Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Transportation

Assembly Bill 90

Relating to: enforcement of motor vehicle safety belt violations and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Ainsworth, Hebl, Bies, Freese, Hines, McCormick, Pope-Roberts, Stone and Townsend; cosponsored by Senators Brown, Risser and George.

February 20, 2003 Referred to Committee on Transportation.

April 24, 2003 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present:	(12)	Representatives Ainsworth, Petrowski, Ott,
		Hahn, Suder, Friske, McCormick, Gottlieb,
		Steinbrink, Vruwink, Hebl and Zepnick.
Absent:	(4)	Representatives Van Roy, Sherman, Staskunas
		and Gronemus.

Appearances For

- Representative John Ainsworth, Author
- Richard Healing, National Transportation Safety Board
- Danielle Roeber, National Transportation Safety Board
- Dr. Timothy Corden, Wisconsin American Academy of Pediatrics
- Alice O'Connor, Wisconsin Medical Society
- Dr. Wayne Moore, Meharry Medical College
- Dennis Kruger, Wisconsin Troopers Association
- Mike Witter, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
- Thelma Kuska, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
- Mary Reinhart, self
- Rose Rose, MADD WI
- Ernie Stetenfeld, AAA/Wisconsin Safety Belt Coalition
- Kari Kinnard, Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD)
- George Solverwood, Madison Police Department
- Katie Rezin, General Motors
- Peter Annis, Wisconsin Traffic Safety Officers Association
- Terry Witkowski, Wisconsin Highway Safety Coordinators Association
- Erin Wolff, Richland Safe Community Coalition

Appearances Against

- Representative Gene Hahn, 47th Assembly District
- Mark Halter, self
- Eric Skrum, National Motorists Association

Appearances for Information Only

- John Evans, Wisconsin Department of Transportation
- Dennis Hughes, Wisconsin Department of Transportation

Registrations For

- Representative Garey Bies, 1st Assembly District
- Senator Ron Brown, 31st Senate District/Senate Co-Sponsor
- Pam Ebel, Chippewa Valley Safe Kids/Sacred Heart Hospital
- Kate Nolan, MADD
- Nan Peterson, Madison Safe Kids Coalition/American Trauma Society Wisconsin Chapter
- Michael Vaughn, Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association
- Robert Wall, self
- Chet Gerlach, State Farm Insurance
- Lisa Bullard Hawthorne, self
- Senator Fred Risser, 26th Senate District
- Dr. Stephen Hargarten, self
- Amy Boyer, Alliance of Automobile Manufacturers
- Senator Ron Brown, 31st Senate District
- Theresa Hottenroth, Academy of Emergency Physicians
- Joe Handrick, Wisconsin Society of Anesthesiologists
- Bob Wierenga, Wisconsin County Police Association
- Terry Rieder, Milwaukee Deputy Sheriffs Association
- Bernadette Galvez, City of Madison Fire Department
- Eric Englund, Wisconsin Insurance Alliance

Registrations Against

• Deb Sybell, Individual Rights & Responsibilities Section -State Bar of WI

April 24, 2003 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (12) Representatives Ainsworth, Petrowski, Ott, Hahn, Suder, Friske, McCormick, Gottlieb, Steinbrink, Vruwink, Hebl and Zepnick.
Absent: (4) Representatives Van Roy, Sherman, Staskunas and Gronemus. Chairperson Ainsworth asked for unanimous consent that Assembly Amendment LRBa0195/1 be introduced. Unanimous consent was granted.

Moved by Representative Hahn, seconded by Representative Zepnick that **Assembly Amendment LRBa0195/1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:	(12)	Representatives Ainsworth, Petrowski, Ott,
		Hahn, Suder, Friske, McCormick, Gottlieb,
		Steinbrink, Vruwink, Hebl and Zepnick.
Noes:	(0)	None.
Absent:	(4)	Representatives Van Roy, Sherman,
	. /	Staskunas and Gronemus.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT LRBa0195/1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Steinbrink, seconded by Representative Hahn that **Assembly Bill 90** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes:	(8)	Representatives Ainsworth, Ott, Hahn,
		McCormick, Gottlieb, Steinbrink, Hebl and
		Zepnick.
Noes:	(4)	Representatives Petrowski, Suder, Friske and
		Vruwink.
Absent:	(4)	Representatives Van Roy, Sherman,
		Staskunas and Gronemus.

Representatives Van Roy and Gronemus asked that the record reflect that they would

have voted "no" on passage, if present.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 4

Kristina Boardman Committee Clerk