Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education Reform

Assembly Bill 746

Relating to: eligibility to attend an independent charter school and payments made to independent charter schools.

By Representatives Krug, Vukmir, Sinicki, Jensen, Richards, Jeskewitz, J. Wood and Nischke; cosponsored by Senators Darling, Plale, Kanavas, A. Lasee, Reynolds, Stepp and Lazich.

January 09, 2004	Referred to Committee on Education Reform.			
January 14, 2004	PUBLIC HEARING HELD			
	Present:	(12)	Representatives Jensen, Vukmir, Nass, Olsen, Towns, J. Wood, Nischke, A. Williams, Cullen, Sherman, Sinicki and J. Lehman.	
	Absent:	(1)	Representative McCormick.	
	Annearan	ces For		

<u>Appearances For</u>

- □ Representative Shirley Krug, 12th Assembly District, Milwaukee
- □ Robert Rauch, Marva Collins Prepatory School, Milwaukee
- □ Sherrie Tussler, Milwaukee
- □ Tom McCee, Woodlands School, Brookfield
- □ Jerome Grzeca, Woodlands School, Glendale
- □ Mary Devitt, Woodlands School, Glendale
- □ Lynne English, Woodlands School, Milwaukee

Appearances Against

□ None.

Appearances for Information Only

□ None.

Registrations For

- □ Senator Alberta Darling
- □ George Mitchell, American Education Reform Council, Milwaukee
- □ State Senator Ted Kanavas
- □ Karla Ashenhurst, UW-Milwaukee, Milwaukee
- □ Jerome Heer, Woodlands School, Wauwatosa
- □ Senn Brown, Wisconsin Charter Schools Association, Madison
- □ Michelle Dwyer, Milwaukee

- Ed Eberle, American Education Reform Foundation, Milwaukee
- □ Ivelisse Lopez, Greenfield
- □ Jason Bacon, Woodlands School, Milwaukee
- □ Agatha Coleman, Woodlands School, Glendale
- □ Timothy Tym, West Allis
- □ Kristen Tym, West Allis
- Nathan Elias, Metropolitan Milwaukee Association of Commerce, Milwaukee

Registrations Against

- □ Rep. Polly Williams, 10th Assembly District, Milwaukee
- □ John Forester, School Administrators Alliance, Madison
- □ Michael Walsh, WEAC, Madison
- □ Jennifer Kammerud, Dept. of Public Instruction, Madison

January 14, 2004 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

 Present: (12) Representatives Jensen, Vukmir, Nass, Olsen, Towns, J. Wood, Nischke, A. Williams, Cullen, Sherman, Sinicki and J. Lehman.
Absent: (1) Representative McCormick.

Moved by Representative Sinicki, seconded by Representative Vukmir that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for introduction.

Ayes:	(12)	Representatives Jensen, Vukmir, Nass,
		Olsen, Towns, J. Wood, Nischke, A.
		Williams, Cullen, Sherman, Sinicki and J.
		Lehman.
Noes:	(0)	None.

Absent: (1) Representative McCormick.

INTRODUCTION OF ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Vukmir, seconded by Representative Sinicki that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:	(8)	Representatives Jensen, Vukmir, Nass,
		Olsen, Towns, J. Wood, Nischke and Sinicki.
Noes:	(4)	Representatives A. Williams, Cullen,
		Sherman and J. Lehman.
Absent:	(1)	Representative McCormick.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 4

Moved by Representative Vukmir, seconded by Representative Sinicki that **Assembly Bill 746** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes:	(8)	Representatives Jensen, Vukmir, Nass,
		Olsen, Towns, J. Wood, Nischke and Sinicki.
Noes:	(4)	Representatives A. Williams, Cullen,
		Sherman and J. Lehman.
Absent:	(1)	Representative McCormick.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 4

Steve Knudson Committee Clerk