### **Assembly**

## **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Transportation**

#### **Assembly Bill 748**

Relating to: removal of vegetation along highways under the jurisdiction of the Department of Transportation.

By Representatives Ward, Nischke, Ladwig, Gronemus, M. Lehman, Townsend, Hahn, Huebsch, Gielow, Suder, Montgomery, F. Lasee, Seratti, J. Wood, Honadel, Van Roy, Albers, McCormick, Gunderson, Freese, Musser, Krawczyk, Ainsworth and Vrakas; cosponsored by Senators Kanavas, M. Meyer, Brown, Hansen and Schultz.

January 14, 2004 Referred to Committee on Transportation.

#### February 11, 2004 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (15) Representatives Ainsworth, Petrowski, Ott,

Hahn, Suder, Friske, McCormick, Gottlieb, Van Roy, Honadel, Steinbrink, Vruwink,

Staskunas, Gronemus and Hebl.

Absent: (1) Representative Sherman.

#### Appearances For

- Representative David Ward, Author
- Janet Swandby, Outdoor Advertising Association of Wisconsin
- Dan Pomeroy, Outdoor Advertising Association of Wisconsin/Clear Channel Outdoor
- Gregory Good, Clear Channel Outdoor Advertising
- Bill Schroeder, Orde Advertising
- Keith Carson, Collins Outdoor Advertising
- Jason Saari, Clear Channel Outdoor, Inc.
- Mike Collins, Collins Outdoor Advertising of LaCrosse

#### **Appearances Against**

- David Vieth, Wisconsin Department of Transportation
- Michael Krenn, Kohler Co.
- Vernie Smith, Citizens for a Scenic Wisconsin
- Chuck Mitchell, Citizens for a Scenic Wisconsin
- Cornel Hausler, self
- Lowell Klessig, self
- Richard Chenoweth, self

### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

#### Registrations For

- Bill Kennedy, Kennedy Communications
- Senator Ted Kanavas, Senate Co-Author
- Chet Gerlach, Association of WI Tourism Attractions
- Bill Mitchell, self
- Andy MacMorran, Lamar Advertising
- Ray Ten Pas, Ten Pas Sign Company
- Chris Eigenberger, Adams Outdoor Advertising
- James Bonneville, Adams Outdoor Advertising
- Ben Armitage, Adams Outdoor Advertising
- Paul Gagnon, Lamar Advertising
- Mary Ann Gerrard, WI Auto and Truck Dealers Assoc.
- Paul Wauters, Jag Outdoor Advertising
- Matt Hauser, Petroleum Marketers Assoc. of WI/WI Assoc. of Convenience Stores
- Kathi Kilgore, Outdoor Advertising Association of WI
- Diane Hoey, Hoey Outdoor Advertising
- Jim Schumacher, Lamar Advertising
- Bill Smith, National Federation of Independent Businesses
- Nick George, Jr., WMC
- Michelle Kussow, WI Grocers Association
- Paul Merline, Wisconsin Restaurant Association
- Douglas Johnson, WI Merchants Federation
- Anthony Hickey, Lamar Advertising
- Wendy Booth, Lamar Advertising
- Kurt Weis, Lamar Advertising

#### Registrations Against

- Amy Ihlenfeldt, self
- Mayor Larry MacDonald, City of Bayfield
- Frank Iltis, self
- Heather Mann, Urban Open Space Foundation
- Ward Lyles, 1000 Friends of Wisconsin
- Karen Etter Hale, Madison Audubon Society
- Mike Norzon, Winnebago County
- Secretary Scott Hassett, Department of Natural Resources
- Robert Kuller, self
- Caryl Terrell, Sierra Club John Muir Chapter

#### March 4, 2004 EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD

Present: Representatives Ainsworth, Petrowski, Ott, (16)Hahn, Suder, Friske, McCormick, Gottlieb, Van Roy, Honadel, Steinbrink, Sherman, Vruwink, Staskunas, Gronemus and Hebl.

Absent: (0)None

Chairperson Ainsworth asked for unanimous consent to introduce Assembly Amendment LRBa2549/1.

Unanimous consent was granted.

Moved by Representative Hahn, seconded by Representative Gronemus that Assembly Amendment LRBa2549/1 be recommended for adoption.

> Ayes: (11) Representatives Ainsworth, Petrowski, Ott, Hahn, Suder, Friske, McCormick, Gottlieb, Van Roy, Honadel and Gronemus.

(5) Representatives Steinbrink, Sherman, Noes: Vruwink, Staskunas and Hebl.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT LRBA2549 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 5

Chairperson Ainsworth asked for unanimous consent to introduce Assembly Amendment LRBa2550/1.

Unanimous consent was granted.

Moved by Representative Hahn, seconded by Representative Friske that Assembly Amendment LRBa2550/1 be recommended for adoption.

> (16) Representatives Ainsworth, Petrowski, Ott, Ayes: Hahn, Suder, Friske, McCormick, Gottlieb, Van Roy, Honadel, Steinbrink, Sherman, Vruwink, Staskunas, Gronemus and Hebl.

(0) None. Noes:

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT LRBA2550/1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 16, Noes 0

Moved by Representative McCormick, seconded by Representative Petrowski that Assembly Amendment LRBa2548/1 be recommended for introduction.

Ayes: (10) Representatives Ainsworth, Petrowski, Ott, Hahn, Suder, Friske, McCormick, Gottlieb, Van Roy, Honadel.

Noes: (5) Representatives Steinbrink, Sherman, Vruwink, Staskunas and Hebl.

Absent: (1) Representative Gronemus.

# INTRODUCTION OF ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT LRBA2548/1 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 5

Moved by Representative Petrowski, seconded by Representative Friske that **Assembly Amendment LRBa2548/1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (11) Representatives Ainsworth, Petrowski, Ott, Hahn, Suder, Friske, McCormick, Gottlieb, Van Roy, Honadel and Gronemus.

Noes: (5) Representatives Steinbrink, Sherman, Vruwink, Staskunas and Hebl.

# ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT LRBA2548/1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 5

Moved by Representative Hahn, seconded by Representative Friske that **Assembly Bill 748** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (11) Representatives Ainsworth, Petrowski, Ott, Hahn, Suder, Friske, McCormick, Gottlieb, Van Roy, Honadel and Vruwink.

Noes: (4) Representatives Steinbrink, Sherman, Staskunas and Hebl.

Absent: (1) Representative Gronemus.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 4

Kristina Boardman Committee Clerk