## **Assembly**

## **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Insurance**

## **Assembly Bill 862**

Relating to: vehicle protection product warranties.
By Representatives Ladwig, Hahn, Plouff and Townsend; cosponsored by Senators Schultz, Kanavas and Hansen.

Schultz, Kahavas and Hansen.			
February 19, 2004	Referred to Committee on Insurance.		
March 3, 2004	PUBLIC HEARING HELD		
	Present: (12) Absent: (3)	Representatives Ladwig, Wieckert, Underheim, F. Lasee, McCormick, Weber, Gielow, Van Roy, Honadel, Huber, J. Lehman and Berceau. Representatives Cullen, Shilling and Plouff.	
	Appearances For  ☐ Representataive Bonnie Ladwig, 63rd Assembly District ☐ Victor Smith, National Vehicle Protection Association, Schertz, TX		
	Appearances Against  □ None.		
	Appearances for Information Only  ☐ None.		
	Street, Suite 50  Mary Ann Ger Association, M Pete Christians Pinckney St., S	Andy Franken, Hamilton Consulting Group, 10 East Doty Street, Suite 500, Madison, WI  Mary Ann Gerrard, Wisconsin Auto and Truck Dealers Association, Madison, WI  Pete Christianson, American Insurance Association, 1 S. Pinckney St., Suite 600, Madison, WI	
	Registrations Against  None.		

March 9, 2004 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**  Present: (14) Representatives Ladwig, Underheim, F. Lasee, McCormick, Weber, Gielow, Van Roy, Honadel, Cullen, Shilling, Huber, Plouff, J. Lehman and Berceau.

Absent: (1) Representative Wieckert.

Moved by Representative Weber, seconded by Representative Van Roy that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for introduction.

Ayes: (14) Representatives Ladwig, Underheim, F. Lasee, McCormick, Weber, Gielow, Van Roy, Honadel, Cullen, Shilling, Huber, Plouff, J. Lehman and Berceau.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (1) Representative Wieckert.

INTRODUCTION OF ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Moved by Representative McCormick, seconded by Representative Weber that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (14) Representatives Ladwig, Underheim, F. Lasee, McCormick, Weber, Gielow, Van Roy, Honadel, Cullen, Shilling, Huber, Plouff, J. Lehman and Berceau.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (1) Representative Wieckert.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Moved by Representative McCormick, seconded by Representative Van Roy that **Assembly Bill 862** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (13) Representatives Ladwig, Underheim, F. Lasee, McCormick, Weber, Gielow, Van Roy, Honadel, Shilling, Huber, Plouff, J. Lehman and Berceau.

Noes: (1) Representative Cullen.

Absent: (1) Representative Wieckert.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 1

Janine Hale Committee Clerk