# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Financial Institutions**

### **Assembly Bill 99**

Relating to: regulating the negotiation and collection of demand drafts.

By Representatives Jeskewitz, Montgomery, Richards, Kerkman, Musser, Van Roy, Krawczyk, Ladwig, Stone, Albers, Freese, Bies, Kestell, Townsend, J. Wood, Balow, Hines, Seratti, Lassa, Shilling, Hundertmark, Huber, Towns, Wieckert, McCormick and Friske; cosponsored by Senators Schultz, Erpenbach, S. Fitzgerald, Robson, Kedzie, Hansen, M. Meyer, Roessler, Kanavas and Stepp.

February 26, 2003 Referred to Committee on Financial Institutions.

### August 21, 2003 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (14) Representatives Montgomery, J. Fitzgerald, Freese, Kreibich, Wieckert, Townsend,

Kerkman, Towns, Nischke, Richards, Sherman,

A. Williams, Shilling and Zepnick.

Absent: (1) Representative Taylor.

### Appearances For

- Representative Sue Jeskewitz, 24th Assembly District
- Richard McGuigan, Community Bankers of WI, New Glarus
- Daryll Lund, Community Bankers of WI, Madison
- Mary Schnell, WACHA-Wisconsin Automated Clearing House Association, 16655 W Bluemound Rd Suite370, Brookfield

# Appearances Against None. Appearances for Information Only None. Registrations For Tim Elverman, BankOne, 111 E Kilbourn Ave, Milwaukee Jodi Bloch, Wisconsin Bankers Association, 4721 S Biltmore Lane, Madison Georgia Maxwell , WI Credit Union League, Pewaukee Keeley Moll, DATCP Senator Ted Kanavas, 33rd Senate District Kathryn Carlson, DFI, 345 W Washington, Madison

# Registrations Against

□ None.

## September 4, 2003 EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD

Present: (13) Representatives Montgomery, J. Fitzgerald,

Freese, Wieckert, Townsend, Kerkman, Nischke, Richards, Sherman, A. Williams,

Shilling, Zepnick and Taylor.

Absent: (2) Representatives Kreibich and Towns.

Moved by Representative Freese, seconded by Representative Richards that **Assembly Bill 99** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (13) Representatives Montgomery, J. Fitzgerald, Freese, Wieckert, Townsend, Kerkman, Nischke, Richards, Sherman, A. Williams,

Shilling, Zepnick and Taylor.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (2) Representatives Kreibich and Towns.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Michael Mathy Committee Clerk