
Ainsworth, Petrowski, Kestell, Suder, Hines,
Loeffelholz, Towns, Gronemus, Balow,
Vruwink, Hebl and Molepske.Noes:(1) Representative Plouff.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 1

Erin Napralla Committee Clerk