Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Transportation

Assembly Bill 837

Relating to: attaching the Office of the Commissioner of Railroads to the Department of Transportation, decisions related to railroad crossing protection improvements, and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Foti, Kerkman, Nass, Ladwig, Musser, Owens, Pettis, Hahn and Kreibich; cosponsored by Senators S. Fitzgerald, A. Lasee, Reynolds and Kanavas.

February 16, 2004 Referred to Committee on Transportation.

February 17, 2004 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (15) Representatives Ainsworth, Petrowski, Ott, Hahn, Suder, Friske, McCormick, Gottlieb, Van Roy, Honadel, Steinbrink, Vruwink, Staskunas, Gronemus and Hebl.

Absent: (1) Representative Sherman.

Appearances For

- Representative Mickey Foti, Author
- Ronald Adams, Wisconsin Department of Transportation
- Michele Weisensel, self
- Jennifer Derr, self
- Roger Feucht, self
- Chief Gerald Sallmann, City of Columbus
- George Jordan, City of Columbus
- William Wendt, City of Columbus

Appearances Against

- Rod Kreunen, Office of the Commissioner of Railroads
- Melanie Schmitz, self
- James White, self
- ☐ Andy Davis, Quixote Transportation Safety
- ☐ Tom McGuire, EDA and Associates
- ☐ Connie Hermans, self
- ☐ Jerry Becker, Town of Richfield
- ☐ John Huber, Canadian Pacific Railway
- ☐ Dale Bennett, Canadian Pacific Railway
- ☐ Daniel Amato, Columbia County Board
- ☐ Thomas Dwyer, II, United Transportation Union
- ☐ Ed Elzy, United Transportation Union

	 □ James Nelson, United Transportation Union □ David Meier, Office of the Commissioner of Railroads 		
	Appearances for Information Only None. Registrations For Senator Ted Kanavas, Senate Co-Author Senator Scott Fitzgerald, Senate Author Senator Tom Reynolds, 5th Senate District John Van Roo, self		
	March 4, 2004	EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD	
Present: (16)		F V	Representatives Ainsworth, Petrowski, Ott, Hahn, Suder, Friske, McCormick, Gottlieb, Van Roy, Honadel, Steinbrink, Sherman, Vruwink, Staskunas, Gronemus and Hebl.
Absent: (0)		N	None.
Moved by Representative Steinbrink, seconded by Representative Gronemus that Assembly Substitute Amendment LRBs0398/1 be recommended for adoption.			
Ayes:		(9)	Representatives Ainsworth, Petrowski, Ott, Friske, McCormick, Gottlieb, Honadel, Steinbrink and Gronemus.
Noes:		(7)	Representatives Hahn, Suder, Van Roy, Sherman, Vruwink, Staskunas and Hebl.
ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT LRBS0398/1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 7			
Moved by Representative Petrowski, seconded by Representative			

Friske that Assembly Amendment LRBa2555/1 to Assembly Substitute Amendment LRBs0398/1 be recommended for

adoption.

Ayes: (15) Representatives Ainsworth, Petrowski, Ott, Hahn, Friske, McCormick, Gottlieb, Van Roy, Honadel, Steinbrink, Sherman, Vruwink, Staskunas, Gronemus and Hebl.

Noes: (1) Representative Suder.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT LRBA2555/1 TO ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT LRBS0398/1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 1

Moved by Representative Petrowski, seconded by Representative McCormick that **Assembly Amendment LRBa2516/1 to Assembly Substitute Amendment LRBa0398/1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (13) Representatives Ainsworth, Petrowski, Ott, Hahn, Friske, McCormick, Gottlieb, Honadel, Steinbrink, Sherman, Vruwink, Staskunas and Hebl.

Noes: (3) Representatives Suder, Van Roy and Gronemus.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT LRBA2516/1 TO ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT LRBA0398/1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 3

Moved by Representative Steinbrink, seconded by Representative Friske that **Assembly Bill 837** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (7) Representatives Ainsworth, Hahn, Friske, McCormick, Gottlieb, Honadel and Steinbrink.

Noes: (9) Representatives Petrowski, Ott, Suder, Van Roy, Sherman, Vruwink, Staskunas, Gronemus and Hebl.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED NOT RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 9

March 11, 2004 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1.

Kristina Boardman

Committee Clerk