Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Corrections and the Courts

Assembly Joint Resolution 60

Relating to: permitting the powers of sheriffs to be determined in each county (first consideration).

By Representatives Krawczyk, Travis, Taylor, Staskunas, Turner, McCormick and F. Lasee; cosponsored by Senators Cowles and Reynolds.

December 19, 2003 Referred to Committee on Corrections and the Courts.

January 28, 2004 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present:	(9)	Representatives Bies, Albers, Owens, F. Lasee,
		Suder, Pocan, Colon, Staskunas and
		Wasserman.
Absent:	(1)	Representative Underheim.

Appearances For

- Rep. Judy Krawczyk, 88th Assembly District
- Sen. Robert Cowles, 2nd Senate District
- Vern Krawczyk, Metro Police Study
- Ben Vanden-Bergh, Metro Police Study
- Ed Huck, WI Alliance of Cities

Appearances Against

- □ Jeff Wiswell, WI Sheriff's & Deputy Sheriff's Association
- □ Steve Werner, WI Professional Police Association
- □ Sheriff Gary Hamblin, Dane County

Appearances for Information Only

□ Gerald Rieder, Milwaukee Deputy Sheriffs Association

Registrations For

□ Curt Witynski, League of WI Municipalities

Registrations Against

- □ Sheriff Keith Govier, Badger State Sheriffs/Grant County
- □ Sarah Diedrick-Kasdorf, WI Counties Association
- □ John LaFave, Wisconsin Register of Deeds Association
- □ Kathy Hanson, Register of Deeds Douglas County
- □ Jane Licht, Dane County Register of Deeds
- □ Mark Ladd, Racine County Register of Deeds

- □ Larry Eckert, Jefferson County Register of Deeds
- □ Marge Geissler, Chippewa County Register of Deeds
- □ Shawn Hanson, Barron County Register of Deeds
- □ Rose Ottum, Trempealeau County Register of Deeds
- □ Shawn Martin, Washington County Register of Deeds
- □ Betty Bolton, Vernon County Register of Deeds
- Joe Bauknecht, Wisconsin County Constitutional Officers Association
- □ Cathleen Huebner, WI County Police Association/Milwaukee Deputy Sheriffs Association

March 11, 2004 Failed to adopt pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1.

Andrew Nowlan Committee Clerk