Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Judiciary

Assembly Bill 856

Relating to: repair, replacement, and refund under new motor vehicle warranties. By Representatives Gundrum, Gronemus, Plouff, Montgomery, Huebsch, Kestell, Suder, Freese, Honadel, Musser, Ladwig, Ainsworth, J. Fitzgerald, Hundertmark, Nischke, Vrakas, McCormick and Towns; cosponsored by Senator Zien.

February 19, 2004 Referred to Committee on Judiciary.

February 19, 2004 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (5) Representatives McCormick, Albers, Grothman, Kerkman and Staskunas.

Excused: (3) Representatives Gundrum, Hebl and Cullen.

Appearances For

- Kevin Usealman, on behalf of Representative Gundrum
- Elizabeth Dannenberg, Alliance of Auto Manufacturers
- Peggy Bowers, Ford Motor Compnany
- Robert Brown, General Motors
- Alan Cohen, Council of Better Business Bureaus
- Jo DeMars, DeMars & Associates
- Richard Derr, Mack Trucks
- Kenneth Brownstein, PACCAR Tax
- George Pavin, Milwaukee Truck Sales
- Dennis Petzke, Wisconsin Kenworth
- James DeCloux, Jr., Franksville
- Pete Christianson, Recreation Vehicle Industry Association

<u> A</u> j	p	earances	Αg	gaınst
_			_	

Steve Meili, Consumer Law Litigation Clinic-U.W. Law
School
Marsha Mansfield, Consumer Law Litigation Clinic/U.W. Law
School
Bill Pocan, Milwaukee
Mary Fons, Stoughton
Carson Frazier, Department of Transportation
Cathy Skaar, Department of Transportation
Adele Garcia, Hartland
Anthony Varda, Madison
Jerry Becker, Hubertus

	Appearances for Information Only ☐ None.
	Registrations For ☐ Joe Strohl, Truck Manufacturing Association ☐ James Hough, Wisconsin Coalition for Civil Justice ☐ Rep. Mark Honadel, 21st Assembly District ☐ Scott Tyre, General Motors ☐ R.J. Pirlot, Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce ☐ Charles Pryde, Ford Motor Company ☐ Mary Ann Gerrard, Wisconsin Auto and Truck Dealers Assn. ☐ Amy Boyer, Alliance of Automobile Manufacturers
	Registrations Against ☐ Virginia Dennis, Cross Plains ☐ Julie Witt, Madison ☐ Rep. Garey Bies, 1st Assembly District ☐ Scott Froehlke, Wisconsin Academy of Trial Lawyers
March 11, 2004	Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1.
	Jolene Churchill Committee Clerk
	Committee Clerk