## Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

### **Committee on Transportation**

### **Assembly Bill 802**

Relating to: the display of POW/MIA flags at certain Department of Transportation rest areas.

By Representatives Musser, Pettis, Montgomery, Schneider, Sinicki, Ladwig, Gronemus, Boyle, Kreibich, Townsend, Bies, Turner, Weber, McCormick, Hines and Freese; cosponsored by Senators Schultz and Decker.

February 03, 2004 Referred to Committee on Transportation.

February 17, 2004 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD** 

Present:	(15)	Representatives Ainsworth, Petrowski, Ott,
		Hahn, Suder, Friske, McCormick, Gottlieb,
		Van Roy, Honadel, Steinbrink, Vruwink,
		Staskunas, Gronemus and Hebl.
Absent:	(1)	Representative Sherman.

Appearances For

- Representative Terry Musser, 92nd Assembly District
- Marvin Freedman, Vietnam Veterans of America
- Allew Kochenderfer, Veterans of Foreign Wars

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• John Kinar, Wisconsin Department of Transportation

Registrations For

- Anthony Hardie, Wisconsin Department of Veterans Affairs
- Steve Lawrence, Veterans of Foreign Wars
- Michael Furgal, Veterans of Foreign Wars
- Thomas Dwyer, II, United Transportation Union

**Registrations Against** 

• None.

#### February 26, 2004 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

 Present: (16) Representatives Ainsworth, Petrowski, Ott, Hahn, Suder, Friske, McCormick, Gottlieb, Van Roy, Honadel, Steinbrink, Sherman, Vruwink, Staskunas, Gronemus and Hebl.
Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Petrowski, seconded by Representative Friske that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

 Ayes: (16) Representatives Ainsworth, Petrowski, Ott, Hahn, Suder, Friske, McCormick, Gottlieb, Van Roy, Honadel, Steinbrink, Sherman, Vruwink, Staskunas, Gronemus and Hebl.
Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 16, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Petrowski, seconded by Representative Ott that **Assembly Bill 802** be recommended for passage as amended.

 Ayes: (16) Representatives Ainsworth, Petrowski, Ott, Hahn, Suder, Friske, McCormick, Gottlieb, Van Roy, Honadel, Steinbrink, Sherman, Vruwink, Staskunas, Gronemus and Hebl.
Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 16, Noes 0

Kristina Boardman Committee Clerk