Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education Reform

Assembly Bill 847

Relating to: the Milwaukee Parental Choice Program and granting rule-making authority.

By Representative Sinicki; cosponsored by Senator Moore.

February 16, 2004	Referred to Committee on Ed	ducation Reform.
-------------------	-----------------------------	------------------

February 26, 2004 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present:	(12)	Representatives Jensen, Vukmir, Nass, Olsen,
		McCormick, Towns, J. Wood, Nischke, Cullen,
		Sherman, Sinicki and J. Lehman.
Absent:	(1)	Representative A. Williams.

Appearances For

- Representative Christine Sinicki, 20th Assembly District, Milwaukee
- Senator Gwendolynne Moore, 4th Senate District, Milwaukee
- Bob Anderson, Wisconsin Council on Children and Families, Madison
- Tony Evers, Department of Public Instruction, Madison
- Joseph Ellwanger, WISDOM/Project RETURN, Milwaukee
- Gerhard Fischer, WISDOM, Brookfield

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• John Huebscher, Wisconsin Catholic Conference, Madison

Registrations For

- Acquintis Chesir, WEAC, Milwaukee
- Diane Craney, WEAC, Madison
- Sandra Nass, WEAC
- Rick Move, WEAC
- Jeanne Wilson, WEAC
- Stacy Jacobs, WEAC, Debvan
- Deb Syer, WEAC, Waterford
- James Stark, WEAC, Oak Creek
- Guy Costello, WEAC, Milwaukee

- Jason Mathes, WEAC, Milwaukee
- Doug Perry, WEAC, Milwaukee
- Andrew Wave, WEAC, Cudahy
- Nancy Hobeger, WEAC, Morkesosa
- John Horn, WEAC, Madison
- Margaret Guette, WEAC, Berlin
- Betsy Georg, WEAC, Franksville
- Rosemary Mason, WEAC, Racine
- Deuc Feog, WEAC, Racine
- Michael Walsh, WEAC, Madison
- Rich Postlewaite, WEAC, Ricke Lake
- Toby Paone, WEAC, Rice Lake
- Edwin Zalewski, WEAC, Hayward
- Steve Liker, WEAC, Chetek
- Ted Lewis, WEAC
- Viginia Bosse, WEAC, Park Falls
- Karen Affeldt, WEAC, Beloit
- Clayton Smits, WEAC, De Pere
- John Haren, WEAC, Greenleaf
- Dan Weidner, WEAC, Bonduel
- John Peter, WEAC, Rice Lake
- Curt Christensen, WEAC, Westby
- James Blank, United Northeast Educators, Green Bay
- Michael Kaczmavzieske, United Northeast Educators, Oneida
- Susan Smits, De Pere ESP, De Pere
- Kathryn Taylor, WEAC, Suring
- Jelle Lester, Wis. Association of School Boards, Madison
- John Forester, School Administrators Alliance, Madison
- Joanne Ricca, Wisconsin State AFL-CIO, Milwaukee
- Jacob Clement, Southern Lakes United Ed., Elkhorn

Registrations Against

• None.

February 26, 2004 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

 Present: (12) Representatives Jensen, Vukmir, Nass, Olsen, McCormick, Towns, J. Wood, Nischke, Cullen, Sherman, Sinicki and J. Lehman.
Absent: (1) Representative A. Williams.

Moved by Representative Sinicki, seconded by Representative Sherman that **Assembly Bill 847** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (12) Representatives Jensen, Vukmir, Nass, Olsen, McCormick, Towns, J. Wood, Nischke, Cullen, Sherman, Sinicki and J. Lehman.
- Noes: (0) None.
- Absent: (1) Representative A. Williams.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Steve Knudson Committee Clerk